schmeichel7
post Apr 25 2007, 03:05 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(aw13 @ Apr 25 2007, 01:22 PM)
well you can also iron at that shop at Pertama Kompleks, they have 2/3 pressing machines there if memory serves me right.  no need to go 2 places lah.

you can also try Real One, the shop below Al-Ikhsan at BB Plaza.  They may still have stock for those letters and numbers...
Aiya.. why need to rush to al-ikhsan. In fact, go back home and iron it yourself la better. More adventure and thrill... I once made a mistake at my RONALDO jersey and manage to peel off the letter 'N', order new one and apply it.

The tip is.. iron slightly first. If got mistake, can pull off slowly but be careful.. might ruin your shirt if do it too hard. But the best way is to plan it nicely, use cellotape to stick the letters if you worry that it might be place wrongly. I do all my numberings and names on my jerseys..
aw13
post Apr 25 2007, 05:14 PM

Forgive and Forget, Living in the Past is Time Consuming
3,111 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Apr 25 2007, 03:05 PM)
Aiya.. why need to rush to al-ikhsan. In fact, go back home and iron it yourself la better. More adventure and thrill... I once made a mistake at my RONALDO jersey and manage to peel off the letter 'N', order new one and apply it.

The tip is.. iron slightly first. If got mistake, can pull off slowly but be careful.. might ruin your shirt if do it too hard. But the best way is to plan it nicely, use cellotape to stick the letters if you worry that it might be place wrongly. I do all my numberings and names on my jerseys..
haha yep very satisfying indeed esp when everything turns out perfect! also had some bad experiences, esp ironing on the sets (UCL, etc) as damn hard to stick and/or to peel off! as for the EPL ones, very easy to iron, but also hard to peel if the glue is already melted/stuck. took me hours to peel off a H last time round...
razuryza
post Apr 26 2007, 01:17 AM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

erm..the number and names can reiron so many time ke? the glue still there? just asking...
schmeichel7
post Apr 26 2007, 10:44 AM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Apr 26 2007, 01:17 AM)
erm..the number and names can reiron so many time ke? the glue still there? just asking...
Yes. In fact, it is a good practise to iron all the time, especially after u wash the jersey and it is slightly damp (after spin dry) because this helps to make the glue melt better and bond stronger
razuryza
post Apr 26 2007, 05:38 PM

5,515 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Apr 26 2007, 10:44 AM)
Yes. In fact, it is a good practise to iron all the time, especially after u wash the jersey and it is slightly damp (after spin dry) because this helps to make the glue melt better and bond stronger
i see.. so worry no more la..if wash every week also nevermind.. if it detach, just iron back..huehue..easy.. thumbup.gif
aw13
post Apr 26 2007, 07:45 PM

3,111 posts

I normally wash all my jerseys using the speediest cycle of the washing machine, malas sangat lah! but no problems so far... smile.gif

Will also do re-ironing as some of the names will be wrinkled a bit, esp those non-EPL ones (like the UCL) that are transfers instead of the felt. once ironed, looks like new lah...

But generally, I would not advise too much wear of your favourite jersey, as the quality will go if too much washes. had some shirts of mine that are fading (esp at collars) and some of the sponsors also like wanna peel already, maybe too old lah that jersey. and some of my old Real Madrid shirts had some really bad transfer print quality for their sponsor (Siemens Mobile) and they were like sticking to each other. dunno why, maybe that year they got it horribly wrong with the quality of such prints... hmm.gif
schmeichel7
post Apr 26 2007, 11:49 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(aw13 @ Apr 26 2007, 07:45 PM)
I normally wash all my jerseys using the speediest cycle of the washing machine, malas sangat lah!  but no problems so far... smile.gif

Will also do re-ironing as some of the names will be wrinkled a bit, esp those non-EPL ones (like the UCL) that are transfers instead of the felt.  once ironed, looks like new lah...

But generally, I would not advise too much wear of your favourite jersey, as the quality will go if too much washes.  had some shirts of mine that are fading (esp at collars) and some of the sponsors also like wanna peel already, maybe too old lah that jersey.  and some of my old Real Madrid shirts had some really bad transfer print quality for their sponsor (Siemens Mobile) and they were like sticking to each other.  dunno why, maybe that year they got it horribly wrong with the quality of such prints... hmm.gif
I wash by my bare hands. Only use the washing machine to spin dry. Then iron it, but I will flip the jersey and iron it while it is reversed or 'terbalik'. Actually this method is better because you will apply more direct heat to the glue part of the names and numbers, you will not melt it and you will not decrease the surface of the names and numberings. Frequent ironing on the velvet lextra epl names and numbers will cause it to turn to 'yellow' from time to time... if you iron it directly on top of it, not when you flip or terbalik your jersey. This yellow effect could be caused by dirty ironing metal surface.

Another IMPORTANT tip that most should remember is that always never set to maximum heat level at your iron. Set it to medium. This will prevent you from burning the printed logos or names/numberings.
aw13
post Apr 26 2007, 11:54 PM

3,111 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Apr 26 2007, 11:49 PM)
Another IMPORTANT tip that most should remember is that always never set to maximum heat level at your iron. Set it to medium. This will prevent you from burning the printed logos or names/numberings.
a good idea would be to place a layer over the NN while ironing, if you choose not to do the reverse type ironing. i normally put a handkerchief over the NN, and set the temp to 2 dots (conventional iron).

i tried your reverse a couple of times, very good idea for the velvet types. Not quite effective with the transfers as the crease from the washing won't go. so will use my method (as per above) for the transfers, while yours for the EPL... rclxms.gif
schmeichel7
post May 9 2007, 12:56 AM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Found this at subside:

So let's wait and see later next week once the 2006/007 EPL season ends

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: May 9 2007, 12:57 AM
razuryza
post May 9 2007, 09:08 PM

5,515 posts

for u guys information.. realman has posted the new naming n numbering format on New Kit 07/08 thread... feel free to look there.. smile.gif
schmeichel7
post May 9 2007, 11:35 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Added on May 14, 2007, 10:08 amThis is the new FA Premier league name and numbering style for the 2007/08 season and beyond. It will be made available on all premiership shirts from the 15th May onwards as they appear and will carry over onto such shirts that are in the middle of their kit cycle. eg Chelsea Home 2008/08 & Liverpool Home 2006/08.

user posted imageuser posted image

The name number sets are already sold in Singapore. Even player size! Here are the pics:

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: May 14 2007, 05:12 PM
aw13
post Jun 11 2007, 04:35 PM

3,111 posts

Just a note to all jersey collectors/buyers etc;

Al-Ikhsan BB Plaza is currently having a clear-out sale for most of it's NNs, esp the EPL old fonts;

OLD EPL - RM3 per alphabet, RM19 per number
Other NNs (UCL, etc) - RM59 for past season NNs, RM69 for current season NNs, and RM89 for current and next season NNs

For past season NNs, they still have some old England, Roma, Chelsea, Inter Milan, Real Madrid, Man U, Czech, Brazil, Korea, etc. Current season NNs include Chelsea, Liverpool, Arsenal, Man U, Valencia, etc.

FYI, they still have the RED MAN U UCL NNs for Ronaldo 7, V Nistelrooy 10 and Scholes 18. This was worn with the White Away Kit with horizontal thin red and black lines a couple seasons back.

Great time (and price!) to complete your collection of vintage kits then! smile.gif
BotakPrince
post Jun 22 2007, 06:36 PM

388 posts

Yo guys, i just bought my new home kit for england..
And did the numbering as well in bb plaza al-ikhsan hehe

but now im quite paranoid..as to the stickyness of the name/numbers, (i put beckham) because the edge of the alphabeths seems to be like coming out? i dunno how to put it but it gives me the feeling that its likely to come out after i wash it

lol i dunno if im just being paranoid...but then it seems like each letter at the edge of it , it does not STICK directly as in u cant even peel it...its like the edge of the letters if u use ur nails u can peel it off...and im worried that it might come off in the future

how ar? tongue.gif
schmeichel7
post Jun 22 2007, 06:41 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(BotakPrince @ Jun 22 2007, 06:36 PM)
Yo guys, i just bought my new home kit for england..
And did the numbering as well in bb plaza al-ikhsan hehe

but now im quite paranoid..as to the stickyness of the name/numbers, (i put beckham) because the edge of the alphabeths seems to be like coming out? i dunno how to put it but it gives me the feeling that its likely to come out after i wash it

lol i dunno if im just being paranoid...but then it seems like each letter at the edge of it , it does not STICK directly as in u cant even peel it...its like the edge of the letters if u use ur nails u can peel it off...and im worried that it might come off in the future

how ar? tongue.gif
It's ok.. don't worry. Let me give you some tip...

Flip your jersey (terbalikkan the jersey) and put it on to a ironing board. Then.. iron the jersey while it's terbalik. Don't iron directly on the jersey's NN because it can melt it if it's too hot. This will bond the NN. Spray some water to the area of the jersey that has the NN to encourage some more bonding.

Later if you want to wash the jersey if it's dirty:

Wash your jersey using your hands.. Then spin dry using the washing machine. Then, while it's slightly damp, terbalikkan the jersey again and iron it.. Don't iron it directly..

From time to time the words will bond nicer. I have an England jersey my own with NN and I understand your concern.
BotakPrince
post Jun 22 2007, 06:46 PM

388 posts

So means its normal to have the "shaky" edge? lol i dunno how to put it and i kept on folding the bits of my jersey where the alphabeth B and other alphabeths then i used my finger to feel the "bump" where the edge is pointing out.. will this affect/spoil the NN?because now im worried again that if i keep doing it will spoil it..sh1t lol

erm about the ironing im scared to iron it lol.. because i nvr ironed any clothes before...and if i iron it and something goes wrong there goes my $$$$ lol.. i saved for like 2 months to finally get it tongue.gif

and my mom normally hand wash my jersey...(i just got the NN done yday, and the person in the shop told me not to wash it until 2 days later) and then hang it terbalik to dry(as in the jersey is terbalik/flipped)

schmeichel7
post Jun 22 2007, 06:49 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(BotakPrince @ Jun 22 2007, 06:46 PM)
So means its normal to have the "shaky" edge? lol i dunno how to put it and i kept on folding the bits of my jersey where the alphabeth B and other alphabeths then i used my finger to feel the "bump" where the edge is pointing out.. will this affect/spoil the NN?because now im worried again that if i keep doing it will spoil it..sh1t lol

erm about the ironing im scared to iron it lol.. because i nvr ironed any clothes before...and if i iron it and something goes wrong there goes my $$$$ lol.. i saved for like 2 months to finally get it tongue.gif

and my mom normally hand wash my jersey...(i just got the NN done yday, and the person in the shop told me not to wash it until 2 days later) and then hang it terbalik to dry(as in the jersey is terbalik/flipped)
Yes bro it is normal.

And the NN got this strange smell right if u smell it closer? It's the strange glue they use.

You can ask your mum or someone to iron it.. Best bet is to use light or medium heat (one dot or two dot) Dont use maximum heat (three dot). But to be on safe side... always flip and terbalik the jersey.

I had a same issue when I ironed my KEANE 16 NN on my man utd white third kit. See my collection at my signature to see the kit. But later every time u iron it.. it will bond better.
BotakPrince
post Jun 22 2007, 06:55 PM

388 posts

WTF lol u are BRILLIANT.
i'm impressed at the collection....WOW
and im feeling.....inferior lol for having only 1 tongue.gif

btw if i skip the ironing bit...(because i think i dont dare to lol) it wont have any effect also to the endurance of the NN right?(as in it won't make it peel off faster compared to if u iron it after wash will bond it)

and u havent answered me if continuing to feel the bump of the pointy edges of the alphabeths will spoil/peel my NN? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by BotakPrince: Jun 22 2007, 06:57 PM
schmeichel7
post Jun 22 2007, 07:03 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(BotakPrince @ Jun 22 2007, 06:55 PM)
WTF lol u are BRILLIANT.
i'm impressed at the collection....WOW
and im feeling.....inferior lol for having only 1 tongue.gif

btw if i skip the ironing bit...(because i think i dont dare to lol) it wont have any effect also to the endurance of the NN right?(as in it won't make it peel off faster compared to if u iron it after wash will bond it)

and u havent answered me if continuing to feel the bump of the pointy edges of the alphabeths will spoil/peel my NN? tongue.gif
I think if you don't iron it.. it's ok. U can go back to al-ikhsan and ask them to re-iron it again. They won't mind

The bumpy point, just ignore it la.. it shouldn't spoil it. anyway i like your avatar.
aw13
post Jun 22 2007, 07:05 PM

3,111 posts

wow all of sudden so many replies on this topic biggrin.gif

another tip. put handkerchief over the NN, and re-iron at medium setting (2 bars if conventional iron). I normally do this when i get back from the shops, because of the fact of the crumples and wrinkles. it's normal to feel bumps, sometimes heat may distribute unevenly even though it's a specialised machine. just do a simple re-ironing with a cover over the NN, and you'll be fine!
BotakPrince
post Jun 22 2007, 07:05 PM

388 posts

U mean going back to the shop asking them to help re-iron it when it peel off?

Hopefully i dont have to! lol because im leaving to england in sept :S

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0239sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:35 AM