Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V), Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)

plumberly
post Sep 4 2015, 09:00 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Sep 3 2015, 09:45 PM)
Regarding concerns over the new passbook where there is a column for NAV, even for FP funds. I think it's more of a standardisation exercise. Please be aware that ASNB is in the midst of migrating the IT system for each of the funds. I think it started last year or so. Can't quite remember. The smaller funds are being migrated first. ASB would probably the last, as it has the biggest fund size.
Mr Gray (the new model after Cray Super Computer),

Thanks for the infor!

Do you remember on the time period between the announcement and the FP to VP switch for the previous change?

I want to be prepared as I have quite a sum in there.

plumberly
post Sep 4 2015, 08:04 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Sep 4 2015, 07:56 PM)
I'm only 1 year old when that happened. Hahaha. Previously, I think everybody was given the chance to move to ASB, if I'm not mistaken.
I see.

TQ
plumberly
post Sep 4 2015, 09:13 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 4 2015, 08:48 PM)
AS 1Malaysia Suspension of transactions: 24 to 30 September 2015
http://www.asnb.com.my/v3_/pdf/media/berit...S1M_2015_EN.pdf
Sorry I have to raise this. icon_question.gif brows.gif

The 1 week break is for the dividend calculations and updating all the accounts, right?

Assume they have 100,000 unit holders, calculations will involve steps like these:
* calculate the dividend for month X using the minimum balance in that month
* repeat for the other 11 months
* sum up the monthly dividends
* add the yearly dividends to the balance

Number of steps = 12+1+1= 14

Round it off to 20 steps per account.

Then total = 20 * 100,000 = 2 million steps.

Using the old 1954 IBM 650 computer at 0.06 kIPS (0.06 kilo instructions per second), it will take it 2,000,000/60=33,333 seconds = 555.5 mins = 8.3 hours to complete the calculations and updating.

Even an OLD computer takes only 8 hrs to do the job. Why 7 days?

Using Intel Core i5 (83,000 MIPS), that should only take 2 million/83,000 million = 0.00002 second!

For the IT friends out there, hold your horses, yes, reading data from and writing data to memory are slower than just memory calcs. So, I am not comparing apple with apple. Ha.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Sep 10 2015, 10:34 AM

4,761 posts

One thought came to mind (credit to my friend who raised this).

Few years back, some oil companies were closing down their refineries due to excess supply. My friend said Shell benefited from that WITHOUT closing down their refineries. How?

Other companies were closing down their refineries and this reduced the supply. Later supply and demand met and the price stabilised!

Extending the above to ASX, with many ASX sellers now, will that improve the NAV as the units in circulation is less?

I guess not. Units for the NAV are those in circulation AND also which ASNB is holding. Right?

I must be day dreaming? Ha.

plumberly
post Sep 14 2015, 10:06 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 14 2015, 09:59 AM)
PNB unaffected by falling ringgit
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...ggit/?style=biz

Gud news for Asx holders?

2 conflicting sentences in there:

1. Not affected by falling RM.
2. This is the best opportunity for PNB to boost its profit if we sell the assets

Isn't (2) resulting from (1)?

Cheerio.

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0412sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:52 AM