The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V7, Bigger than bigger | Price bumped
akkihiko
Apr 1 2015, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(elmolee @ Apr 1 2015, 11:13 AM) hi guys any idea how to totally off notification tone? I tried to put do not disturb, but still can hear WhatsApp notification sound.. previously in Android I just put vibrate please help I simply use the mute switch on the left side of the phone during office hour.
akkihiko
Apr 1 2015, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(dino89 @ Apr 1 2015, 11:35 AM) Cannot afford to change phone every year lor  QUOTE(attw @ Apr 1 2015, 11:41 AM) In fact, change once in two years (like what I was previously doing) also painful already... I guess I have to skip iPhone 6S then, just upgrade to iphone 7 next year
akkihiko
Apr 1 2015, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 1 2015, 11:51 AM) I guess you can still cushion the blow a little by selling your current iPhone... So the dilemma will be do you sell it off after a year when resale value is still good or after two years, when resale value is lower?  usually I will set my phone after buying new phone. Usually max is 1 year. QUOTE(THTgadgets.com @ Apr 1 2015, 11:55 AM) Si beh expensive to buy an iPhone or any other top-end smartphone today, that's crazy! No thanks to our poor exchange rate and the implementation of GST!  I might buy my next iphone from Singapore or Australia since we can claim the VAT.
akkihiko
Apr 1 2015, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Apr 1 2015, 12:31 PM) Guys how to check and get rid of virus on iphone? Just now when surfing safari as i enter a site a message pop up my phone been infected with a virus and i need to download it to clear the virus. It was like a iphone message i couln't click on back arrow or anything, the only option was to click ok. But i didn't i went to home then clear safari history. But how to be sure my iphone no virus??? it's quite hard for iphone to be infected by virus. Next time, if the same popup message appeared on safari, press home button and close / kill the safari app. if you're worried that your phone is infected then you can backup your phone first and reset the phone.
akkihiko
Apr 1 2015, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(Bombgen @ Apr 1 2015, 03:02 PM) not buying from the official retail shop? then it's quite cheap as new RRP is more than 3k? where did you buy the phone from?
akkihiko
Apr 1 2015, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(Bombgen @ Apr 1 2015, 03:34 PM) nope from the forumer here, he bought from umobile so i think its win2 situation, checked online the warranty start today..manufactured date is on february 2015.. then good for you. Still manage to buy the phone at old price. if the box is sealed then it's brand new and the warranty will start once you've activated the phone.
akkihiko
Apr 1 2015, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(buyoq @ Apr 1 2015, 04:42 PM) its a new feature called Reachability and that feature is useful especially if you're using 6+. easier to use the phone with one hand
akkihiko
Apr 1 2015, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(ikan salmon @ Apr 1 2015, 05:22 PM) Want to buy iP6 128gb, rm 3345 + 6% = rm 3545.7....is it correct sifu?? new price is 3550 including GST. why don't you try to find in garage sales? you can get it for cheaper price compared to the RRP.
akkihiko
Apr 3 2015, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 3 2015, 08:07 AM) Just to go a little off topic here. I was following the S6 and S6 Edge thread (silently - in stalker mode) as I thought these were the most interesting devices Samsung has come up with in a long, long time and also I like to read how they bash Apple fans, ha ha ha. I expected the thread to be super busy last night when pre-orders opened, but to my surprise, it's been quiet. Maybe the realities of our economy (weaker RM and GST) is beginning to sink in for many. Will be interesting to see the reaction to Apple's latest in the next 6 months or so. S6 edge looks interesting but the pricetag is 3099 including GST so kinda expensive. But what I don't like about Samsung device is low resale value, bought 1 Samsung S4 before for 2.5k and sell it back for below 1k after 6 months
akkihiko
Apr 6 2015, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(Xirality @ Apr 6 2015, 03:14 PM) The remax 0.1mm should be good enough, there's no need to spend over RM100 for a glass SP now. Plenty of option in market. 0.1mm? too thin liao. can protect the phone from crack?
akkihiko
Apr 7 2015, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Apr 7 2015, 04:16 PM) hmmm.. i'm on Nillkin PE+ which is a nice blue tinted glass sp it is 0.3MM and has a cut out under the home button (not full like IMOS) and its only RM45 its doing its job and feels much better (though thicker, its very smooth) thanks for your review on remax 0.1mm tempered glass. was about to order that item then need to cancel edi  Nillkin very good? then will order that instead. or if anyone else got any other glass sp to recommend pls do, thanks.
akkihiko
Apr 8 2015, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(eddmecha @ Apr 8 2015, 05:17 PM) guys i wanna ask,my friend ip6 have this notification tone that i dont have.is there any kind of app that can i download any notification tones or ringtones?i tried zedge but it seems like i cant make it work.. for ringtones and notification tone, you can buy them from iTunes app on your phone and you can set your custom tune using iTunes software too. for me I prefer to buy new ringtone on iTunes. only 0.99 usd
akkihiko
Apr 9 2015, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(weretiger @ Apr 9 2015, 10:25 AM) i dont know... but that reach-ability feature for double tap on home button..... i wish i can set it up to become multitasking screen...... everytime i need to double click to go back to previous app... or sometime i click once then manual click on the app i want... why apple no give us customize the number of clicks or taps = what feature user want? ipad can have multi-finger gesture.... iphone6+ big enuf now... why dont have leh? (wait.. dont have right?  ) PS: Time Cook way or the Noway.... you need to jailbreak your phone to do that. Still waiting for untethered version of ios 8.2 jailbreak
akkihiko
Apr 9 2015, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(weretiger @ Apr 9 2015, 11:06 AM) 8.2 so outdated looooo  QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Apr 9 2015, 11:28 AM) anybody update to 8.3 yet? how is it?  just realized that 8.3 update already released. I'll stay with 8.2 first while waiting for jailbreak to be released. Really missed those tweaks available on jailbroken phone
akkihiko
Apr 9 2015, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(silencer5089 @ Apr 9 2015, 02:09 PM) i think jb for 8.3 still long way to go as taig claims that 8.3 patches their exploit  haha just read that too online. In the future they will introduce the tool to downgrade the iOS and then jaiilbreak the phone. I'll update mine later, can't wait to try the new emoji
akkihiko
Apr 14 2015, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(tutuyao @ Apr 14 2015, 09:46 AM) assistive if possible, takut button rosak.. iphone home button now dah ok? last time ip4s era a lot ppl complain home button rosak.. nope, cant notice any diff on my 6. but 5s batt life does improve.. only experience homebutton issue on my ip4. No such issue on other iphone I owned before. and my battery finished faster on ios 8.3.
akkihiko
Apr 14 2015, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(jimcarrey @ Apr 14 2015, 01:44 PM) Thought of upgrading to the plus Just now went to machines and check one out. Tried to type one handed ended up dropping the phone few times. Haha So slippery Will having a case helps? Or third party one hand keyboards? Really prefer to type one handed instead of using both hands. most cases will provide you with the grip. At Machines store, you can try on the cases before buying it. I always do that  I think it's quite hard for you to type using 1 hand if you're using 6+. No issue here with one handed typing with iphone 6 though This post has been edited by akkihiko: Apr 14 2015, 02:24 PM
akkihiko
Apr 16 2015, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(boonsheng @ Apr 16 2015, 08:28 AM) Did u guys realise.. Iphone use alot of data... kind of, I subscribe 5gb plan and every month also finished earlier than the cut off date. Siri also uses lots of data
akkihiko
Apr 16 2015, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 16 2015, 02:22 PM) Guys. Where to find the cheapest new iPhone 6 16GB? So far found RM2,499 at DirectD. Anywhere else? https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2522431This one RM2450, a lot of stock, but seems like not a shop... risky? https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3512018COD, of course. DirectD is trusted seller and have physical shop. but there's a catch on the pricing, sometime they will markup the price for certain color, e.g. gold color need to topup rm50. you can try the rm2450 one since he can provide COD service and the phone is Malaysia set. just need to make sure that the phone is Malaysia set phone by checking the model number.
akkihiko
Apr 21 2015, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(liverpool red @ Apr 21 2015, 09:13 AM) Please don't tell me it fell into the bowl... Happened to a friend of mine last time, when she was using the 4... whoaa my biggest fear, phone fell into the bowl. if always bring phone to toilet then need to buy waterproof case already