LYN Christian Fellowship V09 (Group)

Sophiera
post May 31 2015, 11:54 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ May 31 2015, 11:33 PM)
Sounds like your friend got scammed by a tarot card reader.

Sure will pray.
More than scammed: she got cursed. Everything the tarot card person say become true. Definitely in cohorts with demons.

P.S she's not a Christian yet. I don't think that's really an important detail but if you guys are really that curious.

This post has been edited by Sophiera: May 31 2015, 11:55 PM
unknown warrior
post Jun 1 2015, 12:36 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ May 31 2015, 11:55 PM)
I think the most important is the will of the daughter. If the daughter accepts me, eventually the father has no choice but to warm up to me.

Of course, I would respect him because he is the father of the girl I am going after. I will try my best to please him. But i can only go so far.

If he tries to abuse me verbally or ignore me, I can only put up a thickskin and not bother about him. I do want to please him, but I do not want to end up a doormat, sucking up to him all the time, I have my limits.

I also have my limitations, I am not very well verse in mandarin, I am a cantonese speaker but he is a hokkien speaker. He is not good in english. So how can i communicate with him?
Bro, that's kind of being self centered.

I don't think God would want a broken disharmony for any family.

That girl is still her daughter, God chose Him as the Father that she would come through in this world.

You can't brush him away over his daughter. He has fed her and brought her up all his life, doesn't matter whether he's a good dad role model or not.

This is something you have to learn, you'll need the father's blessing for marriage because eventually IF you get married, you will be a father too one day. You might not feel the pain now, but you'll understand how he feels when you become one yourself.
tinarhian
post Jun 1 2015, 12:41 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ May 31 2015, 11:47 PM)
I think the culture has flaws. My 1st ex gf whose christian parents are very westernized, the mother never really control her daughter, sent her to international school. When i went dating with her, of course she likes to kiss, necking and hug hug. But she always draw the line and tell me "NO SEX". So i respected her wishes. Of course, then i was young and foolish and wasn't really a christian per se.

My second ex is even more careful, during our first few months of dating, she never allowed me to pick her up from her house. She would ask us to meet up at a petrol station near my house. She clearly told me that she would only allow me to pick her up from her place, when she trusted me enough.

I think saying NO is enough to deter the guy. And if he tries to touch her at places she doesn't like, screaming always helps. Also before trusting the girl to go out with the guy, the guy should have an "introductory" meet with the parents, so the guy would not be naughty and drive her to an isolated place, to do his naughty bidding, he will know the parents know his license plate no and how he looks like, he would not dare to defile her.

All I can say is RIVALRY, thats why they treat me this way. Some of the single guys there, don't like me, because they think i compete directly with them for the girls. I am not interested at all about the girls at my church, anyway. I got my own way of finding potential christian life partners outside.
To tell you from my experience...my parents made it very easy for the guy(s). tongue.gif

My father would just showed the dude his guns, rifles collections, and told him, "I want Christina to be home by 10pm."

8 out of 10 would obey. The other 2 got....Well, let just say I didn't see them again. laugh.gif

Yeah, any guy should have the "old school" introductory meeting with the parents. To make them feel at ease and to give them assurance that she's with a good company.

How the guy act, dress and talk is important too. You would not want your daughter to go out with a degenerate, do you? biggrin.gif

All the best dude. Maybe you should buy the father something he likes. Asian father figure loves Red Wine. Or maybe that's just my generalization. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Sophiera @ May 31 2015, 11:54 PM)
More than scammed: she got cursed. Everything the tarot card person say become true. Definitely in cohorts with demons.

P.S she's not a Christian yet. I don't think that's really an important detail but if you guys are really that curious.
shocking.gif Oh my....From typical Asian parents dating 101 to tarot card and demons.

Really, is this a typical weekend in Malaysia? I guessed I've stayed here too long.

This post has been edited by tinarhian: Jun 1 2015, 01:25 AM
TSDe_Luffy
post Jun 1 2015, 02:10 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ May 31 2015, 11:55 PM)
I think the most important is the will of the daughter. If the daughter accepts me, eventually the father has no choice but to warm up to me.

Of course, I would respect him because he is the father of the girl I am going after. I will try my best to please him. But i can only go so far.

If he tries to abuse me verbally or ignore me, I can only put up a thickskin and not bother about him. I do want to please him, but I do not want to end up a doormat, sucking up to him all the time, I have my limits.

I also have my limitations, I am not very well verse in mandarin, I am a cantonese speaker but he is a hokkien speaker. He is not good in english. So how can i communicate with him?
so learn hokkien then, hokkien is so easy to learn that even my friend who is a cantonese married a hokkien wife that he even learn how to speak abit of hokkien
TSDe_Luffy
post Jun 1 2015, 02:11 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ May 31 2015, 11:54 PM)

there's a thread about tarot card in serious kopitiam might as well you check with them
Sophiera
post Jun 1 2015, 03:38 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jun 1 2015, 02:11 AM)
there's a thread about tarot card in serious kopitiam might as well you check with them
Aren't they practitioners?
TSDe_Luffy
post Jun 1 2015, 07:54 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 1 2015, 03:38 AM)
Aren't they practitioners?
the thread starter is, well for faq stuff maybe can get more insight about this tarot card thing from the thread
de1929
post Jun 1 2015, 09:00 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ May 31 2015, 11:51 PM)
Teaching ur kids spiritual discipline are ways you can develop muscle memory to prevent them from falling to sin.

We've got to trust our kids once they reach adulthood, there is no way we can police them all the time.
to test the muscle is by using resistance right ? e.g. barbell deadlift exercise. try 10kg, then 20kg, then 30kg... then 100kg.

how to go to 100kg if not going through 50kg first ?
how to go to 50kg if not going thorough 40kg firts ?

as your context is about sexual temptation ? it's like 100kg already.

Where is the logic to trust the kids (our kids), if we (as parents) don't know whether they can handle only 5KG problems ?
de1929
post Jun 1 2015, 02:04 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jun 1 2015, 01:23 PM)
A parent chasing his daughter and then go all out to embarrass her in front of her date friend, by questioning his credentials and telling him that not consent - is one who is trying to lift the 100kg weight himself.

You see a parent is like a trainer. He trains weightlifters. If he train his daughter to weight lift in the Olympics, then one day, he fears for her safety, because she has never carried 80kg..he rushes in front of the foyer, while she is doing the clean and jerk lifting, he go out there to lift for her.

If a parent is a good trainer, he would trust his daughter because he knows he trained her good enough to lift the weight on her own.

It is just like those parents of Gen Z people these days. You know, I have seen some young graduates, who came along with their parents for job interview !
it looks like you and me were grown up with 1 tenet value: independence.
that's old school bro biggrin.gif
these days, networking rules. relationship dictates.

a parents escort kids for job interview is to give them sense of support and sense of pride.

old school teaches that our kids must be strong, therefore release them as early as possible for them to fight in this nasty world.
where is love in that picture ? none. positive energy and love are actually things that start to dominates in this end times.
it's clearly written in bible that 1 cor 13:8

8 Love never fails [never fades out or becomes obsolete or comes to an end]. As for prophecy ([d]the gift of interpreting the divine will and purpose), it will be fulfilled and pass away; as for tongues, they will be destroyed and cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away [it will lose its value and be superseded by truth].

loves never fades, but everything will be. "everything" includes independence spirit, and old school teachings biggrin.gif.

---- to answer my question ----
Because the LORD loves our children more than us, the LORD will lift then 100kg on behalf of our children. Parents needs to acknowledge that no amount of "training / education" will be enough to repel sexual temptation / pornography. I repeat, no training / education will able to repeal sexual temptation / pornography.

so the lesson to teach our children is: Dear kids, when you grew up, there is an adult temptation called lust. These demons comes and go. Many wins for 1 day, but the other days they may fail. Many people has become its prey. But be strong, the one that can fight this temptation is love. If we live in perfect world with perfect love, then this temptations will cease to exist. Only when love diminished, then lust will come. same like a glass, either is filled with liquid (i.e love) or it's empty (filled with air aka lust).... to generate love big enough to fight lust, only CHRIST is the true source. That's why daddy / mommy always teaches you always come to GOD for everything, even when you are making mistakes, don't run from GOD. GOD is a good GOD. HIS love will fight worldly lust. You need GOD's love renewed everyday, because lust is coming everyday.

unknown warrior
post Jun 1 2015, 02:04 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jun 1 2015, 01:05 PM)
I am not saying I want to brush him off. But if it comes to the point that if Godwillingly his daughter accepts and loves me but her father doesn't, what do you have me to do? Just give up?

I can only do so much to impress and honor him. But if he still keeps up his dislike for me, I can't help it. Most important is what his daughter thinks of me.
If his daughter likes me, I will impress him through winning his daughter's heart.

This weekend I am taking her mom and sister to an outing. I just hope I can make them feel that I am an ok guy. I have some communication difficulties. Her mom is an active church goer. Gulp..but I am not sure if she will be asking questions but I have to prepare myself  1) My pay - I just say I earn near five figures
2) About the big age gap btw me and her daughter of 13 years....I will give the example of Abraham and Sarai who had Isaac at 80 years old 3) About financial plan, since I will retire in 20 years, I will have to think of a bible verse somewhere..."all things work in the hands of God?" 3) Why I still live with my parents - I am filial son? An incident that my dad almost died at home, but I saved his life. I still have a condo under construction - will move out 4) Why I take so long to find a gf? - I just tell her its very hard, because I have to find Christian gf, not easy. 5) Why am I a banana? I give eg of my friend who is banana, who went to Beijing to work - 6 years later, he mastered mandarin and married a PRC girl

I am also concern during the outing, what if her whole family starts speaking mandarin and hokkien? I be a lamp post. I am very nervous, never
done this b4. My previous rship, I never met my second ex gf parents b4 and in my 1st rship - yes I met my ex gf's mum, but I was still a child then.

UW, at my age 40, I not sure if I am gonna be a father. I do wanna be a father but I just dunno how I can convince this girl's parents that I can provide for a family.
Actually it's just the matter of setting her father at peace.

I know this is difficult but it'll help in the long run.

Beside, you'll need time to know the person.

Don't rush into marriage, you'll regret it.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Jun 1 2015, 02:43 PM
de1929
post Jun 1 2015, 07:57 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jun 1 2015, 06:47 PM)
I am not exactly independent. My parents never really got involve in my education or morals...I was always left alone with my own devices. My father only work and came back home, hardly spoke to me. My mother also work, came back home too busy with house chores and cooking. My brother was most of the time studying overseas. So I was at home alone. Nobody taught me how to write, nobody taught me how to chase girls, nobody taught me how to tie my shoe lace, heck nobody taught me even how to potty train. Granted, my parents provided what I need...food, clothing, education at school, etc. But I never receive any wisdom from them. I love them and appreciate them but I can say I was raised differently, I wouldn't say I was independent.

Therefore, I did a lot of mistakes when I was young.

I am the opposite of being protected. I think it is just as bad as being protected. What parents need to do is to impart Godly wisdom to their kids, so they won't end up like me (exposed) or my friend (over protected).
wow that's wonderful biggrin.gif never regret the past, treasure whatever it is. It's good.

do you know that to success in live, you must surround yourself with successful mindset people ?
do you know that to success in live, especially around 40 years you should have a mentor, to guide you and tell you pitfalls and help you on the blindspots ? we cannot bear the cost of keep making mistakes as one of learning processes. It's just too expensive.

if you join cell group which is students (around early 20 years) and they are talking about games / study, it will not improve your inner man to be a good 40 years christian. You just have to find community that are 40 years old and surround yourself with 40 years old peers. 40 years man talks different that students and you don't want your inner man behaves like 20 years student right ?

the key word is value. surround yourself with the right cell group of same age will definitely increase your value.

tinarhian
post Jun 1 2015, 10:56 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jun 1 2015, 01:14 PM)
Oh, now I know your name, Christina !! LoL

I didn't know guns are legal in Germany. Actually I kind of like guns. I have fired an M-16, M-1 carbine and AK-47 before.

Yeah I am meeting her mom and sis next week. I am darn nervous. I am thinking of buying a gift. But one thing for sure, I am not expecting smiles from her. Gulp. I am very bad at pleasing people. Even my brother personally complain that I tend to be a person who is bad at diplomacy. I am not tactful, I say things that offend people and I am very thinskin. I get hurt easily from criticism or snipes. This is something I have to learn, to take her comments in a pinch of salt. I dunno how she is going to be, but I really hope I don't get the stick.
Well its quite strict to own a firearms in Germany. A person may obtain firearm license based on the following criteria:-

a. for personal protection.
b. personal collection.
c. hunting.
d. target practice.
e. home security / protection.

Private possession of automatic weapons is prohibited. Although some find ways to obtain it illegally. sad.gif

Private possession of semi-automatic weapons is permitted as long as there is valid reason(s).

There's no need for a license if you want to keep a single firing pistol, ie, flintlock pistols. doh.gif

Who the heck use that anyway? laugh.gif

I've seen AK-47 up close before but never use it. Too dangerous. blush.gif

You are really like my youngest brother. Can't accept criticism. I always called him "Miss September." laugh.gif

You can be "Miss October." laugh.gif

Just learn to take things easy dude.
tinarhian
post Jun 1 2015, 11:13 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jun 1 2015, 02:10 AM)
so learn hokkien then, hokkien is so easy to learn that even my friend who is a cantonese married a hokkien wife that he even learn how to speak abit of hokkien
Is it that easy to learn Hokkien?

I know Cantonese is a tongue twister.

I only know "chap fan."

Though when I pronounced it, it sounds like "Cheap fan." blush.gif
unknown warrior
post Jun 2 2015, 09:30 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jun 1 2015, 06:40 PM)
I will try my best as possible. But if he is dent on rejecting me, I can't do anything about that. The most important issue is how much her daughter is willing to accept me? It does not matter how much the father like or hate me, if the daughter doesn't like me too.

I got my flaws, brother. I am a person who is very sensitive and gets offended very easily. So I think this is truly a test from God that I have to learn to persevere and be more patient. I need to be more thickskin. I know I may get a lot of hostility from her parents....I mean if your daughter is going out with a dude 13 years older than her, you would of course be very protective and very inquisitive.

I just want to pray for wisdom and no matter what's the result, to look to God always.
The thing is ALL relationship takes time. Even with God it takes time to get to know Him.

Just take it easy, get to know the parent, get to know her first before committing anything.

The true color of a person will only come out after some time, by then you'll know if you're suited for each other, you won't find out much during the first few months of encounter.

IMO minimum at least 1 year, ideally the best is 3 years to be in relationship before getting married.

I really face palm seeing some couple, within weeks or just couple months of knowing each other then get married. Then after marriage, found out, not compatible with each other or keep on having problem with in laws, it's a no brainer really why these things happened. Just lack the patience to discover what is what and who is who. doh.gif

It's your life really, I'm just advising from neutral perspective and I think you'll be alright.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Jun 2 2015, 10:18 AM
TSDe_Luffy
post Jun 2 2015, 09:45 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Jun 1 2015, 11:13 PM)
Is it that easy to learn Hokkien?

I know Cantonese is a tongue twister.

I only know "chap fan."

Though when I pronounced it, it sounds like "Cheap fan."  blush.gif
Hokkien is spoken majority in whole China, same as Cantonese.

Hokkien is quite easy to learn once you grasp the meaning of the words.

I'm Cantonese chap fan is mixed rice dishes Hokkien we called it chap Peng same meaning just different pronouncing
tinarhian
post Jun 2 2015, 10:52 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jun 1 2015, 11:50 PM)
AK-47 is very powerful weapon, after firing, my shoulder was in pain. Then very crude to hold also, it has sharp parts that can cut my hand. Its funny firing a gun is almost like lighting a firework..after firing, i can smell the firework residue.

Got people who are sentimental who collect flintlocks. Americans love to collect flintlocks esp those from the english occupation era, they are worth money.

But your younger brother is still young, I have lived half my life and still living like a child. I cannot handle pressure and often outburst in my company. I am not the type who keep quiet and put my feelings in my heart, i will go crazy. So to protect myself, I speak out and often i get into trouble with other big political players in my company who doesn't like my vocalness.
Because the AK-47 is cheap and produced massively, you need to check the FCG part. Maybe you need to grind the tab that stick out of the back.

The pain that you have discribed is called "trigger slap." You need to modify the disconnector.

Most people replaced the disconnector with Tapco G2.

I prefer functionality over sentimental value. hehe...

So then you should behave like a man. Stop being childish and grow up. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jun 2 2015, 09:45 AM)
Hokkien is spoken majority in whole China, same as Cantonese.

Hokkien is quite easy to learn once you grasp the meaning of the words.

I'm Cantonese chap fan is mixed rice dishes Hokkien we called it chap Peng same meaning just different pronouncing
Mmm, chap fan is not only cheap, save me the trouble of cooking. icon_idea.gif
Sophiera
post Jun 3 2015, 01:28 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

I'm feeling very... angry? At some of my friends. Buat baik tak dibalas baik. I shouldn't be expecting anything in return but I'm disappointed by their self-destructiveness.

And I got accused for attacking too. As if their entire happiness rests on my shoulder and mine alone.

This post has been edited by Sophiera: Jun 3 2015, 01:29 AM
de1929
post Jun 3 2015, 04:32 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 3 2015, 01:28 AM)
I'm feeling very... angry? At some of my friends. Buat baik tak dibalas baik. I shouldn't be expecting anything in return but I'm disappointed by their self-destructiveness.

And I got accused for attacking too. As if their entire happiness rests on my shoulder and mine alone.
cheer up soph... no big deal
tinarhian
post Jun 3 2015, 10:32 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jun 3 2015, 10:21 PM)
Grind the tab? hahahaha, miss Christina Barcelona, the gun is not mine la...it belongs to the gun range

Yeah grow up....I wish I am Peter Pan, never want to grow, just remain a kid, always protected. I really hate to live the adult world, people backstab, politics, etc. Sigh, working life is just so much stress, compounded by the low value of the ringgit.
Ohh. Then next time, try putting on duct tape on your trigger finger.

Why life must be a stress? Enjoy and watch TV la.

Low value ringgit? How the heck you suppose to get it up? Sorry, my economics brain is ZERO.

I only know how to shop and look for bargain deals. laugh.gif

tinarhian
post Jun 3 2015, 10:40 PM

726 posts

Speaking of marriage and dating. I'm curious how does a Malaysian Christian couples cope when both of them do not attend the same church?

Will there be a conflict should they get married later?

And if they are of different denomination?

And ah...before they get married, they have to attend a pre marital course right?

Maybe I have asked before, gosh, I can't remember. hahaha...

115 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 >Top

0.0286sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:25 AM