Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> [REVIEW] TP-LINK TL-WDR4300 Router, 750Mbps 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless Router (Review)

views
     
TSronnie
post Feb 17 2015, 12:42 PM, updated 6y ago

Not enough stars
********
All Stars
16,782 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Kuala Lumpur



Product Introduction
The TL-WDR4300 measures 243mm x 161mm x 33mm in size, which makes it one of the slimmest Wireless Router in the market. The Standard Retail Price for the TL-WDR4300 in Malaysia is RM229.00. This router is compatible with TM UniFi and Maxis Home Fibre as it has default configuration from both ISP pre-configured. You just need your UniFi/Maxis Home Fibre username and password only.
Content of the package includes :-
• TL-WDR4300 unit
• 3 x Antenna (RP-SMA connector, 2-3 dBi)
• 1 x RJ45 Cable
• Power Adaptor (3-pin, 1.5A)
• Resource CD
• Quick Start Guide

TP-Link TL-WDR4300 Features:
• Simultaneous 2.4GHz 300Mbps and 5GHz 450Mbps connections for 750Mbps of total available bandwidth
• 2 x USB 2.0 port convenient for network-connected users to share files through the device’s FTP server, charge your smartphone
• Built-in media server allows users to share music, video and photos with Windows Media Player, PS3 or X-BOX 360
• The device’s built-in print server supports wireless printing from different computers by connecting a USB printer to the router
• Full gigabit ports ensure ultimate transfer speeds
• Achieves blazing WAN to LAN throughput of over 800Mbps with hardware NAT
• Simple wireless security encryption at a push of the WPS button
• WDS wireless bridge provides seamless bridging to expand the wireless network
• IP-based bandwidth control allows administrators to determine how much bandwidth is allotted to each PC
• Live Parental Controls allow parents or administrators to establish restricted access policies for children or staff
• External detachable antennas allow for better alignment and stronger antenna upgrades

Personal Review
This review will be based on Maxis Home Fibre setup only. I trust the UniFi setup is just as simple. This router supports IEEE 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz and IEEE 802.11a/n 5GHz.

2.4GHz vs 5GHz - Which to choose
• 5GHz has a shorter range than 2.4GHz
• 5GHz has less interference than 2.4GHz (eg. microwaves and cordless phones)
• 5GHz has more non-overlapping channels
• Speed of between router and your devices is the same for both 2.4GHz and 5GHz
• Newer devices will support both 2.4GHz and 5GHz

Installation
Installing the TL-WDR4300 is very straight-forward. Just install the 3 antennas and plug in the AC adaptor provided. Plug the RJ45 cable from your TM BTU modem to the WAN Gigabit port (blue).
Launch Wi-Fi on your laptop and search for SSID [eg. TP-LINK_2.4GHz_xxxxxx or TP-LINK_2.4GHz_xxxxxx]. The default wireless password is printed on the bottom of the unit.
user posted image

Once you have connected, you can browse to http://192.168.0.1 or http://tplinklogin.net from any browsers (Internet Explorer, FireFox, Chrome, Safari).
user posted image

After you have logon, you will be presented Status page which shows info such as Firmware version, Local Area Network (LAN) details, Wi-Fi. WAN details.
On the right hand side of the portal, you can read explanation of each setting, which I find to be very useful for new users.
To configure Maxis Home Fibre connection, I used the Quick Setup option (2nd menu on the right).
user posted image

You can select 4 “working” mode : Normal / Unifi / Maxis / Other. For most of us, we would go for either Unifi/Maxis. For Streamyx users, please select Normal mode. On the next screen is the VLAN id setting. Do not change this and leave to the default values.
In the next screen, you can select to use Dual Band (2.4GHz & 5GHz) or Single Band (2.4GHz) or Single Band (5GHz). I recommend setting on Dual Band (2.4GHz & 5GHz) to cater to connect any devices, old and new alike.
user posted image

Next important setting would be configuring the Wireless Security for your WiFi network. You would not want anyone to piggy-back on your 30Mbps link. You can configure different security setups for 2.4GHz and 5GHz. Remember to set the “Region” setting to the country you are using this router. For me, I set to Malaysia. In this screen you type in the Pre Shared Key (PSK) password (i.e. password to access your Wi-Fi network)
user posted image
user posted image

The next screen is where you would enter your Unifi/Maxis Home Fibre username and password. One cosmetic issue I found was the password typed is not masked with ****
user posted image

After this screen, you will be required to reboot the TL-WDR4300 router complete the setup. Upon reboot, you would be connected to Unifi/Maxis Home Fibre
user posted image

TP-LINK really made it very simple step-by-step to configure their TL-WDR4300 router. Kudos to their team.
You may download the complete TL-WDR4300 User Guide.

Performance Testing
With the TL-WDR4300, the time to connect to Internet is shorter compared to the Thomson Router provided by Maxis.
I am able to achieve Torrent and Direct Download of approximately 1.2MB per second from my Maxis Home Fibre 10Mbps package. YouTube streaming (HD) is very smooth
On my iPhone, I used an app called “Wi-Fi Sweetspots” to gather the bandwidth between the iPhone and the TL-WDR4300. iPhone is placed approximately 1m from the router. My result is 80-90Mbps (5GHz) and 50-60Mbps (2.4GHz)
Using TamoSoft Throughput Test the average result is 100-110Mbps. This is pretty decent speed as we can never achieve the theoretical 300/450Mbps.
user posted image


This post has been edited by ronnie: Feb 17 2015, 02:19 PM
TSronnie
post Feb 17 2015, 12:42 PM

Not enough stars
********
All Stars
16,782 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Kuala Lumpur



Actual Product Images

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

This post has been edited by ronnie: Feb 17 2015, 02:29 PM
Xefron
post Feb 17 2015, 02:20 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,473 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


no offence,but this is more towards how-to/manual not a user review.
TSronnie
post Feb 17 2015, 02:21 PM

Not enough stars
********
All Stars
16,782 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Kuala Lumpur



QUOTE(Xefron @ Feb 17 2015, 02:20 PM)
no offence,but this is more towards how-to/manual not a user review.
*
I'm so sorry as I'm a newbie at this blush.gif
I review I how I configure the router smile.gif

This post has been edited by ronnie: Feb 17 2015, 02:23 PM
ktek
post Feb 17 2015, 02:56 PM

워터파크
*******
Senior Member
8,973 posts

Joined: Jul 2006
my concern is longivity usage. it often fail for tp link cheap product.
TSronnie
post Feb 17 2015, 03:06 PM

Not enough stars
********
All Stars
16,782 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Kuala Lumpur



QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 17 2015, 02:56 PM)
my concern is longivity usage. it often fail for tp link cheap product.
*
That's something no one can "guarantee"... but there's a 2-year warranty from TP-LINK though.

daric1991
post Feb 22 2015, 10:38 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
161 posts

Joined: Nov 2012
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 17 2015, 02:56 PM)
my concern is longivity usage. it often fail for tp link cheap product.
*
yea, it comes with 2 years warranty service, so far I don't have any problem with my "3 years old" TP-Link router..and as you said it's cheap..go and get a new & better one wink.gif
Xefron
post Feb 27 2015, 11:21 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,473 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


i would just say affordable,but this 4300 is quite stable coz i am using one.so far can go up to 1 month without any reset.

too bad it doesn't support ipv6 daric1991

this one is like a clone of Asus Dark Knight Series. brows.gif only lacking in RAM.

oklaaa TPLink,better than DLink or Aztech.LEL

Good about TLink and ASUS,they more updated to our local internet industry.

Archer C7 seem interesting.

This post has been edited by Xefron: Feb 27 2015, 11:33 AM
ALeUNe
post Feb 27 2015, 05:41 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
Group Icon
VIP
9,668 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Mongrel Isle
http://www.tp-link.com/lk/support/download...ersion=V1#tbl_j

I can't get it running with the latest firmware.
Tell me how you can make it run.
Xefron
post Feb 27 2015, 11:44 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,473 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Feb 27 2015, 05:41 PM)
http://www.tp-link.com/lk/support/download...ersion=V1#tbl_j

I can't get it running with the latest firmware.
Tell me how you can make it run.
*
You are using the wrong firmware. Sri Lanka ....
ALeUNe
post Feb 28 2015, 12:49 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
Group Icon
VIP
9,668 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Mongrel Isle
QUOTE(Xefron @ Feb 27 2015, 11:44 PM)
You are using the wrong firmware. Sri Lanka ....
*
Try this.
http://www.tp-link.com/en/support/download...4300&version=V1
Xefron
post Feb 28 2015, 05:42 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,473 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Feb 28 2015, 12:49 AM)
CODE
http://www.tp-link.com.my/support/download/?model=TL-WDR4300&version=V1#tbl_j


this is the correct one for Malaysia.
ALeUNe
post Feb 28 2015, 10:42 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
Group Icon
VIP
9,668 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Mongrel Isle
QUOTE(Xefron @ Feb 28 2015, 05:42 PM)
CODE
http://www.tp-link.com.my/support/download/?model=TL-WDR4300&version=V1#tbl_j


this is the correct one for Malaysia.
*
That is the older firmware on Malaysia download site.
Xefron
post Feb 28 2015, 11:06 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,473 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Feb 28 2015, 10:42 PM)
That is the older firmware on Malaysia download site.
*
Published Date 1/12/2015


laugh.gif u really make me confuse.suit yourself using version of other country firmware in Malaysia.
ALeUNe
post Mar 1 2015, 09:31 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
Group Icon
VIP
9,668 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Mongrel Isle
QUOTE(Xefron @ Feb 28 2015, 11:06 PM)
Published Date 1/12/2015
laugh.gif  u really make me confuse.suit yourself using version of other country firmware in Malaysia.
*
I downloaded both and flashed it.

The one posted on TP link international website is a newer firmware.
Reading from the firmware in the router. Not just the date on the website.
GREENFOX
post Mar 2 2015, 10:56 AM

New Member
*
Newbie
3 posts

Joined: Jan 2015
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 1 2015, 09:31 PM)
I downloaded both and flashed it.

The one posted on TP link international website is a newer firmware.
Reading from the firmware in the router. Not just the date on the website.
*
The international firmware doesn't always suit Malaysia, because to run Unifi or Maxis, they have make a different firmware to support it. smile.gif
wind01
post Mar 4 2015, 09:20 AM

[email protected] Team
Group Icon
VIP
2,576 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Kuala Lumpur



Do not buy this router if you need the "Guest Network' feature. The Malaysia firmware do not have this feature...even though it's advertised on the box.

Only the international version of the firmware have this Guest Network feature. But I didn't know how to setup to connect to Unifi. Any kind soul can help ?
Zot
post Mar 4 2015, 09:30 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,822 posts

Joined: Mar 2014
QUOTE(wind01 @ Mar 4 2015, 09:20 AM)
Do not buy this router if you need the "Guest Network' feature. The Malaysia firmware do not have this feature...even though it's advertised on the box.

Only the international version of the firmware have this Guest Network feature. But I didn't know how to setup to connect to Unifi. Any kind soul can help ?
*
I don't know about this AP but only few numbers of APs that can be configured the way current Unifi AP is configured. You can Google this. I think I read somewhere that by changing standard Unifi configuration (i.e. to make the Huawei fiber termination box as DHCP server) then you can use any normal AP.
saksoba
post Mar 4 2015, 11:37 AM

Casual
***
Junior Member
478 posts

Joined: Nov 2006


I bought different TPLINK and for unifi setup - Follow this guide.

http://stanleytiang.blogspot.com.au/2011/0...using-your.html

Works for me smile.gif

Let me know if you have problem.
daric1991
post Mar 10 2015, 10:17 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
161 posts

Joined: Nov 2012
QUOTE(wind01 @ Mar 4 2015, 09:20 AM)
Do not buy this router if you need the "Guest Network' feature. The Malaysia firmware do not have this feature...even though it's advertised on the box.

Only the international version of the firmware have this Guest Network feature. But I didn't know how to setup to connect to Unifi. Any kind soul can help ?
*
Bro, you refer to this kind soul! its work for me too!


----

QUOTE(saksoba @ Mar 4 2015, 11:37 AM)
I bought different TPLINK and for unifi setup - Follow this guide.

http://stanleytiang.blogspot.com.au/2011/0...using-your.html

Works for me smile.gif

Let me know if you have problem.
*
thanks for the advice! biggrin.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0292sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th January 2021 - 08:15 AM