Thanks for all responses.
This post has been edited by pricetag: Apr 9 2015, 09:46 PM
Getting a young assistant professor as advisor?
Feb 10 2015, 12:07 PM, updated 11y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
10 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
Thanks for all responses.
This post has been edited by pricetag: Apr 9 2015, 09:46 PM |
Feb 10 2015, 04:53 PM
430 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Sorry may i know in what field? haha..
Feb 10 2015, 05:46 PM
25 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
Well, they have to start somewhere right?
Feb 11 2015, 12:48 PM
12 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Some universities require lecturer to have experience as co-supervisor prior to becoming a main. The first few batches are where the supervisors will be experimenting we will follow first how we were trained before and then modify accordingly. So, if your potential supervisor graduated from a good school, then chances are u will be ok.
Feb 11 2015, 07:07 PM
Feb 11 2015, 07:09 PM
Feb 11 2015, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(gobie2920 @ Feb 11 2015, 12:48 PM) Some universities require lecturer to have experience as co-supervisor prior to becoming a main. The first few batches are where the supervisors will be experimenting we will follow first how we were trained before and then modify accordingly. So, if your potential supervisor graduated from a good school, then chances are u will be ok. Any ways to check whether he is of high quality? Browsing through goggle, cnt find his journal. Except the phD thesis, won undergraduate best student price, and get scholarship to study overseas. Maybe he is too new that's why not much information? |
Feb 13 2015, 10:31 PM
100 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
QUOTE(pricetag @ Feb 10 2015, 12:07 PM) Hi. Supervisor and research student have close relationship. Junior supervisor have fresh memory of PhD and senior supervisor may be too busy or reduced passion in supervision. No perpect lover and therefore no perfect supervisor also.Anyone having experience of having a new lecturer as supervisor? Currently i came across a vacancy as RA (who has the intention to continue master study) from a local university website. I applied the vacancy, and at the same day, the lecturer called me. The shocked thing is that she asking me whether i want to go phD with her, as my result is in the first class range. FYI, the main purpose i apply the RA position is to learn knowledge and technique for lab setting, and perhaps continue study after i master the skill. Now i am like tergantung at somewhere else. I really want be a lecturer.. Dont know should i follow this lecturer or not. She is too new, graduated last year, from London. Any one can share some of your thoughts here? Thanks a lot. Research is a difficult process. Once you lose confidence on your potential sifu, how can you work well with her. You start to compare with working classmate. Eventually, it is no good for both. You ask yourself whether you want to establish long term relationship with this scientist or not. If your answer is positive, please go ahead. If it is negative, why not look for somebody you can build trust. Learn to build trust and the relatiinship will work. Good luck. |
Feb 18 2015, 10:47 AM
3 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
Talk to lots of other lecturers who are related to your research.
Then you'll be able to decide & put your trust on. |
Feb 23 2015, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(pricetag @ Feb 11 2015, 07:13 PM) Any ways to check whether he is of high quality? Browsing through goggle, cnt find his journal. Except the phD thesis, won undergraduate best student price, and get scholarship to study overseas. Maybe he is too new that's why not much information? Yup, he must be very new. Checking his graduating university would give you some indication. Newly graduated lecturer is not expected to have long list. Some even published their postgrad works a few years after their graduation. I published only abstracts before my graduation, but now averaged about 20-30 publications/year, with total of 303 peer reviewed since graduated in 2008. One sure way to see you click is to see how he communicate with you. If it's prompt, informative and helpful, then that would indicate his interest in supervision. |
Feb 25 2015, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(gobie2920 @ Feb 23 2015, 01:35 PM) Yup, he must be very new. Checking his graduating university would give you some indication. Newly graduated lecturer is not expected to have long list. Some even published their postgrad works a few years after their graduation. I published only abstracts before my graduation, but now averaged about 20-30 publications/year, with total of 303 peer reviewed since graduated in 2008. ..One sure way to see you click is to see how he communicate with you. If it's prompt, informative and helpful, then that would indicate his interest in supervision. This post has been edited by pricetag: Apr 9 2015, 09:42 PM |
Feb 27 2015, 07:15 AM
QUOTE(pricetag @ Feb 25 2015, 09:07 PsM) That research already has a grant since one year ago. Till now still no students want to do that research. May i know, is research title important for one's future in lecturing line? is getting a phD more important or start with master with a tough title which need to struggle a lot yet can learn quite a lot more important? Joining research project with existing funding would means that your project will benefit from stable financing (research is not cheap), full support from supervisor, and working from already robust proposal.But you will be pressed for deadline as grant would have milestones to catch up. |
Apr 7 2015, 02:33 PM
779 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
my previous experience with a newly graduated lecturer as my SV is a huge headache! and some of my colleagues in the same lab have the same bad experiences.
I cant assume every newly-grad lecturers are the same but think twice, perhaps talk to some more senior lecturers before you decide |
Apr 14 2015, 01:01 PM
3,197 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
Any reputable university will usually impose certain restrictions as to who is allowed to supervise. The general rule is a minimum of 2 years tenure is required for one to become a main supervisor.
May 20 2015, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(ckeong89 @ Apr 7 2015, 02:33 PM) my previous experience with a newly graduated lecturer as my SV is a huge headache! and some of my colleagues in the same lab have the same bad experiences. I already feeling damn headache now I cant assume every newly-grad lecturers are the same but think twice, perhaps talk to some more senior lecturers before you decide |
May 20 2015, 07:59 PM
May 20 2015, 09:10 PM
779 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(pricetag @ May 20 2015, 07:57 PM) try to have a nice discussion with him/her, or the best way, find an experienced one.my previous sv had 5 students (2 phd, 3 master). now only left one master student continuing with him. others either find a new one or quit directly |
May 21 2015, 02:50 AM
3,713 posts Joined: Nov 2011 From: Torino |
QUOTE(pricetag @ May 20 2015, 07:57 PM) I already feeling damn headache now QUOTE(pricetag @ May 20 2015, 07:59 PM) Yes there are other co-sv but... I presumed that you have started the PhD program. Since you belong to the first generation of PhD students, you need set up the equipment and apparatus you’ll need to acquire data. Lacking the support of an established group, you and your fellow colleagues will probably spend a lot of energy in building equipment, designing research methods, constructing new empirical models, learning how to use curve-fitting tools, or even writing new programming codes in Mathematica, C#, Anduino. What is your real concern? |
Jun 7 2015, 04:47 PM
5,379 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
My experience is try to get a senior academics as your main supervisor. Co-SV can be from a junior lecturer
Jun 7 2015, 05:06 PM
12,275 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: KL |
Sorry but is it common to have co-supervisors? I am interested in taking a PhD and always assumed we'd only have one supervisor.
Wouldn't it be offensive to have a co-supervisor as if the first one isn't qualified enough. Advice? |
Jun 7 2015, 11:11 PM
5,379 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 7 2015, 05:06 PM) Sorry but is it common to have co-supervisors? I am interested in taking a PhD and always assumed we'd only have one supervisor. Most universities need you to have at least 2 supervisors. During your 3 years journey, in case one of the supervisors quit the job, change university, go overseas do postdoc, take unpaid leaves or whatever reasons, then u still have another one who know and follow your progress. Wouldn't it be offensive to have a co-supervisor as if the first one isn't qualified enough. Advice? Pick one SV who is strong in the methodology that u use, another SV who is publications in your subject matters. As such it will avoid conflict between SV, as they know their boundary. Pick those SV with at lease few PhD candidates graduated under him/her as the track records. |
Jun 18 2015, 08:22 PM
Jun 18 2015, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ May 21 2015, 02:50 AM) I presumed that you have started the PhD program. Feeling so tension now whether should continue or not. My family queries me a lot whether my research title is good enuf to secure me a job after i grad? LOL!!Since you belong to the first generation of PhD students, you need set up the equipment and apparatus you’ll need to acquire data. Lacking the support of an established group, you and your fellow colleagues will probably spend a lot of energy in building equipment, designing research methods, constructing new empirical models, learning how to use curve-fitting tools, or even writing new programming codes in Mathematica, C#, Anduino. What is your real concern? |
Jun 21 2015, 04:29 PM
3,713 posts Joined: Nov 2011 From: Torino |
QUOTE(pricetag @ Jun 18 2015, 08:23 PM) Feeling so tension now whether should continue or not. My family queries me a lot whether my research title is good enuf to secure me a job after i grad? LOL!! Don’t make the mistake of keeping problems to yourself. Everyone hits a difficult patch at some point in their graduate student years, so having problems is nothing to be ashamed of. Would you tell us your research topic? |
Jul 9 2015, 10:00 AM
346 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
If you ask me, I don't really bother if my supervisor is young or senior in his/her respected field. Getting an experienced and influential supervisor in the respected field is just an added benefit. I prefer to weight whether my supervisor is interested with my research topic, level of commitment and working attitude. And also his/her research philosophy.
You'll have a massive headache dealing with supervisor that isn't really committed in your research. |
| Change to: | 0.0228sec
5 queries
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:10 AM |