Would having a PhD/DBA deny you a job?, Corporate sector jobs
ru40342
Jan 21 2015, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(juniortok @ Jan 19 2015, 03:41 PM) I am doing a DBA with a British university, part time. I am planning my next steps too. I think, if you are doing a PHD, first, you should not be going through newspaper for job vacancies. You should have a headhunter, you should have association, you should have lots of network, so that people know what you are doing. Also, if career is important to you, please choose the right Phd topic carefully and make sure that it has bright future instead of personal interest. For example, my thesis is Real Estate Finance - because I think Asia will have a property boom (or bust) and it will have lots of activities (I could of course be wrong...)  ) Well I respectfully disagree about the phd topic selection. Without personal interest, it is hard to deal with the "onslaught" of papers we have to read through to start our paper. Then, we all know about the difficulties of actually writing the paper (framework, methods, inference omfg...) and the rejections that bound to come sooner or later by our committee. Of course relevance of topic should be carefully assessed as well but personally, I believe any topic is significant, as long as it can impact the world positively. For that, I chose a topic that has great significance but hardly any career opportunity outside academic world (shadow economy). This post has been edited by ru40342: Jan 21 2015, 09:38 PM
ru40342
Jan 22 2015, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(juniortok @ Jan 22 2015, 01:07 PM) I understand our differences. I was merely encouraging those people who do a PHD/DBA to plan their career path too. Because I have seen a lot of people, especially those from Malaysia (myself included) being very passive in their career planning. We somehow have this attitude of "I study hard, and good job will come", which I see a lot of talent wasted. There are of course people like you who prefer to stay on the academic side and focus on research. I respect that too, just that I wont do the same given my personality. I met a guy at a function around last year. He had been doing research into battery for 15 years, and you can imagine someone like me would have thought 'What a stupid topic. you have not got anything to do meh?'. The guy is now so rich because of the electric car boom in Asia...... So, you never know.  )) I see your point and fully understand it. I simply cannot convince myself to go through years of researching on topics that I am not interesting in (doctorate and post doctorate). Perhaps our view of phd study is different. Anyway good luck in your research.
ru40342
Jan 22 2015, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(juniortok @ Jan 22 2015, 01:42 PM) No no no, I am very interested in my topic, otherwise, I wont do it. I might have written it in my replies to others etc. Dont know. If you read it again, you will see that I just said we must plan the career or the publication side of things as well. Not just research. I must have misread you somewhere. Well of course we need career planning (especially at our age  ). I was required to publish my papers during my phd and in my opinion, every phd graduate should too to not only share our finding, but also experience the "deepness" of the sea of knowledge (apologize for the sudden philosophical tone  ) That being said, prepare to be rejected (countless times) by journal publishers This post has been edited by ru40342: Jan 22 2015, 01:59 PM