Traders Kopitiam! V7

shankar_dass93
post Mar 4 2015, 08:02 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 4 2015, 06:19 PM)

Fly plane just to eat food on plane meh?

Ya...overcharging for food that sucks!
Over every 100 charged previously..
They now willing to accept 40...
40 bucks item ..they manage to water fish MAS for 100 !!

Championship sales!!! doh.gif

To make it worse... I wonder if that item was worth only 15?
No lah, maybe it was a long trip and he was hungry sweat.gif

Still, I'm disappointed with AA share price!
shankar_dass93
post Mar 5 2015, 04:10 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 4 2015, 08:18 PM)
Don't touch AirAsia the stock lehh.........  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Yeah, thats why i was saying that I'm disappointed.

Anyway, why isn't there any discussions going on about RHB Capital ?

Have been observing their share price and it seems to be pretty stable. Tried researching and have come up with findings that say that RHB would be the best performing bank in 2015.

* Key takeaways from last year was that they had the highest loan growth rate among its peers
shankar_dass93
post Mar 5 2015, 09:13 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 5 2015, 08:42 PM)
okay, maybe I should wait for now..no idea what to buy  sad.gif

while waiting, can juz collect dividend icon_idea.gif
Rather than spending the money on buying some shares, you could always donate it to me brows.gif
shankar_dass93
post Mar 5 2015, 09:16 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 5 2015, 04:18 PM)
That's nothing to be disappointed...

Yes, as a consumer, it's great to have a 'cheap' airlines around....
but then.....
there's nothing great about how Tony is running the business....
He's using leverage way to the max... I would actually call it obscene....
Right now... it certainly looks good on the outside...
Company is expanding at an incredible rate....
BUT....
it's a total house of cards....
everything is built on debts......
it's now 12 BILLION and counting......

and if and when the company runs into real trouble...
who is gonna bear the cost?
Regarding RHB Cap...
point about this company...
is....
there's a huge overcast .....
it's always seen to be 'on sale' or trying to merge....
same old same old for the last donkey years....
Is it worth the effort to be an investor/trader in the stock?
Its true if you put thing in that way. Though i did judge the financial sector and realised that RHB was the safest bet to go for.

shankar_dass93
post Mar 6 2015, 08:54 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 6 2015, 12:09 AM)
Safe? In a way ...yes.
But how are you going to make money?
They seem to have better prospects to grow this year, which includes them being able to gain a bigger market share of clients which eventually may lead to a higher level of profit that would be reflected in the share price.

They seem to have a better level of management right now compared to CIMB that has planned to do major changes which could actually backfire.

Anyway, Boon3, which stock are you currently aiming at ?

I find your predictions/analysis to be pretty good. I might jump in the same boat as you in buying the shares that you own! sweat.gif
shankar_dass93
post Mar 6 2015, 08:56 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Mar 6 2015, 06:28 AM)
buy OSK that holding RHB shares better imo
Never bothered to consider OSK much lol
shankar_dass93
post Mar 7 2015, 02:16 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 6 2015, 12:49 PM)
Good luck digging that info from him..  tongue.gif
Had to try but yeah i failed in getting his tips sweat.gif
shankar_dass93
post Mar 9 2015, 03:21 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Mar 7 2015, 03:27 PM)
the problem is when to cut loss?

5%? 10%? 20%

and usually when you cut loss, it sill surely happen to rebound, 95% of my trade doh.gif

the latest 1, homeritz. cut at 97 cent, rebound balik cry.gif
That happens to me most of the time cry.gif

QUOTE(vNirvana @ Mar 8 2015, 12:57 PM)
Thank you very much for your kind reply. I have a quick look on the quarter report. the profit was increasing.
With the no 4 and 5 in the future > boosted >50% is it going to be a potential company to be invest in long term ?

no wonder why TNB insisi of getting it..
Yeah.. an example in skpetrol, O and G sectors, the price is too volatile and when more negative news from the company, people start to panic sell.  But the question here is how long will it take to recover the share price ?
Im still very new in the market.  When i first bought this counter, the fundamental looks ok to me, but i never expect the oil price will drop until so low .. cry.gif

after reading all the comment from the sifu here, I wondering should I let go my o&G share before it go further down...
Im ready to buy Petdagang once it touches 16.
shankar_dass93
post Mar 9 2015, 08:22 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 9 2015, 04:29 PM)
Last time, when Petdag shares flew crazy it was driven MAINLY by new petrol station growth.
Think about it....
it rather make sense....
new Petronas stations were popping out everywhere.....
everywhere......
Petronas profits grew and grew....
That was the sexy story behind the stock.
now?
you might buy the stock at a price you think it is cheap....
but does it has a sexy story to sell as previously?
in short...
I have witnessed...
such strategy....
i will buy xxx stock if it drops to yyy price....
most of the time such stuff do not work.
why?
most of the tine the stock price drops for a REAL reason....
and the simple reason is that profits have been declining like crazy......
I agree with your statement as to why did Petdag's shares sore extremely high initially due to new petrol stations that are being opened.

Here is just my point of view?

(a) Why invest in petronas particularly ?

Most people use Petronas as their preferred choice of petrol. Im not saying everyone but most as being observed by the past. Friends, families, guys from car clubs such as Porsche Club Malaysia & Malaysian Super Cars club have a huge percentage of members that usually incline towards using Petronas rather than its competitors such as Shell, Caltex.... Now you might say that the sample size of the population that i choose isn't large enough to come up to a conclusion but i guess its pretty decent to be used as a gauge to estimate the number of Petronas "fans" aka users.Have done some travelling and realised that the Petronas stations are the ones that are usually full especially in rest house areas.

Looking at past charts and graphs has given me confidence that its pretty easy for Petronas to maintain a minimum share price of around RM23- RM25 in the long run.

Why so ?

a. Peoples preferred petrol brand
b. Oil prices could probably reach an all time low of maybe 10-15 dollars a barrel as what some economist/traders
have predicted but it would eventually have to return back.
c. There has been thousands of research that has claimed that we are reaching an era in which oil shortage may be
an issue. (When supply goes down and demand remains the same, keeping the other factors as ceteris paribus,
prices would eventually raise to meet the new equilibrium point.

* So i guess the key strategy here would be to start buying every time it drops significantly when ever its below RM16.

So what happens when oil prices rebound ?
a. People would still use Petronas as their preferred choice
b. Petronas constantly comes up with new methods to drill oil with an aim of lowering the cost
c. Profits start increasing as demand increases
d. More people would start investing in the O&G sector which would eventually drive share prices up
e. Finally, investors like us that entered and managed to average our share prices out could be sitting relaxedly
while receiving a handsome return rclxm9.gif

If my memory serves me right, Petdagang did reach an all time low of about RM14.60 (something) and i really wanted to get into the market but gesh was busy with my final exams doh.gif If i did buy it at 14.60 and sold it at todays price, i would have easily made about RM300+++ per lot in which i really regret for not doing lol doh.gif doh.gif

Does my analysis sound right huh Boon3 ? Looking forward for your guidance.

Cheers!

*Please don't forget to recommend us as to any "potential shares" that you foresee would be doing well brows.gif

-edited: spelling

This post has been edited by shankar_dass93: Mar 9 2015, 08:24 PM
shankar_dass93
post Mar 10 2015, 10:00 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 10 2015, 09:40 AM)
Petdag did hit above 30.00.
Are you sure you be happy selling at today's price?

.... your thinking mindset is ok....
but I do believe a lot of people do prefer Shell oil over Petronas.
Performance is better, mileage is actually even better.... but of course there many who would argue over this.

I found the posting I wrote before... Petdag was trading at 21.00 then.

I said NO to the stock then.....

see post #1953

and the earlier somemore.... posy #1624

and see also post #1637
Petdag quarterly performance updated...

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
shankar_dass93
post Mar 12 2015, 04:28 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 11 2015, 06:00 PM)
Its gonna take a long long while...  nod.gif

Make sure you have a comfortable seat.. and able to hold on to losses if you decide to play OnG stocks. If no patience or emotion to hold on.. then better not touch.  sweat.gif

I think no recovery can be forseen in between 1-2 years time.  laugh.gif
I don't know why but I'm feeling pretty positive of the OnG industry lol.

Hands were too itchy sweat.gif and had to get some OnG stocks.

shankar_dass93
post Mar 12 2015, 10:16 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Mar 12 2015, 09:26 AM)
the longer the oil price stay low, the longer the oil price stay high later. companies cutting capex, no new platform, no new supply, demand increasing. when people realise the supply is short, to build platform later, need at least 2 years.
Where are you attached with ? Petronas brows.gif ?
shankar_dass93
post Mar 12 2015, 08:43 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 12 2015, 08:35 PM)
Yup, I'm serious. As long as the fundamentals are good and stay good you won't lose money. If you get a good price you will beat FD, if you get a bad price you will lose to FD. That is the worst risk if the fundamentals remain sound smile.gif

Let me put it this way : the bank is willing to lend you money with those shares as collateral. Do you think they would do that if they thought they'd not make money long term from it?
if I'm not mistaken, they would only lend you up to about 70%+++ of the value of your pledged Blue Chip Stocks

Doesn't apply to normal stocks of small companies.

This post has been edited by shankar_dass93: Mar 12 2015, 08:44 PM
shankar_dass93
post Mar 12 2015, 08:45 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 12 2015, 10:16 AM)
Prepare for the long ride..  rclxms.gif
Its still green so i guess ill sell it off if it drops and minimise my amount of profit.
shankar_dass93
post Mar 12 2015, 08:48 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 12 2015, 08:30 PM)
Huh?
This is a new type of opportunity cost. LOL!
huh?
no wrong price?

Can just buy any good stock at any price and just hold the stock?

So gark, I tell you stocks is so easy to make money.

thumbup.gif
Opportunity cost is what someone losses/not being able to choose anymore due to what he has chosen in his current act, right ? smile.gif

Example, having 10k and dumping it into FD prevents you from using that same money and investing it in stocks and being able to generate a higher return
shankar_dass93
post Mar 12 2015, 09:01 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 12 2015, 08:59 PM)
Well how does one know that when one invest in stocks, one will EVEN make money?
what i meant was that when you do one thing, then you can't do something else due to restrictions.

Placing your money in fd prevents you from investing in stocks. Winning or loosing is a different story.

shankar_dass93
post Mar 16 2015, 10:00 AM

2,955 posts

Need everyones help here,

Lets say company A announces this:

Interim Dividend of 3 sen per share under the single tier system for the financial year ending 31 March 2015.

Kindly be advised of the following :

1) The above Company's securities will be traded and quoted [ "Ex - Dividend" ]
as from : [ 20 March 2015 ]

2) The last date of lodgement : [ 24 March 2015 ]

3) Date Payable : [ 16 April 2015 ]

How does one go about claiming the dividend for the given share if they have a direct CDS account ?

Thanks for your guidance.
shankar_dass93
post Mar 16 2015, 11:38 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(lonelywalker @ Mar 16 2015, 11:19 AM)
OnG counter indeed is dam long portfolio,

5218 getting lower, faster pick lol XD
Im pretty positive that it should get close to RM2.
shankar_dass93
post Mar 16 2015, 11:40 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 16 2015, 10:31 AM)
Dividend will be transferred to your bank account automatically by 16 April if you have e-dividend.

Otherwise a cheque will be sent to your address.

No need do anything, automatic money.  laugh.gif
Thanks for your reply gark.

All the while i assumed that i had to submit some paper work to my remiser.
shankar_dass93
post Mar 16 2015, 11:49 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 16 2015, 11:45 AM)
Only if you want to subscribe warrants, rights or dividend in specie.. you need to submit paperwork.  wink.gif
thanks notworthy.gif

0.0463sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:35 PM