Household Planning to buy a property in Bangkok

jason_chee
post Feb 13 2015, 04:04 PM

1,559 posts

QUOTE(Monkeybone128 @ Feb 13 2015, 10:57 AM)
I had just found out over the weekend from one real estate agency, Henry Butcher Malaysia that I can actually own a freehold property in Thailand under my name. I was told that foreigners are allowed to buy condominium on a freehold basis... FREEHOLD...  rclxms.gif

I did some research and found out that it is true, though I am not a lawyer, here goes "By way of background, the law governing condominiums was enacted as Condominium Act, B.E. 2522 (1979).  This law was liberalized to allow foreign investment in condominiums by Condominium Act (No. 2), B.E. 2534 (1991), which allowed foreign persons and entities to own condominium units on a freehold basis, but limited foreign ownership to 40% of the total area of the units of the condominium."

http://www.thailawforum.com/database1/Buyi...ondominium.html
not too sure on LH and FH. From my understanding, foreigner can own highrise. Do feedback on your journey. I wish to buy 1 as well. Btw, Pattaya has lots of Highrise to sell for Foreigner. But some of the prop are overpriced due to Farang purchase.
acevent
post Feb 13 2015, 05:26 PM

203 posts

How much will be the cost of the condominium? I do search at Krabi website. Around TB1.2 million for only 300sqft. But i do not know about Bangkok
Afterburner1.0
post Sep 15 2021, 10:34 AM

772 posts

QUOTE(Monkeybone128 @ Feb 13 2015, 11:01 AM)
Not my cup of tea... My wife and I love Bangkok and Chiang Mai, shopping, food, massage. Haha... Living or retiring there sound not bad.  thumbup.gif
its now year 2021, have u bought ur condo in bangkok?
@dadafu@
post Sep 15 2021, 02:40 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Monkeybone128 @ Jan 22 2015, 05:38 PM)
Anyone bought a condo before???  icon_question.gif
i know a uncle bought a studio fully furnished in cash. I heard it's not hard to buy la if you pay cash with min document. loan part abit challenging and need many documentation.

so time to time he go there with the wife like holiday home. he showed me the photo, small unit.

suggest you can check out youtube, many youtuber analyze how foreigner can buy a home at bkk.

surprisingly, many people from the city actually choose bkk as their future destination.

no doubt, i like the country which have good food, shopping. a potential growing country.
icemanfx
post Sep 15 2021, 02:57 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(@dadafu@ @ Sep 15 2021, 02:40 PM)
i know a uncle bought a studio fully furnished in cash. I heard it's not hard to buy la if you pay cash with min document. loan part abit challenging and need many documentation.

so time to time he go there with the wife like holiday home. he showed me the photo, small unit.

suggest you can check out youtube, many youtuber analyze how foreigner can buy a home at bkk.

surprisingly, many people from the city actually choose bkk as their future destination.

no doubt, i like the country which have good food, shopping. a potential growing country.
More choice and cheaper medical treatment, international school, etc in bkk also. a reason why more prc, russian, indian, korean, etc have second home there.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Sep 15 2021, 02:58 PM
lfw
post May 30 2024, 08:59 AM

405 posts

my goal for 2026-2027 to own a property in BKK flex.gif flex.gif

IDEO Mobi Sukhumvit Eastgate, Bangna

Aspire Pinklao - Arunammarin, Bangkok Noi

lfw
post May 31 2024, 10:23 PM

405 posts

IDEO Sukhumvit Rama 4, Khlong Toei
lfw
post Jun 2 2024, 11:59 AM

405 posts

Bangkok MRT system for your reference, they have lines planned until 2040 nod.gif

0.0175sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:48 PM