Dunlop Formula D05

bananabread
post Jul 25 2018, 11:19 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ Jul 25 2018, 09:34 PM)
do you mean the previous cpc2 (continental premium contact 2) doesn't feel float above 130km/h ?

How is the dry and wet grip compare between dunlop  d05 vs cpc2 ?
Good question. Cpc2 is better at this point, i used it before and i never have the float feeling, even at 150km/h. Cornering and maneuver, d05 better for me bcz harder side wall.

Cpc2 cannot tahan long, for me. I am saying all this related to my honda city, other cars might have other result bcz diff tyre size.

D05 is all round tyre. I would say perfect performance in dry and wet. So, gain some lose some.

There is no perfect tyre it doesn't exist smile.gif

This post has been edited by bananabread: Jul 25 2018, 11:22 PM
Rojak
post Jul 26 2018, 08:03 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(bananabread @ Jul 25 2018, 11:19 PM)
Good question. Cpc2 is better at this point, i used it before and  i never have the float feeling, even at 150km/h. Cornering and maneuver, d05 better for me bcz harder side wall.

Cpc2 cannot tahan long, for me. I am saying all this related to my honda city, other cars might have other result bcz diff tyre size.

D05 is all round tyre. I would say perfect performance in dry and wet. So, gain some lose some.

There is no perfect tyre it doesn't exist smile.gif
thanks for your feedback. I'm driving honda city using 185/55/R16, but not much good tyre choices.

I'm using Goodyear Excellence, after about 3-4K wearout, it getting more and more noisy.

Goodyear Excellence has hard sidewall and felt very floaty when above 110km/h, but cornering is really good and confident. I'm using 32Psi for both front and rear, if I use less than 32psi, it doesn't wear out evenly on the tyre thread.

Did you try any other tyre besides Dunlop D05 and CPC2 on your honda city ?

This post has been edited by Rojak: Jul 26 2018, 01:18 PM
halcyon27
post Jul 26 2018, 08:18 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(bananabread @ Jul 25 2018, 11:16 PM)
Mine 2017 installed yili auto Ampang. Google or carousell for them.
Thks for the heads up. 👍 BTW can you confirm the manufacturing period denoted by YYWW on the tire?

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Jul 26 2018, 08:25 AM
bananabread
post Jul 26 2018, 02:15 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ Jul 26 2018, 08:03 AM)
thanks for your feedback. I'm driving honda city  using 185/55/R16, but not much good tyre choices.

I'm using Goodyear Excellence, after about 3-4K wearout, it getting more and more noisy.

Goodyear Excellence has hard sidewall and felt very floaty when above 110km/h, but cornering is really good and confident. I'm using 32Psi for both front and rear, if I use less than 32psi, it doesn't wear out evenly on the tyre thread.

Did you try any other tyre besides Dunlop D05 and CPC2 on your honda city ?
So far no. I need recommendations for hard side wall but wont float at least 140-150 kmh
bananabread
post Jul 26 2018, 02:16 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Jul 26 2018, 08:18 AM)
Thks for the heads up. 👍 BTW can you confirm the manufacturing period denoted by YYWW on the tire?
halcyon27
post Jul 26 2018, 02:21 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(bananabread @ Jul 26 2018, 02:16 PM)
Ok, it's still ok production then. Don't know why even the two Dunlop shops I went to say no more. How much did you get it from Yi Li btw?
Rojak
post Jul 26 2018, 02:21 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(bananabread @ Jul 26 2018, 02:15 PM)
So far no. I need recommendations for hard side wall but wont float at least 140-150 kmh
My uncle suggest me to consider wider tyre size such as 195/50/R16. The handling should be better due to thinner side wall and with wider contact patch, the floaty feel should be reduce. But I don't prefer wider tyre because the car will feel heavier since it require more resistance to move due to wider tyre.
bananabread
post Jul 26 2018, 02:26 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ Jul 26 2018, 02:21 PM)
My uncle suggest me to consider wider tyre size such as 195/50/R16. The handling should be better due to thinner side wall and with wider contact patch, the floaty feel should be reduce. But I don't prefer wider tyre because the car will feel heavier since it require more resistance to move due to wider tyre.
Coreect. I eschew wider. Honda city is small and near compact. Wider meaning higher fuel consumption imho.

Who is using yokohama tyres 185/55r16 here?
Rojak
post Jul 28 2018, 04:48 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(bananabread @ Jul 26 2018, 02:26 PM)
Coreect. I eschew wider. Honda city is small and near compact. Wider meaning higher fuel consumption imho.

Who is using yokohama tyres 185/55r16 here?
I didn’t use Yokohama 185/55/R16 before. But I used Yokohama A-drive 185/60/R14 on my old car before. It’s medium sidewall hard but so far I like that coz the grip is quite reasonable especially when new.

May I know how much psi you used during using cpc2 and current Dunlop D05 ?

As I know higher psi will cause the car to have floating feel when drive high speed at highway.
bananabread
post Jul 28 2018, 10:03 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ Jul 28 2018, 04:48 PM)
I didn’t use Yokohama 185/55/R16 before. But I used Yokohama A-drive 185/60/R14 on my old car before. It’s medium sidewall hard but so far I like that coz the grip is quite reasonable especially when new.

May I know how much psi you used during using cpc2 and current Dunlop D05 ?

As I know higher psi will cause the car to have floating feel when drive high speed at highway.
Cpc2 started with 220 increase to 240 because makan thread outside.

D05 stay with 240 to 250 psi. Even.
Rojak
post Jul 28 2018, 10:45 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(bananabread @ Jul 28 2018, 10:03 PM)
Cpc2 started with 220 increase to 240 because makan thread outside.

D05 stay with 240 to 250 psi. Even.
Wow... that is quite high with (240 to 250kpa) 35 to 36psi, definitely very bumpy/floating. You may need to reduce to 32psi, about 220kpa since the recommendation is about 32psi front, 30psi rear for Honda city manual.

bananabread
post Jul 28 2018, 11:25 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Rojak @ Jul 28 2018, 10:45 PM)
Wow... that is quite high with (240 to 250kpa) 35 to 36psi, definitely very bumpy/floating. You may need to reduce to 32psi, about 220kpa since the recommendation is about 32psi front, 30psi rear for Honda city manual.
The book gave general (safety) guidance but in real, 220 psi for city drive is not suitable, as i am on the road more than 3 hours everyday. As i mentioned thread wear out from the outside. After pump 240 no issue.

I decrease to 220 when highway drive.

D05 ia half performance tyre. Too low pressure no kick smile.gif
northernhero
post Jul 29 2018, 09:50 PM

174 posts

Guys
I'm using Dunlop J05 175/65 since last May.
I've just realise that the tyre guy mistakenly fitted my tyred inside out(I can see the ''inside'' wording from the outside), can you advice is this will hurt my thread somehow?
thanks.
bananabread
post Jul 29 2018, 10:01 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(northernhero @ Jul 29 2018, 09:50 PM)
Guys
I've just realise that the tyre guy mistakenly fitted my tyred inside out(I can see the ''inside'' wording from the outside), can you advice is this will hurt my thread somehow?
thanks.
Go tyre shop to change it back
northernhero
post Jul 29 2018, 10:06 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(bananabread @ Jul 29 2018, 10:01 PM)
Go tyre shop to change it back
will do, but do you think the thread will be damaged already anyhow?
leehernandez
post Jul 30 2018, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(northernhero @ Jul 29 2018, 10:06 PM)
will do, but do you think the thread will be damaged already anyhow?
it wont damage the thread..
Ciypher
post Jul 30 2018, 11:26 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(northernhero @ Jul 29 2018, 09:50 PM)
Guys
thanks.
Also make sure that will be the last time you patronise that tyre shop....
northernhero
post Jul 30 2018, 02:18 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jul 30 2018, 10:53 AM)
it wont damage the thread..
Thanks for your reply, that's the only thing I'm worry about.

QUOTE(Ciypher @ Jul 30 2018, 11:26 AM)
Also make sure that will be the last time you patronise that tyre shop....
Yup, guess it's really true you get what you paid.
leehernandez
post Aug 4 2018, 10:32 AM

QUOTE(theonlyvin @ Mar 24 2015, 11:26 PM)
would like to know 205 55 16 price for this tyres? This tyres like very good with that price tag~
about rm230+
bananabread
post Feb 17 2019, 10:49 PM

151 posts

Awesome d05, the thread took forever to wear!

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0197sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:03 PM