11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

> No more RM50 credit card fee with GST, updated 23/3/2015

bengang14
post Mar 23 2015, 08:59 AM

209 posts

No more rm50 but will there be some service change for each transaction? Just wanna clarify
wintersoldier
post Mar 23 2015, 09:01 AM

25 posts

GST will be applied on the annual fees instead.
vin_ann
post Mar 23 2015, 09:04 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(weyyt @ Jan 12 2015, 10:30 PM)
The RM50 charged yearly for credit card, plus the RM25 for supplementary cards, will be scrapped from April 1 when the Goods and Services Tax (GST) takes effect.

Alliance Bank Malaysia Bhd said on its website that with this fee (introduced in 2010) being abolished, 6% GST will instead apply on credit card annual fees – which can range RM70 annually to over RM1,000, depending on the type of card.

“GST will not be charged on annual fees that have already been subject to the RM50 credit card service tax paid prior to April 1, 2015. GST will only be applied upon the due date of the next annual fee.”

The bank also said there is no GST charged if the annual fee is waived – as in the instance of free-for-life credit cards or those which stipulate minimum spend or transactions on a monthly or yearly basis.

To reflect the changes, the GST charged by the bank will be reflected as a separate line item in the credit card statement. “However, purchases will be reflected as a total amount inclusive of GST.”

Alliance Bank assured that if there’s a dispute over a transaction, which is later is considered valid upon investigation by the bank, the full dispute amount will be refunded – including the GST charged by the merchant.

The bank also confirmed that loyalty points or cash rebates will be given on the 6% GST paid when using the credit card for retail purchases.

http://www.therakyatpost.com/business/2015...t-card-fee-gst/

====

So it is confirmed. Syukor rclxm9.gif
+1
but will there another form of charges???
SUSweyyt
post Mar 23 2015, 04:01 PM

88 posts

updated latest news article on first post
Jeffreynsx
post Mar 24 2015, 08:38 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(techmania @ Mar 20 2015, 01:12 AM)
NOT every bank will give you waive annual fees when you call , my case few years with citibank gold card as many said just call up if they don't give say cancel cc sure they give you waive. So I called them up they denied if I wanted to waive must take RM10K(I forgot exact amount) personal loan from them with special interest. I told them don't need PL if they don't waive I want to cancel my card and CS said "Ok sir no problem we can do that before we can cancel your card our system show there are RMxxxx outstanding please clear this payment then call us back so we can proceed cancelling your card" that time I was  shocking.gif I damn angry settle and call them to cancelled!
Gov not stupid enough to abolish this tax, if GST depend on annual fees if bank waive the gov earn nothing.
The main reason is why you still having outstanding bills that yet to settle? Bank will use this method to ensure you clear off the debt before they give you privilege. doh.gif
iwubpreve
post Mar 24 2015, 08:42 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(merinyu @ Mar 23 2015, 08:37 AM)
How many of you already paid RM50 Gov Tax for 2015?

Jan - Mar 2015 - Gov Tax RM50, What happened to Apr - Dec 2015? GST?

I paid RM50 Gov Tax on Jan 2015. My annual fee was waived Mar 2015, so Apr - Dec 2015 should be exempted from GST.

Is the Gov going to refund part of RM50, only used for 3 months Jan - Mar 2015 ?! Like this, so many RAKYAT kena tipu !

Eg. 1 million credit card x RM10 already RM10 million !!!

Based on OCBC FAQ
http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/gst_faq_customers.pdf
Q31: If I have paid the annual fee and service tax before 1 April 2015, will the service tax be refunded if the Bank later approves a waiver of the annual fee?
Answer: No, a reversal of the transactions will be done by the Bank to refund the annual fee only.

Anyone else got other feedback from different bank.
think rm50 gone la. no choice mang ur anniversary fall into those months.
Jeffreynsx
post Mar 24 2015, 08:45 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jan 13 2015, 11:16 AM)
no dont, I like to see people bankrupt, fall into debt.
Plenty of youngster nowadays already falls into the trap of bankruptcy. No doubt most of it is deal with enjoy high end lifestyle. biggrin.gif

Zot
post Mar 24 2015, 08:48 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(wintersoldier @ Mar 23 2015, 09:01 AM)
GST will be applied on the annual fees instead.
For cards with no annual fee, no need pay anything? shocking.gif
Jeffreynsx
post Mar 24 2015, 08:48 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(merinyu @ Mar 23 2015, 08:37 AM)
How many of you already paid RM50 Gov Tax for 2015?

Jan - Mar 2015 - Gov Tax RM50, What happened to Apr - Dec 2015? GST?

I paid RM50 Gov Tax on Jan 2015. My annual fee was waived Mar 2015, so Apr - Dec 2015 should be exempted from GST.

Is the Gov going to refund part of RM50, only used for 3 months Jan - Mar 2015 ?! Like this, so many RAKYAT kena tipu !

Eg. 1 million credit card x RM10 already RM10 million !!!

Based on OCBC FAQ
http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/gst_faq_customers.pdf
Q31: If I have paid the annual fee and service tax before 1 April 2015, will the service tax be refunded if the Bank later approves a waiver of the annual fee?
Answer: No, a reversal of the transactions will be done by the Bank to refund the annual fee only.

Anyone else got other feedback from different bank.
For existing or those who apply before 1st April, 2015, Service Charge of RM50 will be borne by the owners.

Jeffreynsx
post Mar 24 2015, 08:49 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 24 2015, 08:48 AM)
For cards with no annual fee, no need pay anything?  shocking.gif
Yes. tongue.gif

SUSMatrix
post Mar 24 2015, 08:51 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Jan 12 2015, 10:42 PM)
Which means if im buying something, i will be charged 6% and on top of that, i will be charged another 6% from my total because im using a credit card?
No lah. If like that i potong all my cards lor.
digilife
post Mar 24 2015, 08:52 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

Should we call the bank to waive the annual fee b4 its billed into our statement with the 6% or called only when we are charged ?

If we call in to waive the annual fee after it was charged, the fee would have been charged and we still need to pay that 6% cause no rebate/reversal is be entertain later on.........

Custom Dept is not like a bank which can easily waive annual fee. icon_idea.gif

SUSMatrix
post Mar 24 2015, 08:53 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Jeffreynsx @ Mar 24 2015, 08:45 AM)
Plenty of youngster nowadays already falls into the trap of bankruptcy. No doubt most of it is deal with enjoy high end lifestyle.  biggrin.gif
Yah. Youngster now change iFong RM3K++ every year like a religious pilgramage. Best part is their new phone does pretty much the same thing their last phone did. LOL.
Jeffreynsx
post Mar 24 2015, 08:59 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 24 2015, 08:53 AM)
Yah. Youngster now change iFong RM3K++ every year like a religious pilgramage. Best part is their new phone does pretty much the same thing their last phone did. LOL.
For those youngster who have girlfriend or perhaps future wife, the spending habit is even worst and most of the time bank have little or no saving at all. At the end of the day, girlfriend unable to secure but financial statement come into a big hole....declare bankrupt and no bright future. Isn't that worth it for every ringgit you spend previously with potential risk?
Jeffreynsx
post Mar 24 2015, 09:13 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Mar 15 2015, 10:44 AM)
isn't that it is talking about the result of 6% charge is range from rm70 to rm1000+?
Grammar need to improve.
Jeffreynsx
post Mar 24 2015, 09:54 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Mar 24 2015, 08:42 AM)
think rm50 gone la. no choice mang ur anniversary fall into those months.
Nowadays RM50 is more or less able for you to enjoy 1 full day meal. If go to shopping centre to eat, perhaps 1 meal already finished the spending.

techmania
post Mar 24 2015, 01:58 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(Jeffreynsx @ Mar 24 2015, 08:38 AM)
The main reason is why you still having outstanding bills that yet to settle? Bank will use this method to ensure you clear off the debt before they give you privilege.  doh.gif
This is the latest usage eg. use on March bill not coming yet not I owed them few months outstanding I never pay min I cleared all every month. wink.gif
merinyu
post Mar 24 2015, 06:47 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Jeffreynsx @ Mar 24 2015, 09:54 AM)
Nowadays RM50 is more or less able for you to enjoy 1 full day meal. If go to shopping centre to eat, perhaps 1 meal already finished the spending.
M'sia with population of 30 million and half own credit card. Let's say 5 million credit card already paid Gov Tax RM50 for Jan-Mar 2015.

Gov revenue would be 5 million x RM50 = RM250 million for just Jan - Mar 2015. hmm.gif
xen0
post Mar 24 2015, 06:50 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

just got my cimb card (becoz got property loan from them)..can i ask rm50 waive?...its already charge on it..
Jeffreynsx
post Mar 27 2015, 02:01 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(xen0 @ Mar 24 2015, 06:50 PM)
just got my cimb card (becoz got property loan from them)..can i ask rm50 waive?...its already charge on it..
You should apply after GST implementation. Then the RM50 service charge will be waived.

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >

0.0249sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:50 AM