House Renovation - Approval Plan, Local Authorities - DBKL/MBSA/MPSJ.. etc
hi54ever
Nov 23 2020, 04:49 PM
hey ya, i have an old single storey mid unit house at butterworth penang.
initially i plan rebuild it to 2 storey but upon check up with local autho (unit pembangunan), they said cannot, only corner unit is allowed to do so. feels sad ald
then i got a ID contractor, i called up and ask, he said usually wont get approval, based on his experience with local architect, mid unit 1 to 2 storey wont get approval.
but he provide solution to make it to 1.5 storey, getting work permit is ok, according to him, but when i asked how about OC/CF, he said cannot get 1.
so i also sangkut, dont know how to plan d
to add on, he said since we are staying for ourself (no plan resell), dont bother about cf/approval and so on. guess this is the que i should avoid this contractor at all cost...
This post has been edited by hi54ever: Nov 23 2020, 04:50 PM
hi54ever
Nov 23 2020, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 23 2020, 05:29 PM) 1. Any illegal structure without cf is void under fire insurance policy. 2. Even if is legal, such construction will normally lead to quarrel between neighbours due to leaking ceiling and cracked wall. 3. Either sell and buy a 2 sty or if you like the location, make a good offer to either your left right neighbour. its my kampung, i grew up there and my parents pretty much know everyone there, so location is a high plus point. thats why im in dilemma. either to continue pursue to try for 2 storey (theres just another 2 unit that rebuild to 2 storey in my neighbourhood, i dont know with cf or not), or reduce my plan to 1.5 storey (hidden from outside view of the half storey) personally i prepared around 250k-280k to rebuild it, but of course wanted it to be properly CF. but with everyone says its impossible is kinda demotivate me
hi54ever
Nov 23 2020, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 23 2020, 05:47 PM) Unless your current house has a high ceiling, you can add a mezzanine floor internally. Otherwise, even for 1.5 sty you cant hide the structure. so there's no way to discuss properly with council even with earthwork, architect drawing etc if their guideline is a no?