8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Mazda 2 sedan or Honda City V, Which one?

Which one do you think is better overall?

Mazda 2 sedan RM87,969.50 OTR [ 200 ] ** [55.25%]
Honda City V RM90,813.50 OTR [ 162 ] ** [44.75%]
Total Votes: 362
Guests cannot vote 

lil_flank
post May 1 2015, 01:25 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Apr 30 2015, 09:39 PM)
Locals who bought City are those who can't afford Vios and Mazda 2. City inside, headroom is low, legroom just average and interior width, can forget sitting 3 full size adults behind. Unless you're thin like lidi, then sure can fit you in middle sandwitched between 2 small built adults.
Hmm..
Let me recall back why i choose City instead of vios and mazda 2.
1) Was i am unable to afford Vios and Mazda 2?
Ermm.. nope!
2) Was the cabin and boot size small?
Headroom: higher than vios and mazda 2
Width: Mazda 2 is smaller
Legroom and boot size: City is definitely bigger

Notice that most of your post are bashing Honda city..
Did Honda city offended u? Lol..

This post has been edited by lil_flank: May 1 2015, 01:50 PM
stevensteady
post May 1 2015, 01:54 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(lil_flank @ May 1 2015, 01:25 PM)
Hmm..
Ermm.. nope!

totally agree, i own honda city and my gf dad has vios. Both similar price, headroom definitely higher and has larger legroom as well..
Dwango
post May 1 2015, 06:56 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(commanderz @ Apr 24 2015, 10:03 AM)
Mazda 2 not worth la...the car look so small...better save up a bit get mazda 3
Small can pack a punch sometimes. Mazda 3 is good but the CBU is a bit overpriced at >RM130k. The CKD Mazda 3 is value for money but in terms of rattling sound in the cabin it may not do too good. But if one is going for value, then the CKD Mazda 3 is still a good choice.
Dwango
post May 1 2015, 07:03 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(towar @ Apr 24 2015, 09:44 AM)
thanks to Honda for giving us value for money cars. not like the greedy bermaz which sells the cramped mazda 2 at high price.
Nowadays Honda is down already when compared to most Japanese. No interesting innovation. It is not value for money but bad value when compared to Mazda and other competitors. Perhaps the Accord may be the most interesting model that is much accepted in the D-segment but it doesn't have the edge against other more technologically advanced models. The Civic has already lost its appeal, while the new City although a refreshing model in terms of looks is nothing special other than the below-par performance.
kluseng
post May 1 2015, 07:51 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ May 1 2015, 06:56 PM)
Small can pack a punch sometimes. Mazda 3 is good but the CBU is a bit overpriced at >RM130k. The CKD Mazda 3 is value for money but in terms of rattling sound in the cabin it may not do too good. But if one is going for value, then the CKD Mazda 3 is still a good choice.
No complains of rattling sounds in the cabin by new Mazda 3 CKD owners so far. All CKD cars and even some CBU cars may come with this problem or it may not depending on your luck. I don't think the M3 CKD should be singled out for this any more than other CKD cars.

Dwango
post May 2 2015, 11:04 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ May 1 2015, 07:51 PM)
No complains of rattling sounds in the cabin by new Mazda 3 CKD owners so far. All CKD cars and even some CBU cars may come with this problem or it may not depending on your luck. I don't think the M3 CKD should be singled out for this any more than other CKD cars.
Cos it's still new. There isn't any need to wait until 1 year. The first 6 months will reveal that. CKD Malaysian units especially Mazda and Honda usually show more rattling sound than others. CKD units from Asean countries fair better with CBU showing the least rattling sound compared to CKD Asean due to more stringent QAQC control. All Honda Accord cars and some CKD cars I sat in show rattling sound.

It may be more to luck for some cases in CBU showing more rattling sound compared to CKD models but generally the country of origin of CKD or CBU models will come into play when it comes to rattling sound in the cabin.
kadajawi
post May 3 2015, 02:48 AM

544 posts

The problem with the 2 is the lack of side airbags. Otherwise a great choice, but I just can't get over that omission. The price for 4 airbags is below 4K, so why not a spec that has it for the same price as the City C spec? That car has it.

Add the added space etc. and it becomes the obvious choice.
jayraptor
post May 4 2015, 04:31 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(lil_flank @ May 1 2015, 01:25 PM)
Hmm..
Ermm.. nope!

Since when Honta give high headroon? Only in Accord & CRV. City & Civic are known of their low rear headroom with just 1-2 fingers diameter before touching roof.

Vios is RM5k-10k costlier than City S that most people bought. Mazda 2 is RM10k more. City is just a crap low quality car.
jayraptor
post May 4 2015, 04:35 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(towar @ May 2 2015, 07:35 PM)
u trying to tell lies here again ? luckily we have knowledgable people like dares who will expose your lies. city is a very safe car, full stop.
who gives a damn about  interesting innovation ? city and hrv are best sellers beating all other competition. u want advanced , go buy a tesla.
Never trust those planned collision test, nothing resembles reality. Brag and spread fake stories number 1 making people to believe Honta superior with its outdated SOHC gen1 valve timing and remake of the poor reliability/durability CVT. Real accident cases involving City, often ended with serious injury or fatal, lost control, got into rollover, etc.

Mazda at the other hand often being the best survivor and escaped the worst collision. So you prefer something proven on real roads or just on testing centres?

Tesla is electric car, you'll end up ran out of battery on roadside due to no recharging station. Only petrol station available here.
TSRicoT
post May 4 2015, 05:11 PM

200 posts

This thread had become a war between City and Mazda 2.

I am going to close this thread to prevent any further accusation statements from both sides.

Both cars are great, designed with different philosophy and opinion in both sides.

I had bought a Mazda 2 and I am happy with it.

Why City is using SOHC? IMHO, Honda City is designed to be a daily driven car and as cost effective as possible, so it has to be simple and easy to produce as well easy to maintain. Daily driven cars are just to bring you from point A to B safely. To be honest, unless you floor the accelerator and get in 'VTEC yooo' mode, you are essentially driving a car without and variable cam technology. Same goes to Toyota VVT-i and Myvi DVVT which boasted DOHC. At low rpm, engines are about the same, 2-4k rpm is normal driving engine speed, VTEC/VVT-i/DVVT kicks in about 4.5k rpm I believe, to give you that extra omph. Being sold in ASEAN, they want to keep the running cost down so it could be used for generations to come, e.g. Honda Cub, many still running around. Honda knew in ASEAN, reliability = higher RV = higher market appreciation, hence want to follow the Toyota way. They learnt this lesson the hard way (City '04 to '08 which I owned two of them, sold one to change Mazda 2), CVT issue caused a dent in their reputation. But back in their home country, they have all the latest technology integrated into their cars there.

The same goes to Mazda 2, it is designed to be as fuel saving as it possibly could, and integrating their latest engine and AT transmission design into it. However, their heritage is designing sports car coupe, the famous Mazda RX-7 and Miata. So as expected, the car cabin seems to smaller as they want it to be as sporty looking as it could. But they are taking a huge gamble, if this Skyactiv is not proven to be reliable (like the old Honda City '04-'08), Mazda reputation could go down as well. On the other hand, if it works well, it is the most fuel saving B-segment there is.

I appreciate technology and embrace innovations. Hence, I also ready to take the gamble again with Mazda 2.

Actually, I am expecting Honda City Hybrid to launch since last year and even placed my booking fee with a SA, but until now, there is no news, hence I gave up on them. Honda Earth Dreams engines could be on par with Mazda Skyactiv, if they are ever launched in Malaysia, I doubt so, because there is no news about the i-DCD transmission issue has been resolved in Japan.
TSRicoT
post May 10 2016, 08:08 PM

200 posts

Mazda Skyactiv Cruise Control now available to activate and install, PM me for more information.
aaron1717
post May 11 2016, 10:33 AM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,188 posts

interesting thread... like that also can have war.... reli salute the forummers here..... xiao di give you guys one nod........ B-segment cars sahaja... talk so much rubbish there = = in the end still a point A to point B car sahaja.....
TSRicoT
post Jan 18 2017, 12:26 AM

200 posts

After almost two years of Mazda 2 Sedan ownership, it is disappointing to point out that there is a fundamental design problem which Mazda Japan nor Bermaz is not able to come out with a permanent fix to it, yet. This problem is present in many Mazda 2 Skyactiv DJ (2015-present) and Mazda 2 DE (previous generation).

After a few months of usage, the intermediate shaft/steering system/front suspension will have:
(1) abrasive and heavy feel (like sanding) when turning the steering from end-to-end (all the time),
(2) "knocking" feeling and sound when the steering wheel is wiggled left and right continuously (all the time),
(3) "tak" sound when turning back the steering from extreme ends while vehicle is stationary (intermittently),
(4) while turning back after taking left/right corners in in low speed junction and mid speed bend (intermittently),
(5) the steering can feel the harsh impacts of driving over uneven roads, as if the whole steering/suspension system can dislodge itself anytime (all the time).

These problems exist in many Mazda 2 Skyactiv (DJ), as well as Mazda 2 DE (previous generation). Bermaz directed all affected car owners to visit and inform their respective service centres regarding these issues, and the SC will do the following:
(1) apply special grease to intermediate shaft (reduce the "knocking" feeling but symptoms will return after a week or two),
(2) replace intermediate shaft/damper top mounting (steering felt like a new car after replacement and no more symptoms for a while, but the problem will return to haunt you again after a month or so).

These problems had affected a number of cars (at least 50+ Mazda 2 Skyactiv car owners had spoken out about these problem in a Mazda 2 owners club in Facebook). I had correspond to Bermaz by email to highlight these issues and seeking a permanent fix, but until now, no further action taken apart from changing the intermediate shaft/damper top mounting, and I am unsure whether Bermaz have notify Mazda Japan about these issues for further studies/corrective action to be taken.

I would advise all future potential buyers to weight these issues into your consideration to buy a Mazda 2 Skyactiv, until a permanent fix to these problems is available. I will keep this thread updated by then.

Currently, you can consider:
• New Honda City V Facelift (2017) ← launching soon at the time of this writing
• New Toyota Vios Facelift (2016) ← no longer the dinosaur 4 speed automatic

This post has been edited by RicoT: Jan 18 2017, 12:34 AM
fin8Ex
post Feb 12 2017, 10:49 AM

202 posts

hi thanks for update

hmm is mazda 2 CBU only?
i am also considering new city v mazda 2
likely the high spec new city only gets the led drl.
but not sure is cbu thailand or ckd malaysia.

but price wise, somehow feels honda city is overpriced vs mazda 2 cbu
flyingteeku
post Feb 13 2017, 01:08 AM

2,008 posts

QUOTE(RicoT @ Jan 18 2017, 12:26 AM)
After almost two years of Mazda 2 Sedan ownership, it is disappointing to point out that there is a fundamental design problem which Mazda Japan nor Bermaz is not able to come out with a permanent fix to it, yet. This problem is present in many Mazda 2 Skyactiv DJ (2015-present) and Mazda 2 DE (previous generation).

After a few months of usage, the intermediate shaft/steering system/front suspension will have:
(1) abrasive and heavy feel (like sanding) when turning the steering from end-to-end (all the time),
(2) "knocking" feeling and sound when the steering wheel is wiggled left and right continuously (all the time),
(3) "tak" sound when turning back the steering from extreme ends while vehicle is stationary (intermittently),
(4) while turning back after taking left/right corners in in low speed junction and mid speed bend (intermittently),
(5) the steering can feel the harsh impacts of driving over uneven roads, as if the whole steering/suspension system can dislodge itself anytime (all the time).

These problems exist in many Mazda 2 Skyactiv (DJ), as well as Mazda 2 DE (previous generation). Bermaz directed all affected car owners to visit and inform their respective service centres regarding these issues, and the SC will do the following:
(1) apply special grease to intermediate shaft (reduce the "knocking" feeling but symptoms will return after a week or two),
(2) replace intermediate shaft/damper top mounting (steering felt like a new car after replacement and no more symptoms for a while, but the problem will return to haunt you again after a month or so).

These problems had affected a number of cars (at least 50+ Mazda 2 Skyactiv car owners had spoken out about these problem in a Mazda 2 owners club in Facebook). I had correspond to Bermaz by email to highlight these issues and seeking a permanent fix, but until now, no further action taken apart from changing the intermediate shaft/damper top mounting, and I am unsure whether Bermaz have notify Mazda Japan about these issues for further studies/corrective action to be taken.

I would advise all future potential buyers to weight these issues into your consideration to buy a Mazda 2 Skyactiv, until a permanent fix to these problems is available. I will keep this thread updated by then.

Currently, you can consider:
• New Honda City V Facelift (2017) ← launching soon at the time of this writing
• New Toyota Vios Facelift (2016) ← no longer the dinosaur 4 speed automatic
Good thread for future buyer and good that you have updated the info..Bermaz would not want to see this..haha
TSRicoT
post Feb 13 2017, 03:12 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(flyingteeku @ Feb 13 2017, 01:08 AM)
Good thread for future buyer and good that you have updated the info..Bermaz would not want to see this..haha
Battery warranty T&C now changed to 1 year/20,000km, reduced from 3 years/60,000km.

Feedback from other owners that the start-stop GS Battery comes originally with the car will fail shortly after 1 year, mileage ranging from 2X,000km to 5X,000km. Price for battery cost a big bomb from SC @ RM8XX. Imagine thr cost for changing the battery yearly.

I advise caution on getting Mazda 2/CX-3 at the moment, until the steering rack/suspension issues has a permanent solution, here in Malaysia. Don't trust the sales person that everything is solved, in fact it is a problem inherited since the last Mazda 2 model and Mazda not doing a good job rectifying their design.
ratloverice
post Feb 13 2017, 04:27 AM

804 posts

Was considering Mazda 2, post-FL Fiesta 1.0 ecoboost, Rio 1.0 T-GDI, City V, and Peugeot 208 puretech. This thread makes me feel like kicking mazda 2 out from the list sleep.gif
lin@lowyat
post Feb 13 2017, 10:06 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ May 11 2016, 10:33 AM)
interesting thread... like that also can have war.... reli salute the forummers here..... xiao di give you guys one nod........ B-segment cars sahaja... talk so much rubbish there = = in the end still a point A to point B car sahaja.....
and i thought that /k only bash VW cars only, now the bashing spread..
jacobngen87
post Feb 13 2017, 11:36 AM

City

The acceleration is faster than M2.

Interior space is bigger and nvh is also better

The only thing M2 is better than city I find is the dashboard is more premium that's it. But personal taste cos city dash is more modern

freedom11
post Feb 13 2017, 04:19 PM

QUOTE(jacobngen87 @ Feb 13 2017, 11:36 AM)
City

The acceleration is faster than M2.

Interior space is bigger and nvh is also better

The only thing M2 is better than city I find is the dashboard is more premium that's it. But personal taste cos city dash is more modern
LOL, again faster acceleration can decide Honda City is the better car? Please experience the entire driving dynamics. Oh ya, again CVT is totally a soulless drive.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0533sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:18 AM