Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V20, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

ntah_le
post Apr 20 2015, 07:05 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(LickGuy @ Apr 20 2015, 03:38 PM)
is me or unifi is blardy slow for past few days?
ran speedtest to HK server
ping latency 142ms, up/download also < 1mb  on my VIP5 ....
usually can hit if not 5 also 3something ....
wondering if is me only or other user are affected as well
Bro.. the promise for thruput only domestic. no ISP in the world can promise others country..
ntah_le
post Apr 22 2015, 07:31 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Apr 21 2015, 10:45 PM)
With pc games going digital and game sizes only going up and all.
I dont think PC games need huge upload.. games need quality upload.. latency to the servers more important than upload bandwidth..

TM start to follow European country that offer lower upload.. thats in term technical lorr.. not the price.. they do not want mass consumer to host a server anymore.. maybe..

For me.. i dont care about upload... my daughter and son only want to stream video.. youtube..
ntah_le
post Apr 22 2015, 05:10 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Apr 22 2015, 07:41 AM)
Upload is very important if you are hosting servers...but looking at speed than 30 and 50MB is sufficient enough now days.
so pilih maxis ma.. maxis still offer symmetric upload/download
ntah_le
post Apr 30 2015, 11:42 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(paul5263 @ Apr 30 2015, 02:54 PM)
RT-AC68U mahal macam haram  sad.gif , i'm thinking with the budget of 300-400, if no other choice, then i'll go for RT-N66U
n66 is very good choice.. but since your house relatively bigger than average, you need to know the most optimize place to put the router. I currently used ac68 but still i think my house layout better for n66.

ntah_le
post Jul 18 2015, 09:48 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jul 15 2015, 02:17 AM)
My friend also upgraded to 50Mbps package. Seems not stable. Average speed about 20-30Mbps only.
Will wait and see. He already file a complaint with TM about this.
do the TM's router unable to give wireless speed up to 50mbps? since the router only single band.. and 2x2.. with interference quite difficult to achieve wireless speed.. but the problem, TM only promise wired right? so the solution.. change router looorr
ntah_le
post Jul 22 2015, 12:37 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 22 2015, 11:23 AM)
yeah see, thats y ul useless most part. you need some sure even for gaming (cause have to transmit data for online game also even though a little). but most stuff don't need much.

i think  even 5mbps is good enough for imgur picture uploads, or email attachments.
totally agreed with you.. i think majority of the people will only consume the download. Even report from Sandvine for usage trending last year shown minimum req for upload usage..

big diff in median and mean shown minority user used significant high upload. so if we have the standard deviation.. more accurate distribution able to derive.

This post has been edited by ntah_le: Jul 22 2015, 12:38 PM

ntah_le
post Jul 22 2015, 03:54 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jul 22 2015, 03:26 PM)
Hahahaah! Very true. biggrin.gif
what i am trying to tell here.. for normal consumer just do download.. streaming.. 5Mbps upload more than enough. lets say you want to upload 1GB of file to your dropbox.. and your upload speed is 5Mbps.. in kBps it will translate to 625kBps.. but this perfect scenario. let say you only able to get 80% of your upload speed.. your speed will become 500kBps. so for 1GB file, actually with constant speed, you need ~35 minutes. still acceptable for me..

the asymmetric offering is normal for europe broadband offering due to ISPs want to differentiate the consumer internet with premium internet. if you want to host a server.. deploy your SIP infra.. better pay for the premium internet..
ntah_le
post Jul 22 2015, 06:29 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 22 2015, 05:50 PM)
was told in my area, no such package.

no 20mbps, no 50mbps. only 30mbps.

i think the offers are now slowly being rolled out selectively, limited or no choice for:

.. area
.. speed type
.. hypptv pack
50mbps only available on FTTH (fiber). maybe you stay at hi rise building (copper)

0.0222sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:19 PM