5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

News CLEVO P670SG @ ILLEGEAR S7 Personal Review, COD AW Video Record HD Updated!

Prince J
post Feb 24 2015, 09:59 PM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(skevelim @ Feb 24 2015, 05:17 PM)
My experience with S7 Killer™ Wireless-AC.

The Killer Hardware cannot get detect twice. First time, happen after installing Windows 7 for first time. Installing every Driver from the CD provided. But can't install Killer driver because cannot detect the Hardware. Killer Wireless Adapter Hardware ID is "PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_003E&CC_0280". This was fixed after re-install the Windows and re-install all the drivers, this time can detect the Killer hardware.

Second time happen that the WAN was not working after restarting. Only work if connect to LAN. Again, in Device Manager, the Hardware ID no longer in there. Tried reformat Windows 3 times, each time connect to LAN. At Third time Windows Installation, connect to LAN, suddenly the Hardware ID appear again. (Dun ask me how, it just happened like performing a magic show).

ILLEGEAR has sent this question back to the factory, now waiting their reply on this. At the same time, ILLEGEAR is offering to switch to Intel 7265. But I would like to wait for the answer from the factory before change it.

Hope this info helps.
And I do not think is Driver issue because the Hardware itself can't detect at all. Even there has a correct driver, but cannot detect the Hardware, Windows can't install the driver. At least, this happen to my case.
Hi skeve,

Yep we have escalated this issue to the factory smile.gif

Apparently this issue is related to the compatibility so it doesn't happen in our D series.

Please let us know if you face any disconnection again.
Prince J
post Feb 25 2015, 10:58 AM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(skevelim @ Feb 24 2015, 05:17 PM)
My experience with S7 Killer™ Wireless-AC.

The Killer Hardware cannot get detect twice. First time, happen after installing Windows 7 for first time. Installing every Driver from the CD provided. But can't install Killer driver because cannot detect the Hardware. Killer Wireless Adapter Hardware ID is "PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_003E&CC_0280". This was fixed after re-install the Windows and re-install all the drivers, this time can detect the Killer hardware.

Second time happen that the WAN was not working after restarting. Only work if connect to LAN. Again, in Device Manager, the Hardware ID no longer in there. Tried reformat Windows 3 times, each time connect to LAN. At Third time Windows Installation, connect to LAN, suddenly the Hardware ID appear again. (Dun ask me how, it just happened like performing a magic show).

ILLEGEAR has sent this question back to the factory, now waiting their reply on this. At the same time, ILLEGEAR is offering to switch to Intel 7265. But I would like to wait for the answer from the factory before change it.

Hope this info helps.
And I do not think is Driver issue because the Hardware itself can't detect at all. Even there has a correct driver, but cannot detect the Hardware, Windows can't install the driver. At least, this happen to my case.
Killer 1525 issue has been fixed on EC 1.03.06 update, please check your EC version in BIOS and you can come back to us for updating your BIOS.
WildChai
post Mar 1 2015, 11:03 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

hey there....cool rig. Sorry if i'm hijacking your thread. I want the same spec laptop as yours but just a concern (out of mobile gaming awhile)

Can this laptop or mobo upgrade to the next generation GPU? post 9xx series?

i am concern of upgradability...

This post has been edited by WildChai: Mar 1 2015, 11:03 PM
hyperyouth_firepower
post Mar 2 2015, 08:57 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Mar 2 2015, 12:03 AM)
hey there....cool rig. Sorry if i'm hijacking your thread. I want the same spec laptop as yours but just a concern (out of mobile gaming  awhile)

Can this laptop or mobo upgrade to the next generation GPU? post 9xx series?

i am concern of upgradability...

no, the GPU is soldered on.

If you want a modular piece, go for the D series (desktop CPU, mobile GPU), the RS series (mobile CPU, mobile GPU) , or the RX series (mobile CPU, dual mobile GPU)

WildChai
post Mar 2 2015, 02:43 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Mar 2 2015, 08:57 AM)
If you want a modular piece, go for the D series (desktop CPU, mobile GPU), the RS series (mobile CPU, mobile GPU) , or the RX series (mobile CPU, dual mobile GPU)
- Double post -

This post has been edited by WildChai: Mar 2 2015, 02:44 PM
WildChai
post Mar 2 2015, 02:43 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Mar 2 2015, 08:57 AM)
Ahhh...thanks. How about future upgradability? would the sockets be compatible? or unknown?

The RS series si-beh thick wooo
Prince J
post Mar 2 2015, 02:44 PM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Mar 2 2015, 02:43 PM)
Ahhh...thanks. How about future upgradability? would the sockets be compatible? or unknown?

That's the trade off. MXM slot adds thickness to the laptop.
WildChai
post Mar 2 2015, 02:46 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Mar 2 2015, 02:44 PM)
That's the trade off. MXM slot adds thickness to the laptop.
RS-17..si beh heavy...4kg. lol..back breaking

Prince J...are you with Illegear or independent? This promo till 5 Mar and time is running out...still looking. And aftershock price is close...very close

Sooo...future upgradeable?

This post has been edited by WildChai: Mar 2 2015, 02:47 PM
miong93
post Mar 2 2015, 03:27 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Mar 2 2015, 02:46 PM)

Prince J...are you with Illegear or independent? This promo till 5 Mar and time is running out...still looking. And aftershock price is close...very close

Prince J is the rep of ILLEGEAR in this forum.
Aftershock is also using the same Clevo model as ILLEGEAR, but it is based in Sg. ILLEGEAR is Msia brand.
As long as the MXM type you bought is the same as your laptop, it should be upgradable. But do take note other component like RAM may be outdated by the time you want to perform the GPU upgrade.
Eg: you get RS-17 in 2014, after 3 years you upgrade the GPU to new one. But during 2017 maybe a lot of people is using DDR4 ram already, while you're still using DDR3. If you switch your whole mobo to get DDR4, it defeats the purpose of MXM
hyperyouth_firepower
post Mar 2 2015, 04:55 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Mar 2 2015, 03:43 PM)

The thickness is okay, its the weight.

I carry my laptop every day

Everki Titan (bag) = 2KG empty
Laptop + charger + mouse =3KG++ (no more than 3.5)
documents = 1KG? maybe? its as thick as 1 ream of "Double A" A4 paper, or more.

Total? LOL

Yeah, weight matters. But for the performance, okay lah!
miong93
post Mar 2 2015, 05:24 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Mar 2 2015, 04:55 PM)
The thickness is okay, its the weight.

I carry my laptop every day
Everki Titan (bag) = 2KG empty
Laptop + charger + mouse =3KG++ (no more than 3.5)
documents = 1KG? maybe? its as thick as 1 ream of "Double A" A4 paper, or more.
Total? LOL
Yeah, weight matters. But for the performance, okay lah!
Damn.. 1kg of documents.. Why don't just use soft copy XD
haha
hyperyouth_firepower
post Mar 2 2015, 08:14 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 2 2015, 06:24 PM)
Damn.. 1kg of documents.. Why don't just use soft copy XD
haha
No can do. Its all on demand.
Kenji_Hayashi
post Mar 3 2015, 10:09 AM

Just wondering, anyone have a similar issue laptop illegear S5 (with GTX 980M) shutting down suddenly without any notice?

Watch movie on my laptop (at the same I opened an "Intel Extreme Tuning Utility" to see the CPU Temp).

The laptop just shuts down with no warning notice. It didn't restart automatically. shocking.gif

FYI, I didn't do any overclocking or change the default settings except install the latest update for Windows 8.1, Intel Extreme Tuning Utility & Geforce Nvidia, Install Avast Antivirus, Adobe Creative Suite 6 and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.

I didn't run my laptop 24 hours... only 2 hours.

This is typical of an overheating issue??

MODEL: ILLEGEAR S5 WITH NVIDIA Geforce GTX 980M

sad.gif sad.gif

P/S: My old laptop SONY VAIO.....no problem so far....

This post has been edited by Kenji_Hayashi: Mar 4 2015, 12:04 AM
Prince J
post Mar 3 2015, 10:16 AM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(Kenji_Hayashi @ Mar 3 2015, 10:09 AM)
Just wondering, anyone have a similar issue laptop illegear S5 (with GTX 980M) shutting down suddenly without any notice?

Watch movie on my laptop (at the same I opened an "Intel Extreme Tuning Utility" to see the CPU Temp).

The laptop just shuts down with no warning notice. It didn't restart automatically.  shocking.gif

FYI, I didn't do any overclocking or change the default settings except install the latest update for Windows 8.1, Intel Extreme Tuning Utility & Geforce Nvidia, Install Avast Antivirus, Adobe Creative Suite 6 and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.

I didn't run my laptop 24 hours... only 2 hours.
This is typical of an overheating issue??
MODEL: ILLEGEAR S5 WITH NVIDIA Geforce GTX 980M
sad.gif  sad.gif
P/S: My old laptop SONY VAIO.....no problem so far....
Hi Kenji,

How many times does this happen? What's the BSOD error code?
Prince J
post Mar 3 2015, 10:21 AM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Mar 2 2015, 02:46 PM)

Hi WildChai,

I am from Team ILLEGEAR.

Yes promotion is till 5th of March, it's basically an incentive for customers who don't want to get charged for GST April onwards.
Kenji_Hayashi
post Mar 3 2015, 10:30 AM

QUOTE(Prince J @ Mar 3 2015, 10:16 AM)
Hi Kenji,

How many times does this happen? What's the BSOD error code?
Hi, I have told you yesterday...

As per your request, I will test it... will let u know if got problem again..

WildChai
post Mar 3 2015, 10:49 AM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Feb 2 2015, 04:24 AM)

Here's the spec for my unit;

ILLEGEAR S7
Details :
Display: 17.3" Full HD Anti-glare Display featuring 72% NTSC Color Gamut (1920 x 1080)
Tune Your Screen: Professional Color Calibration, Guaranteed no dead or partially-lit pixels for first 180 days of purchasing.
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4720HQ (6MB L3 Cache, 2.60GHz)
Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 980M 4GB GDDR5 with Optimus (Maxwell)
Thermal Compound: IC Diamond Thermal Compound - CPU & GPU (RECOMMENDED)
RAM: 8GB DDR3L RAM 1600MHz - 1 X 8GB
Storage Drive RAID Options: Non-RAID
Primary Drive: 1TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive
Secondary Drive: None
M.2 SSD RAID Options: Non-RAID
Primary M.2 Solid State Drive: None
Secondary M.2 Solid State Drive: None
Wireless Network Card: Killer™ Wireless-AC 1525 M.2 - WLAN & Bluetooth 4.1 Combo
Operating System: None (Not Recommended for Inexperienced User)
Warranty: ILLEGEAR 3 Year Carry-In Warranty
Accessories: ILLEGEAR Backpack & Velvet Sleeve
Custom Painting Services: None
Keyboard Backlight Color: Custom Keyboard Backlight Color
W.A.S.D. Backlight Color: Purple

hi,

want to know why you did not upgrade the ram? 8 is all good?
miong93
post Mar 3 2015, 12:42 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Mar 3 2015, 10:49 AM)
hi,

want to know why you did not upgrade the ram? 8 is all good?
Probably 16gb dual channel is very expensive. RM300++ sweat.gif
evofantasy
post Mar 3 2015, 01:16 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 3 2015, 12:42 PM)
Probably 16gb dual channel is very expensive. RM300++  sweat.gif
8gb ram is more than enough unless you are performing memory intensive tasks like virtualizations, handling big data etc
miong93
post Mar 3 2015, 01:24 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 3 2015, 01:16 PM)
8gb ram is more than enough unless you are performing memory intensive tasks like virtualizations, handling big data etc
Well I just explain to him one of the reason smile.gif
For me 8GB is hardly enough for me. I open Android Studio + Visual Studio already eat up 4GB minimum of ram. Haven't include virtual machine yet. haha

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0309sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:45 AM