The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V7, Bigger than bigger | Price bumped

jin_akira
post Mar 18 2015, 10:22 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

an increase in RAM, megapixels battery capacity for the S version wouldn't hurt.. plus i hope they fill up that gap for the bendgate.
jin_akira
post Mar 30 2015, 09:00 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(silencer5089 @ Mar 30 2015, 08:50 AM)
not sure if this has been asked before, does anyone experience when you answer the phone (after sliding) the phone takes about 2-3 seconds delay to be able to listen to the other party talking?
yeap i have it too. quite annoying as you have to wait for a while before putting the phone up to your ear..
jin_akira
post May 8 2015, 09:31 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 7 2015, 04:43 PM)
I just noticed my iPhone 6 Plus has very slight #bentgate issue... though I didn't noticed when brand new, but its really little and not sure if a new 6 Plus is completely flat or they do have some flatness topic anyways due to manufacturing variability.
dang. did you use any case? where do you usually put your phone? bag? pocket? and is your pants/jeans tight/fitting? it might've bend while in your pocket with your thigh applying pressure on one end..
jin_akira
post May 8 2015, 07:59 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 8 2015, 05:08 PM)
It is usually in my front pocket and my jeans aren't exactly the "tight" type. Not a fan of these...

Then again, I took a few iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus from my colleague's for comparison. Noticed all of them has slightly bending. How I check? I removed their case, then using a ruler edge I put it on top and could see very tiny gaps between the ruler and the aluminum... I think might be just manufacturing variability perhaps.
but is your pocket big enough? did your phone go all the way in or was it sticking out? nah man this ain't no variability, this is what everyone was talking about; bendgate. and Apple said the same thing as they did before with antennagate; use (back then was hold, but you get my point) your phone properly. they blaim us back. what they don't get it is it's not like we purposely want to bend our phone. it's a flaw in the phone (which affects all of us) where "there's a specific weak point on the inside of the chassis right beneath the volume buttons that allows it to bend very easily with pressure added in the right place" (Esposito, 2014). so it's definitely not a variability because all of us have the same motherboard layout with the same weak hollow point right beneath the volume buttons. i highly doubt that some iPhone 6's have different internal layouts.

so it's not your fault, it's theirs. but in the end they will end up pointing the finger back to you and ask you to use the phone properly. if you really don't mind, then you can just live with it. if not, then you can try your luck. as to how and which method is the best, i am unable to answer that for you unfortunately due to never claiming my iPhone warranty before/yet.

anyone experienced bendgate and try claiming for warranty? mind sharing your experience?
jin_akira
post May 8 2015, 08:07 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 8 2015, 03:29 PM)
Two suspected bendgate issues so far on this thread. Waiting for photos for verification smile.gif
either the case count is low or there are other members that still don't realize that their phone is warped.
jin_akira
post May 16 2015, 07:44 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ May 15 2015, 10:19 AM)
SanDisk had now released in M'sia USB flash drives fro iphone and ipads :
Quote -
The drive itself is designed with iPhone users in mind. The lightning connector is flexible and it is long enough so that it still works even if you’re using thick case for your device. On the outside, it gets a durable metal finish for a more upmarket look. It is available at Switch, Machines and Mac Studio, and it is covered with a 2 year limited warranty. The Malaysian retail pricing are as follows:

16GB – RM289
32GB – RM379
64GB – RM549
128GB – RM829

More details at :
http://www.soyacincau.com/2015/05/14/sandi...sia/#more-58747
waliao so expensive.. upgrading to a higher capacity model is cheaper than this haha
jin_akira
post May 21 2015, 09:12 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(akkihiko @ May 21 2015, 08:51 PM)
now still need to charge for 8 hours? I thought the 8 hours charging is applicable to old phone e.g. Nokia 3310.

I never charged any of my phones for 8 hours for the first charge and most of them still have a good battery life.
yeah i thought the new gen batteries can just charge until full and use like normal. what i don't get is the numerous battery maintenance tips; i don't which one is actually useful and which has no effect whatsoever
jin_akira
post Jun 2 2015, 07:29 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(JnJ6397 @ Jun 1 2015, 02:05 PM)
hi all...im a new ip6 4.7'' user and i get de device from maxis service centre...have been using ip6 for the 2nd week and just wanted to check wif u guys that once i have deleted 1 of the apps that i hav downloaded from apps store...may i know how do we delete it inside de apps store and let that particular apps back to a tab (get) instead of a clown wif an arrow down button? because whn i deleted that apps and i wanted to fully cleared it and whn i press into updates n i still saw the particular apps remaining there but is par under (Not in this Iphone)?

Can anyone assist me on this?
Do you mean permanently deleting your app from your Apple ID in the Appstore? Example; you downladed Angry Birds, you deleted it, but when you go to the Appstore and search Angry Birds again there is a cloud icon with an arrow facing down instead of a 'Get' icon as well as being in the Purchased apps? If that is the case, unfortunately i don't think you can do anything about it now. Previously Apple allowed you to permanently delete the app and make it as if you have never downloaded the app before (slide left to delete). If i am not mistaken Apple have disabled that feature and now you can't permanently delete the app so whatever app that you have downloaded will forever be linked to your Apple ID for now.

This post has been edited by jin_akira: Jun 2 2015, 09:07 AM
jin_akira
post Jun 2 2015, 09:35 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(WA300 @ Jun 1 2015, 03:58 PM)
I'm a iPhone 6 plus user and been using it for about 4 months. Previously i did have screen freezing issue when using apps (especially playing games) or sometimes on home screen, but not too often.

Recently this issue happens more frequently and just wish to know anyone having this issue? Any solution recommended? Thanks!
yeah i experienced this problem on iOS 8.3. for me, the freezing/stuttering will occur on Chrome and high graphic games (so far those using Unreal Engine like Injustice, Mortal Kombat X, Infinity Blade, etc). as far as i know there is no solution as of now, that's why i downgraded to iOS 8.2. hopefully they'll get it fixed in iOS 8.4
jin_akira
post Jun 2 2015, 09:36 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(gjohn @ Jun 2 2015, 08:51 AM)
have no issues..maybe becoz of the ios version..
im on 8.2..and not planning to update 8.3
heard that a lot of bugs..my friends also kena..
photos cant be deleted on his wife ip5..
ill stick to 8.2 for the time being
depends on the bugs though cause i haven't experience any other severe bugs other than some apps freezing and stuttering.
jin_akira
post Jun 2 2015, 05:48 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(WA300 @ Jun 2 2015, 10:51 AM)
Yup, I'm on iOS 8.3 now. But i think we can't downgrade to the previous iOS version, am i right? Personally, i prefer iOS 8.1.1 giving best experience for me especially the battery life. smile.gif
Can downgrade, but only for a certain period of time. After the iOS 8.3 update rolled put, Apple was still signing the iOS 8.2 firmware. So I downgraded to iOS 8.2 while they were still signing it. When they stop signing the firmware, then we cannot downgrade anymore. And you can only downgrade to the previous version and not simply jump to an older version like iOS 8.1 or 8.0.

I actually don't mind iOS 8.3; i really like the 2G/EDGE option and the animation was still snappy. It's just unfortunate that it has issues with some apps (apps and games that i use the most).
jin_akira
post Jul 7 2015, 02:07 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Jul 6 2015, 06:37 PM)
I'm fine. Thank you. Just lurking around Lyn whenever I'm taking a break from work. Very curious about new iPhone model. Another 2 months.
woah time really flies huh. just noticed that i've been using my phone for 8 months already and it still feels new to me, as if i've just gotten it last month. next thing we know is the next iPhone is coming out in 2 months time haha. quite interesting rumored specs though; 12mp cam, 5mp front facing cam (highly doubting this for some reason..), 2gb RAM (FINALLY.. if it's true), force touch (don't really bother about it..).. any other i missed out?
jin_akira
post Jul 16 2015, 05:33 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Jul 14 2015, 03:56 PM)
Wow, what you storing so much? Videos?

I'm upgrading, 2GB RAM is a must. Sometime my 6+ will crash in heavy website but my 6 work just fine  doh.gif
Correct me if I'm wrong; the higher the RAM, the less likely an app will refresh right? I saw a test comparing the S6 and Zenphone 2 4gb showing that the Zenphone 2's higher RAM stopped apps from refreshing when multitasking compared to the S6 which refreshed everytime due to the lower RAM. So I assume it would be the same for iPhones? It's annoying that my 6 would refresh my games whenever I multitask.
jin_akira
post Jul 16 2015, 07:58 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Jul 16 2015, 02:13 PM)
Very hard to compare because both run same operating system. This can be say the same for other Android phones but not iOS.

So far only iPad Air 2 have 2GB of ram and many report that refresh app scenario is very rare occasion.
Oh i was not comparing between Android and iOS. I just wanted to confirm whether the same concept applies or not which is more RAM means less app refreshing. Seeing that the iPad Air 2 rarely refreshes its apps as you mentioned, hopefully the next iPhone version can benefit from that as well. It wouldn't hurt for them to jump to 3gb or 4gb straight though but knowing Apple, by 2018 or something only they will go that far haha

QUOTE(weretiger @ Jul 16 2015, 10:14 AM)
meaning your safari chrome or whatever site you browse will not refresh whenever you go to others app and return to it after sometime..... which i hate the most.... of coz... if you have lots app opened... those previous exit app will close and then when you open, it will refresh again.....

i think so la.... smile.gif
Yeah that's what's annoying me from time to time. Hopefully with more RAM the apps won't keep on refreshing itself

jin_akira
post Jul 25 2015, 02:40 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jul 25 2015, 11:05 AM)
Im looking at the elastic waist band. Don't know ok or not.
QUOTE(Lynixx @ Jul 25 2015, 12:08 PM)
it looks like this...for me is just nice and fit perfectly. im using 6+ though
i'm using something like this. as small as it looks, it can actually fit a 6+ and car keys. it's elastic and waterproof (my phone was not wet from sweat and rain. haven't try dunking it in water though haha)

jin_akira
post Jul 25 2015, 02:41 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(Cherryx @ Jul 25 2015, 02:22 PM)
Anyone's phone Touch ID doesn't work when plugged in? sad.gif
no problems here man. i'm on iOS 8.2 though
jin_akira
post Jul 27 2015, 07:16 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(SirRieq @ Jul 27 2015, 09:55 AM)
where do u buy and how much damage?
bought from this seller. my friend said that he saw it on Uztaz (Kota Damansara) as well but not sure if it is the exact same model or a similar product. other than that, i'm guessing any other handphone accessories shop would sell it as well..
jin_akira
post Jul 27 2015, 09:53 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

the only (rumored) upgrade worth noting for me is the RAM. other than that i wouldn't see anything else compelling enough for me to upgrade to the 6S. the weak Ringgit is not helping either.. feel really lucky now buying it when it was first launched here. i would go for the 7 or 7S (if i had the patience like i had with my 4S haha)
jin_akira
post Jul 30 2015, 03:26 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jul 29 2015, 09:59 PM)
Yeah, could be the thicker body is just to prevent Bentgate  v2 rather than the protruding camera.
thickness alone won't do it. it's the internal frame. there is no support at the bendable area. they can still maintain the current thickness, all they need to do is insert something the fill that gap. as for protruding camera, yeah not really and issue for as a forumer here mentioned earlier; most of us use cases that prevents the camera from touching the surface. we can also buy those cheapo camera rings to protect it if we choose to go naked.

QUOTE(huislaw @ Jul 29 2015, 11:24 PM)
Or stronger frame
yes, this.

This post has been edited by jin_akira: Jul 30 2015, 03:26 PM
jin_akira
post Jul 30 2015, 03:34 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(Townshend @ Jul 28 2015, 08:28 PM)
The new iPhone is rumored to have a slightly thicker body than the iPhone 6. Which means no protruding camera anonymous34 hmm.gif ?

I think Apple will likely include

-Longer battery life
-2GB RAM
-New camera with 12MP+4K recording
-Force Touch
-A9 processor (duh)

in the new iPhone 6S.

i don't mind it being thicker. even if it is, i highly doubt it'll be that drastic. can you imagine the look on people's faces if they decide to stick with 1gb RAM for the new model hahah. the sheeps will be like "we don't need extra RAM, iPhone doesn't lag bla bla". i think the current battery life is okay, it's just the external apps' battery management that's problematic, like Whatsapp. but if Apple manages to extend the battery life even more, who's complaining! i'd welcome it with open arms haha. i'm okay with the current camera. it's good enough as it is, wouldn't imagine what an average user would do with more megapixels and higher resolution videos. not sure how force touch will work with other apps though. some games require rapid tapping (Injustice), so wouldn't ForceTouch affect that?

0.0302sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:21 PM