Lowyat.Net Watercooling Club V9, Your WCed rigs, discussions, ideas & etc

sHawTY
post Sep 27 2019, 10:12 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(jerrywan @ May 20 2019, 12:37 PM)
Hi sifus.Im new in watercooled staf.i hv budget and i wan to convert my 1080sli s to watercooled sistem. Is there any guy or shop can recommend me?
DIY dude

These are my 2 systems which I build by myself. And FYI, this is my first time doing hard tubing biggrin.gif
White system - gaming PC
Black system - home server

sHawTY
post Nov 23 2019, 05:10 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(mars2003 @ Nov 23 2019, 03:48 PM)
hi can you guide me where to get the white fittings locally.?
Nowhere. Buy from Taobao
sHawTY
post Nov 30 2019, 12:29 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(mars2003 @ Nov 23 2019, 03:48 PM)
hi can you guide me where to get the white fittings locally.?
Or another option is to spray the tubes
Make sure to spray the tubes after you've made the bending & cutting. Not before
sHawTY
post Apr 13 2020, 04:54 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Apr 13 2020, 02:12 PM)
Just want to know if any brand is more forgiving on that matter
Go with Zotac
The only local manufacturer that provides 5 year warranty & they don't void warranty for removing the heatsink on their GPU

The only thing they don't allow is for you to use liquid metal on the GPU chipset

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 13 2020, 05:07 PM
sHawTY
post Apr 13 2020, 09:36 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ Apr 13 2020, 08:39 PM)
Kinda doubt knowing how it looks after a few months/years... haha.
I tried it on a GPU in my home server which uses R5 230, it leaves scratch marks on the GPU die
sHawTY
post Aug 14 2020, 12:03 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

My old gaming system in Lian Li Alpha 550

My old home server Phanteks Enthoo Luxe

My rebuilt gaming system in Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL

My rebuilt home server in Phanteks MetallicGear Neo Qube

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Aug 14 2020, 12:07 PM
sHawTY
post Aug 14 2020, 12:34 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ Aug 14 2020, 12:23 PM)
fine choice of fans on the o11dxl  thumbsup.gif
They are going to release RGB version of the P12 soon
Hopefully it's also available with CO option as well. Love dual ball bearings wub.gif
sHawTY
post Aug 18 2020, 09:38 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(linkinpark @ Aug 18 2020, 09:07 AM)
Izzit worth buying from here instead of taobao. Need yr guide. I like yr old  Lianli Apha550 build
Fittings, no need to buy branded, just generic will do
I've been using generic fittings for 4 years, no leaks whatsoever

I only used Bykski fittings in my gaming system because only branded fittings have gold color. Cannot find generic fittings with gold color
Only the fittings you can buy generic products. For waterblocks, radiators & pumps need to get from a good brand

Also, the Alpha 550 is a really bad casing. It blocks airflow both from intake & exhaust. Worst case I've ever used for watercooling
If you're short on money, go for the MetallicGear Neo Qube, it's cheap but still better than Lian Li O11 in some way. Only the normal O11, not the O11 XL

O11 XL is the winner of course tongue.gif

For all watercooling parts, you can buy from this guy:
https://shopee.com.my/shop/174219658/
His price is the cheapest out there for most water cooling parts

Generic fittings you can just search in Shopee / Lazada, no need to buy from that guy

No need to buy from Taobao anymore unless it's for something that you can't find in Shopee / Lazada

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Aug 18 2020, 09:40 AM
sHawTY
post Aug 19 2020, 10:09 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(linkinpark @ Aug 19 2020, 09:26 AM)
Amd block+360rad+pump+soft tubing does cost more than rm1k?
Sorry bro, cannot help you with soft tubing. I can only calculate the cost for you if you use hard tube
Might as well watercool your GPU too

Fittings quantity depends on the case you use
If you follow my Lian Li O11 XL setup (also applies to Lian Li 011 & MetallicGear Neo Qube), these are the quantities:
*Using all silver/chrome fittings because they are the cheapest

Generic G1/4 14MM Hard Tube Fittings = 16 = RM3.95 x 16 = RM71.1
Generic G1/4 90° Connector = 6 = RM6.30 x 6 = RM37.8
Generic G1/4 Plug = 5 = RM2.57 x 5 = RM12.85
Generic G1/4 Drain Valve = 1 = RM15.84
Generic PETG 14MM Tube = 10 = RM3.28 x 10 = RM32.8
Bykski EVO 360MM Radiator = 2 = RM115.68 x 2 = RM231.36
Bykski CPU Waterblock = 1 = RM169.26
Bykski GPU Waterblock = 1 = RM360
Barrow Lian Li 011 Distro Plate = 1 = RM383.90
Barrow DDC Pump = 1 = RM206.42

Total = RM1375.84

Soft tubing you kira sendiri la, cannot count for you tongue.gif because I never use soft tubing laugh.gif
QUOTE(linkinpark @ Aug 19 2020, 09:26 AM)
Simple Custom wc above does it perform better than aio below?
Custom loop will always perform better than AIO

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Aug 19 2020, 10:27 AM
sHawTY
post Aug 20 2020, 10:58 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(linkinpark @ Aug 19 2020, 09:40 PM)
I'm not going for gpu wc since my card just rx570. Not gaming so much. More on cpu intense work. GPU maybe in future.
If you are not going to watercool your GPU, then you have to put the radiator at the front, not at the top so that the radiator can get the cool air instead of the hot air at the top
QUOTE(linkinpark @ Aug 19 2020, 09:40 PM)
Those fitting G1/4 issit suitable for soft tubing or just for hard tube?
G1/4 is the standard thread for all water cooling fittings. The difference between hard tube and soft tube is the way it holds the tube

Hard tube fittings is completely different from soft tube fittings
sHawTY
post Nov 27 2020, 05:22 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(zapper9595 @ Nov 26 2020, 12:55 PM)
Hey guys.

I'm looking for coolant suggestions. My build is a simple temporary soft tube while waiting for my new GPU. All nickel plated copper build. Link and price are appreciated as well!

Get EKWB EK-Cryofuel Premix

Avoid Corsair Hydro X Series XL5, turns cloudy in only a month (my own experience)
Avoid Thermaltake coolant as well, lots of complaints in reddit

My experience with EK-Cryofuel, still crystal clear after 2 years in my PC
PS: I'm using PETG hard tube
sHawTY
post Nov 27 2020, 10:32 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Nov 27 2020, 05:43 PM)
Seriously i have bad experience with EK-Cryofuel Clear, my PETG tubes become cloudy and the waterblocks also have tiny white particles, no sure it was bad batch. I cleaned the loop last week, i will never touch those coolants anymore and currently just using pure distilled water only.
To each his own I guess
And like you said, maybe a bad batch

I've used a total of 4 bottles of Cryofuel clear and all of them perform admirably until today
Corsair Hydro XL5 is the worse, turns cloudy in just a month doh.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 28 2020, 03:52 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Anyone knows what brand are these fittings?
Some shops in Taobao only lists them as CZ, but not many have them

I'm looking for more fittings from these brand but can't find much information on the internet. Trying using Google Images but still can't find any

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 28 2020, 03:53 AM
sHawTY
post Dec 31 2020, 01:34 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Dec 31 2020, 01:06 AM)
found this shop in taobao with these PARAM logo - https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=612723056169
That's the shop where I got those photos from
But I need more fittings from that brand, that shop only has a few sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 31 2020, 09:15 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Finally found a store that sells black PETG tube at a reasonable price:
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....ucket=13#detail

Was searching for this last time, but after irienaoki taught me about spraying the tubes, I no longer need it
Just sharing in case anyone ever needs it
sHawTY
post Dec 31 2020, 12:52 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Small update for my home server

Previously:

sHawTY
post Dec 31 2020, 03:05 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Dec 31 2020, 02:55 PM)
Nice... is that a lian Li case ?
Nope. It's MetallicGear Neo Qube tongue.gif

https://metallicgear.com/products/Neo-Qube-Black
QUOTE(h11g @ Dec 31 2020, 02:55 PM)
Why are they so popular for wc?
Because it's the easiest case to work with, plenty of space and tons of accessories for them

The Neo Qube is an exact copy of the O11 but with some extras features and a tiny bit better than the normal O11 in some way
Ofcourse cannot compare with the O11 XL. O11 XL is the clear winner of all these cases

I'm using O11 XL on my gaming system as per the image below

sHawTY
post Dec 31 2020, 06:46 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Dec 31 2020, 05:31 PM)
they are good because can fit very thick rads right?
Depends on how you mount the GPU
For example, if you mount your GPU vertically like mine, you won't have space for 60MM radiators at the bottom. You can only fit 30MM radiator at the bottom & 40MM radiator at the top
If you mount the GPU like normal then yes you can use 60MM radiator at the top bottom
QUOTE(h11g @ Dec 31 2020, 05:31 PM)
and availability of distro boards for these cases.
Yep. EKWB, Bitspower, Bykski & Barrow all has distro boards for Lian Li O11 & MetallicGear Neo Qube

And multiple types of distro plates as well. Bitspower, EKWB, Barrow & Bykski also has front panel distro plates for O11 as well
So you can either go for side distro plate or front distro plate
sHawTY
post Dec 31 2020, 10:50 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Dec 31 2020, 10:19 PM)
getting really excited to wc my rig. Last I check its enroute from china already~!
Soft tubing or hard tubing?

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 31 2020, 10:50 PM
sHawTY
post Jan 1 2021, 05:44 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Jan 1 2021, 03:03 PM)
soft tubing since its my first time wc-ing~!
Choiii, my first time WC also with hard tubing lah. You saw the full white watercooling loop I created previously?
That's my very first time doing water cooling tongue.gif
QUOTE(h11g @ Jan 1 2021, 03:03 PM)
btw do you guys use Air Tightness Tester to test for leak before filling?
Not for me. I never use it
Built 12 hard tube water cooling system so far, none of them leaked or exploded

0.0544sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:32 AM