I am near to give up on this maxishit fiber already.. Currently I am on the Astro IPTV bundle (30mbps).
Routers I have:
Thompson
TM TPLink AC1200 v1 with latest firmware
Problem:
1. Keep disconnect and reconnect recently (on the modem level, the Auth and Link light went off)
2. Thompson router connection speed drop and die (package burst issue, I read in some thread about it)
3. TPLink seems to also have sudden death and infinite caching of my browsed website (cannot refresh even if i flushed dns), only works when I go onto mobile 4g network (so it is either the router or maxis).
4. Cannot use secured FTP to connect to other FTP servers, confirmed Maxis issue, no problem on mobile 4g or unifi.
The above really driving me crazy since I do freelance IT work and requires stable internet.
I need some opinion of which solution I should take, very on the budget so as cheap as possible.
Solution:
A. Replace it with a Tenda AC18 (seems recommended by most here, cheap oso, 278 on lazada)
B. Upgrade the plan to 100mbps, get new router from Maxis (but dunno what router, Astro support couldn't tell me)
C. Try fixing the TPLink router, then I need help on this, tried like everything to make it work but seems more worst than the Thompson router.
D. F*** it and move back to TM. But my astro would go back to satellite receiver.
E. Complain to MCMC about how sux the service is provided.
Is anyone facing the same issue as I am?
Pick A. I personally don't have experience with tenda but the problem is with the tplink c5v router and or firmware. Once I switched to Asus ac68u problem solved.