best 21 inch flat screen crt tv for gamin, sony, panasonic, toshiba or wat?
Quasi-Suave
Oct 16 2006, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 16 2006, 02:10 PM) Choppy? Do you mean that the framerate stutters? If you're using an LCD it could be lag (refresh rate) but if CRT (like me) it could be the disc you're using. No bro, no the framerate. I'm using CRT so that's not an issue. I guess what I'm trying to say is that the graphics look blocky, as in angular and pointed. For example, the game characters head looks squarish. The game itself runs smoothly. Maybe it's the game although the arcade version itself looks much better. I would have thought that Metal Slug 6 (10th year edition) for the PS2 would look better, if not the same as the arcade version (which was Metal Slug 2 or 3). FYI, I can't change the in game settings cos there is no option to do so.
TSTMTANWHACKY
Oct 16 2006, 04:40 PM
so is thr a brand to recommend for a component 21 n how much will it cost me?
Quasi-Suave
Oct 18 2006, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(TMTANWHACKY @ Oct 16 2006, 04:40 PM) so is thr a brand to recommend for a component 21 n how much will it cost me? try this:- Code: PHP-21PT3324 Description: COLOR TV - 21"REAL FLAT W.M. RCP: RM 679 Brand: PHILIPS Features : *21"*Real Flat TM Tube For Vivid Picture*Active Control TM Optimizes Picture Quality*Signal Strength Indicator*AV Stereo Sound With 10W Sound Power*Component Video Input Gives Best Connection For ShowingYour DVD Movies On Your TV*Personal Zapping Remote To Personalize Your TV And Teletext
TSTMTANWHACKY
Oct 18 2006, 09:07 PM
anythin with the rm500 price tag?
Quasi-Suave
Oct 19 2006, 10:37 AM
yup, but no component, sry.
TSTMTANWHACKY
Oct 25 2006, 10:18 PM
any recommendation for tvs without component? or r they all the same?
g-string
Oct 26 2006, 12:09 PM

u can try the GC brand from carrefour.....i just bought the 29inch last nite. rm739. can upgrade warranty to 3 year for rm80.
havent tried yet...but i heard its pretty ok la. got component n coaxial n svideo
TSTMTANWHACKY
Oct 30 2006, 08:15 PM
GC brand.... not very gd rite, i have seen ads which offer samsung 21 inch flat with component at abt 500+ if i have not mistaken. btw, how much the ps2 component cable cost n whr can i get it?
Lord_Ashe
Oct 31 2006, 08:03 AM
The PS2 component cable may cost you around RM 50 at most, and you can get it from Sg Wang. I got mine from Lik-Sang, but that's not an option anymore.
The Samsung (if it does retail for RM 500) would be a decent buy since at 21" component video would be just different enough from composite.
TSTMTANWHACKY
Nov 1 2006, 07:38 PM
hold on, i have mistaken, is dvd component not the same as composite?
Lord_Ashe
Nov 2 2006, 08:03 AM
Nope. Component video uses the RED, GREEN, BLUE connectors as it splits the video signal into three streams. COMPOSITE video is the standard YELLOW coloured one.
Gilthoniel
Nov 6 2006, 01:37 AM
guys, I'm also looking for a 21" TV to play my PS2 with since a 29" would be overkill... i read that panny sets can't be used with the PS2... even this? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=361862
Lord_Ashe
Nov 6 2006, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Nov 6 2006, 01:37 AM) guys, I'm also looking for a 21" TV to play my PS2 with since a 29" would be overkill... i read that panny sets can't be used with the PS2... even this? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=361862Panny sets CAN be used with PS2s. I know, I use a Panny set everytime I balik kampung. With 21" TVs it's a hit and miss, but you won't be suffering TERRIBLY. IF the Panny has component, good for you. If not, S video will do. If that's not available too, then it looks like it's good old composite for you... This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: Nov 7 2006, 01:38 PM
sunauto
Nov 7 2006, 01:36 PM
Well, not all tvs with component videos will look better, it depends on the picture tube quality, it doesn't mean LCD with HDMI will look better if you compare Cap Ayam brands with a branded one from ...... let say ...... Panasonic. Inputs don't determine a tv's picture quality but if you want a normal CRT tv for heavy duty usage with decent PQ, go for Sony, Panasonic or Toshiba. QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Nov 6 2006, 12:51 PM) Panny sets CAN be used with PS2s. I know, I use a Panny set everytime I balik kampung. With 21" TVs it's a hit and miss, but you won't be suffering TERRIBLY. IF the Panny has component, good for you. If not, S video will do. If that's not available too, then it looks like it's good old component for you...
Lord_Ashe
Nov 7 2006, 01:39 PM
As always I'm going to add Philips into the list.
Gilthoniel
Nov 7 2006, 09:51 PM
Got a Toshiba bomba Flat 21" today with DVD component input. fantastic colours with the normal composite now. highly recommended
now i have to go find the component cable. Sony Wings doesn't have it anymore...
g-string
Nov 8 2006, 10:34 AM

i bought the GC flatscreen 29" tv. 3 yrs warranty Rm800. not bad la. picture quality oso quite good. plus the have a lot of inputs.
and i bought componnent cable for ps2 at rm30 from 1Utama. one of those game shops.
for those on budget, can try gc.
Gilthoniel
Nov 8 2006, 02:53 PM
@g-string,
is the component cable good? it's not the original Sony cable right? alot of difference when compared to the normal AV?
g-string
Nov 8 2006, 11:15 PM

gilth...
errmm....ya, got visible difference. teh colours r more brighter, and the picture looks sharper.
i tried on projector can straight see the difference between composite n component.
on tv can also see the difference. but its not original sony, some 3rd party brand.
Gilthoniel
Nov 9 2006, 02:51 PM
ah maybe i'll just get the ciplak one... my problem isn't colour since everything looks so damn bright on my toshiba now. i want sharper images though... although it's something pretty limited on the current TV... so hopefully component will help