The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

ChocChristy
post Mar 3 2015, 07:30 PM

307 posts

Hi guys, I have a few questions.

I stay in BU12 and apparently it's a Maxis-only area and there's no Unifi. I'm wondering if anyone staying in BU11 or BU12 can tell me if the connection's good in our area?

Also for the package, can I skip Astro and just get the fiber? Will it be more than RM148 if I just get fiber 10mbps and not take Astro? Was told by my friend that maybe Maxis will charge more if I don't take their Astro iptv package.

I'm really frustrated with the lack of Internet here and the most annoying part is my phone seem to have trouble with Maxis' signal here.
ChocChristy
post Mar 4 2015, 07:01 PM

307 posts

10Mbps @ RM128 (with Maxis ONE plan mobile)

I am curious if this is listed on the website? Can't seem to find it anyway. Wondering if the RM128 will last for as long a I subscribe to Maxis One?
ChocChristy
post Mar 18 2015, 09:16 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(mdineshp @ Mar 7 2015, 10:44 PM)
The link is still on the main page if you check thru mobile.
http://www.maxis.com.my/en/personal/intern...t.html#packages
Best you give a call to maxis to inquire about the length of this promo if you are subcribed to maxis one
QUOTE(MystiqueLife @ Mar 14 2015, 05:23 AM)
The service is good there and the line is extremely smooth  brows.gif  brows.gif
Just beware of thunderstorm though, cause they often fry the modem if you have poor electrical wiring. laugh.gif
But then again, service is efficient.
You should probably switch to public IP if you haven't. I am getting around 290ms

Somehow, they have quite bad connection to Twitch. No idea why. If you use a Singapore VPN, then you'll have no issues with Maxis actually. sweat.gif
Thanks for the reply. Good to know BU12 is good. Though I have another question

Somehow, the Maxis staff told my owner that they need to write a letter to TM to get approval to use their infrastructure for us to get the service. And apparently there's a chance (owner said high chance) our application will be rejected by TM, and hence Maxis can't give us fiber. Is there such a thing? That sounds stupid and ridiculous
ChocChristy
post Mar 18 2015, 09:40 PM

307 posts

So I got an update from my house owner. Maxis said they ran out of ports for BU12, so we cannot apply for Fiber. Went to TM, TM ask us to ask Maxis fix more ports.

This is ridiculous. No unifi, Maxis not enough ports. Such much bullshit.

I have no idea how to proceed anymore.
ChocChristy
post Mar 19 2015, 07:22 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(MystiqueLife @ Mar 19 2015, 04:34 AM)
BU 12 is under Maxis AFAIK. You should not be riding on TM in that area.
Maxis area but they depend on TM infrastructures.
ChocChristy
post Mar 21 2015, 12:14 AM

307 posts

So after I lodged a complaint on the forum, I received a forum reply in less than 45 minutes. Then 2 days later I received a call telling me there's available port in my area and I can register by just giving my case number.

Makes me wonder if it was the branch my owner went to that was lazy or something.
ChocChristy
post Jun 20 2015, 02:10 AM

307 posts

Hi sifus,

I am curious about something

When I go to "setup my maxis gateway" in the modem settings,

I see Home HSI (GPON) + Voip,
SME Static HSI
SME Dynamic HSI

What are they? Is it to change my IP to a public IP? or change IP to a static or dynamic one?

From the link below, it says supposedly can use SME instead of HOMe HSI. But what's the difference?
http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=763

I am having trouble joining my friend's online game and I think it's Maxis's private IP messing with it
ChocChristy
post Jun 24 2015, 08:07 PM

307 posts

My IP is public now, but I can't seem to get port forwarding to work? I port forwarded the ports I needed but whatsmyip.org still says they are all closed
ChocChristy
post Jun 25 2015, 02:44 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(MystiqueLife @ Jun 25 2015, 04:50 AM)
No issues with major gaming servers on Maxis here
I seem to have a lot of issues when it comes to Uplay and Ubisoft games. I cannot connect at all to their games, while no problems with other online games.
ChocChristy
post Jun 27 2015, 07:38 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(MystiqueLife @ Jun 27 2015, 02:11 AM)
Should get own custom router as default router have some issues with UPnP on games like Warframe.

Otherwise, try using DMZ function to your gaming machine. It should work provided you are using public IP from Maxis.
Yeah warframe has strict NAT issue with Maxis but I've generally been able to connect to my friends in the US.

Good idea. I am not sure if I tried DMZ after changing to public ip.

0.0290sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:43 PM