Where To Repair Guitar

TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 10 2015, 01:41 PM, updated 11y ago

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

I have an old Fender Strat (bought in 1990 from Bentley) with solid maple neck. The frets mostly are rosak already but rather than changing the whole neck I'm wondering if anyone know where can I just replace the frets and how much is the cost ?

I live is Puchong so hopefully there's got one near where I live.

Thanks in advance.
SHOfrE3zE
post Feb 10 2015, 10:59 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

I'm from Shah Alam and I don't mind going all the way to Cheras to send my guitars to Guitar Hospital. Their workmanship is superb and they really know what they are doing.

You can check their fb page below. Look at their reviews and number of followers shows how good they are. Even artists send their guitar to them.

https://www.facebook.com/theguitarhospital

This post has been edited by SHOfrE3zE: Feb 10 2015, 11:00 PM
ashportal
post Feb 11 2015, 09:32 AM

750 posts

This is one sensitive question
+3kk!
post Feb 11 2015, 10:10 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Feb 10 2015, 10:59 PM)
I'm from Shah Alam and I don't mind going all the way to Cheras to send my guitars to Guitar Hospital. Their workmanship is superb and they really know what they are doing.

You can check their fb page below. Look at their reviews and number of followers shows how good they are. Even artists send their guitar to them.

https://www.facebook.com/theguitarhospital
and like any hospital they have a mortality rate
SHOfrE3zE
post Feb 11 2015, 10:45 AM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 11 2015, 10:10 AM)
and like any hospital they have a mortality rate
yup, nobody's perfect but so far they are good with their after sales. They do provide warranty and if there's anything happened, they will try to fix the problem.
no complains from me hence the recommendation.
+3kk!
post Feb 11 2015, 10:50 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Feb 11 2015, 10:45 AM)
yup, nobody's perfect but so far they are good with their after sales. They do provide warranty and if there's anything happened, they will try to fix the problem.
no complains from me hence the recommendation.
they are somewhat questionable here

and i know folks who get the rough end of their service
SHOfrE3zE
post Feb 11 2015, 11:02 AM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 11 2015, 10:50 AM)
they are somewhat questionable here

and i know folks who get the rough end of their service
if it's fixable, i'm sure they are more than happy to fix it.
i've seen someone sent back their guitar due to unbalance paint and they redo the whole guitar paint for free.

problems may occur but as long as they can repair it, should be fine. In the end, it's the consent from both party that counts.
+3kk!
post Feb 11 2015, 11:08 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Feb 11 2015, 11:02 AM)
if it's fixable, i'm sure they are more than happy to fix it.
i've seen someone sent back their guitar due to unbalance paint and they redo the whole guitar paint for free.

problems may occur but as long as they can repair it, should be fine. In the end, it's the consent from both party that counts.
naw, chap started off selling fakes here

some guys here rat him out tralalalla, end of story

then he came and sell boutique guitars, one guy bought, spent a bunch, workmanship was crap, big hoo ha

another guy i know sent his guitar there to do shielding, got back nothing done, complain, nothing done

then they put pics around of guitars who went to them but doesnt make any cow sense, i.e. TGS, TGS has its inhouse tech which is quite good.

i asked head office before because i go to them to fix my gig, they say no, we dont outsource.

This post has been edited by +3kk!: Feb 11 2015, 11:09 AM
SHOfrE3zE
post Feb 11 2015, 11:51 AM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 11 2015, 11:08 AM)
naw, chap started off selling fakes here

some guys here rat him out tralalalla, end of story

then he came and sell boutique guitars, one guy bought, spent a bunch, workmanship was crap, big hoo ha

another guy i know sent his guitar there to do shielding, got back nothing done, complain, nothing done

then they put pics around of guitars who went to them but doesnt make any cow sense, i.e. TGS, TGS has its inhouse tech which is quite good.

i asked head office before because i go to them to fix my gig, they say no, we dont outsource.
wow i'm not aware about his sales dispute here. when is this? we are talking about the GH owner right?

regarding the shielding, i've sent mine to have it done too and they really make it done. if any chance he really forgot to shield the guitar, i'm sure he will do it once complained..any sane man will do it once complained so it doesn't make sense if he did not do it.

i saw TGS gig bag in GH, since their HQ is quite near it's not impossible they will send it to GH with reason. not enough workers perhaps? even big companies outsource their work.
+3kk!
post Feb 11 2015, 12:02 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Feb 11 2015, 11:51 AM)
wow i'm not aware about his sales dispute here. when is this? we are talking about the GH owner right?

regarding the shielding, i've sent mine to have it done too and they really make it done. if any chance he really forgot to shield the guitar, i'm sure he will do it once complained..any sane man will do it once complained so it doesn't make sense if he did not do it.

i saw TGS gig bag in GH, since their HQ is quite near it's not impossible they will send it to GH with reason. not enough workers perhaps? even big companies outsource their work.
yup, he was around way back sometime ago, had this name akira or something.

they didnt do it, and they refused to redo it, claimed the work was done, had pictures all over tank complaining about it. so the poor chap had to go to another guy to do the shielding.

naw, that was TGS puchong that was claimed to send the guitar there. TGS HQ doesnt have a lot of tech work to do, i did a refret once and they got back to me damn fast.

i guess its more because some of the folks here got bad experience with them, and i know folks who do, hence anything they do i view with a certain amount of suspicion
TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 11 2015, 12:10 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Any idea how much it will cost ? This guitar is so old already and I may need to change the bridge and pick-ups but the important thing is the frets. The neck is so season already so sayang nak replace. I also haven't play guitars for quite some times and don't even know what's the market artes for the gadgets anymore. sad.gif

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: Feb 11 2015, 12:11 PM
+3kk!
post Feb 11 2015, 12:15 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 11 2015, 12:10 PM)
Any idea how much it will cost ? This guitar is so old already and I may need to change the bridge and pick-ups but the important thing is the frets. The neck is so season already so sayang nak replace. I also haven't play guitars for quite some times and don't even know what's the market artes for the gadgets anymore.  sad.gif
few hundred 500 approx, depending on the shop

why need change bridge, fender bridges are not known to kick the bucket, some parts can be rusted but if intonation is fine and still can setup.....

pups oso why change

TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 11 2015, 12:20 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 11 2015, 12:15 PM)
few hundred 500 approx, depending on the shop

why need change bridge, fender bridges are not known to kick the bucket, some parts can be rusted but if intonation is fine and still can setup.....

pups oso why change
Because of karat la. It's not priority though. However I may want to change the nuts to locking type one. Can anyone suggest what's the best pick up nowadays ? Mine is the original single coil pickups but I may one to change one to humbucking type (not the traditional humbucking size but single cil size). Now sure what it's call nowadays. Been a while already. sad.gif I nowadays know more about computer parts than guitar parts. The last time I even been to music store was when Bentley was still in Bukit Bintang.

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: Feb 11 2015, 12:20 PM
fdcoiea
post Feb 11 2015, 12:24 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 10 2015, 01:41 PM)
I have an old Fender Strat (bought in 1990 from Bentley) with solid maple neck. The frets mostly are rosak already but rather than changing the whole neck I'm wondering if anyone know where can I just replace the frets and how much is the cost ?

Thanks in advance.
Technically there's a few place that you can send to get it done.

Personally, I have never been to GH so will not comment, but I have sent my guitars to TGS Cheras and have them fixed it there. Sometimes its a good work, sometimes it isn't. But they're a rather friendlier lot.

Also have sent my guitars to John Lau Guitars. For John Lau, HIS (only him) services are good. He knows his stuff, but I can't speak for his staffs. There was a case where I sent my acoustic to lower the action and changing the saddle - however it didn't turned out well. On top of that the guitar was there for about 1 week, but came back with the neck concave and action very high.

So I DIY myself by filing the saddle and straighten the neck slowly.

In as much as every guitar service centre have their fall up, I think I'd still go with TGS and John Lau, but for John Lau I sure would want to make sure that its him that services the guitar and not his staffs.
+3kk!
post Feb 11 2015, 12:28 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 11 2015, 12:20 PM)
Because of karat la. It's not priority though. However I may want to change the nuts to locking type one. Can anyone suggest what's the best pick up nowadays ? Mine is the original single coil pickups but I may one to change one to humbucking type (not the traditional humbucking size but single cil size). Now sure what it's call nowadays. Been a while already.  sad.gif  I nowadays know more about computer parts than guitar parts. The last time I even been to music store was when Bentley was still in Bukit Bintang.
karat doesnt mean cannot pakai la, unless you cannot intonate it properly.

your quest to change stuff is quite hard, locking nuts require a routing of the neck, and 2 holes to screw, its costly and in the hands of a bad tech you might just kill the guitar

TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 11 2015, 12:28 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Anywhere nearer ? Puchong ? Sunway ? Cheras jauh la. Jem. blush.gif
TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 11 2015, 12:30 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 11 2015, 12:28 PM)
karat doesnt mean cannot pakai la, unless you cannot intonate it properly.

your quest to change stuff is quite hard, locking nuts require a routing of the neck, and 2 holes to screw, its costly and in the hands of a bad tech you might just kill the guitar
Haa.. Then nut is out of the question.

Is this still exist ?

http://www.bentleymusic.com/showroom_bb.aspx

Macam tak nampak dah. I though all kedai Arab saja along that block now.
+3kk!
post Feb 11 2015, 12:32 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 11 2015, 12:30 PM)
Haa.. Then nut is out of the question.

Is this still exist ?

http://www.bentleymusic.com/showroom_bb.aspx

Macam tak nampak dah. I though all kedai Arab saja along that block now.
yea, upstairs now

fdcoiea
post Feb 11 2015, 12:33 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 11 2015, 12:28 PM)
Anywhere nearer ? Puchong ? Sunway ? Cheras jauh la. Jem.  blush.gif
John Lau Guitar : https://www.facebook.com/guitarservices

From Puchong its nearby.
TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 11 2015, 12:55 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

echobrainproject
post Feb 11 2015, 02:49 PM

4,765 posts

for items such which is based on player's preference (string action, etc) yes I agree its alright to send back. However to send back to have things FIXED (even though it is free) is absurd in my opinion.

you are paying for a service, not for a chance for whoever wannabe tech to learn his craft.

Note: No, I have not dealt with GH.
TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 13 2015, 10:08 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Ok. Got quotes from few all giving RM600 for full set. 1 fret RM45. Thanks to all suggestions.
Everdying
post Feb 13 2015, 12:29 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 13 2015, 10:08 AM)
Ok. Got quotes from few all giving RM600 for full set. 1 fret RM45. Thanks to all suggestions.
since when did it get so expensive?
have you asked Tham how much he charges? cos i dont recall him charging that high.
TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 13 2015, 12:36 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 13 2015, 12:29 PM)
have you asked Tham how much he charges? cos i dont recall him charging that high.
Not sure. Maybe because of spape parts now expensive ? Are the frets made in Malaysia or have to be imported ?
Everdying
post Feb 13 2015, 12:43 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 13 2015, 12:36 PM)
Not sure. Maybe because of spape parts now expensive ? Are the frets made in Malaysia or have to be imported ?
if they were made in malaysia, i for sure wouldnt want to go anywhere near them tongue.gif
i know tham gets his frets from stewmac.

TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 13 2015, 12:55 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 13 2015, 12:43 PM)
if they were made in malaysia, i for sure wouldnt want to go anywhere near them tongue.gif
i know tham gets his frets from stewmac.
Probably that's why the increase price because of weak Ringgit if they are imported.
Everdying
post Feb 13 2015, 12:59 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 13 2015, 12:55 PM)
Probably that's why the increase price because of weak Ringgit if they are imported.
uhh no.
ringgit only went up like 10%.
the frets no way in hell can go up 50%.
+3kk!
post Feb 13 2015, 12:59 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 13 2015, 12:29 PM)
last time TGS also charged me 550 liao

speaking of which i really should send my guitars in for fretwork before GST
Everdying
post Feb 13 2015, 01:00 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 13 2015, 12:59 PM)

u play high end coffee tables, what is 550 la.
TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 13 2015, 01:01 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 13 2015, 12:59 PM)

What guitar ? Maybe different frets for different guitars ?
+3kk!
post Feb 13 2015, 01:04 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 13 2015, 01:00 PM)
u play high end coffee tables, what is 550 la.
a lot of money sad.gif

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 13 2015, 01:01 PM)
What guitar ? Maybe different frets for different guitars ?
Schecter Blackjack Atx
Everdying
post Feb 13 2015, 01:13 PM

30,735 posts

guess its a good time to go into the setup business now tongue.gif
good thing gibson frets dont need to refret for donkey years.
regiuseven
post Feb 13 2015, 01:35 PM

/k/ & /mu/
1,533 posts

Ran out of frets ? Fret not.. New guitar !
echobrainproject
post Feb 13 2015, 02:22 PM

4,765 posts

fret wires are well, fret wires. I dont think they cost that much.
raizil
post Feb 13 2015, 02:24 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 10 2015, 01:41 PM)

Thanks in advance.
http://yustech.blogspot.com/

my tech since 2010

This post has been edited by raizil: Feb 13 2015, 02:29 PM
TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 13 2015, 02:34 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Feb 13 2015, 02:22 PM)
fret wires are well, fret wires. I dont think they cost that much.
GST la kot ? brows.gif
+3kk!
post Feb 13 2015, 02:37 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 13 2015, 01:13 PM)
guess its a good time to go into the setup business now tongue.gif
good thing gibson frets dont need to refret for donkey years.
you see heaps of them mushrooming around

QUOTE(regiuseven @ Feb 13 2015, 01:35 PM)
Ran out of frets ? Fret not.. New guitar !
PRS Ftw

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 13 2015, 02:34 PM)
GST la kot ?  brows.gif
GST alos belum start
TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 13 2015, 02:38 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(raizil @ Feb 13 2015, 02:24 PM)
Boleh bagi quotation ? Kalau nak replace semua fret ?

Demnnnnnnnnnnn... My friend said it just cost around RM75 for full set of (24) frets. That's kalau pasang sendiri la. sad.gif

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: Feb 13 2015, 04:00 PM
raizil
post Feb 13 2015, 05:07 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 13 2015, 02:38 PM)
Boleh bagi quotation ? Kalau nak replace semua fret ?
Demnnnnnnnnnnn... My friend said it just cost around RM75 for full set of (24) frets. That's kalau pasang sendiri la.  sad.gif
ask him straight, i think hes phone number is there. just mention my name
echobrainproject
post Feb 13 2015, 05:56 PM

4,765 posts

Dont get your point. For smth that's just a few bucks less than a hundred RM, exchange rates, GST, etc wont affect much.
TSaliesterfiend
post Feb 13 2015, 06:01 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Feb 13 2015, 05:56 PM)
Dont get your point. For smth that's just a few bucks less than a hundred RM, exchange rates, GST, etc wont affect much.
No lah. I just asked my friend who have experience in this and he said the cost for the frets themselves is just RM75 for the whole set. This of course does not include workmanship. Unfortunately my friend is in Kuching. sad.gif

The price I got quoted was from few different souces so maybe now the workmanship fees already increased. Dunno lah.
Starscream666
post Feb 18 2015, 02:36 PM

230 posts

tumpang thread tongue.gif, in subang/PJ any recommendation? :|
regiuseven
post Feb 18 2015, 05:56 PM

/k/ & /mu/
1,533 posts

QUOTE(Starscream666 @ Feb 18 2015, 02:36 PM)
tumpang thread tongue.gif, in subang/PJ any recommendation? :|
Auguste Guitarworks, look for Hafiz
hidzwan
post Mar 4 2015, 02:36 PM

377 posts

bump!

need advice on guitar repair service/ guitar technician near Semenyih/ Kajang area
ashportal
post Mar 5 2015, 04:29 PM

750 posts

QUOTE(hidzwan @ Mar 4 2015, 02:36 PM)
bump!

need advice on guitar repair service/ guitar technician near Semenyih/ Kajang area
Semenyih kajang very near cheras, u know la what lies in Cheras. Go ahead n proceed
hidzwan
post Mar 9 2015, 10:17 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(ashportal @ Mar 5 2015, 04:29 PM)
Semenyih kajang very near cheras, u know la what lies in Cheras. Go ahead n proceed
hospital pakar gitar ke?

that's actually my last resort. laugh.gif
ashportal
post Mar 9 2015, 10:31 AM

750 posts

QUOTE(hidzwan @ Mar 9 2015, 10:17 AM)
hospital pakar gitar ke?

that's actually my last resort.  laugh.gif

I didnt say them biggrin.gif , actually a lot. But I have never been to any of them Cheras guitar techs. Mine mostly PJ damansara area.

ananur
post Jul 29 2016, 04:43 PM

54 posts

Hey, mind if I'm asking. How much is the cost for cleaning, set up and restring normally would take?
I need to send both guitar and bass asap. Kinda rusty and dusty already phew~
regiuseven
post Jul 29 2016, 10:34 PM

/k/ & /mu/
1,533 posts

QUOTE(ananur @ Jul 29 2016, 04:43 PM)
Hey, mind if I'm asking. How much is the cost for cleaning, set up and restring normally would take?
I need to send both guitar and bass asap. Kinda rusty and dusty already phew~
Location ? I have contacts in PJ, Cheras, they are also on this board but diff section
ananur
post Jul 29 2016, 10:50 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(regiuseven @ Jul 29 2016, 10:34 PM)
Location ? I have contacts in PJ, Cheras, they are also on this board but diff section
KL sir. Mont kiara/hartamas area if possible
Grrr089
post Aug 3 2016, 04:09 PM

20 posts

any cheap and good shop area wangsa maju?
ashportal
post Sep 1 2016, 12:46 PM

750 posts

QUOTE(Grrr089 @ Aug 3 2016, 04:09 PM)
any cheap  and good shop area wangsa maju?

double neck studio, at danau kota, look for abang yeop

0.0314sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:49 PM