Samsung Galaxy Note 4 Official Thread V6, 4th Generation Phablet by Samsung

benny888
post Jan 7 2015, 07:29 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Greenify Pro allows you to hibernate system app which is usually greatest contributor to battery drain
Personally I find it pointless to use Greenify as is simply a half baked solution. If you really need to control battery drain you must root phone n install xposed mod cum greenify pro.
If you are worried about warranty than just don't root phone.
I have tested several battery drain control app without root n seriously all are just useless
benny888
post Jan 7 2015, 11:20 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(KMercury @ Jan 7 2015, 10:34 AM)
Uncle Benny, i can't remember one of the Xposed module that you recommend last time for battery saving. Its not intelli3g. What is the name?
I only use greenify pro n intelli3g : this is good enough for me
You can try amplify which need xposed mod
Don't believe in using too many of such app as it will screwup your file system.
I know of one guy who install so many such battery saving app that it doesn't help at all
Manual settings of app refresh time is critical too. Don't be surprised some app actively refresh data even every 5 mins !! Just change the time to a value you really need
benny888
post Jan 7 2015, 11:23 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Jan 7 2015, 11:09 AM)
Which system app that you normally greenify?
Most of it as prompted by wakelocks detector eg google search, playstore, Google+ , calendar stuffs etc. I practically hibernate all that is listed except whatsapp n greenify only
benny888
post Jan 9 2015, 06:48 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Kucuboy: seriously no need guts to test those stuffs I mentioned. It would not harm phone. Just uninstall any of it if you find it doesn't help. I used them in all my past Androids too n is a proven solution for me

benny888
post Jan 9 2015, 03:22 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(numanuma @ Jan 9 2015, 03:07 PM)
I just did a factory reset but it still in ANL2. Not sure what is the initial firmware when i got it out of the box.
Factory reset will not change your baseband or firmware version unless you had flashed a different version of them
benny888
post Jan 9 2015, 03:31 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Based on my ex Note4 n current Note Edge usage this is my opinion on battery SOT:

Less than 3 hours : very poor
3-4 hours : poor
4-5 hours : average
5-6 hours : above average
Above 6 hours : good
I remember seeing one user posting here nearly 7 hours SOT
Personally my SOT averages 5-6 hours with 80% stuffs on internet based stuffs, ebooks, some videos n no gaming. Internet stuffs with need to use 3g or wifi will use more battery vs say reading ebooks
benny888
post Jan 9 2015, 03:31 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Those who are unable to control their battery usage can always get an additional battery
I got a spare but only used once when I was at Spore
Or have a powerbank with you in your bag

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 9 2015, 03:37 PM
benny888
post Jan 10 2015, 01:13 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ooikeat @ Jan 10 2015, 01:04 PM)
So far got any solution how to improve voice call quality? So far have no dropped calls yet but other party side sometimes claims hear loud and soft voice. No voice quality impact on my side, their voice is clear. Happens when the signal bar is 0-2. When I walked to a better signal location 2-3 bars, the voice quality improves. Disappointed when a phone can't perform its basic function. Maxis user here
Just go claim warranty as is obviously phone hardware issues
I never had such issues at all on my ex Note4 n present Note Edge
benny888
post Jan 11 2015, 10:24 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Jan 11 2015, 10:15 AM)
I would like to ask is it worth to upgrade Note 3 to Note 4.

I checked all the video except for QHD display and Snapdragon 805 and Adrenno 320

Nothing much different. Even looks exactly as note 3
The Note4 is overall a better phone than Note3. You cannot view and judge by merely looking at specs alone. The S Pen sensitivity advances alone is a great improvement
Just ask yourself - are you happy with the Note 3 ? If you are, don't bother to upgrade
Do you have the extra cash to burn to upgrade ? If you have, just go ahead. If your budget is tight , than is not a necessity

benny888
post Jan 11 2015, 04:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(gunblade99 @ Jan 11 2015, 04:24 PM)
The worst thing has happen to me! Does the Note 4 warranty include water damage?
No. Even Sony with its waterproof features doesn't allow such claims unless one can proof is phone defect that allows water be seeped in.
benny888
post Jan 11 2015, 06:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jan 11 2015, 06:07 PM)
The smell you talking about is normal. The material used this time is much better than the normal one. When you pull out still smell something like new phone. The SC already confirm. Only certain phone will get this smell.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Smell is normal ?? I will claim warranty if I had such a problem. Never had such issues since my first Note1

benny888
post Jan 16 2015, 11:44 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

To most new users of Android : not neccessary at all to check your ram balance. Your phone has more than enough ram n just allow phone OS to auto manage. DO NOT even ever install any auto task killers or ram cleaner/managers - these stuffs only drain your battery. If you think it helps, is only an illusion
You can easily google why all these are unnecessary
The problem is many users still think Android OS is exactly like Windows

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 16 2015, 11:45 AM
benny888
post Jan 16 2015, 02:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(how5day @ Jan 16 2015, 02:04 PM)
sorry.. may i ask.. is greenify consider an app killer oso?
No. It only hibernate app. Use it only if you wish to have lesser battery drain on standby mode.
benny888
post Jan 16 2015, 05:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(FirHan808 @ Jan 16 2015, 05:34 PM)
uncle benny888 which 1 will u recommend? 6plus or n4? i'm currently WP 1020 user...think wanna upgrade my phone between this two
Ip6+ for its better battery life n slight better audio
If you can accept ip6 restrictive file system it is a good phone. File restrictive system :
- you cannot attach any file except for video n photos in mail app. There is a backdoor but inefficient way to do it. For multiple attachment you need to use a paid app multiattachment ontop of mail app
- you must assign any file more than a time if you wish to open it with another app. Eg a pdf file if assigned to app A only app A can open it. If you wish to use app B you need to copy file over again to phone n assign the new app to it. You need iTunes in PC to manage your files well.
- you will be unable to locate easily files downloaded as lacking a file explorer. All 3rd party file app equally hopeless. Phone cannot detect external usb storage through usb otg adapter
- sharing of info from fb, tweeter, rss feeds etc is very poor n if can share is long winded process
- if u whatsapp a lot all your photo n video lump together in camera folder
I gave up ip6+ mainly because of above issues. Ip6 fans will tell you to adapt n change to use it
Note4 is a good phone too but without above limitations
Your choice will depend on OS preference
Unlike the old days before jellybean , android os has improved a lot n is quite stable. However if you install unofficial app sometimes it could cause stability issues

benny888
post Jan 17 2015, 08:57 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jan 17 2015, 08:46 AM)
How about battery doctor? Is it also considered as auto task killer?
I had never use this app before but based on description it functions too as task killer
I only use greenify pro n intelli3g app with xposed mod to solely control battery drain on standby. This combo works very well on all my Androids I had used to date

I do not use any other app to manage phone ram, memory etc as Google themselves do not recommend such stuffs. I do not even use Samsung default power saving features as the app combo I had mentioned is sufficiently good for me

benny888
post Jan 17 2015, 09:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(-Aktan- @ Jan 17 2015, 09:51 AM)
Uncle Benny, for lollipop devices, only greenify is working right? We cant use intelli3g and xposed framework... It's sad..
Xposed framework is incompatible yet for lollipop
benny888
post Jan 20 2015, 07:19 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mangoheng @ Jan 19 2015, 10:36 PM)
I also tried greenify , didnt notice any difference at all and i always tap to hibernate all before lock screen...

the problem is SOT though...  i didnt on auto brightness and my brightness is always at <40% yet i cant get more than 4 hours SOT....
It is obvious plenty of active wakelocks in background
This phone at least 4-5 hours SOT
Check all app that could be actively refreshing data in background. Some app by default even every 5 mins n others every 15min to an hour. Check their update settings n change it to a value you need. Example you don't need weather to refresh every half hour or a newsfeed every 10 mins??
Disable location/GPS, bluetooth, google sync if you don't need these
If your phone is rooted installed wakelocks detector n xposed mod cum greenify pro n intelli3g or amplify app. This will reduce very much battery drain on standby mode. You should get another 1-2 hours extra SOT with this

benny888
post Jan 27 2015, 10:07 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jan 27 2015, 09:50 AM)
Note 4 is a great phone. Go ahead if u absolutely need 2 sims on a single phone 

If u can live with carrying 2 phones then SME single sim version will give u peace of mind when it comes to warranty and software. If u don't understand mandarin and not familiar with android I suggest not to go with dual sim China version
If the set is default China set it won't have all Google app ESP without playstore. One would need to install CWM n installed gapps package
_
benny888
post Jan 28 2015, 09:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

It is not necessary a more superior specs phone is always better. I had never used the Note4 /or Edge as the main daily phone and always prefer the lower specs Mate7
I just feel more comfortable using the Mate7
benny888
post Jan 28 2015, 09:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Deleted - double post

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 28 2015, 09:07 AM