PROTON SAGA BLM, FL & FLX Thread V67, U haz CVT Falcon PUNCH liao?

WTFisLYN
post Apr 4 2015, 06:36 AM

70 posts

I know someone who has SAGA SV MT. About 1 1/2 years old. So far has replaced fuel pump and the whole air filter box set too. Oh yes. Starter too. Is this normal? Or lemon car? Scared to get Proton because of this. Need taiko advice.
WTFisLYN
post Apr 5 2015, 10:08 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 4 2015, 07:59 AM)
Each and every model of other car maker will also have 1 or 2 unit of lemon. I would like to make a guess on your friend's SV

1) Change fuel pump due to hard to start car after engine got hot. Often stranded at car park for 1/2 hour before the car can start. SC suggest to change fuel pump.
2) After change of fuel pump, still having trouble to start car. Everytime after lunch go back carpark wanna start car, it just wont start! Again, SC in view of already changed fuel pump, might as well change starter.
3) After all effort, there's nothing much can be done except change the air filter box. I don't see the relation of whether the car can start or not, may be during service SC technician accidentally break it, had to replace 1.

Guess what? After change of fuel pump, starter and the bloody air box, your friend still having trouble to start the engine after lunch hour/long distance drive whistling.gif Ask your friend whether he/she got come lurk around LYN GaGa thread. If not, better start now. We're the bunch who bought the same lemon car with the same lemon juice at the same amount of lemon trouble. The hard to crank start trouble is already discussed and explained many times due to injector overflow which happened quite often to hi-power output(in comparison with cubic capacity displacement) engines, also can caused by TDC Sensor(Top Dead Centre) which the engine management need to find the firing sequence by reading the crankshaft position that indicate when the #1 piston is reaching the ceiling of the combustion chamber, for initiating the firing sequence of your separberak. Is it bad? Yes it is. Is it the engine design defect? No not really. Most of the time is caused by local weather/bad fuel quality/bad habits of driver(if you remember your grandfather always like to pump the accelerator before switch off engine, where they explain this will charge up the battery abit to get ready for the next start up, which totally not required by new generation engines because the alternator charging is limited by electronic cut out).

So, all these lemon problems are all from the same lemon car with some basic lemon expertise, we can make lemonade a joyful drink. WTFisLYN please suggest your friend to join our TT and come lurk here more often. If any problem he/she face, do come over and use the search function. We do care about the car and we know the car characteristic like the back of our hand. Please buy with confident and enjoy the car.
Not as bad as 30 minutes. More like 5 to 15. Usually 10 minutes.

One day. Could not start at all. Thought the virgin battery was faulty. Turned out to be the starter. Not virgin but still a kid.

The owner suspected the mechanic ruined it too. Refused to take responsibility. Only god knows. The shop knows too we suspected.

Owner tends to pump accelerator after start - up and before switch - off though.

Owner is not a LYN MEMBER I'm afraid.

So nervous to tell owner that the car is indeed lemon.

Thank you so much for the super long yet informative post :-)

WTFisLYN
post Apr 5 2015, 10:19 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 4 2015, 07:59 AM)
Each and every model of other car maker will also have 1 or 2 unit of lemon. I would like to make a guess on your friend's SV

1) Change fuel pump due to hard to start car after engine got hot. Often stranded at car park for 1/2 hour before the car can start. SC suggest to change fuel pump.
2) After change of fuel pump, still having trouble to start car. Everytime after lunch go back carpark wanna start car, it just wont start! Again, SC in view of already changed fuel pump, might as well change starter.
3) After all effort, there's nothing much can be done except change the air filter box. I don't see the relation of whether the car can start or not, may be during service SC technician accidentally break it, had to replace 1.

Guess what? After change of fuel pump, starter and the bloody air box, your friend still having trouble to start the engine after lunch hour/long distance drive whistling.gif Ask your friend whether he/she got come lurk around LYN GaGa thread. If not, better start now. We're the bunch who bought the same lemon car with the same lemon juice at the same amount of lemon trouble. The hard to crank start trouble is already discussed and explained many times due to injector overflow which happened quite often to hi-power output(in comparison with cubic capacity displacement) engines, also can caused by TDC Sensor(Top Dead Centre) which the engine management need to find the firing sequence by reading the crankshaft position that indicate when the #1 piston is reaching the ceiling of the combustion chamber, for initiating the firing sequence of your separberak. Is it bad? Yes it is. Is it the engine design defect? No not really. Most of the time is caused by local weather/bad fuel quality/bad habits of driver(if you remember your grandfather always like to pump the accelerator before switch off engine, where they explain this will charge up the battery abit to get ready for the next start up, which totally not required by new generation engines because the alternator charging is limited by electronic cut out).

So, all these lemon problems are all from the same lemon car with some basic lemon expertise, we can make lemonade a joyful drink. WTFisLYN please suggest your friend to join our TT and come lurk here more often. If any problem he/she face, do come over and use the search function. We do care about the car and we know the car characteristic like the back of our hand. Please buy with confident and enjoy the car.
Hey David and other fellow LYN MEMBERS. Forgot to mention that the battery has been replaced around 5 times. It is silly for a 1 1/2 year old car. Only 1 time the battery covered by warranty. The others have to use own RM$$££€€¥¥RM cry.gif You guys have any idea?

Also owner has asked me whether the mechanic in is a CONMAN or not.

AIR FILTER BOX - RM 200 + RM 50 LABOUR

ORIGINAL PROTON FUEL PUMP WITH NO WARRANTY - RM 800 + RM 9 LABOUR

RECOND STARTER - RM 250 + RM 49 LABOUR

WTFisLYN
post Apr 5 2015, 10:23 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(wankel @ Apr 4 2015, 08:26 AM)
Well put David, what you say is quite a reality.
Years ago in my car industry days I was told of a chap whose engine was smoking excessively, so the workshop decided to fit a replacement engine, after that was fitted they found the auto transmission was no longer operating properly so they replaced that too. Then after much head scratching it was determined the real fault was a failed diaphragm in the vacuum modulator for the transmission, so the customer ended up copping a $3000+ bill over a $30 part, and the real tale was kept from him.
I have personally found a bad wire on a friend's fuel cut-off solenoid on his carburettor that a year earlier had cost him a fortune when a mechanic  failed to diagnose it and did the simple thing by sending it off for a unneeded rebuild, jiggling the wire was all it took to decide the problem but remember tradesmen do tend to be better at lifting heavy things and smoking than most other pursuits.
I like to do all my own work.
GLAD YOU QUIT BECAUSE...........

mad.gif The AUTO Industry is full of BLOOD - SUCKING - MONSTERS vmad.gif
WTFisLYN
post Apr 5 2015, 10:26 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(n3w @ Apr 4 2015, 11:05 AM)
Lessons to be learned, for those sagarians out there with problem, do consult onestop centre saga blm flx club before doing anything. biggrin.gif
To bad THE OWNER has troubles in middle of nowhere and stranded. Must find nearest mechanics which are all usually SLAUGHTERING MONSTERS vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
WTFisLYN
post Apr 5 2015, 03:41 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:31 PM)
First of all, it is confirmed that your friend got chopped by the shop. Battery itself covered by warranty 18 months. Stranded by the road side, had it tow to your trustworthy mechanic, better yet back to Plotong. If your friend refused to start reading here, no 1 can ever help him/her. I rest my case here and do not know how to teach your friend not to be chopped.
Any idea about the prices David. Wanna hear your expertise on these.

QUOTE(WTFisLYN @ Apr 5 2015, 10:19 AM)
Also owner has asked me whether the mechanic in is a CONMAN or not.

AIR FILTER BOX - RM 200 + RM 50 LABOUR

ORIGINAL PROTON FUEL PUMP WITH NO WARRANTY - RM 800 + RM 9 LABOUR

RECOND STARTER - RM 250 + RM 49 LABOUR

WTFisLYN
post Apr 6 2015, 05:51 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 5 2015, 04:04 PM)
1) Air box indeed is around that price range. But, why would you change it? I still can't brain it.

2) How does fuel pump not fall under warranty? Unless your friend never service in Plotong at all. Can be settled within RM500

3) I still do not believe the starter can die just like that. Yes a recon unit is around that price range at RM250.
1. I don't know MAN.

2. BROKE down out OF nowhere. Lazy to tow to PROTON.

3. Okay.

P / S : - Thank you biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by WTFisLYN: Apr 6 2015, 05:51 PM
WTFisLYN
post Apr 6 2015, 05:54 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 5 2015, 08:13 PM)
Ayam aware now whistling.gif Will inform all the fellow insurer to take note on a Plotong GaGa came to add windscreen coverage which last year doesn't have whistling.gif
LoL laugh.gif
WTFisLYN
post Apr 6 2015, 05:57 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Apr 5 2015, 08:38 PM)
All Saga FLX variants price have been updated.
With the introduction of GST, most part prices drop (10% sales tax previously).

Except for Saga FLX SV, which will be included shortly in the first page, everything else remained the same link.
Whadya mean except SV?
WTFisLYN
post Apr 14 2015, 01:57 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(wankel @ Apr 12 2015, 06:24 PM)
Quite a magical looking improvement, it claims to adjust timing to an optimum value, I would think any car maker would already have that programmed fairly correctly in conjunction with the knock sensor.
I can't help but feel a test of this type could be fairly easily fudged by running an ultra low octane blend for the stock run, and then using a dose steroid boosted super octane stuff for the after result.
Winding back the calibration knob on the machine would help too.
You bought a Proton IN Oz? Why? IF I WEre you I WOULD get AT least a CAMRY or AN Accord. Cars are dirt cheap there compared to the cars IN THIS country.

This post has been edited by WTFisLYN: Apr 18 2015, 06:49 AM
WTFisLYN
post Apr 18 2015, 06:53 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(wankel @ Apr 14 2015, 06:26 PM)
Much of it indeed goes right over my head but it's not important.
I do get what the lass in the video was saying about things, my wife who's Philippine (married nearly two years now after my becoming widowed, she's my age so it's decent) talks of opening light switches, so the quirks are somewhat familiar to me.
You're White? I thought you WERE a Chinese Malaysian expat.
WTFisLYN
post Apr 18 2015, 06:57 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(Bazinga! @ Apr 14 2015, 07:43 PM)
manyak bad luck today. want start car and go out, suddenly car cannot start. crank crank until cvt light will pop out every time crank more than 4 seconds.
ingat battery hal, try jumpstart same shit. call proton we care, say need tow to service center. diu.
luckily call kurnia, they send one mechanic come and help. again crank and crank and crank nearly 30 minutes, den only start.
say probable cause is cause car stationary few days didnt start, hence black oil naik up not sufficient to the lifter to allow complete cycle to crank and start.
also maybe also because since few days didnt start, black oil all bawah, 10w30 much thinner so want crank time also not enuff go up.
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
at the end of the day all is settled. belanja mechanic cigarettes.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
More like manyak good luck. Sebatang or WHOLE pack LoL? NOT a smoker but ciggy GOT GST OR NOT? How much UH marlboro red 20 ' S ?
WTFisLYN
post Apr 18 2015, 07:00 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 15 2015, 07:55 AM)
If engine oil has to do with setating an injin, then Quazacolt ady hailut.com.my coz that sohem is using 0W20 whistling.gif I'm saying, nowadays these xin kar lan so xin kar lan to the max. When you have cranking sound yet the car aint start, that is never the cause of lack of engine oil. When your car has no engine oil, it will still start regardless whistling.gif
So Why then?
WTFisLYN
post Apr 18 2015, 07:04 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Apr 15 2015, 12:34 PM)
Honda la.

Honda Brio rebadge.
LOoks Nothing LIKE brio uhhhh
WTFisLYN
post Apr 19 2015, 02:35 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(wankel @ Apr 18 2015, 09:54 AM)
I'd say white is as good a term as any, in these parts the media use a politically correct term that I refuse to use for it.
As far as I know I have Irish, Scottish and very likely some Pommy heritage, the Irish part was given a compulsory free trip to Aussie land 200 years ago, he hated the place that much that when he was free to return he instead chose to bring his wife and children here too.
Fear not about me I do keep a weblog at My Weblog and any posting that I appear in will show that I'm in no way to be envied.
I found this to be about the only active forum for the FLX, and I do like to share knowledge.
Pardon my ignorance. What's a pommy? Is it the same as SCOTS - IRISH ?
WTFisLYN
post Apr 19 2015, 02:37 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 18 2015, 10:54 AM)
Do you think a Malaysian expat would buy a Proton in OZ?
That's a good point LoL laugh.gif
WTFisLYN
post Apr 19 2015, 09:40 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(wankel @ Apr 19 2015, 05:16 AM)
English, we have our language quirks too.
I hope The English don't find it offensive.
WTFisLYN
post Apr 20 2015, 12:16 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 19 2015, 04:45 PM)
Have replied you previously

No. Not that. I was asking about this.

If engine oil has to do with setating an injin, then Quazacolt ady hailut.com.my coz that sohem is using 0W20 whistling.gif I'm saying, nowadays these xin kar lan so xin kar lan to the max. When you have cranking sound yet the car aint start, that is never the cause of lack of engine oil. When your car has no engine oil, it will still start regardless whistling.gif

I am curious if it is not because of oil. What then?
WTFisLYN
post Apr 20 2015, 10:47 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 20 2015, 08:33 AM)
If there's a cranking sound, meaning engine component is moving. Getting the car start is never the problem of engine oil. There will be a point that when the engine is too damn dry, the piston jammed on the engine block, this way no doubt is caused by engine oil. However, if engine oil causing the jammed of piston, I'm sorry to tell you there will be no cranking sound AT ALL. I've tried to crank a jammed engine at chopshop where the engine being left without engine oil for too damn long. When I short the started, there's no cranking sound but all the electricity cut off from the fuse box. All I can hear was relay sound, CLICK but that's it.

Just for your information, if the engine was jammed by no engine oil, 1 can never start back the engine unless open up the whole thing give it an overhaul.

My reply to you previously has already answered. It has to be the few known issue of petrol overflow, TDC misaligned and or fuel pump/fuel line/fuel filter inefficiency. When there's a cranking sound, it has never to do with engine oil regardless. Have you ever wonder why those people when the car aint start, the 1st thing they do is always open bonnet, check on engine oil? I mean, if the dipstick really show the engine is dry, can add engine oil make the car start back? hmm.gif I don't know, I leave it to you what and who to trust. whistling.gif
I trust you. Just curious that's all biggrin.gif
WTFisLYN
post Apr 21 2015, 04:34 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(wankel @ Apr 20 2015, 04:02 PM)
Thanks David they do appear the same, including the widening on the lower hose.
Daisy was quite old already when I bought her so I'll likely do a coolant change long before it's due and may buy pretty new hoses for the job. Pity I've only seen blue and red thus far.
If I may ask did you buy Daisy not brand new? How old is Daisy? When did you buy her? What is her full model? Is Daisy a Proton Saga FLX Special Edition? Aussies have different name for Saga if I'm not mistaken.

0.0409sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:45 AM