How much salary to afford a 400k house?

TSsaberxxx
post Apr 5 2015, 04:51 PM, updated 11y ago

20 posts

i would like to know how much should one earn to own a 400k house? (400k is the loan from bank after paying all the necessary downpayment for the house etc...)

Assuming 30 years?

thanks smile.gif

SUSjolokia
post Apr 5 2015, 05:47 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

4000 nett after minus epf, tax & socso provided you don't have any other debt like car loan, house loan, personal loan, credit card debt. PTPTN, & etc. This is loan eligibility but you need to ask your self can lived with balance 1+K or not ?

If want comfort better have 6000 nett aka 1/3 rule of thumbs, as you have maintenance, utilities bill, quick rent, assessment & additional 5% for MLTA insurance if you put it into loan.

As your monthly is around 2000 base on current interest, spare some extra in case
TSsaberxxx
post Apr 5 2015, 06:02 PM

20 posts

that mean a 7k monthly salary minimum is require to get a 400k loan rclxub.gif

haizz....

i am currently earning only around 4700nett per month... was thinking of getting a house this year...

i should wait?

i really duno what to do now..property will keep on increasing cry.gif
SUSjolokia
post Apr 5 2015, 06:20 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

QUOTE(saberxxx @ Apr 5 2015, 06:02 PM)

haizz....

i am currently earning only around 4700nett per month... was thinking of getting a house this year...

i should wait?

As I said depends on your expenditure, you are eligible for the loan but whether you can suffer first few yeara or not ? Surely your income will increase & the burden becomes lighter in later year.

Those who said they'll wait usually regret as price will go higher & higher in future.

You can withdraw EPF acct 2 for higher downpayment & Max the tenure to 35 years if you are less than 40 yo later dumb in more to reduced the loan.

Or you can buy a lower priced but potential property & upgrade later.

Try not to have those I die2 must drive non national car, die2 must buy 400-500K latest facade property mentality.

This post has been edited by jolokia: Apr 5 2015, 06:23 PM
superbike
post Apr 5 2015, 06:25 PM

224 posts

go fast2 buy lorr, my salary after tolak this tolak that is about 5k nett, i bought my first house in late 1990s for 700k (fully paid), second house for about 300K (fully paid) and an apartment (still on lease). but that was last time. have no choice cos properties in my place is very expensive. and double storey terrace can easily fetch 500k starting price.
adolph
post Apr 5 2015, 11:44 PM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

haizz....

i should wait?

No worry, the bank will definitely lend you the money if you were eligible.

RM4,000 net is okey,

As long you debt to income ratio is acceptable >

My mortgage was approved without any guarantor.
adolph
post Apr 5 2015, 11:49 PM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

Your RM400,000 home loan sounds cheap to me in KL.
oc_rooney
post Apr 6 2015, 02:07 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(superbike @ Apr 5 2015, 06:25 PM)
go fast2 buy lorr, my salary after tolak this tolak that is about 5k nett, i bought my first house in late 1990s for 700k (fully paid), second house for about 300K (fully paid) and an apartment (still on lease). but that was last time. have no choice cos properties in my place is very expensive. and double storey terrace can easily fetch 500k starting price.
U berapa umur sikalang?
superbike
post Apr 6 2015, 07:51 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(oc_rooney @ Apr 6 2015, 02:07 AM)
U berapa umur sikalang?
saya sudah ada 2 cucu comel wub.gif
oc_rooney
post Apr 6 2015, 08:07 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(superbike @ Apr 6 2015, 07:51 AM)
saya sudah ada 2 cucu comel  wub.gif
Pandainye atuk main forum
superbike
post Apr 6 2015, 08:21 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(oc_rooney @ Apr 6 2015, 08:07 AM)
Pandainye atuk main forum
atok muda lagi. baru 43. atok kahwin muda. anak atok pun kahwin muda wub.gif
oc_rooney
post Apr 6 2015, 08:23 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(superbike @ Apr 6 2015, 08:21 AM)
atok muda lagi. baru 43. atok kahwin muda. anak atok pun kahwin muda  wub.gif
Really.................................

So..

Your house that buy in late 90s price 700k where is it about, so pricey.
90s house should be cheap mah.
Zot
post Apr 6 2015, 08:23 AM

7,938 posts

haizz....

i should wait?

Just buy. After a year the house probably increases in prices wink.gif
JerryTeh
post Apr 6 2015, 09:04 AM

227 posts

haizz....

i should wait?

can la...

i put my gf rm4200 basic with rm966 bank in epf monthly as proof...

now we are staying in this rm430k house...
kepong87
post Apr 6 2015, 06:29 PM

QUOTE(saberxxx @ Apr 5 2015, 04:51 PM)

i would like to know how much should one earn to own a 400k house? (400k is the loan from bank after paying all the necessary downpayment for the house etc...)

Assuming 30 years?

thanks smile.gif
depend on your commitment also.
seriously, dude you can calculate yourself.
after deduct car loan, car maintenance fee, petrol, insurance premium, monthly utility , food and entertainment cost, how much you left?

you must at least save 200 monthly for your emergency use.

TSsaberxxx
post Apr 6 2015, 09:37 PM

20 posts

thx for all the advice

i will seriously consider to get this house after a few more things here n there..

after that, life style have to change already sweat.gif
amxpayne67
post Apr 7 2015, 08:31 AM

The Coon
718 posts

While others suggest thumb rule of 1/3 of nett income, i use 1/5 which is much safer and much more organized. Try that first and see how your calculation add up TS.
ReVolVolution
post Apr 7 2015, 09:34 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Apr 7 2015, 08:31 AM)
While others suggest thumb rule of 1/3 of nett income, i use 1/5 which is much safer and much more organized. Try that first and see how your calculation add up TS.
have to agree on this. use 1/3 rule for all your TOTAL loans. If it's just housing loan, then perhaps 1/5 or 1/4.

I have 1/4 rule on my total loans and im still finding it hard to balance it.... sweat.gif
ahchun
post Apr 7 2015, 09:42 AM

MiddleAge
1,148 posts

QUOTE(saberxxx @ Apr 6 2015, 09:37 PM)
thx for all the advice

i will seriously consider to get this house after a few more things here n there..

after that, life style have to change already sweat.gif
for sure some part of ur life style need to change if you want to buy ur 1st house and if parent is not loaded

some people do not willing to sacrifice their lifestyle and blaming the market. as if market will give a damn

good luck
oc_rooney
post Apr 7 2015, 12:59 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(saberxxx @ Apr 5 2015, 04:51 PM)

Assuming 30 years?

thanks smile.gif
tahun 2009, my salary was 5.5k je.

lepas la nak beli rumah 400k+

that's my first house, and i takde credit card.

oc_rooney
post Apr 7 2015, 12:59 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Apr 7 2015, 08:31 AM)
1/5, haiyo

humm.... sad.gif
knight_kriss
post Apr 8 2015, 02:45 PM

377 posts

Got 380k loan from my rm3200 salary.....rhb bank

0.0212sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:18 AM