"QUALITY" Network
TSariyamusafir
Jan 12 2015, 11:43 AM, updated 11y ago
I have ported out from Maxis about 3 to 4 years ago. I was so angry with the customer service, not really the network quality that I finally decided porting out... I ported to Celcom given the fact that it brags being the widest coverage in Malaysia (FYI Danum Valley only Maxis has coverage as reported by my wife on a working visit there). However, with its widest coverage, I find it very frustrating that when I am in a middle of an important call to my wife (my Celcom sub-line), it gets cut off. Sometimes it goes through then, just talk 2 - 3 words, putus again. Then worse still, in the middle of a conversation where important information is required on a land-line, putus again. Then need to go through the whole automated voice machine again. So frustrated that I decided to try DiGi.
Before starting the process of porting in, I bought a prepaid and test it. It seems fine but some kampong, the internet very kuat. Some stretch, langsung tak ada. I am worried that I made the wrong decision to port to DiGi... Very concern on coverage issues.
Your experience gentlemen?
This post has been edited by ariyamusafir: Jan 12 2015, 11:44 AM
danieln
Jan 12 2015, 11:49 AM
then just go back to maxis la
TSariyamusafir
Jan 12 2015, 12:01 PM
negative, people keep on telling me Maxis quality very bad now.... a lot of drop calls...
-Shinjiz-
Jan 12 2015, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(ariyamusafir @ Jan 12 2015, 12:01 PM) negative, people keep on telling me Maxis quality very bad now.... a lot of drop calls... Since you have ported to different network before, just pick the best 'quality' network in the area that you used the most, for instance your home. Then grab another simcard of different operator that tested with better connectivity whenever you're outstation or back kampong.
TSariyamusafir
Jan 12 2015, 01:24 PM
yah.. but my parents also under my line, so.. erm... they don't like the idea of switch here and there
eikozai
Jan 13 2015, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(ariyamusafir @ Jan 12 2015, 01:24 PM) yah.. but my parents also under my line, so.. erm... they don't like the idea of switch here and there Nowadays there's Mobile Number Portability (MNP). You can change any Telco you wished to, but your numbers remained the same. For example, I got a 012 number, but its now belonging to Digi, instead of traditionally said Maxis. So u have tested DiGi via prepaid card, test it with other telcos as well, then once you've decided, u just change the Telco via MNP to maintain the ownership of your number.
fireballs
Jan 13 2015, 01:56 PM
there is no prefect network. sure have some shortcoming best solution is to have dual sim phone
reoz
Jan 14 2015, 11:05 AM

I got no problems with celcom. Dont like maxis as their call or internet sucks. digi not bad nowadays, this surprised me.
SUSsupersound
Jan 14 2015, 05:18 PM
Using Maxis now, dropped calls are quite often.
treblecase
Jan 14 2015, 08:38 PM
Dropped calls on maxis is very frequent especially on the move at the North South expressway. Disappointing
darkskies
Jan 14 2015, 09:52 PM
In bolehland, they all have the same quality. You switch where also same .
treblecase
Jan 14 2015, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 14 2015, 09:52 PM) In bolehland, they all have the same quality. You switch where also same . I kinda agree with this. Ive used all Maxis, Celcom & Digi & all left a lot to be desired.
weng_viva2
Jan 14 2015, 10:38 PM
4 telco i had been use before,(within 1 year) My experience, Maxis sometime will drop call at outside,and good in office or in house(not my house and office only).
Digi less drop call at outside,but drop call too often in house and office(not my house and office only),even i pass road below highway bridge!
Celcom is good coverage and stable signal in kampong area,in klang valley,so far so good.But the customer service really sucks!
Umobile-sometime will drop call when my phone network setting using 3G mode(3G not stable,keep changing 2G/3G always.
conclusion,in malaysia,no perfect telco!!
treblecase
Jan 15 2015, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(weng_viva2 @ Jan 14 2015, 10:38 PM) 4 telco i had been use before,(within 1 year) My experience, Maxis sometime will drop call at outside,and good in office or in house(not my house and office only). Digi less drop call at outside,but drop call too often in house and office(not my house and office only),even i pass road below highway bridge! Celcom is good coverage and stable signal in kampong area,in klang valley,so far so good.But the customer service really sucks! Umobile-sometime will drop call when my phone network setting using 3G mode(3G not stable,keep changing 2G/3G always. conclusion,in malaysia,no perfect telco!! Sad but true
vexus
Jan 15 2015, 11:54 PM
my answer to you is NONE
mytaffeta
Jan 17 2015, 12:54 AM
tested 2 telco, from maxis to celcom (3weeks) then back to maxis :
maxis : call drop and sound breaking very often, even in klang valley.. make call when in car? bttr dont or u be mad.. lol.. as for data plan, far better than celcom.. wide LTE coverage and quite stable..
celcom : been their cust for 3 weeks, call is good.. no prob making call when moving around.. but their internet is very very poor (cyberjaya, seri kembangan, KV).. cant even get stable 3G/HSDPA.. dont even mention LTE..
since internet is more important for me, am returned to red clan..
Sky.Live
Jan 17 2015, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(weng_viva2 @ Jan 14 2015, 10:38 PM) 4 telco i had been use before,(within 1 year) My experience, Maxis sometime will drop call at outside,and good in office or in house(not my house and office only). Digi less drop call at outside,but drop call too often in house and office(not my house and office only),even i pass road below highway bridge! Celcom is good coverage and stable signal in kampong area,in klang valley,so far so good.But the customer service really sucks! Umobile-sometime will drop call when my phone network setting using 3G mode(3G not stable,keep changing 2G/3G always. conclusion,in malaysia,no perfect telco!! Not sure where you can find the perfect telco.. When I was oversea their mobile packages are much much complicated.. Calling their call center is not free either..
treblecase
Jan 17 2015, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 17 2015, 02:11 AM) Not sure where you can find the perfect telco.. When I was oversea their mobile packages are much much complicated.. Calling their call center is not free either.. That's because they provide quality cell network with excellent coverage. I sometimes can't even make a call from my house.
tolaktakjatuh
Jan 20 2015, 08:18 PM
Used Giffgaff 3G prepaid plan at £18/mo (promo, original price £20/mo) while in the UK, got unlimited text, unlimited 3G data.
Full coverage mostly everywhere went.
Hope we'll see this kind of plan in Malaysia.
This post has been edited by tolaktakjatuh: Jan 20 2015, 08:20 PM
Sky.Live
Jan 21 2015, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(tolaktakjatuh @ Jan 20 2015, 08:18 PM) Used Giffgaff 3G prepaid plan at £18/mo (promo, original price £20/mo) while in the UK, got unlimited text, unlimited 3G data. Full coverage mostly everywhere went. Hope we'll see this kind of plan in Malaysia. Used to be 12 pounds last year. No coverage in UK sucks either.. there's many dodgy place without much reception.. if you have dug deep enough