House Renovation - Approval Plan, Local Authorities - DBKL/MBSA/MPSJ.. etc
nuke13
Jun 6 2016, 03:14 PM
Can I do extension if I live at ground unit of an apartment? I have 6-8 feet of space between my front door and the parking lot. I was thinking about adding a front porch. Is this legally allowed? Is there a basic building setback for apartment? tq
nuke13
Jun 6 2016, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(NewEdgeSafetyDoor @ Jun 6 2016, 04:11 PM)  Haha this one likely will get rejected if you check with management or ask for approval. If apartment, that space is likely not your property, you may need to get approval from other apartment owners. Very tedious stuff, not to mention if this cause any accidents in the future. (Just my personal view)  There are several units like mine had done extension without any issue from the management for years. I'm more concern with the local council.
nuke13
Jun 8 2016, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(NewEdgeSafetyDoor @ Jun 7 2016, 11:10 AM) Think local council not too free to come check who do one (maybe, unless your area is frequently visited by them), or keep insisting not you do one. haha they normally will come when someone go complain.  Applying for approval very mah fan, that's what i know. Well, since several units had survived for years without issue with the local council so I guess they really did not come by that often. I guess no need to apply for approval then since this type of reno for apartment is not permitted. Thank you sifu