[WTA] Is it cheaper if buy from oversea?, planning to buy amp.

TSmooscar
post Oct 11 2006, 02:52 PM, updated 20y ago

142 posts

As topic, just wonder is it cheaper if we buy our stuff from oversea, i am looking for an amp. if buying from oversea is cheaper than here, then can wait those travel back from study or go for vacation then buy back, where is recommended? hehehe......
jojo902156
post Oct 11 2006, 02:55 PM

204 posts

Some of the reasons :
some amps are cheaper than here even after tax.
Imatation amps hard to get from US.
s@ni
post Oct 11 2006, 03:00 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

try surf and survey on da net first for price and warranty,then u decide it.
its hard to say.coz certain things are cheaper in malaysia.but if u wanna buy anything from france,i can help u. smile.gif

jojo902156
post Oct 11 2006, 04:56 PM

204 posts

Warranty? Don't think about it, by shipping from US to Malaysia, if by air, it will take 1-2weeks, follow by customs declarations and it will take.... Well, we knows that their effiency is very high, maybe 2 months or 3 months. Mine last time was 3 months. By waiting the amp to reach your hand, it only left 8 months, then minus out another 2-3 months to ship it back to US if got problem, so in actual the warranty is only 5-6 months. Tha's why when buying the amp, try to get the price that atleast 200-300% cheaper, as warranty you can consider don't have.
DeReturner
post Oct 11 2006, 05:20 PM

99 posts

Agree with warranty void. Read carefully on term and condition. I agree that is cheaper if you go on vacation and buy it. As long as you get pass the custom without tax that will be great. And plus have to handle with care, coz if the amp get faulty, I would say sorry.

I meet people take back from Aust, amp and woofer of JL audio in super low price by pass custom. He said 1 thing "hand carry like hell~!" But no more warranty.

So the risk is there, you decide to take it or not. smile.gif
TSmooscar
post Oct 11 2006, 07:42 PM

142 posts

wah.... can by pass the custom somemore ah??? can we say this 1 is own use in australia then finish study liao need to take back?
jojo902156
post Oct 11 2006, 07:46 PM

204 posts

Actually what I mean was not warranty void, is because of most of the time wasted on shipping and customs. The chances of getting customs bypassed will be around 50/50 depend on your luck.
TSmooscar
post Oct 11 2006, 11:16 PM

142 posts

but then if only for self using also need to take long time to pass the custom ah... not pay the tax on the spot then can bring in to malaysia liao de ah?

jojo902156
post Oct 11 2006, 11:34 PM

204 posts

If you carry along then it will be fast, but by postage it will take long time.
TSmooscar
post Oct 12 2006, 07:31 AM

142 posts

if i carry along n declare to them i am carry an amp back, will i be tax, and how much will it be?
jojo902156
post Oct 12 2006, 09:04 AM

204 posts

Well, it has a tax table, you can have a check on customs website, but if can try to make the package old and declare as used item, you can get cheaper tax.
TSmooscar
post Oct 12 2006, 10:54 AM

142 posts

ok, thanks.... will take note who is going oversea and ask them to bring it back for me... hahhahaa......
jojo902156
post Oct 12 2006, 11:48 AM

204 posts

If not mistaken, study in US can get tax free, I don't know how true is it. Example, if you buy a Rockford Fosgate original speakers P62S, cheapest in US is USD84.5 and you get tax free for it. By taking currency exchange of rm3.7, you will get rm312.65. Here is selling for >rm1.5k.
TSmooscar
post Oct 12 2006, 03:24 PM

142 posts

wau... so much different, but then if kena tax is how much, take that for example. will it still worth it to take back?
DeReturner
post Oct 12 2006, 04:43 PM

99 posts

Tax is 3+1 if not mistake. Just add on another 40% to your total declaration price. Some item you will find worthy. The person I meet was hand carry with very low tax as used item. He used to study there. Even after convert still found very worth. The price include tax and conversion is like RM4k, the item selling here is RM7k.
There's never easy get pass custom. smile.gif
jojo902156
post Oct 12 2006, 08:38 PM

204 posts

Yarloh, it will be hard, sometimes even if unlucky, you won't get the amp, normallah, they want some coffee money.
TSmooscar
post Oct 13 2006, 06:38 AM

142 posts

i am planning to buy an amp and a better HU, so if can thru this way maybe can get a cheaper quality stuff mah... i got 1 friend frm japan, maybe can ask him to help me, what is worth to buy frm japan huh???
jojo902156
post Oct 13 2006, 09:04 AM

204 posts

Amp should be no problem, but HU might have due to signal, like Japan HU here have to add fm booster then only can use.
TSmooscar
post Oct 13 2006, 02:53 PM

142 posts

do any1 here have experience of buying stuff from oversea?

can you please share your experience, or list down what you buy, how you buy and how much cheaper compare if u buy in malaysia....

thank you.
TSmooscar
post Oct 13 2006, 02:58 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(jojo902156 @ Oct 13 2006, 09:04 AM)
Amp should be no problem, but HU might have due to signal, like Japan HU here have to add fm booster then only can use.
if install another fm booster, will it look complicated and is it expensive for that?

0.0168sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:07 PM