Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.25, D500 out now

jchue73
post Jan 13 2016, 06:41 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 13 2016, 06:33 PM)
Haha not that bad la, their stuffs usually few hundred more exp than usual places but some of their accessories like filters can be quite cheap biggrin.gif
If you're into cap ayam filters and accessories, other places can get cheaper.
jchue73
post Jan 13 2016, 07:07 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 13 2016, 06:44 PM)
I don't think Nikon CPL filter would be considered cap ayam lol. Some of their B+W ND filters at times are quite cheap as well. Including some of their better tripods.
Apologies. I thought you were referring to cap ayam brands because most of the time people will come and refer to cheap stuff on Shahsinki only to see that they are China brands. The same for tripods. YL Camera offers better range and pricing IMO.

Anyway the last I checked, you can always get cheaper Nikon CPLs and B+W ND filters elsewhere. Maybe the recent slump in the RM made things more "bearable". I do admit that despite the price, Shashinki does offer convenience for hard to get items but not always the cheapest.

On a personal note, I've had been trying for the longest time to get the Nikon drop-in circular polariser C-PL3L and finally got it RM 200 plus cheaper than what was sold on Shashinki. To Shashinki's credit, I could not find it anywhere in KL/PJ and shops in Singapore / Hong Kong were selling for around the same price.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Jan 13 2016, 07:08 PM
jchue73
post Jan 14 2016, 01:09 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 13 2016, 07:40 PM)
Haha I don't believe in cap ayam filters. The most cap ayam filter I ever had was a Kenko UV filter and I only used that as a protector for a cheap 50mm lens lol.

How much does your Nikon CPL filter usually cost? I bought mine for RM470 which was a really good price since even Amazon is selling it for around $170.
Yep they are good for hard to find stuffs haha, but I've only bought 1-2 stuffs from them.
I usually don't use any UV filters on my lenses ! If I use CPL, that would be on my wide angle. For that, I use the Fotodiox Wonderpana special mount and a fairly large CPL (145mm) that does not give uneven polarisation. I use the Wonderpana mount more for mounting graduated ND filters.

QUOTE(harrie @ Jan 13 2016, 11:57 PM)
yup, im definitely will go practice more. by the way, i found BBF technique good for me to use XD
Something to confess... I've actually only learned to use the BBF recently like 3 or 4 years ago even though I read about the merits of BBF. Before this I've always used the half press shutter button to focus. Unlinking the focus and shutter release actually makes sense. After many years, it took a while to kick the old habit and relearn how to shoot using the BBF technique.

But just a tip... If your camera is already set up to use the BBF, be careful if you hand over your camera to somebody else to take a pic of you for some reason... They might just use the shutter button to shoot a pic and give you an unfocused pic.
jchue73
post Jan 14 2016, 10:01 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 14 2016, 09:24 AM)
Haha I only use UV filters for protection, but nowadays I just leave my CPL on as the protection. 145mm filters, ouch that costs a bomb. But are you able to use your hood with the mount and 145mm filter?
Using the Wonderpana mount plus the 145mm CPL, there are no usable lens hood for the 14-24mm f/2.8.

Anyway, only the CPL is 145mm. The mount takes square type 150mm graduated ND filters.
jchue73
post Jan 14 2016, 05:18 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 14 2016, 12:16 PM)
Nice find. It seems we have the wrong occupation. rolleyes.gif I truly enjoyed the review even though it was on the pre-production D5. Straight and concise.

I'm just waiting for the D810 successor to have the same AF system as on the D5/D500.
jchue73
post Jan 14 2016, 09:41 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 14 2016, 05:43 PM)
That's why in the end D750 is still the best all-rounder.

It's in between all of them.
To that I agree. A sweet spot which was previously held by D610.

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 14 2016, 08:35 PM)
That's nearly RM30k right there just for the "body" only lol. But the new 600mm lens looks amazing from the shots too.
Yeah the 600mm... sweat.gif I didn't check which version he was using though. The newer more expensive and lighter fluorine coated version or the older one... I won't complain if I get either one. Hahahah

Yea lol. looks like we'll only be able to do that when/if we retire rich sad.gif
I'm hoping the next 6Dmk2 will have at least 1/2 the AF performance of the D5..
Hahahah, just give yourself to the Dark Side ! It is unavoidable. It is your destiny. Easier that way and your journey towards the Dark Side will be complete.

But his photographs in his review are really amazing. There's art and beauty in his wildlife shots.
Yeah, great hardware with mad skills can get you there.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Jan 14 2016, 09:41 PM
jchue73
post Jan 16 2016, 11:54 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Cubex01 @ Jan 15 2016, 07:40 PM)
Is it possible to find T-ring and T-adapter 1.25 for Nikon to telescope adapter in Camera shop? It look like this

i found one in Lazada but the delivery time too long. after Feb will be arrived. I went to malaysian telescope site but the price is triple time expansive than lazada. Does anyone familiar with this?
Hmmm, have you checked Shasinkki (can't believe I suggested this laugh.gif ) or Ebay? Specialised stuff like this hard to come by.

BTW, what telescope are you using? For birding?

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 16 2016, 12:49 AM)
they charge with inspection fees first then will call the owner for double confirm want to fix or not if not mistaken  unsure.gif
That's right. smile.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 16 2016, 03:23 AM)
In the end it's physical design vs human factor. biggrin.gif Our hands may be small but even small hands have different configuration and each individual has different tolerance level.
Yup. It's called ergonomics.

Lego Warfare, if you did not realise, Master Sith goldfries at work here. laugh.gif

jchue73
post Jan 28 2016, 05:23 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 27 2016, 03:05 PM)
The D500 is even more expensive than the semi pro FX range e.g D750 & D800.
Apparently they are categorizing the D500 as pro range, and from samples their high ISO looks very impressive even besting some of the few years older FX range.
The gap does seem to be closing in btw cropped and FF with new tech development.
Aiks... Wasn't it you and mingyuyu who mentioned that it's not possible and that you've yet to see a crop sensor besting a full frame in noise performance when I considered shifting from FX to DX? hmm.gif
jchue73
post Feb 1 2016, 03:37 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 31 2016, 08:44 PM)
I've never tried the lens before, but based on reviews the VR3 is a good alternative for its bigger brother, especially if you (i) have a limited budget; (ii) are doing birding photography.
However, for wedding and portraits, it will be nicer to have the F2.8. SoI guess it depends on what you usually shoot  hmm.gif
The 70-200mm f/4 VR for birding would be wasting money.

The 200-500mm f/5.6 VR is a better buy for birding and both lenses around the same price.

QUOTE(BaRT @ Feb 1 2016, 02:20 PM)
LOL Hillarious indeed. Looking at it from a bigger perspective, he is more famous now then if he had won it the legal way.

Looks like the reply from the guy is made from Nikon's own lawyers. laugh.gif nod.gif
jchue73
post Feb 1 2016, 08:03 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 1 2016, 05:19 PM)
The 70-200 f4 weight is portable for travelling.
Was thinking for that purpose mostly, not so much for birding.
Maybe still ok for those in cage/park birdie or animals.
Sufficient reach, right?
Should be ok lar for caged / zoo animals. Yes, it's portable for travelling.
jchue73
post Feb 13 2016, 03:32 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Feb 8 2016, 11:13 PM)
guys,

sad story time

> was using 28-70 2.8 (old heavy lens) for sunset shoot  at the coastline
> found a spot for my shoot and set up my camera on a tripod
> moved the tripod a bit
> tripod head wasn't secured as i thought it was
> camera moved down and len hit the rock
> tried zooming
> zoom mechanism stuck between 35 and 70, can't zoom out to 28
> heard a crack (this is bad)
> lens won't focus
> sent to Nikon Penang for check up
> quoted price for fixing is RM2.8K (replacing the whole AF system)

No, i didn't put the hood on.
To me, it didn't really felt like a heavy impact on the lens, no dent or anything.

For now, i am missing my mid range zoom and will be a bit hard covering weddings with only a 50 1.8/1.4 and 70-200
Sorry to hear the misfortune. How did the lens hit the rock? From side or on the front lens element? The 28-70 was built like a tank but the newer 24-70 (no idea on the 24-70 VR) is more fragile though.

On a side note, what tripod are you using? Newer tripods nowadays (including China made ones) include arca swiss type clamps on the ballheads that usually have a safety catch that prevent the camera / lens from sliding off if it's not locked down tight.

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Feb 13 2016, 03:12 AM)
I did that, but no name on the lens..huhu..

Anyhow, can you recommend me which nikon G lenses good for landscape..
AF-S 14-24mm f/2.8

sweat.gif
jchue73
post Feb 14 2016, 10:44 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 13 2016, 03:56 AM)
I'm using this UWA http://www.sigmaphoto.com/12-24mm-f45-56-dg-hsm-ii

Review http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews...I-HSM-Lens.aspx

Bear in mind this lens is not UWA once on FX body, neither is that 14-24 mentioned in the above post.
How is Nikon's 14-24mm f/2.8 not an UWA lens on FX body? Which lens is UWA then?

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Feb 14 2016, 02:23 AM)
yup, you can read in in here...

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/57188226

now I dunno whether I want to update mine or not incase I want to buy sigma lens in the future sweat.gif
I think if want to get 3rd party lenses like Sigma, make sure you can update the lens firmware via the USB dock like how some of the Sigma lenses are able to do. Makes it easier that you need not have to send back to Sigma to update the lens firmware so that it's compatible with the latest firmwares of the Nikon bodies.
jchue73
post Feb 14 2016, 11:27 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Feb 14 2016, 11:19 PM)
the Sigma 12-24 is Dx lens meanwhile the Nikkor 14-24 is Fx lens (=
Actually the Sigma 12-24mm that goldfries listed is an FX lens. Just like the Nikon 14-24mm.
jchue73
post Feb 14 2016, 11:34 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 14 2016, 11:26 PM)
ogiveyakuza is using a D5500.

My post was just saying that the 12-24 and the 14-24 mentioned by jchue73 are UWA lenses on FX body but on DX it will not be.

with 1.5 crop factor the field of view becomes 18-36 and 21-36 respectively.
Actually it does not have to be UWA lenses to take fantastic quality landscapes be it on FX or DX. But the 14-24mm is definitely and excellent performer for landscapes.

If a DX lens is required, then the Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens (25.5 to 82.5mm effective FL on 35mm) is an excellent performer that doubles up as a good portraiture and general use lens. But the price is also not cheap... Might as well invest in an FX lens.
jchue73
post Feb 14 2016, 11:39 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 14 2016, 11:30 PM)
Yeah, it's the Nikon 12-24 that is the DX lens.

Sigma's DX version of UWA is the 10-20.
Yup. Sigma has 2 versions of the DX 10-20mm. One is the 10-20mm f/4-5.6 while the other one (newer) is a constant f/3.5.

The Nikon 12-24mm f/4 DX is quite old. Supposedly Nikon came out with the AF-S 10-24mm F/3.5-4.5 DX that has better performance than the older 12-24mm f/4.
jchue73
post Feb 15 2016, 03:43 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 14 2016, 11:42 PM)
That is correct. People think need UWA for landscapes but if one actually uses UWA before, some scenes look really bad when on UWA.
Yup. Most difficult to master is wide angle photos. With wide angles, very easy to make your shots look bad. With teles, it's most easy. That's why a lot of people start to "seriously" take up photography with telezoom lenses like the 70-200mm. Very easy to get nice photos. blush.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 14 2016, 11:42 PM)
What lens to use depends entirely on what landscape it is. Some landscapes are take with 70-200, or even longer telephoto. They can then be stitched too.
Yes, actually stitching is much easier with a longer lens than with a wide lens because the lines don't distort and curve.

My dream is to own and shoot with the 24mm PC-E (tilt & shift) lens. Mount camera / lens in portrait orientation on a sturdy tripod, shift left shoot, shift centre shoot, shift right shoot. Then do a perfect stitch of the 3 images in post processing. Huge UWA. But shooting with the Nikon 24mm f/3.5 PC-E manual lens is a pain in the @ss because first and foremost it's manual and secondly you need to use a tripod ALL THE TIME. So shooting with it is really time consuming.

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Feb 15 2016, 01:43 AM)
waa, seems like I need to learn more about lenses... dunno whether I have enough time or not because I'm planning to go to iceland at the end of next month...
Iceland? Whoa... thumbup.gif

Actually you don't need UWA lenses for landscapes. Good to have but not necessary. As long as you can get a zoom to cover 24mm on FX (18mm on DX), you should be fine. I think better that way too. A picture that is too much wide angle will make your subjects become distorted if they are not placed properly in the framing.
jchue73
post Feb 15 2016, 03:59 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 15 2016, 12:50 PM)
Want some opinions.

I m using d750 and 50mm 1.8g, 24-120 f4 and tamron 70-300 usd. Thinking to get d7200 too.
Also, wanted to just share using those existing lens with the d7200.
Will the image quality be impacted with those fx lens on dx body ?
Performance of DX bodies will not be impacted by putting FX lenses.

Unlike putting DX lenses on FX body which will make the FX body sensor like a DX body if auto crop mode is on. If it's not on auto crop and you override to use FX sensor, then you can only use a certain zoom range of the DX lens on the FX body before getting into vignette problem.

Anyway, don't understand why you need to buy a D7200... What are you planning to use it for? Wildlife? If you really need a 2nd body, get another FX body like the D800 or another D750.

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 15 2016, 02:12 PM)
I just thinking of saving $$$ not to invest dx lens only.
Just curious to know will it impacts on IQ, regardless how high or low standard of IQ. ☺️
If given the choice, always go with FX lenses.
jchue73
post Feb 15 2016, 04:04 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 15 2016, 04:01 PM)
not recommended him D500 meh?  laugh.gif
LOL... Cannot recommend to somebody on something I have not tried. Looks impressive but don't know if I'm willing to pay so much for it if I was looking for a crop body. sweat.gif
jchue73
post Feb 15 2016, 06:02 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 15 2016, 04:55 PM)
Not wanting to get another fx body.
This d7200 is to replace my mirrorless that is in the drybox.  And, mostly for my wife lor. I will not consider d5500 due to lack of control dial. Sometime will use it for wildlife too.
Ok.

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Feb 15 2016, 05:04 PM)
Will the D7200 heavy for ur wife? Since she is using mirrorless now. lol
LOL... Actually best for casual shooting is to get a good PnS camera like the Sony RX100. Or a good mobile phone that takes good pics.
jchue73
post Mar 9 2016, 04:29 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 1 2016, 01:24 PM)
D750 owner, do check.

Nikon advisory D750
Hmmm, Nikon has been issuing several service advisories lately. Anybody's D750 kena?

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 5 2016, 07:37 PM)
Alternatively maybe can check here.
kldslr promo
How come don't have the items I want at the correct price? bruce.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0642sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:06 AM