BLASTERS Thread V2, NERF, Dart Zone, X-Shot... 1st pg info

Eiraku
post Jun 1 2016, 07:45 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Hey ho all. After lusting over Nerf guns over huge part of my childhood, I somehow managed to avoid adding *yet* another hobby to my already resource-strapped life...

... until now.

It started with a simple BuzzBee Hunter. It was supposed to end there but... well...

Still a very meager collection though compared to what some of you guys have really lol.

As for modding... well... my hands suck at delicate work so maybe nothing more than simple stuff and cosmetic mods lol. Maybe thinking of ordering some stuff from 3dprintedsolid and getting a replacement spring for the Slingfire. Wanted a spring for the Doublestrike but blasterparts stuff gila expensive.

Anyway, do we have anybody organizing battles and stuff over here for us adults Nerfers? Maybe even actual HvZ events or something? Or is it more a clique type of setup?

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 1 2016, 07:55 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 1 2016, 07:56 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 1 2016, 07:53 PM)
Nice collection.
Thanks boss but sure cannot compare to yours. Plus I jelly you have an actual 3D printer to play with.
Eiraku
post Jun 3 2016, 04:36 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jun 3 2016, 03:12 PM)
Hey bro, where are you based off? If you are around KL/PJ, then there are games on every Saturday in SS2 or USJ area, come join us!
Check out their facebook page, it is more happening there than here smile.gif

In facebook search for:
NERF Community Malaysia
RAYVEN BLASTER CLUB
BlasterHCG Malaysia (Nerf/BoomCo/etc)

There are more but these are the few that organise most of the games.

Anyway, haven't been here for a long time, just dropping a picture of my props here biggrin.gif
Thanks for the recommendations Bro, all subbed already.
Eiraku
post Jun 4 2016, 12:12 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jun 3 2016, 11:02 PM)
Awesome, hope to see you in one of the weekend games!
Dropping another batch of pic, the latest Worker Kriss Vector ABS injection molded kit for stryfe!
If nothing comes up, I should poke my head around tomorrow's SS2 game, just to get a feel of an actual Nerf game in play. Look out for the guy with that minimal mod Orange Stryfe with a janky homemade single point (as per pic up top lol).

I should stick out like a sore thumb really. First Nerf game and all.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 4 2016, 12:16 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 5 2016, 07:51 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 5 2016, 07:22 PM)
Snapfire and Slingshot got 50% off at Tesco.
Awesome! Already got the SS though.

From my end: Longshot, white Retal, Roughcut and Doublestrike on sale at TRU Jaya Shopping Centre (the one next to Digital Mall); and Rampage back again (in sonic ice) at TRU Empire.

Now collecting funds for more mods for my primary Stryfe... while nursing a sprained ankle from my first actual game yesterday (totally worth it BTW lol).

Oh well, was gonna cuti a bit while Puasa anyway.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 5 2016, 08:56 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 5 2016, 08:55 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 5 2016, 07:59 PM)
Sale how much discount?
Not sure, but the Longshots were 160-180-ish IINM. Roughcuts were like 110-ish?
Eiraku
post Jun 5 2016, 10:32 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 5 2016, 10:22 PM)
Tesco/giant sale much much better (for roughcut).
Still on? Which Tesco/Giant? Feel like getting one for CQB also.
Eiraku
post Jun 7 2016, 07:41 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jun 6 2016, 09:53 AM)
yeah. there was one time, rough cut and stryfe goes for MYR50 each. that's the reason why i have 2 stryfe  laugh.gif .
Considering I already have 2 Stryfes now... if I was around during that sale I'd prolly have 4 now lol.

Or 2 Stryfes and 2 Roughcuts... dual-wielding FTW (even if zero actual combat effectiveness lol).
Eiraku
post Jun 7 2016, 09:54 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(NFG89 @ Jun 7 2016, 04:36 PM)
Pmed you regarding this
Have fun with the Hyperfire. I already played around with one and while it's a fun blaster, it's a bit too excessive to be anything but a suppression/support primary to me. It's still a hilarious blaster to use though.

Gonna stick with my Stryfes as my primaries for now.
Eiraku
post Jun 8 2016, 04:06 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jun 8 2016, 03:48 AM)
Moar poison biggrin.gif
*Poison shield ON!*

Lol. Stryfe's getting a lot of love from Worker so far. Now torn between turning mine into an M4-type like everyone else, or building a mishmash custom.

The G36K shorty front end does look pretty interesting to say the least, and it should play well with the basic Worker stock. Also one of the AK/AN variants look pretty interesting.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 8 2016, 04:42 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 8 2016, 08:16 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Just to chime in, BoomCo is targeted more to teens while Nerf is more to younger kids - though their designs are equally applicable to older kids and adults TBH.

And Nerf darts hurt less lol. BoomCo generally hits harder. Unmodified of course ler.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 9 2016, 02:19 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 14 2016, 11:03 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jun 14 2016, 07:08 PM)
my take on that......not worth it. like it or not, you will need a mechanical thingy to push the darts into the flywheel. this will require space. stryfe is just too small. and as said, you may need extra power.

going the electronics route will require ICs and/or some sort of FET to time the dart pusher  rclxub.gif . i cant even brain it more than that  laugh.gif .

also note, full auto blasting will not give time for the flywheel to rev up, thus while it increases you shot/sec, decreases your feet/sec.
TBH, I've actually physically seen a Stryfe that can do full-auto (even tried it out). Was one of the personal primaries of a local nerf modder.

I have no desire to make mine FA though, I prefer a controlled volley of darts rather than darthosing through a limited mag.

If you want darthosing, get a Hyperfire (now in local TRUs) or one of these (if it ever comes into Malaysia ler):

Dart Zone Scorpion v2: Now compatible (kinda) with Nerf Elite darts (and thus with all the cheap stuff).

Not that I've ever seen any Dart Zone stuff locally to begin with lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 14 2016, 11:06 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 15 2016, 12:25 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jun 14 2016, 11:24 PM)
i didn't say it was impossible, just not worth it. who would want to pick after those darts anyway. i use to own a value pack raider. those comes with 70 darts. ended up not using any of the darts because i don't want to be bothered picking them up. laugh.gif
This I can wholeheartedly agree with lol. Though a minimised/pistolized rapidstrike (the "uzis" I've seen people made them into) is pretty nice to have as a CQB last ditch spray blaster in spite of this lol.

Nonetheless, unless it's an "organised" game (where people actually go and pick up darts after a few rounds), running FA blasters WILL turn into a huge PITA to clean up after lol. Hell, it's gonna be a pain even if it's an org-ed game lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 15 2016, 12:33 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 15 2016, 08:03 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(sasaug @ Jun 15 2016, 02:42 AM)
I heard someone summoned my full auto stryfe tongue.gif

Sorry fo the bad quality, I have to download it from facebook page instead. Lost the original file.
Nice. And I know those MBUS sights lol... laugh.gif
Eiraku
post Jun 17 2016, 10:22 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Doomlands Desolator, probably from SG:

Looks nice enough. Would be far more interested personally if I wasn't already invested tacticool mods for my main Stryfe... which is what this thing actually is beneath that cool new cover anyway.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 17 2016, 10:31 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 19 2016, 02:26 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jun 18 2016, 06:41 PM)
Desolator does look like it shoots further OOB. Perhaps some changes internally?

I do like how slim it is and now i know what i want for <insert holiday season>.....amongst other things.sweat.gif
Probably device varience. Both of my Stryfes don't really shoot the (exact) same either lol. But we really need a better look of the insides of the Deso to be sure.
Eiraku
post Jul 11 2016, 09:28 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(strikermac @ Jul 5 2016, 04:29 PM)
China copy cat blaster coming out... haha... sweat.gif
Ooooh, so this was where my 10-round mags came from (the curved ones). Interesting cause I never could find similar mags online - only Worker stuff.

Very decent mags too, they work pretty good in my Stryfe and fit perfect in my FASTmag holders.

Also, if the clone stuff cross compatible with the original ones, that "silencer" they have looks a lot better than the stubby one Nerf has in the Covert Ops kit.

Though of course, the Worker silencer is a world apart.

awyongcarl Extremely jelly, as always. I do prefer the esthetics of the Masada over the SCAR though... but then I've always been a Magpul fanboi lol.

Now... to save enough for my own cosmetic mods... Unfortunately Raya-shock has yet to pass.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 11 2016, 09:34 AM
Eiraku
post Jul 12 2016, 10:12 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jul 12 2016, 12:06 AM)
Another thing to share with you guys, full auto Stryfe!
https://www.facebook.com/monkeemod/posts/1045284548885102

Really really fun bursting 2-3 darts with this kit, and it still retain 100fps+ lol
I'll be field testing it this coming Nerf game biggrin.gif
You guys need to mod a selector switch to the Audu board. Something like this:

Not sure where to put it on the Stryfe though.

And I really don't wanna be on the receiving end of your 100fps hailstorm lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 12 2016, 02:40 PM
Eiraku
post Jul 15 2016, 09:28 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Anybody saw a Blue Retaliator being sold anywhere (not the Ice version) recently? Most of the places I go to only seem to have White (or Ice) in stock.
Eiraku
post Jul 16 2016, 09:40 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jul 15 2016, 10:23 AM)
Only saw that at used marketplace such as mudah. But seldom saw one which is full set,  and with reasonable price.
*Sigh*

Oh well, just get a white one and paint it Stryfe orange eh hor?

Anyway, mixing and matching yesterday's haul on my main guns, ended up with three main configs: SMG Stryfe (short Retal stock fitting the AKSU role pretty well), Rifle Stryfe (surprisingly accurate, long barrel quite useful) and Sidearm Retal (yes, I bought a Retal to turn it into a pistol lol).

Here's a pic:

And yeah, Retal stock and barrel (and the Retal itself lol) need repainting.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 16 2016, 10:48 AM

1.6811sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:13 PM