Wad happen if, From N to D suddenly?

TSCloudx
post Oct 9 2006, 12:20 AM, updated 20y ago

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

Here's a stupid question by my friend...wad will happen if u shift from N to D while the car is moving?

Gimme some answer so i can stop him from trying to use my car as an experiment laugh.gif
btfan
post Oct 9 2006, 12:31 AM

Lowyat.NET #1 Fan
1,292 posts

The car will jerk slightly. No biggie, sometimes i accidentally push the gear to N from D and then push back.
TSCloudx
post Oct 9 2006, 01:04 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

QUOTE(btfan @ Oct 9 2006, 12:31 AM)
The car will jerk slightly. No biggie, sometimes i accidentally push the gear to N from D and then push back.
So it wont damage the gear box or something else?
Chrisp_USA_13
post Oct 9 2006, 01:10 AM

Validating
164 posts

Nothing should happen, except that your car's gear being engaged. Slight jerking? Maybe the gearbox got slight problem then... Shouldn't have any jerking or pulling at all... And no, it won't damage your gearbox...
Azuma-kun
post Oct 9 2006, 09:38 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

ur gearbox wont last long sleep.gif

pizzaboy
post Oct 9 2006, 10:15 AM

9,495 posts

Your car will jerk a lil and just go on moving.

If you believe the "It won't last long" bullcrap, then knock yourself on the wall cloudx. Dad did it for 15 years already, on those big accords, till today it's fine.

He does it when the car's rolling pretty fast and reaching a traffic light, or when going downhill, just watch your brakes. Saves petrol i guess, marginal tho
Vervain
post Oct 9 2006, 10:25 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

did it a million times. nope. no harm done. just don't shift from D to R instantaneously when the vehicle is moving at a fast speed.
n305er
post Oct 9 2006, 10:55 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

Depends on your gear ratio...
Like if you're driving a Wira with only 3 speed gearbox and riding at 140KMh... You'll be slowed down...
darrencw
post Oct 9 2006, 11:16 AM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Oct 9 2006, 10:25 AM)
did it a million times. nope. no harm done. just don't shift from D to R instantaneously when the vehicle is moving at a fast speed.
u can't change from D to R when ure moving towards...forcefully do it and ur gearbox is gone..
n305er
post Oct 9 2006, 11:21 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(darrencw @ Oct 9 2006, 11:16 AM)
u can't change from D to R when ure moving towards...forcefully do it and ur gearbox is gone..
It's N to D, not D to R...
kcng
post Oct 9 2006, 05:34 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

D to R
lol
you guys siao ar....

N to D and back to N and back to D while moving...
nothing wrong, the gearbox will just engage the suitable gear, thats all..

ellimist
post Oct 9 2006, 07:04 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

D to R..engine will die? tongue.gif

But the N to D and vice versa is ok I guess,I do it rather often smile.gif
Amedion
post Oct 9 2006, 08:33 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

I did all before...

N - D ... Biasa lar.. Rev kaw kaw at 5,000rpm then straight shift to D and wheel spinning .. When going downhill or almost reach traffic light.. Shift to N to free the gear and let ur car move while is till has the force to push forward.. Save petrol i think...

D - R ... Not at high speed.. Around 30~40km/h .. The car will jerk like engine wants to die but it won't die..

D - P ... Around 40km/h + speed .. The car won't jerk and engine won't die also... IT will make a sound.. ZRrrrrrrrrrrrr... Dont' know how to describe..

Those who don't believe... Try it on ur own to believe me..
I not asking people to do this.. It's for people who thinks i talk crap only..
ignn_tion
post Oct 10 2006, 06:23 PM

86 posts

I did that on my previous car and till the 7th year, the gearbox cluch rosak, then change car ....hehe.
pacer
post Oct 10 2006, 09:02 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Oct 9 2006, 08:33 PM)
I did all before...

N - D ... Biasa lar.. Rev kaw kaw at 5,000rpm then straight shift to D and wheel spinning .. When going downhill or almost reach traffic light.. Shift to N to free the gear and let ur car move while is till has the force to push forward.. Save petrol i think...

D - R ... Not at high speed.. Around 30~40km/h .. The car will jerk like engine wants to die but it won't die..

D - P ... Around 40km/h + speed .. The car won't jerk and engine won't die also... IT will make a sound.. ZRrrrrrrrrrrrr... Dont' know how to describe..

wow, salute u lah dare to do all that on ur car (with exception of N - D) rclxms.gif

guys,
actually it u see how an auto gearbox works then u will understand that all this is harmless (the gears are all engaged and under pressure by fluid, hard to explain) and also coz most auto's today are controlled by electronics
unless u try on a mechanical gearbox like the iswara then u will have problems (with the exception of N to D)
Amedion
post Oct 11 2006, 12:37 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

Erm.. For the D-R .. If you guyz dun dare to do that..

Try R-D .. Reverse at 20km/h speed without hitting the brake and straight push to D.. I'm sure some of u did this before.. It's the same like D-R.
daijoubu
post Oct 13 2006, 02:51 AM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

tried D-P accidentally on a Galant before (same gearbox as the Perdana IIRC). doesnt engage, hears a 'tak tak tak tak tak tak tak' but it doesnt engage. fail safe smile.gif

but never tried D-R and wont be trying tongue.gif
SUSMalaysian
post Oct 13 2006, 02:53 AM

1,651 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Oct 11 2006, 12:37 PM)
Erm.. For the D-R .. If you guyz dun dare to do that..

Try R-D .. Reverse at 20km/h speed without hitting the brake and straight push to D.. I'm sure some of u did this before.. It's the same like D-R.
not same......

R - D can do wheel spin

D- R..= dead stop....gearbox sure kong..
waynewong79
post Oct 25 2006, 11:23 PM

LYN STALKER
3,268 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Oct 9 2006, 08:33 PM)
I did all before...

Except "N - D" , all actions above are not recommended.
LExus65
post Oct 25 2006, 11:36 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

haha we got a lot of dare devils out here............ lucky engineers do expect this kind of things...........

well mechanically torque converter type automatic gearbox wont have any problem as long as the pressure buidlup inside not that extreme, so n-d while rolling should be ok... but might take some time for the gear box o figure out which gear to go.........

0.0205sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:09 PM