QUOTE(pricetag @ Feb 10 2015, 12:07 PM)
Hi.
Anyone having experience of having a new lecturer as supervisor?
Currently i came across a vacancy as RA (who has the intention to continue master study) from a local university website. I applied the vacancy, and at the same day, the lecturer called me. The shocked thing is that she asking me whether i want to go phD with her, as my result is in the first class range.
FYI, the main purpose i apply the RA position is to learn knowledge and technique for lab setting, and perhaps continue study after i master the skill.
Now i am like tergantung at somewhere else. I really want be a lecturer.. Dont know should i follow this lecturer or not. She is too new, graduated last year, from London.
Any one can share some of your thoughts here? Thanks a lot.
Supervisor and research student have close relationship. Junior supervisor have fresh memory of PhD and senior supervisor may be too busy or reduced passion in supervision. No perpect lover and therefore no perfect supervisor also.Anyone having experience of having a new lecturer as supervisor?
Currently i came across a vacancy as RA (who has the intention to continue master study) from a local university website. I applied the vacancy, and at the same day, the lecturer called me. The shocked thing is that she asking me whether i want to go phD with her, as my result is in the first class range.
FYI, the main purpose i apply the RA position is to learn knowledge and technique for lab setting, and perhaps continue study after i master the skill.
Now i am like tergantung at somewhere else. I really want be a lecturer.. Dont know should i follow this lecturer or not. She is too new, graduated last year, from London.
Any one can share some of your thoughts here? Thanks a lot.
Research is a difficult process. Once you lose confidence on your potential sifu, how can you work well with her. You start to compare with working classmate. Eventually, it is no good for both.
You ask yourself whether you want to establish long term relationship with this scientist or not. If your answer is positive, please go ahead. If it is negative, why not look for somebody you can build trust.
Learn to build trust and the relatiinship will work.
Good luck.
Feb 13 2015, 10:31 PM

0.0173sec