Do i need to change Fuel Strainer, Honda City Fuel Strainer

TSJamesCloud
post Jan 26 2015, 11:46 AM, updated 11y ago

92 posts

Hi All,

Good Day. Do i need to change Fuel Strainer for my Honda City 2011 after 40,000km as in preventive maintenance handbook.

My engineering friend said it might not be necessary. coz fuel from malaysia petrol station already filtered. not like some country sell petrol on road side that possible mixed with other content like water.

Great if can hear your professional opinion.

Regards

wayfeel
post Jan 26 2015, 12:09 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

Just sharing my layman opinion and experience ok tk wit grind of salt

I think got the symptom rasa like the fuel x naik like that lol pls google. I got change fuel strainer/filter for my honda cars regardless but more than 40k km..i dont rmbr d mileage, myb 80K coz the strainer is only under 1xx- 2xx rm. I dont rmbr SC price.

Doesnt hurt to change coz only affect the 'power' only due to purity of fuel but its not high priority like gearbox oil n engine oil
TSJamesCloud
post Jan 26 2015, 12:18 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jan 26 2015, 12:09 PM)
Just sharing my layman opinion and experience ok tk wit grind of salt

I think got the symptom rasa like the fuel x naik like that lol pls google. I got change fuel strainer/filter for my honda cars regardless but more than 40k km..i dont rmbr d mileage, myb 80K coz the strainer is only under 1xx- 2xx rm. I dont rmbr SC price.

Doesnt hurt to change coz only affect the 'power' only due to purity of fuel but its not high priority like gearbox oil n engine oil
Thanks for sharing.
last time i change engine Air filter. just the two clips. open. and put drop in filter. honda charge me RM80 for labour to change that filter of RM89. i like wtf. now i check for fuel strainer. my 40K service need change brake fluid, engine oil & filter and strainer. labour is RM180.

if i not mistaken. fuel strainer just to screw out like oil filter but in even easier position.

thinking of doing it outside.

can share how much labour outside

thanks lot
regards

dstl1128
post Jan 26 2015, 01:07 PM

4,464 posts

It will have a big difference in your fuel consumption. My Vios for 130k km and 7yrs+ haven't change any fuel filter before. And FC for the 1st bar of fuel (yes I know is inaccurate but I roughly know the FC) barely gets above 60 compare to new car at least 70~80km and over 100km in highway.

After changed, FC is back as new.

The parts alone cost me RM265. It is not an easy straight forward job as well.

beskut
post Jan 26 2015, 03:01 PM

13 posts

hi TS
mine, changed recently at 80k km only
bought the strainer at honda spare part (rm180)
change at workshop for rm50 (change at honda specialist)
u can save a lot (mine warranty expired)

btw, i am agree at the part of fuel consumption
my fc decrease after change the strainer, back as new
SUSnm7
post Jan 26 2015, 05:17 PM

192 posts

Filter or strainer. Some older Honda's have a strainer in the engine bay while the more recent ones seems to have a in-tank filter.

As far as i know, strainer is usable for quite long while the filter has to be changed after a period of time according to the service manual.

Either one, don't DIY as the fuel lines are pressurized. And more importantly, don't smoke while you are at it blink.gif

I only know the Civic FD ones are under the back seat and it is quite a hassle to get to it. I don't mind paying for the labor charge for that job. But 80 bucks to change pollen filter, that is a major nut kicker as that is a 30 second job at most.
SUSMatrix
post Jan 26 2015, 05:18 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Better change lah. Keep car in tip top condition. Fuel filter does gets dirty and needs changing. Go outside workshop and change during normal service, won't cost you much extra. But better bring to specialist...not Ah Beng who only do what you tell him....kena b4...sianz....like i know what to do more than them. doh.gif
SUSnm7
post Jan 26 2015, 05:27 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 26 2015, 05:18 PM)
not Ah Beng who only do what you tell him....kena b4...sianz....like i know what to do more than them. doh.gif
Don't see people no up lar. People trying to make a living only.

You get what you pay for right?

This post has been edited by nm7: Jan 26 2015, 05:28 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 26 2015, 05:34 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jan 26 2015, 05:27 PM)
Don't see people no up lar. People trying to make a living only.

You get what you pay for right?
Make a living i dun care...but pls dun screw up my car....sweat.gif

So it's always better to find someone who knows what they're doing, but very hard to find good car mechanics nowadays.
SUSnm7
post Jan 26 2015, 05:36 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 26 2015, 05:34 PM)

So it's always better to find someone who knows what they're doing, but very hard to find good car mechanics nowadays.
Are you highly dependable on what you do? I guess, you can't hope from others what others can't hope from you.

Not saying you are not good at what you do. But it's the generation where expectations are usually higher than the reality.
TSJamesCloud
post Jan 26 2015, 05:38 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 26 2015, 05:34 PM)

Agreed. hard to get good mechanic. i also dont want to get screw. so looking for the balance. either to replace in Honda or outside.
TSJamesCloud
post Jan 26 2015, 05:39 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jan 26 2015, 05:17 PM)
Filter or strainer. Some older Honda's have a strainer in the engine bay while the more recent ones seems to have a in-tank filter.

As far as i know, strainer is usable for quite long while the filter has to be changed after a period of time according to the service manual.

Either one, don't DIY as the fuel lines are pressurized. And more importantly, don't smoke while you are at it  blink.gif

I only know the Civic FD ones are under the back seat and it is quite a hassle to get to it. I don't mind paying for the labor charge for that job. But 80 bucks to change pollen filter, that is a major nut kicker as that is a 30 second job at most.
yup. that's why piss while see that few seconds job cost so expensive
TSJamesCloud
post Jan 26 2015, 05:44 PM

92 posts

Thanks for feedback. other than that.
City 2011 engine oil change interval is 5000km. but new honda city 2014 is 10000km.

im using honda fully synthetic oil. i ask why new city is 10k. mine is 5k. some of them even use mineral oil. honda cant answer and say just stick to service recommendation.

i sweat
SUSnm7
post Jan 26 2015, 05:59 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(JamesCloud @ Jan 26 2015, 05:44 PM)
Thanks for feedback. other than that.
City 2011 engine oil change interval is 5000km. but new honda city 2014 is 10000km.

im using honda fully synthetic oil. i ask why new city is 10k. mine is 5k. some of them even use mineral oil. honda cant answer and say just stick to service recommendation.

i sweat
I wanted to go and reason for that as well because i loathe paying for double the labor charges on the 5k interval.

But after looking at the engine codes on both the GM3 and GM6. They have different engine codes, L15A7 for GM3 and L15Z1 for GM6. So, the basis for reasoning is not really there as they can say the internals is different even though it is the same line of engines for all they want and you lose all grounds.

QUOTE(JamesCloud @ Jan 26 2015, 05:38 PM)
Agreed.  hard to get good mechanic. i also dont want to get screw. so looking for the balance. either to replace in Honda or outside.
No guarantees even at honda authorized service centers. You just know / have a place to point your finger and freak out on someone when shitz happen.

QUOTE(JamesCloud @ Jan 26 2015, 05:39 PM)
yup. that's why piss while see that few seconds job cost so expensive
Did you ask them if it is really that expensive to swap the pollen filter? I think each labor hour is like RM72++ if i am not wrong and RM80 means they need more than an hour just to open the passenger drawer, unhinge it, unclip the drawer where the filter sits, slide it out, put in the new one and slam everything back in?

If that is the case, tell them to quite horsing around on the factory grounds.

This post has been edited by nm7: Jan 26 2015, 06:03 PM
wayfeel
post Jan 26 2015, 10:53 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(JamesCloud @ Jan 26 2015, 12:18 PM)
Thanks for sharing.
last time i change engine Air filter. just the two clips. open. and put drop in filter. honda charge me RM80 for labour to change that filter of RM89. i like wtf. now i check for fuel strainer. my 40K service need change brake fluid, engine oil & filter and strainer. labour is RM180.

if i not mistaken. fuel strainer just to screw out like oil filter but in even easier position.

thinking of doing it outside.

can share how much labour outside

thanks lot
regards
if change many labor charges rm1xx, i will just do it at the SC. especially under warranty. besides, that one is 80k km do once, it doesnt hurt to pay rm1xx labor for a 3-5yrs mileage if u catch my drift.

fuel strainer for some model is hassle to change, i've seen before. definitely way difficult than normal service. unless if u can find/ know someone outside who know well about honda cars/know what they are doing then by all means do it outside. fuel strainer is a fuel related thing, i had once do it outside, u never know which wires wrongly installed or not put in properly because the workshop is so busy coz so popular and they delegate a 'normal mechanic' do ur car then u jialat lor....than save the rm1xx labor charge which one replacement in so long....sensitive parts somemore...

SUSMamapapamsia
post Jan 27 2015, 10:13 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(JamesCloud @ Jan 26 2015, 11:46 AM)
Hi All,

Good Day. Do i need to change Fuel Strainer for my Honda City 2011 after 40,000km as in preventive maintenance handbook.

My engineering friend said it might not be necessary. coz fuel from malaysia petrol station already filtered. not like some country sell petrol on road side that possible mixed with other content like water.

Great if can hear your professional opinion.

Regards
Not sure whether its fuel filter u r referring to. I had changed my previous honda city 2009 fuel filter. And its located below ur gearknob thr. It is not easy to change and u need a mechanic to help u out. Have to open up the whole panel near the gearknob. Thats y thr labour is quite costly.

Its best to change as the filter will be very dirty and clogged up .
TSJamesCloud
post Jan 27 2015, 02:09 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jan 26 2015, 10:53 PM)
if change many labor charges rm1xx, i will just do it at the SC. especially under warranty. besides, that one is 80k km do once, it doesnt hurt to pay rm1xx labor for a 3-5yrs mileage if u catch my drift.

fuel strainer for some model is hassle to change, i've seen before. definitely way difficult than normal service. unless if u can find/ know someone outside who know well about honda cars/know what they are doing then by all means do it outside. fuel strainer is a fuel related thing, i had once do it outside, u never know which wires wrongly installed or not put in properly because the workshop is so busy coz so popular and they delegate a 'normal mechanic' do ur car then u jialat lor....than save the rm1xx labor charge which one replacement in so long....sensitive parts somemore...
According to Honda Service Manual at website for City 2011 change fuel strainer every 40,000km. Brake Fluid as well.
if my FC still good. is it necessary?

Regards

dstl1128
post Jan 27 2015, 04:18 PM

4,464 posts

You can just skipped. tongue.gif

Toyota say changed mine at 80k ... but ~140k I only changed.

p/s But toyota say my ATF WS no need to change, @ 80k already kopi-o. So can't trust SC 100%. My 3rd service I complain absorber leak and they say is moist.

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Jan 27 2015, 04:19 PM
SUSnm7
post Jan 27 2015, 04:51 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Jan 27 2015, 10:13 AM)
Not sure whether its fuel filter u r referring to. I had changed my previous honda city 2009 fuel filter. And its located below ur gearknob thr. It is not easy to change and u need a mechanic to help u out. Have to open up the whole panel near the gearknob. Thats y thr labour is quite costly.

Its best to change as the filter will be very dirty and clogged up .
City and Jazz fuel tank is under the driver and front passenger seat. That is why it's there.

For Civic and Accord, it is under the rear seats.

0.0190sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:23 PM