QUOTE(genzi0401 @ Aug 27 2022, 07:25 PM)
Recently was approached by an agent stating my condo will finally have fibre infra in few months time as they have confirmed TM has already plan in hand to setup fibre infra at my condo.
Now the agent, who has been contacted me since a year back, proposed me to sign up Maxi Fibre In Box package now at price of RM88 per month with 1 year contract but free for first 6 months. It's a temporary package that will automatically convert to Maxis Fibre once my condo has the infra.
1. This Fibre In A Box is just default "placeholder" while waiting for your actual fibre to be installed. You can actually sign up fibre anytime with Maxis, and still get this. I would advise that you do not play to the urgency of the agent, because ....
2. How soon and how "confirmed" is TM wiring your building? You will still be liable to pay for this Fibre In the Box in meantime.
3. Is there any exclusivity deal between your building management and TM (e.g. "we will wire your building but all must use Unifi in the first 2 years from service start date.) I'm not versed if such deal is valid or enforceable, but, I am just bringing it up for you to ponder and find out. (Also, consider it unfair lah if building convinced you to come in when no one else wanted to, and you spent doing cabling but competitors gets to snatch business instead, right?)
4. Will TM eventually make available a port for Maxis to service you? If you subscribed to Maxis too early and Maxis end up hammering TM even before cabling is done, what's the possibility of tit-for-tat not enough port right from outset? (my mind is playing game.) As narrated somewhere in this forum just few days ago, all it takes is for TM to miss out your address in the HSBB database, or, for TM to place reservation on your address as if you signed up with them.
---
Just to relate my experience with that Box; it comes with router, USB dongle modem to attach, AND Zerolution contract.
Maxis gave another router when fibre is installed
~1month later; incidentally the same model as the one in this Box.
I was told to return the Box to Maxis Centre; router, dongle modem, SIM. Better if you keep its original packaging. I was then to call 123 to inform them that I've returned the set because fibre installation was completed; only 123 can prorate+cancel the associated 4G subscription and Zerolution contract.
Now, the fibre itself comes with backup USB dongle modem. While I was returning whole Box to Maxis Centre, I enquired about backup 4G. Centre explained that another dongle will always be delivered separately at later date, but since I was already in Centre and had asked about it, they said just take back the existing dongle modem for that purpose, and they issued me a new SIM for it.
(Else, Centre will just keep the Box etc idle inside store. sounds like not going to be re-issued to another customer?)
A week later, the fibre installer did call me up toarrange plugging in a backup dongle (in his job sheet), which I declined and explained to him that Centre told me to reuse the one from Box and already issued a SIM as well, so he no need to drive 30km just to deliver a duplicate.