Income Tax on Foreign Salary Income?, Work in Home in Malaysia.

SUSyklooi
post Nov 18 2021, 02:21 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 18 2021, 02:17 PM)
Just curious, did you ask them about funds like ASNB, EPF or mutual funds that invest overseas? What kind of tax treatments are given to their foreign dividends/interests etc. ?
not sure if this is relevant,...
from post 167,

excerpt,
The repeal of this exemption could have significant implications on the post-tax returns of investment vehicles in Malaysia that have built up a portfolio in non-Malaysian securities and instruments.

Where these investments currently provided tax exempt income in the form of foreign interest, coupon, and dividends; moving forward, this income would be taxable at 24% effective from Jan 1, 2022.

In the short term, this means a 24% haircut on the investment returns of these vehicles will be borne by the investors when the profits are distributed.
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...ment-management

maybe and hopefully,...those Govt linked entities will have special treatment
SUSyklooi
post Nov 19 2021, 10:41 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 19 2021, 10:04 AM)
no no no... this is slightly different...

If you are resident Malaysia and the "economic activity" is in/from Malaysia... you pay tax per your normal filling... it doesn't matter where it's banked in or you remit or not...
if you are resident Malaysia and the "economic activity" is in/from Malaysia... you pay tax per your normal filling.....it doesn't matter where it's banked in or you remit or not.

what if i do investment in M'sia like Unit trust funds or SA/Wahed/etc....that focused in overseas...i think that is also economic activity and this economic activity is in/from Malaysia
i don't pay tax per my normal filling

the dividend distributions of the unit trust from the gains and dividend income received in the holdings of the UT .....are reinvest
if the UT fund or SA/Wahed/etc did not remit income back (when i don't redeem) then it does not matters or does matters?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Nov 19 2021, 10:51 AM
SUSyklooi
post Nov 24 2021, 01:02 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 24 2021, 12:46 PM)
Ah, I mean if I take a loan ( I am borrowing money) and remitting back to Malaysia, I am not the one lending out.
hmm.gif good scenario,...
if i have lhdn undeclared money overseas,...i used that to buy property,...i mortgage that property (loan money),...take that "loaned" money back to Malaysia with all the paper work of that loan...

hmm.gif hmm.gif
SUSyklooi
post Nov 24 2021, 02:46 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 24 2021, 02:22 PM)
very good... no more foreign sourced income...now very much like money laundering... rclxm9.gif

joking ah... obviously you got paperwork where money comes to buy house... but money still need to flow back out wor to service loan... nett zero
Loan is serviced in the country of loan origin,... While earning income n pay taxes there. Maybe if can use to offset some taxes for loan repayment too 🤔🤔 ( like offset interest on loan when seeking rental income tax rebate in msia)
Loaned Money back to msia if can no tax 👍👍

🤑🤑😁

This post has been edited by yklooi: Nov 24 2021, 03:19 PM
SUSyklooi
post Dec 16 2021, 11:15 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(benho88 @ Dec 16 2021, 10:44 AM)
your income should be taxed in and filed from the country you receive your income from no?  confused.gif
if you meant "employment" income for example?
if yes, try read post 248 just posted by MUM above.

but i guess the final say on these scenario are yet to be from MoF or LHDN..maybe they ar still not yet finalise all the FAQs questioned being given to them

This post has been edited by yklooi: Dec 16 2021, 11:23 AM
SUSyklooi
post Dec 16 2021, 11:22 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 16 2021, 11:09 AM)
I read that the duration where you reside in Malaysia has an implication on this taxation as well (regardless if you are paying tax in the country where you are receiving the income) when you repatriate the money.
Anyone can enlighten?
Read post 248,
working in Spore,...pay Spore tax,
but he is a M'sia tax residents bcos he is staying in JB
current tax regime no need to pay Msia tax,....BUT
next year kena tax if the income are brought back....

but i guess the fianl say on these scenario are yet to be from MoF or LHDN..
SUSyklooi
post Dec 16 2021, 12:42 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Dec 16 2021, 12:24 PM)
Yeah, whole thing feels very rushed.
How do they view big expenses which are charged to credit card?
Example, work in Singapore, buy things/pay school fees/insurance/etc in Malaysia? Better off paying with SIngapore issued credit cards?
Or those paying instalment for house/cars?
Are we going to see a u-turn, at least on Singapore?
i think, they won't just "exempt" or make U turn for any one particular country....
but more to (hopefully) like those of HK.... where their amended laws ...

".... target corporations, particularly those with no substantial economic activity in Hong Kong, that make use of passive income to evade tax across a border. Individual taxpayers will not be affected. As to financial institutions, their offshore interest income is already subject to profits tax under the Inland Revenue Ordinance at present, and hence the legislative amendments will not increase their tax burden."
https://www.tax-news.com/news/Hong_Kong_To_...e____97984.html

there is a recent posting in post 29266 at FSM thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+29260#entry103127278
the mentioned product has a new 24% taxation targeted corporation but not individual..
SUSyklooi
post Dec 17 2021, 10:28 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 17 2021, 10:19 PM)
the question did asked about "keuntungan modal"
but the answer just mentioned "bersifat modal"
bersifat modal = capital....
there is no mention about gains/profits in the answer?? confused.gif  sweat.gif
i think currently there is no capital gain tax,...
thus maybe that is the reason they did not mention it in that answer biggrin.gif
if in future there is capital gain tax imposed,...that answer can still stay valid biggrin.gif devil.gif

SUSyklooi
post Dec 19 2021, 09:47 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(julum152 @ Dec 19 2021, 05:42 PM)
If i wish to remit money (malaysia taxable income for year 2021) from offshore bank back to malaysia,

1. Should i transfer before 01 Jan 2022, which could result more than >3% income tax

or

2. Waiting after 01 Jan 2022, then remit back, which result 3% on tax.
QUOTE(julum152 @ Dec 19 2021, 09:26 PM)
PKPP tidak melibatkan pendapatan yang terbit dari Malaysia yang tertakluk
kepada cukai bagi tahun taksiran 2021 dan tahun-tahun taksiran
seterusnya dan diremit atau dibawa balik dalam tempoh PKPP.

PKPP does not involve income derived from Malaysia which is subject
to tax for the year of assessment 2021 and the years of assessment
subsequently and remitted or brought back within the PKPP period.
does this means my 2021 malaysia taxable income in offshore bank cannot participate 3% PKPP ?  even i remit back to malaysia, the money still considered to conventional income tax rate?
there is a FAQs post on the PKPP
try post 273, page 14.

hope the answers you seek are there
SUSyklooi
post Dec 21 2021, 05:54 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 21 2021, 05:31 PM)
This is not a big concern for the time being. When one retired, one technically do not have any income right? Then only remit back your cpf slowly, year on year.
The remitted funds, even if one cannot prove they are capital vs income, is at most going to be taxed at normal income rate. So technically every year, the first 40K rm is basically tax free.
👍
But yet there are some like me, came back to work, when at age 50 still working in Msia, can withdraw CPF....

SUSyklooi
post Dec 21 2021, 07:33 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(MattSally @ Dec 21 2021, 07:23 PM)
If a tax file has never been opened on me for genuine reasons (previously not tax resident in Malaysia) but I am now tax resident in Malaysia but do not work and have no passive income at all (live off savings in Malaysia deposit account) then do I now have to open a tax file? Total interest on money on deposit is only RM150 a month.
not sure if this a valid/right/correct response.
but i have no employment income for the past few years, living off my "saving" in Malaysia and had also continued to submit my income tax returns yearly.....(declared as "no income")
so i see, your case and my are almost similar, thus no need to open a tax file......
unless the amount of your live off the saving is extremely large and if you want to buy a big asset with cash

btw,...interest from deposit from M'sia banks are tax exempted..
SUSyklooi
post Dec 27 2021, 10:00 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Dec 27 2021, 09:51 AM)
Usually if your an expat you should negotiate your package nett of tax which means all tax for the country ( Australia) is paid by your employer and arranged by your employer.

Companies sometimes dont regard you as an employee but as an external vendor ( e.g. cause you wont enjoy staff benefits like medical, etc) as such what they pay you could be without any tax deducted and they assume you will pay the relevant tax at the country of residence ( which in TS Wife Case Malaysia). So please check with your employer what they pay and did not pay,

Basically they treat you like engaging a foreign vendor and pay you a fixed sum per contract then you settled your tax at LHDN ( Malaysia)

If your working in Singapore ( means you stay in malaysia less than the prescribed period and is in Singapore for the prescribed period ) you will be a tax resident of singapore but not a tax resident of malaysia.
As such your not liable to LHDN. Proof can be via your passport. Transferring CPF money back is not taxable as long you have evidence and proof that its CPF money.

is that "OLD" news/system?
YES,...tax free last time....
now with the the soon to be implemented foreign sourced income tax starting 1 Jan 2022...
things will still be the SAME as before?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Dec 27 2021, 10:13 AM

0.0372sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:14 PM