Proper Pre and Post Workout Nutrition, Very Important!!

zeist
post Mar 13 2009, 08:11 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Hey guise,

15 eggs daily is it too much?

- 5 eggs for breakfast (2 whole, 3 whites only).
- 5 eggs (whites only) pre-workout.
- 5 eggs (whites only) dinner (right after workout).

Lunch & Dinner = Tuna, Chicken Breast, Beef.

I don't take whey protein.

zeist
post Mar 14 2009, 08:10 AM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(XmT @ Mar 14 2009, 05:14 AM)
http://www.nutritiondata.com/facts/dairy-a...-products/112/2
http://www.nutritiondata.com/facts/dairy-a...-products/117/2
if you are a serious athlete or bodybuilder, don't be afraid to 15 egg whites per day
one egg white is about 4g of protein, one whole egg is about 6 g of protein and 5 g of fat
so 13egg white + 2 whole egg = 64 protein + 10 gram fat
within norm for a serious bodybuilder
just that you should add something to texturize your eggs i guess smile.gif
Serious in bodybuilding, but don't want to be big. Just fit.

I need about 60gram of protein after workout.

5egg whites + 2 beef should be good? icon_idea.gif

My main concern is the pre and post workout.

Thanks for the info. wink.gif
zeist
post Mar 19 2009, 11:49 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(XmT @ Mar 17 2009, 08:35 AM)
yo man me too, i just wanna get fit and ripped

check this out:

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/eating_made_simple.htm

"By: Stuart Schaefer
Article Summary:
I'm going to teach you how to cut without depriving yourself.
When you work out, your muscles convert carbohydrates into ATP.
By eating six meals a day, you continually fuel your metabolism.
Did you know?
I have put on 20 pounds of muscle while staying at 6% body fat... -Stuart
   Nutrition is key for bodybuilding, especially when it comes down to contest time... What I'm about to share goes against what most bodybuilders believe. I'm going to teach you how to shred and cut without dieting! Learn more. "

follow the link above, it's a very nice article
thumbup.gif

Added on March 17, 2009, 8:45 amhmm do you guys eat white rice?
it's unrealistic to look for brown rice or bring a lunchbox with cooked oatmeal and dining out with friends

for those who have shifted from eating white rice to brown rice, or oatmeal, and have been stop eating white rice for some couples of weeks, do you guys find eating brown rice have a significant change on the body composition??

just trying to get some practical advice and focusing on long term improvement~thanks^
At home, no brown rice. If I gonna have brown rice, that is the time where I visit those vegeterian shops.

Next month, I'm gonna re-adjust my meals. 5 meals per day.

His 6 meals daily, I'm just afraid not enough protein, for me. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by zeist: Mar 19 2009, 11:52 PM
zeist
post Mar 20 2009, 08:32 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(XmT @ Mar 20 2009, 01:29 PM)
wow then how much protein do you eat per day?

I think it is pretty enough though~
Usually after workout, I'll take 5 egg whites, 1 x beef/chicken breast/fish, tuna with 2 slices of whole meal bread, 250ml milk. I hope it's enough.

Added on March 20, 2009, 8:33 pm
QUOTE(yeezai @ Mar 20 2009, 10:04 AM)
pre workout : i didnt eat anything only take creatine + amino ...
post workout : protein shake, 2 scramble eggs, 1 170g can tuna ...

is dat sufficient ? according to my bodyweight i need around 60-70g protein/day .. but i still eat egg whites on other meals....
According to a friend of mine, he says that my ideal post workout protein is around 60gram. Just post workout.

This post has been edited by zeist: Mar 20 2009, 08:33 PM
zeist
post Mar 22 2009, 11:03 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Mar 20 2009, 08:45 PM)
hmm i need to change my diet abit...ill take 5 eggs den... but average i take 10 eggs a day wo...just post eat 2 only... but if youre saying dat post workout alone oredi need 60gm den i need to eat more liao....
The other day I whack 15 eggs a day, I think 10 eggs for me is enough. laugh.gif

5 for breakfast, 5 for pre-workout, 5 for dinner (no post workout, because after working out immediately I head back home to prepare my meal).

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(XmT @ Mar 21 2009, 10:12 AM)
that is just way too much protein for me,

http://www.johnberardi.com/articles/nutrition/importance.htm

some general rules for you PWO meal:

1.0.8g of carb per 1 kg of body weight for speeding up muscle carb replenishment

2.anywhere from 0.2g - 0.4gof protein per 1 kg of body weight to demonstrate the effectiveness of adding protein to a post-workout carb drink, 0.4g/kg may be better than 0.2g/kg

3. fats should be avoided during this time, of course you wanna absorb 'em asap
QUOTE(kenv09 @ Mar 21 2009, 10:45 AM)
I think it should be put this way,

Whole day protein intake should make up 1g/1lb (2.2lb = 1 kg, do your maths! *correct me*)

As supposed to Xmt's, meaning if I weight 88kg then I shd take 60+ g of protein after workout?!

I think around 30-45g is sufficient for instant consumption. Provided there is a next meal containing protein after an hour or two?

Correct me.
Guise,

I need some opinion here. I've just created a new diet plan, only 4 or 5 meals per day. If I workout at 7pm, there will be 5 meals, otherwise just 4.

I always have my dinner before 7pm. But if I finish workout at 10pm, if I take egg whites + milk, will they make me fat? It's like eating after 7pm and before going to bed.

I'm not like you guise, I'm currently cutting down and losing fat. If you guise are thin, nothing to worry about, but I'm not sure whether should I eat egg whites or not?

I don't want to take whey protein because I want to be small now, not big. I will only take whey protein when I've reached my ideal weight and losing all the fats. I don't want to be a fat ass with huge muscles, freaking turn off. shakehead.gif So, whey protein skip.

My goal....

178cm at 80kg, waist 30" - 31", then lose all the fats, be as lean as possible. If I'm able to achieve bodyfat 13 - 15%, I'm happy enough. I know I can do it by somewhere end of may (cut down to 80kg), but the fats probably take sometime, a year or longer.

I just want to be at 80kg, lose fats, 6 packs is not necessary, and be fit. Once I achieved this, then only I will decide from there whether to continue bodybuilding or not. That is the time where I will start to take proper supplements and etc. Step by step, one goal at a time.

So let say if by end of may I'm at 80kg, so it takes me 5 months to reduce 23kg. Then the remaining 7 months is the time where I kill those fats. At this point, I need to keep an eye closely at my weight. Must be in between 75kg - 80kg.

This post has been edited by zeist: Mar 22 2009, 11:18 PM
zeist
post Mar 23 2009, 01:49 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(kenv09 @ Mar 23 2009, 01:02 AM)
@ Zeist

I'm no pro myself and am fat too. Just managed to lose 25+kg in about half a year two years ago. But that was unhealthy, and I gained 15kg in a year although i lost 7kg since mid feb.

What I would say, dn be afraid to take up pre-bed meal! What's your purpose now? get lean and build some muscle/toned up? or lose weight and have those flabby arms and those?

I see you're lifting weight and I supposed you want to toned up right? Gathering from what I read, pre-bed meal is essential during the slp time, our muscle repairs and build the most. If we go to bed without eating, we will be hunger and those muscles are being used/burnt as a source of energy. We still need calories when sleeping. There is no such thing as taking pre-bed meal will make us fat, unless it's taken excessive.

Protein whey wont make you big la bro! I'm fat (not really fat, but juz fat at 88kg with 22% BF), and I'm consuming protein whey. Whey is no magic without working. You simply cant get big with whey even you workout. You need to workout intensel to get big and not by getting whey! Whey is just another substitute of protein from solid food. being fast to be absorbed, it's good to consume as post-workout meal to let our muscle get the necessary protein faster for recovery.

I do drink whey + milk everyday and every meal before bed. I find that it helps to lose toned up a little so far. lolx!

Correct me!
Yea, want to be as lean as possible and get rid of the fats most importantly. Build some muscles and be fit. I don't want to look like some skeleton. rolleyes.gif

I think half boiled egg whites should be ok. Since it somehow look like some liquid to me, unlike hard boiled. laugh.gif

I will only take pre-bed meal if I workout at night at 7pm, otherwise I'll just whack some fruits will do. Dinner time should be enough protein to cover up to next day.

QUOTE(alzaim @ Mar 23 2009, 01:11 AM)
yesss..
from what i read over and over again from pizzaboy n everyone here..
whey is just a protein supplement for food..
coz its faster than normal food for our body to absorb

if you worry about gettin fat..its about calories..
for example if you need 2000 total calories per day..but if you eat like 3000 per day..then u sure gain weight...fats laaa...
so even if you dont take protein..and decide to whack a bucket of kfc per day...still same thing hahaha..FAT..
Will consider getting whey protein when I reached 80kg. I always make sure I eat more protein than carbs daily, and each meal must be enough protein (usually before and after workout).
zeist
post Mar 23 2009, 07:18 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Mar 23 2009, 03:48 PM)
15eggs me puke oredi ....hehe... really hard to down 10 eggs oso la...coz i didnt have any variety ...all i eat is scramble and half-done only...prepared myself ...got any recipe ka...zeist
Egg whites I just swallow only, within seconds. laugh.gif

Then followed by a cup of milk. icon_idea.gif

Fried egg can also. My fried egg no oily whatsoever. Using non stick pan. Same thing, if you cook 5 eggs, remove 3 yolks.

zeist
post Mar 24 2009, 09:20 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Used to whack 2 whole eggs, 3 egg whites. Now 1 whole egg, 4 egg whites.

Because during dinner time, I will whack the same thing. So total 2 whole eggs. laugh.gif
zeist
post May 26 2009, 09:05 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Guys,

Wanna ask, besides HL milk mix with whey, what else can you mix? Otherwise I'll just use cold water that's all in gym. Maybe I can blend some almonds.

Is this too much? I like to have banana before working out.

Pre workout = 200ml milk + 1 scoop of whey, blend with a banana and almonds.

Post workout = 1 1/2 scoop of whey with cold water.

I think 5lbs of whey can last me for 2 months max.

0.0176sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:52 AM