Interlocking brick system, Good or not

TShamas86
post Mar 28 2015, 10:56 PM, updated 11y ago

57 posts

Hai
I just heard regarding this IBS by zuka properties
Anyone have any idea or experience using this kind of brick/or about this zuka properties?

koinibler
post Mar 29 2015, 11:09 AM

2,050 posts

IBS is not something new. More and more developer take this approach as it's low in cost for them.

As for us, we might have a risk of got a slant home.

You may as well Google this around.
SUSleonhart88
post Mar 29 2015, 03:27 PM

1,686 posts

I use it for my house so no need steel. check my reno thread

paskal
paskal
post Mar 29 2015, 03:55 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Mar 29 2015, 03:27 PM)
I use it for my house so no need steel. check my reno thread

paskal
you mean this one issit?
tohtiengchiah
post Mar 29 2015, 03:58 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 29 2015, 03:55 PM)
you mean this one issit?
From the picture, i personally don't agree that it is IBS. From the picture, it looks more like AAC bricks are light weight bricks. Just from my personal experience.
weikee
post Mar 29 2015, 05:10 PM

12,019 posts

you mean this one issit?
rclxms.gif he self proclaim is IBS, let it be. Didn't know ibs brick so advance already, no need hole in the bricks and steel in the wall.
SUSleonhart88
post Mar 29 2015, 07:18 PM

1,686 posts

you mean this one issit?
Nope

This one

SUSleonhart88
post Mar 29 2015, 07:20 PM

1,686 posts

you mean this one issit?
This is not my house. Just take from internet to show you that many others built 2nd storey with small dimension support
sentinal3_16
post Mar 30 2015, 09:55 AM

798 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Mar 29 2015, 07:20 PM)
This is not my house. Just take from internet to show you that many others built 2nd storey with small dimension support
This is light weight brick. For me its useless although light.I just used it as partition for my extension room. Only after buy i know its very fragile.Too fragile until i wonder how this thing used in building.Lucky used for partition and i dont hang anything on it like photo frames etc cause i worry it will break.

I say this type of brick very popular in Philippines at low cost housing and rural areas. Maybe due to cheap cost.
SUSleonhart88
post Mar 30 2015, 10:26 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(sentinal3_16 @ Mar 30 2015, 09:55 AM)
This is light weight brick. For me its useless although light.I just used it as partition for my extension room. Only after buy i know its very fragile.Too fragile until i wonder how this thing used in building.Lucky used for partition and i dont hang anything on it like photo frames etc cause i worry it will break.

I say this type of brick very popular in Philippines at low cost housing and rural areas. Maybe due to cheap cost.
But AAC is used to build condo 30 storeys liao.. it is better than your sand brick though. Cheap? Are you kidding? 1 pc : rm 3 liao compare with ur sand brick
paskal
post Mar 30 2015, 11:13 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Mar 29 2015, 07:20 PM)
you do know what is lightweight brick, right? you do know that they're LIGHT, right?
you know light is the exact opposite of heavy, right?

take a guess. your ordinary clay brick is a heavy brick or a lightweight brick?

but sure, build your structure according to whatever picture on the net and don't consider the load weight.
i'm sure it'll work out for you. laugh.gif

QUOTE(hamas86 @ Mar 28 2015, 10:56 PM)
Hai
I just heard regarding this IBS by zuka properties
Anyone have any idea or experience using this kind of brick/or about this zuka properties?
there's quite a number of solution on the market now.
IBS isn't interlocking bricks per se. there's also interlocking cement blocks. there's interlocking IBS brick (brick sized). there's interlocking IBS blocks. there's AAC block.

never seen AAC brick before. though i'm not surprised one bit if there's also aac bricks selling somewhere.
SUSleonhart88
post Mar 30 2015, 11:39 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 30 2015, 11:13 AM)
you do know what is lightweight brick, right? you do know that they're LIGHT, right?
you know light is the exact opposite of heavy, right?

take a guess. your ordinary clay brick is a heavy brick or a lightweight brick?

but sure, build your structure according to whatever picture on the net and don't consider the load weight.
i'm sure it'll work out for you.  laugh.gif
there's quite a number of solution on the market now.
IBS isn't interlocking bricks per se. there's also interlocking cement blocks. there's interlocking IBS brick (brick sized). there's interlocking IBS blocks. there's AAC block.

never seen AAC brick before. though i'm not surprised one bit if there's also aac bricks selling somewhere.
Ok.so 8mm support can use light brick aac. Will use that for my 2nd storey then.hahaha..so no one can complain to my reno

Kevin Chan
post Mar 31 2015, 08:15 AM

1,997 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRK4xWgZWCY

Sure its real ACC or some imitation version ?

Its just concrete with air pump into it to create honey comb pocket which give it the light weight but also give strength.

ethan chong
post Apr 20 2017, 12:45 PM

53 posts

I just came across this MYIB

It also talking about interlocking bricks, is it the same thing as discussed in this thread?
hutazi
post Apr 20 2017, 04:58 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(ethan chong @ Apr 20 2017, 12:45 PM)
I just came across this MYIB

It also talking about interlocking bricks, is it the same thing as discussed in this thread?
very cool. im just curious about the strength of it. i saw some other videos that after the bricks are fully laid. the pump concrete into the holes. that would make me feel more comfortable hahaha. didnt see that in their vid.

makes me question. if you run and jump against the wall will it tip or bend or blocks pushed out?

very interesting though. if they really can build new homes at 10x the speed at 10% of the cost. damn respect.
DanKa
post Apr 20 2017, 05:53 PM

77 posts

In construction, IBS = Industrialised Building System.

Better double check whether the developer was really talking about bricks when he/she was talking about IBS.
DanKa
post Apr 20 2017, 05:59 PM

77 posts

The white bricks shown in photo above actually is Autoclaved Aerated Concrete (AAC). It's just a light-weight brick; very light that it has lower density than water i.e it can float in water.

AAC has nothing to do with IBS.
bugijun
post Apr 22 2017, 02:51 PM

532 posts

AAC got small IBS points due to its uniform shape

0.0199sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:41 AM