Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V20, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

Ahmaz
post Jan 19 2015, 10:18 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(MrPotato1990 @ Jan 19 2015, 09:06 PM)
Good to hear then.. I was always afraid in downloading large volume of data..

It's a no brainer if they want to impose that quota limit. Nowadays even one game can be up to 40 GB, even more.
Erm. Bandwidth quota is not the same as a game's installation size.

If you really mean a game eats up to 40GB of internet quota.. that must be a really crap/unoptimised game. Not even MMOs get even close to that.
Ahmaz
post Jan 19 2015, 11:55 PM

500 posts

Oh, sorry.. I misunderstood you.. I thought you meant playing games ate up your quota up to 40GB... You meant downloading them... haha!
Ahmaz
post Jan 25 2015, 11:37 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Jan 25 2015, 10:00 AM)
All sifu, I just bought Asus n18u router. After all wired plug. I cannot connect to internet via laptop wifi.

What are the parameter need to set up in router? I noob in networking.

The connection type is pppoe?.
Yes, pppoe.

You'll need to enter your unifi username and password provided as well
Ahmaz
post Jan 31 2015, 01:11 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(vaizard @ Jan 31 2015, 01:10 AM)
guys..need help...how do guys pay the monthly bill....can i pay using maybank2u?Thank you...
Yes you can.
Ahmaz
post Feb 2 2015, 10:37 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(thx @ Feb 2 2015, 05:13 PM)
hi .. now unifi has package rm209 for vip10 with 88 tv channels ... anyone know what channels is that .. tq
Most likely this (Ja-Jumbo deal)
https://www.tm.com.my/jajumbo/Pages/index.html

This post has been edited by Ahmaz: Feb 2 2015, 10:37 PM
Ahmaz
post Feb 5 2015, 10:03 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(sarumanthewhite @ Feb 5 2015, 06:05 PM)
If anyone could help me here, that would be damn great. I've tried fixing this problem sine October 2014 but it still persists.

Watching streams on Twitch.tv.
Before October 14', I could watch any twitch.tv stream on source quality (Highest). October 14' on wards however, I can only load medium streams and that also it buffers every 5-7 seconds. I've tried blocking the twitch IP via windows firewall to fix it but same problem.

I subscribe to 10mbps.
I have 5 handphone and 3 laptops connected. (Even if only one laptop is on, still wont load).
If I use my uMobile data or if I go my uni and load it, can stream on source quality.
PLEASE HELP ME sad.gif

Edit: Nothing changed on October 2014, I just noticed I couldnt watch streams anymore on that date.
It could be routing issue.
Unifi having underground submarine cable problems at the moment
Ahmaz
post Feb 14 2015, 03:53 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Feb 14 2015, 02:45 PM)
use this
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/tools/rankers/router/view
sort by price (just as a reference). select by what class router your looking for e.g. AC1900 etc....

Make sure it's a model supported by shibby's tomato firmware
http://tomato.groov.pl/?page_id=69
double check in shibby forum to see if the router you picked is stable or not
http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threa...releases.33858/
then google search for lowyat or malaysian stores selling the router to check the price
seems to me though you should bump up your budget to rm4xx  hmm.gif

for high end routers is rm6xx-7xx
you also need to verify what it is you want to get out of your router and adjust budget accordingly to get it

1. ethernet port speeds. 10/100/1000mb ( 100-1000 is fine, but if you get 100, your local networking speed will be much slower. but if your okay with that, it's perfectly fine for unifi broadband that isn't yet up to 100, but 100 unifi broadband is due soon, so your router won't be future proof when faster speeds become available)

2. maximum simultaenous connections ( this is the number of connections your router can handle. this is usually important for torrenting. my router can support 30k + older models use to support around 8k. you need something within this range or better if you expect to torrent well)

3. do you want to be able to install third party firmware ? (the advantage of third party firmware, is you can install either dd-wrt or tomato. I would strongly recommend tomato because it has better qos features, not to mention a better speed monitor. You can also save logs of your monthly broadband usage to use as evidence of any possible throttling when wanting to make complaints to tmnut or mcmc backedup by logs as proof)

4. flash memory and ram.... the hardware specs people usually look at.
5. router throughput is 3 things. download, upload and maximum. each of the router reviews will show you these values, so you can understand how the routers real life performance.
6. wireless. the current wireless standard is wireless ac. the previous was wireless n. for performance i suggest getting a wireless ac router ...... though your other devices will need to support wireless ac e.g. wireless usb adapters, or integrated wireless adapters in your mobile devices.
PS: to get a router to work on unifi you need to setup vlan tagging. this is possible on both dd-wrt and tomato firmware.
Moogle, you sure DD-WRT supports Unifi VLAN tagging? Last i checked they don't support 3 digit VLAN tagging.. only 2?

EDIT: I'm using Asus RT-N16 atm.

This post has been edited by Ahmaz: Feb 14 2015, 03:54 PM
Ahmaz
post Feb 14 2015, 05:47 PM

500 posts

Doesn't matter for me... but when my family comes back, it matters tongue.gif Just having peace of mind for everything to work with one router would be nice
Ahmaz
post Mar 14 2015, 01:16 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Mar 14 2015, 01:07 PM)
How often do I guys switch off yr unifi? I off it daily.
Is it advisable to leave it on for months.
Never off smile.gif
Ahmaz
post Mar 14 2015, 02:42 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Mar 14 2015, 01:28 PM)
Wow!  rclxms.gif
Just make sure your modem is properly ventilated and cool... should be no problem smile.gif
Ahmaz
post Mar 15 2015, 01:22 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(ssxcool @ Mar 15 2015, 01:21 PM)
called unifi today, i thought price for 20mbps is rm199 then still need to pay additional rm60 for jumbo deal  doh.gif  doh.gif
Well duh, it's a package deal doh.gif
Ahmaz
post Apr 21 2015, 05:06 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(vanses @ Apr 21 2015, 04:51 PM)
Just received a call from TM unifi , offered 10mbps with RM169 , said if i like to upgrade to 30Mbps or 50Mbps from 10Mbps with 2 years contract there will no fine unless i downgrade
Does this mean they allow you to "upgrade" to 30/50Mbps or will they terminate your current account/line and sign up again?

Ahmaz
post Apr 21 2015, 08:56 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 21 2015, 05:25 PM)
but i thought regarless of upgrade or not sure contract renew another 2 year ma. so what is actually the diff?
Available ports.. there's a chance you get screwed (no ports) if they terminate current account and you sign up again.
QUOTE(vanses @ Apr 21 2015, 05:54 PM)
What TM staff told me its upgrade , he didn't say need to reapply
Good to know

QUOTE(Neptern @ Apr 21 2015, 06:36 PM)
We shouldn't need to reapply for faster speeds, just doesn't make sense.

Somebody go upgrade to 30mbps and see how it goes? Although the lower upload speeds is a bit of a bummer and no free landline calls...
Of course that should be the case... but we all know TM doesn't make sense right? smile.gif

The 30Mbps package interests me... I'm on 5Mbps plan anyway so moving from 5/5 to 30/5 is a net win tongue.gif
Ahmaz
post May 24 2015, 01:29 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ May 24 2015, 01:15 AM)
Some youtube videos loads ok, some don't. what's up TM or is it youtube?
Of course it's TM.

0.0519sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:19 AM