Lenovo P70, RM678 dual sim 4g LTE with 4000mAH batt

michael9413
post Mar 11 2015, 10:43 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Shengz @ Mar 10 2015, 10:31 AM)
Errr... High battery usage? I don't get it.
My p70,
on 100% WiFi simply 7 to 8 hours SOT.
on 100% 4g simply 4 hours SOT iianm, but my area no 4g.

So now I set to 3g/2g only mode, will try again tomorrow for 100% mobile data usage.

Maybe I'm from nexus 4, expectations are a tad lower because 100% WiFi on n4 it gives me 4 hours SOT only at most, 2 hours only on fully mobile data. Not to mention on data, n4 is hot at the back!

To those who concern about GPS, mine lock under 5 seconds in car. icon_rolleyes.gif
i got it already on Monday but i did not use it yet, i plan to give to my gf...
but your study cannot be a reference due to your place do not have 4G connection...
so the phone will still try to serach for 4G connection once a while...
it is better for you to set it to 3G/3G mode only for better testing on the battery...
it should last more than 5 hours SOT... my previous P780 average is around there also...
i bought this for her coz she don like to carry powerbank although she has one...

performance of this phone is not bad same par with Mi3 from what i see...
but i did not do much multitasking on this phone yet only get it prepared for my gf...
load in games and uninstall some unused ones.... until now i did not charge it yet...

camera wise it is slightly lower than my Mi3 cos the photos not that sharp...
sample attached as below...

FYI Been using Mi3 for sometime... with my style of usage it will last about 8-10 hrs...
with about 3.5 hours SOT... coz i use calls about 30~45 mins per day...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 11 2015, 10:58 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
michael9413
post Mar 11 2015, 05:35 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Mar 11 2015, 01:15 PM)
read somewhere that some P70 also has issues connecting to network (mainly 3G i think), in comparison to other phones in the same area... anyone has this issue?

hope this is also a temporary bug and easily fixed soon
I'm not sure... but I use it for a while it seems OK... maybe I will try out later in the weekend...

BTW waze has problem on P70... attached is the photo that I take...

michael9413
post Mar 11 2015, 10:00 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(thongkh @ Mar 11 2015, 05:51 PM)
About the waze, u should report the bug to waze team, hope they can fixed it on coming version.
already reported

QUOTE(matbond. @ Mar 11 2015, 07:16 PM)
How to clear memory? I clicked on sweep button but then I checked my chrome still have 4 tabs inside. Last game played also still not fully closed. Do I need to install memory cleaner?
i think that is the history... my Mi3 also startup chrome where i left it days ago... smile.gif
michael9413
post Mar 12 2015, 09:26 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

report to Lenovo then... how to make it..
michael9413
post Mar 12 2015, 09:19 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

Mine new woh... still need to clear data?
michael9413
post Mar 18 2015, 08:22 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(MatShadow @ Mar 13 2015, 04:37 PM)
Hi geng..
I c cikgu2 like Mike, Joe, and many org lama from P780 already kumpul2 here.
May I join in jadi murid..? sweat.gif

Since cannot tahan tunggu P90, Im thinking of getting tis P70 tis weekend from here > https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3520784&hl=
Should I?
Any suggestion / tut how to root is very much appreciated. Cant live w/o Adfree  icon_question.gif
BANG... I'm not Cikgu la... just normal user...
hmmm... i compare dgn Mi3 yg i guna, P70 mmg setanding... same level...
battery level i don know yet as i'm not using the phone... lying on my bed only haha...
using Mi3 and MS Lumia 535 now... Lumia really last... 2000mAH also can last whole day...

QUOTE(iSean @ Mar 16 2015, 12:09 PM)
But macam 4000 mAh under rated don't you think should atleast tahan til next day.  vmad.gif
under rated??? Hahaha... my Mi3 3100mAH can't even last 8 hrs... how???
becareful when u talk... data shows ppl shows 4.5~5hrs SOT... any P780 is around there also...
others 3000+ mAH phones, i got is around 3.5~4hrs SOT only...

QUOTE(briantwj @ Mar 16 2015, 09:32 PM)
Guys, may i know how is the performance of GPS of this phone? Fast lock in and connection stable? hmm.gif On par with snapdragon 800?

And also does it have wifi tethering function? As in use our data plan and create a wifi.

Tempted to get 1. Currently using Mi3. But for data, I nid to bring my mifi out. Troublesome. sweat.gif
????? are you from jungle ka??? which phone can't WiFi Hotspot now a day????
GPS with WiFi and with Network also lock pretty fast... maybe less than 10secs....
I'm using Mi3 now... maybe if my gf don wan to use the phone i will give it a try next week...
i bought this for her... so now the phone she don want to use lying on my bed for 1 week+ liao...

speed of Lenovo UI is comparable with Mi3 but 4G speed is really good haha...
for me reception consider ok... i used for about 30 mins to try only, in my house living room...
no calls to ppl or what so ever... only purely games and youtube and some social apps...
the sleek design makes me love it, my others fren P780 wanna change also too bad no stock...

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 17 2015, 10:52 PM)
u sure??

FYI, mediatek are famoused as POOR Mobile network TOP CHAMPION NO.1 tongue.gif

but tried out.. battery life ok.. but that software... crashing whole way doh.gif....

well take it as grain of salt... smile.gif
crashing??? eerrr... maybe you wanna try factory reset your phone???
mine working fine leh...

michael9413
post Mar 19 2015, 06:16 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Mar 18 2015, 08:47 PM)
Some phone does not come with wifi tethering actually. laugh.gif Like my Nexus 7c 2012. After update to JB, the tethering option was not there anymore, nid to flash the wifi tethering mod to it, baru ada wifi tethering function.

Juz afraid it'll be a big downgrade from Mi3 ni. laugh.gif Mi3's GPS really gud, fast lock in and damn stable. Mostly i use my phone for GPS, gaming, taking picture and making calls. hmm.gif Since now no stock, nak beli oso cannot la. haha. Wait for more youtube reviews ba.  icon_idea.gif
stick to your Mi3 if you really enjoy it...
i'm using Mi3 and i do not plan to replace itt if my gf don wan to use P70...
but again the smaller footprint and bigger battery makes me thinking about to replace Mi3...
but having 2 phones more than 3000mAH, relief for me, so no need to take powerbank always...

QUOTE(CwwKiT @ Mar 18 2015, 11:52 PM)
How's the phone?  tongue.gif Looking for a phone for normal use (phone call, whatsapp, web browsing, sometimes gps) with big battery  biggrin.gif
that is your current phone????

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 19 2015, 07:36 AM)
3C mah.. H3C no problem.. but this made me headache... ==!!

srsly dunno wtf Lenovo doing...
I duno what is your problem, if you really has problem with the software...
please go back there... i do not have any problem with it lo...
although i'm using it for surfing, online and games only...

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Mar 19 2015, 11:53 AM)
hmm...am interested wif either this phone due to its incredible battery power. coming from Nexus 4 where i need to constantly plug a usb plug to my phone to last a day...this phone battery performance does impresses me...

however the reception...the speaker problem...hmm...and also out-of-stock? sighh...
speaker not a big deal and reception??? depends what u use lo...
i tried Maxis 4G about 30 mins inside my house in USJ3, good speed... no problem...
michael9413
post Mar 20 2015, 06:06 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(CwwKiT @ Mar 19 2015, 09:37 PM)
Current using xperia L , have to charge the phone everyday (use for some web browsing and phone calls only)  sweat.gif
This should be fine...

QUOTE(DayahKuComeL @ Mar 19 2015, 11:19 PM)
Alright,

I bought 4 units. Two for the parents, one for me and my gf

My thoughts

Signal : I'm using celcom from shah alam to seri kembangan steady 3g/H+ signal. But occasionally whatapps text took a moment for the server to receive (one tick)
My gf uses maxis,on and off signals at shah alam. Her housemate using maxis ok no prob.

Wifi : as for now I must say it is poor for me. Will update more once my parents use their units
WiFi update : day 1 full wifi usage : suck ass, the connection stays below 1 K/s, whatapps take forever to send.

Battery : as expected very nice

Other : Google play store fuck up at the beginning to very long to log in and download app. Fixed it by manually clear app. This happened at the gf and my unit. Not sure what causes the problem tho.

Will update more once my own parents started using their units.
Bro attached my snapshot of my unit...

michael9413
post Mar 21 2015, 04:07 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(nevland @ Mar 20 2015, 10:11 PM)
Really satisfy with the phone so far, only waze issues
Not sure about others.. Mine do not have problem with WiFi... Some complaint about slow but I reach 600+k/s b4 leh...
I will test out my network later... Compare to Mi3... But I do not have 2 same telco Sim, I have 3 lines all different telco hahaha...
michael9413
post Mar 21 2015, 12:18 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

Well my photo speaks... I duno about ur...
R u guys serious it looks like 5MP? Come on... do u expect this camera like Mi3?
I compare side to side Mi3, Redmi Note and this... I can say Mi3 has simply sharper lines and note comes after that... P70 is at last place... but it wasn't that far off... I tested this by snapping the same condition at my house and phone on the stationary table...

I post the photo for u guys later...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 21 2015, 12:18 PM
michael9413
post Mar 21 2015, 03:43 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(bobboy @ Mar 21 2015, 12:22 PM)
compare with moto g... moto g is far better quality...

but who care right.. it cheap.. perfomance hmm just good..
U sure??? MotoG??? 1st gen? I use it like few weeks then pass to my lil bro...
Later I open my laptop n upload the photo...
michael9413
post Mar 22 2015, 06:12 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

Mi3 vs P70 camera...
Snap distance is same and 100% crop with snapseed...

Tell me.which is which...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 22 2015, 06:13 PM

michael9413
post Mar 22 2015, 08:41 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

Haha... All auto flash off...
And u r wrong... Top is P70 and darker one is Mi3...
U can see lines in Mi3 more sharper.. That is what I say...
Redmi Note around the middle of both... I need to ask my fren to send me the photo if u all want to see...
Maybe tomorrow I try to take others photo for your reference

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 22 2015, 08:42 PM
michael9413
post Mar 23 2015, 02:49 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(carnby77 @ Mar 23 2015, 11:40 AM)
I think the camera setting is not optimized....mine gives out beautiful pictures...maybe nvr focus properlly....
At low lot it is not that good... it tends to over expose... of cause my fren took those photos...
If me I will try to get the similar exposure for all...
I find the edge of line it is as sharp that's all...
michael9413
post Mar 26 2015, 10:38 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(MatShadow @ Mar 25 2015, 10:33 PM)
[attachmentid=4386811]
you seldom use phone ok la... but for user using about 30~60 mins of calls everyday it will shorten the SOT also...
n also the 4G Network... whether you are travelling or in poor coverage area also will affect the SOT..

QUOTE(thongkh @ Mar 26 2015, 02:27 AM)
Hi, newbie here, just bought a P70 😁

I unable to upgrade the phone to latest version due to the phone was rooted and flashed with twrp recovery.
Everytime I update, phone reboot and stop at twrp recovery.

My P70 suddenly can't connect to camera, wonder what's wrong. Was working fine this morning 😢
Tried restart and factory reset, no help. 😢

Where I can find lenovo service center for warranty claim? Should I flash the twrp recovery to original recovery b4 sent back? Please advice how.

Pls help and advice. Thanks
i tried... they seems don care much... just flash for you... duno woh... buy my unit cant start up at all...
i did not manage to flash custom recovery... only custom ROM

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 26 2015, 10:45 AM
michael9413
post Mar 27 2015, 07:02 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(thongkh @ Mar 26 2015, 11:52 AM)
Thanks for the feedback and advice
Checked, but only found guide to root and flash twrp recovery, cant find guide to revert back to stock recovery and ROM.
If flashing to stock recovery and ROM help, like to try myself b4 sent back to service center.
is it? I don't mind to wait for a week if it managed to recover the camera. But Lowyat a bit for from my place.
I saw a shop in giant kelana jaya listed as lenovo smartphone service center. Can I claim warranty there?
Please advice.
Agree, but I have no idea to find guide and download for stock recovery and flashing stock ROM.
Please advice. Thanks
I also having the same camera problem? Or urs can't boot after flash custom ROM so sent back to service center ?
Can I claim my warranty via lenovo shop in giant kelana jaya?
Haha.... Mine? That is sometime ago with S920...

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 26 2015, 10:42 PM)
anyone knows how to change the lockscreen wallpaper?
I mean change other than those few preloaded ones
Go Gallery, choose the photo that i want to use... Then top right get a menu, click set as...

michael9413
post Jun 4 2015, 09:26 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(heihei @ May 23 2015, 09:38 PM)
u should buy a sp with 2.5D glass  sweat.gif
haha... ya... i bought from DirectD, my wife havent use it yet...
so i duno it will give her problem or not...

I used a few others phone with edge to edge glass no problem...
but my HTC Desire 820s has only screen protection... but it is using Nilkin H+ which i bought in myself...

QUOTE(little smelly @ May 29 2015, 12:42 PM)
greetings...do understand cant compare v p780 coz higher spec. i just bought p70, it do really surprise me v the battery, use time around 3-4 hours only, i did tried limit to 3g connection only but it same...do u guys happen the same? even my previous phone v 2000mah seems like better...
please do install GSam battery monitor n see...
see whats the thing that draw much batter from ur side...
confirm again... 4 hours SOT is ok P70 depends on your network strength and also Screen Brightness...
double check the stats again after you install the GSam Battery...

BTW what phone do you use with 2000mAh which can last SOT 4 hrs????
my history tells me u either is not that heavy user... i mean calls...
my records for all Quad Core... all is SOT (Screen On Time)
Samsung S3 2100mAh = 3~3.5hrs
Pantech Vega R3 2600mAh = ~4hrs
MotoG 2100mAh (1st Gen) = 3~3.5hrs...
Lenovo P780 4000mAh = ~4.5hrs
Xiao Mi3 3100mAh = ~4hrs

QUOTE(casphere @ May 30 2015, 01:05 AM)
switched on at 7am daily, fully charged status. I use it to make phone calls, whatsapp, FB, surf news sites & Google, watch some short video clips and as a tethering connection for my 3G mobile broadband with my laptop throughout the day. As of 1.05am (now), I am left with 17% of battery.  note- i kept my mobile 3g connection ON throughout the day.

so i'll usually charge it when i sleep every night. Needs to be charged once daily.
when i used it before in WiFi mode (no sim card inserted), battery lasted almost 3 days.
again... can u install a GSam battery apps for the info like @Decayed...
that will be more accurate...

QUOTE(decayed.cell @ Jun 3 2015, 07:47 AM)
I can get more than 2 days with 4.5 hours screen on time on W-Fi only. On 4G for a full work day (~10 hours) and Wi-Fi for the rest of the time, I got almost 1.75 days with 5.5 hours screen on time
user posted imageuser posted image

I haven't tested 4G only battery life yet but I think most people should be able to get one full day of usage
thumbup.gif good info you given to them... it should be like that...
install battery monitor and check which apps is draining battery and whether you really use it...
or it is running at background...

your SOT time is great... smile.gif where is your location in OZ... mind to share...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jun 4 2015, 09:39 AM
michael9413
post May 19 2016, 09:58 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

for me the 720P LCD panel poor quality if you peek...
my HTC 820s which is 5.5" is better than it... maybe cost effective...
has this phone for a short while coz sold to my bro which happily use it for almost 1 year dy...
battery life of course is exceptionally good with the 4000mAH...

0.0303sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:36 AM