University A-Level July Intakes Problems, Methodist College Kuala Lumpur
TSsummerlight
Mar 10 2015, 08:36 PM, updated 11y ago
I have signed up for MCKL A Level March intake. But after two orientation days,I decided to differ to July intakes because the schedule is too hectic.I also don't think rushing and get bad results is a good choice(since march is express and I'm afraid that I might not do it well). I've checked on last year alevel july intake (2014) timetable,CIE exams are in 2015 May and October. The gap between the two exams is quite near,will it cause any problems like too stress? Cause I might want to prepare my self for it.
Your reply is highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
This post has been edited by summerlight: Mar 10 2015, 08:38 PM
limeuu
Mar 10 2015, 09:22 PM
If you take the 1 1/2 yr programme starting July, you will end and get your results out of sync with uk uni schedule....
TSsummerlight
Mar 10 2015, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 10 2015, 09:22 PM) If you take the 1 1/2 yr programme starting July, you will end and get your results out of sync with uk uni schedule.... I'm planning to continue my studies in Singapore or local.
limeuu
Mar 10 2015, 09:50 PM
it will still be out of sync with spore, but may be okay with some local courses....
TSsummerlight
Mar 10 2015, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 10 2015, 09:50 PM) it will still be out of sync with spore, but may be okay with some local courses.... Ooohh...okay I will take note of that. Thanks
Fieryflames
Mar 11 2015, 12:12 AM
Is MCKL good? I'm considering going there for July intake 2015 too! Any good/bad comments on this college?
TSsummerlight
Mar 11 2015, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(Fieryflames @ Mar 11 2015, 12:12 AM) Is MCKL good? I'm considering going there for July intake 2015 too! Any good/bad comments on this college? I went there for two days and I personally think it is a good place to study. I have a friend who went for January intake and she's doing well too  but now I'm thinking July intake is a good choice or not
Fieryflames
Mar 11 2015, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(summerlight @ Mar 11 2015, 01:09 PM) I went there for two days and I personally think it is a good place to study. I have a friend who went for January intake and she's doing well too  but now I'm thinking July intake is a good choice or not I think that the July intake would definitely be a better choice imo. This is because you'll start everything from scratch and you won't be lagging behind especially if you're taking new subjects that you have never studied before in secondary school! And since you're concerned about doing well, my advise is to opt for july intake! This post has been edited by Fieryflames: Mar 11 2015, 02:46 PM
TSsummerlight
Mar 11 2015, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(Fieryflames @ Mar 11 2015, 02:44 PM) I think that the July intake would definitely be a better choice imo. This is because you'll start everything from scratch and you won't be lagging behind especially if you're taking new subjects that you have never studied before in secondary school! And since you're concerned about doing well, my advise is to opt for july intake! Noted. Thanks
lonelyy_v
Mar 27 2015, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(summerlight @ Mar 11 2015, 01:09 PM) I went there for two days and I personally think it is a good place to study. I have a friend who went for January intake and she's doing well too  but now I'm thinking July intake is a good choice or not Hi, MCKL a-level July intake here too  Haven't receive offer letter though ... How long does the offer letter take to arrive? This post has been edited by lonelyy_v: Mar 27 2015, 04:54 PM
durianicecream
Mar 30 2015, 10:46 PM
But wouldn't you get a gap-year?
kelmarin
Apr 8 2015, 11:02 AM

QUOTE(summerlight @ Mar 10 2015, 09:26 PM) I'm planning to continue my studies in Singapore or local.  kenapa you nak pergi singapore untuk pelajaran? malaysia schools not good enough for you?
E-Tan
Apr 8 2015, 02:19 PM

QUOTE(durianicecream @ Mar 30 2015, 10:46 PM) But wouldn't you get a gap-year? As a 1507 student, for UK and US Unis you would usually apply in Sept-Dec 2016 (using forecast), and finish your course by December 2016. Then, you would attend Uni on the following year, around August 2017. Hence you would have a gap of 8-10 months, unless you go for local private Unis and all. Other countries like Aus and New Zealand also have different intake times like March, April, etc.
E-Tan
Apr 8 2015, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(summerlight @ Mar 10 2015, 08:36 PM) I have signed up for MCKL A Level March intake. But after two orientation days,I decided to differ to July intakes because the schedule is too hectic.I also don't think rushing and get bad results is a good choice(since march is express and I'm afraid that I might not do it well). I've checked on last year alevel july intake (2014) timetable,CIE exams are in 2015 May and October. The gap between the two exams is quite near,will it cause any problems like too stress? Cause I might want to prepare my self for it. Your reply is highly appreciated. Thanks in advance. March intake is crazily hectic, for those gungho fast learners who can cope with the pace and want to catch up with the January peers! The 4-month exams gap between May and October is not too bad compared to the March schedule hahaha. Just don't wait till the last minute to prepare for everyyy single subject! Keep up with MCKL, who gives you weekly tests (maybe), qualifying tests and trial exams to get ready for the final external exams.
E-Tan
Apr 8 2015, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(Fieryflames @ Mar 11 2015, 12:12 AM) Is MCKL good? I'm considering going there for July intake 2015 too! Any good/bad comments on this college? What's your definition of "good"? Academic quality? Value for money? Lecturers? Environment?
TSsummerlight
Apr 14 2015, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(lonelyy_v @ Mar 27 2015, 01:24 AM) Hi, MCKL a-level July intake here too  Haven't receive offer letter though ... How long does the offer letter take to arrive? I registered for March Intake and I received the letter around a month before the orientation which was held at 9th and 10 of March. Anyway, I had postponed it to July Intake.
TSsummerlight
Apr 14 2015, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(kelmarin @ Apr 8 2015, 11:02 AM) kenapa you nak pergi singapore untuk pelajaran? malaysia schools not good enough for you? Don't get the wrong idea, I would like to further my studies in Malaysia if I happen to find a great university here for the course I want  And if I get a chance to further my studies in Singapore or any other countries,I will also consider about it too.
TSsummerlight
Apr 14 2015, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(E-Tan @ Apr 8 2015, 02:25 PM) March intake is crazily hectic, for those gungho fast learners who can cope with the pace and want to catch up with the January peers! The 4-month exams gap between May and October is not too bad compared to the March schedule hahaha. Just don't wait till the last minute to prepare for everyyy single subject! Keep up with MCKL, who gives you weekly tests (maybe), qualifying tests and trial exams to get ready for the final external exams.  I'm glad to hear that  Thanks for your advise!
jjaejjae
Apr 15 2015, 02:50 PM
I am going to MCKL on July intake too. The offer letter will be sent to you between mid of April to May!
lonelyy_v
Apr 15 2015, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(jjaejjae @ Apr 15 2015, 02:50 PM) I am going to MCKL on July intake too. The offer letter will be sent to you between mid of April to May!  A levels ?
lonelyy_v
Apr 15 2015, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(summerlight @ Apr 14 2015, 10:36 PM) I registered for March Intake and I received the letter around a month before the orientation which was held at 9th and 10 of March. Anyway, I had postponed it to July Intake. Are there any parking spaces and we need to pay for that ?
jjaejjae
Apr 15 2015, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(lonelyy_v @ Apr 15 2015, 05:26 PM) A levels ?  yes!
hurrix97
Apr 22 2015, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(jjaejjae @ Apr 15 2015, 11:04 PM) yes!  Hi jjaejjae,what subjects are you intended to take? This post has been edited by hurrix97: Apr 22 2015, 10:03 PM
jjaejjae
Apr 23 2015, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(hurrix97 @ Apr 22 2015, 09:58 PM) Hi jjaejjae,what subjects are you intended to take? The subjects I took when I registered were Business Studies, Economics, Accounting, and Mathematics. But recently I change them to Mathematics, Economics, Accounting and Chemistry.
TSsummerlight
Apr 28 2015, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(lonelyy_v @ Apr 15 2015, 05:28 PM) Are there any parking spaces and we need to pay for that ? Sorry for the late reply. I did not ask about parking spaces because I am going there by monorail. There are some parking spaces located outside the college,like 20+?
E-Tan
Apr 28 2015, 09:39 PM

QUOTE(lonelyy_v @ Apr 15 2015, 05:28 PM) Are there any parking spaces and we need to pay for that ? There are parking spaces just outside the MCKL compound which are free but limited!  However, you'll have to fight with the monorail people who park there. There are parking spaces in the MCKL compound too, but you'll have to pay a monthly fee unless you register as a visitor everyday.
adk225
Apr 30 2015, 10:38 PM
can someone tell me how is mckl study environment? is it good or bad to study A level there?
zlewe
May 4 2015, 02:20 PM

Probably going to MCKL for this July intake. I will go alone without any friends so I would like to make new friends before programme starts (PM me)  . I will be taking Chemistry, Physics, Maths, (FM or Econ). Btw, any northen people (Penang, kedah) going there? This post has been edited by zlewe: May 4 2015, 02:22 PM
TSsummerlight
May 11 2015, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(adk225 @ Apr 30 2015, 10:38 PM) can someone tell me how is mckl study environment? is it good or bad to study A level there? MCKL is not a big campus like Sunway,I think it is more like a secondary school,but the study environment is fine (for me) and I can't judge it is good or bad to study there,it's all depends on you. Why don't you visit mckl?
TSsummerlight
May 11 2015, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(zlewe @ May 4 2015, 02:20 PM) Probably going to MCKL for this July intake. I will go alone without any friends so I would like to make new friends before programme starts (PM me)  . I will be taking Chemistry, Physics, Maths, (FM or Econ). Btw, any northen people (Penang, kedah) going there? Hey there  I'm from KL and I will be in pure art stream because I'm taking up acc,econ,maths and business studies.
jjaejjae
May 11 2015, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(summerlight @ May 11 2015, 10:43 PM) Hey there  I'm from KL and I will be in pure art stream because I'm taking up acc,econ,maths and business studies. I'm also going on July intake taking accounting, economics, math and chemistry.
jjaejjae
May 11 2015, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(zlewe @ May 4 2015, 02:20 PM) Probably going to MCKL for this July intake. I will go alone without any friends so I would like to make new friends before programme starts (PM me)  . I will be taking Chemistry, Physics, Maths, (FM or Econ). Btw, any northen people (Penang, kedah) going there? Hi there, I'm also going on July intake!
zlewe
May 12 2015, 08:10 PM

QUOTE(summerlight @ May 11 2015, 10:43 PM) Hey there  I'm from KL and I will be in pure art stream because I'm taking up acc,econ,maths and business studies. QUOTE(jjaejjae @ May 11 2015, 11:30 PM) Hi there, I'm also going on July intake!  Hi  . Nice to meet ya
TSsummerlight
May 13 2015, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(jjaejjae @ May 11 2015, 11:30 PM) Hi there, I'm also going on July intake!  Hi  see you there soon
kjungxox
May 14 2015, 12:08 AM
Hi there.Most probably I'll be joining the July intake A-levels programme as well. hope to see you guys there soon. Any recommendations on which society to join?
E-Tan
May 15 2015, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(kjungxox @ May 14 2015, 12:08 AM) Hi there.Most probably I'll be joining the July intake A-levels programme as well. hope to see you guys there soon. Any recommendations on which society to join?  What are your interests and passions?
kjungxox
May 15 2015, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(E-Tan @ May 15 2015, 10:28 AM) What are your interests and passions?  I'm interested in martial arts but I tried searching and realized there isn't a martial arts club in mckl. So I'm currently considering Leo club or rotaract. Any suggestions are highly appreciated though
lonelyy_v
May 15 2015, 04:50 PM
Is it hard to maintain the cgpa in MCKL in order to secure the merit scholarship ? I am clueless about that ...
E-Tan
May 15 2015, 10:16 PM

QUOTE(kjungxox @ May 15 2015, 03:42 PM) I'm interested in martial arts but I tried searching and realized there isn't a martial arts club in mckl. So I'm currently considering Leo club or rotaract. Any suggestions are highly appreciated though  Ahhh there used to be. Leo and Rotaract are good, active clubs especially Leo!  I can't remember all the clubs to suggest, but in your first few weeks there'd be an event called All Clubs Day, for students to check out all the clubs. Don't miss it!  Also, if you plan to join the ranks and serve in a club, do stay with it for at least 2 Sems heh.
kjungxox
May 15 2015, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(E-Tan @ May 15 2015, 10:16 PM) Ahhh there used to be. Leo and Rotaract are good, active clubs especially Leo!  I can't remember all the clubs to suggest, but in your first few weeks there'd be an event called All Clubs Day, for students to check out all the clubs. Don't miss it!  Also, if you plan to join the ranks and serve in a club, do stay with it for at least 2 Sems heh. Ohhh, I see. Thank you so much for the heads up. Really appreciate it
lonelyy_v
May 16 2015, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(E-Tan @ Apr 28 2015, 09:39 PM) There are parking spaces just outside the MCKL compound which are free but limited!  However, you'll have to fight with the monorail people who park there. There are parking spaces in the MCKL compound too, but you'll have to pay a monthly fee unless you register as a visitor everyday.  Oh .so how much is the registration fees for parking ? Thanks
lonelyy_v
May 16 2015, 01:08 AM
QUOTE(summerlight @ Apr 28 2015, 09:20 PM) Sorry for the late reply. I did not ask about parking spaces because I am going there by monorail. There are some parking spaces located outside the college,like 20+? Oh I see ! Thanks for the kind information. By any chance, do you take pure science subjects in alevel ?
TSsummerlight
May 16 2015, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(lonelyy_v @ May 16 2015, 01:08 AM) Oh I see ! Thanks for the kind information. By any chance, do you take pure science subjects in alevel ?  Nope I'm taking pure art subjects (Accounting,Econs,Maths,Business Studies)
lvnf316
Jul 7 2015, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(Fieryflames @ Mar 11 2015, 12:12 AM) Is MCKL good? I'm considering going there for July intake 2015 too! Any good/bad comments on this college? Hey! I was a former student of MCKL and I'd really recommend it lah  The environment is a very healthy and vibrant one! Lots of fun activities and I made lots of amazing friends! It's not perfect but the good really outweigh the bad. If it's not too late for you, I'd really really recommend you come!
lvnf316
Jul 7 2015, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(lonelyy_v @ May 15 2015, 04:50 PM) Is it hard to maintain the cgpa in MCKL in order to secure the merit scholarship ? I am clueless about that ... It is rather hard to maintain. But then again that depends on which merit scholarship you hold lah. As for me, I managed to survive a CGPA of 3.2 even with grades like 2 As, a B and a D . It is possible. Just be consistent