[WTA] Is it cheaper if buy from oversea?, planning to buy amp.

driftmeister
post Oct 13 2006, 03:28 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

others buy stuff from oversea is bcos they cant get it from malaysia

e.g. Brax, McIntosh, Seas etc

it's no cheap
i've once bid for a genesis dual mono for 130 pounds
but after conversion + shipping + insurance
and the time involve
decided not to take it
TSmooscar
post Oct 13 2006, 05:48 PM

142 posts

i ask the same question in the other forum, according to 1 of the feedback, he bought a Pioneer DEH-P6850MP ,SGD 280 in singapore, convert back is RM650 only, saw some1 here selling RM9XX ler....
pisces
post Oct 13 2006, 06:07 PM

180 posts

For amps and speakers, it is alright to source from overseas if you know the seller well.
But for HUs, I suggest you source them locally although the local price is a little higher.
The reason is that HUs, unlike amps and speakers, involves a lot of moving parts and is subject to wear and tear.
One good example is the pick-up lens which at best last no more than 5 years.
If you bought the HU from overseas and if the lens gone kaput, it will be very difficult to get the local shops to service it for you.
TSmooscar
post Oct 13 2006, 07:13 PM

142 posts

erm... if i am from jb and goin to buy at sg, it will be no problem is it?
pisces
post Oct 13 2006, 07:40 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(mooscar @ Oct 13 2006, 07:13 PM)
If you buy from those parallel importers, I don't think they will attend to your problems, esp if it is after 3 years or more.
If you buy from installers in Singapore, then perhaps they will arrange the repair for you.
Having said that, it is always better to make things clear with them before the purchase.

jojo902156
post Oct 13 2006, 10:15 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(mooscar @ Oct 13 2006, 07:13 PM)
Hello, after so many replies only you say you want to buy from SG.. @#$%^, If like this is much more easier, drive your car in, pay the tolls, pay the parking fees(SGD10), then change your HU, speakers, amps over there. Tax free. But only problem is warranty claims problem later.
TSmooscar
post Oct 13 2006, 10:51 PM

142 posts

no.... my plan is not from sg, think sg wont cheap until where de.... but if other place got no hope then sg may become a good choice as i stay near to it. i still will keep survey lor.... hehehe....
jojo902156
post Oct 13 2006, 11:36 PM

204 posts

Like that ah, I think US is not a bad place to look for, can try on amazon or ebay.
TSmooscar
post Oct 14 2006, 06:43 AM

142 posts

ok.... then if i want an amp, which brand is cheap in oversea? anybody got do survey b4???
jojo902156
post Oct 14 2006, 09:19 AM

204 posts

Depend on your taste, I prefer Rockford Fosgate amps, really can see the price gap between here and US.
loon1031
post Oct 14 2006, 09:46 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

In US Rockford Fosgate is a decent brand only...
Only in Malaysia, it become highend...
Don't know why le..!
howiechoo
post Oct 14 2006, 01:30 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Oct 14 2006, 09:46 AM)
Don't know why le..!
wait till u had tested a real USA selling model..... i think u will regret wat u say....
TSmooscar
post Oct 14 2006, 04:11 PM

142 posts

Rockford Fosgate is more for sq or spl???
TSmooscar
post Oct 14 2006, 04:50 PM

142 posts

bro..... i just found out that 1 of my friend is going to come back from London. any good suggestion i should ask her to help me bring back??? i need an 4 channel amp.
mattchin
post Oct 14 2006, 05:22 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Oct 14 2006, 09:46 AM)
Don't know why le..!
my dad's 1st woofer was a RF and it was purely from the state. the bass were so pleasant till now i also can remember the bass.. that time they were really producing great woofers.. but ever since they started 2 produce in china.. all the standard went down..

going back 2 d yrs of mid and late 90s who ever that wants woofer surely they will recomend RF.. during that time.. it was really high end 1s.. (not many distributors during tat time)

i'm not sure wat sort of quality is state havin now.. but normally priority still goes back 2 'em.. tongue.gif

i'm not sure about how g00d is the current higher end of RF's woofer in m'sia market but i guess there is still some standard around there.. tongue.gif
pisces
post Oct 14 2006, 06:01 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(mooscar @ Oct 14 2006, 04:50 PM)
bro..... i just found out that 1 of my friend is going to come back from London. any good suggestion i should ask her to help me bring back??? i need an 4 channel amp.
In my experience, ICE equipment in UK is quite pricey due to the VAT.
I came across an Xtant 4 channel amp in Sim Lim SQ (Edison) selling for S$780 (about RM1,850) which I think is quite a good buy, considering the amp is made in the States.
loon1031
post Oct 14 2006, 06:58 PM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Oct 14 2006, 01:30 PM)
wait till u had tested a real USA selling model..... i think u will regret wat u say....
Hehe...because my friend go to US working for few month...
He said Rockford Fosgate very cheap in US...
His friend there say it become decent brand liao...

Don't know it true or not.. rclxub.gif
mattchin
post Oct 14 2006, 07:26 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

i think ur fren is talking about those low end series..

TSmooscar
post Oct 14 2006, 07:59 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(pisces @ Oct 14 2006, 06:01 PM)
In my experience, ICE equipment in UK is quite pricey due to the VAT.
I came across an Xtant  4 channel amp in Sim Lim SQ (Edison) selling for S$780 (about RM1,850) which I think is quite a good buy, considering the amp is made in the States.
Totally agree with you, I found 2 website to compare the model and price between $ and £, wau.... the outcome is amazing.....

for example, Alpine PDX-4.150 is stated $539.00 vs £499.95... the numerical is not much different, but the dollar sign is a lot different shakehead.gif
jojo902156
post Oct 14 2006, 08:09 PM

204 posts

I don't think UK is a good place for hunting cheap ICE. Anyway still waiting the seller to reply how much is the amp and shipping to here.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0169sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:34 PM