Nokia New Nokia N95 - official, again

Survivor
post Apr 5 2007, 11:00 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Apr 5 2007, 10:58 AM)
i cant do anything without the internet settigns!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

btw.... i got 3G sign... this morning got E sign. lol.. edge
Mine too. The Maxis 3G settings are all inside the phone by default dy, but when i try to connect to the internet, it gave me something like packet cannot connect error....grrrr....
hbong
post Apr 5 2007, 11:09 AM

54 posts

RM 3,200 too expensive la... Can get it for RM 3075 Zitron.. PM me for detials rclxms.gif
minde
post Apr 5 2007, 11:10 AM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

i went to maxis today . they set for me edi . now can mms and all . Smashpop, go Maxis.

The defaulted one i think from previous nokia phones . not for N95.

This post has been edited by minde: Apr 5 2007, 11:12 AM
aruja_69
post Apr 5 2007, 11:12 AM

3,786 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Apr 5 2007, 11:00 AM)
Mine too. The Maxis 3G settings are all inside the phone by default dy, but when i try to connect to the internet, it gave me something like packet cannot connect error....grrrr....
Try to use "always ask" under access point. Do it manual lor. It is ok for me..

Added on April 5, 2007, 11:14 am
QUOTE(hbong @ Apr 5 2007, 11:09 AM)
RM 3,200 too expensive la... Can get it for RM 3075 Zitron.. PM me for detials  rclxms.gif
Seem the price is dropping everyday for N95....poor AP set....hehehe !!!

This post has been edited by aruja_69: Apr 5 2007, 11:14 AM
snakevenom
post Apr 5 2007, 11:22 AM

SO MANY STARS!!
1,121 posts

wah u all get already ah? how's the battery life?
Shinichi
post Apr 5 2007, 11:25 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

any cons of n95 other than the loose slider? battery life how?
aruja_69
post Apr 5 2007, 11:27 AM

3,786 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 5 2007, 11:25 AM)
any cons of n95 other than the loose slider? battery life how?
It is quite early to give comments bcos most of us just got the phone 1 -2 days. Maybe next week, some of the user will give the comments about the battery life.
StratOS
post Apr 5 2007, 11:38 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

yea.. its still too early to give reviews on n95.. need wait a month or so then can see the cons of the slider or firmware..
smashpOp
post Apr 5 2007, 12:05 PM

smashing pOpstar
2,116 posts

i can say now. the slider is loose. totally dissapointed. 3k phone.. cant even make slider like e65...
jehutyz
post Apr 5 2007, 12:11 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Apr 5 2007, 12:05 PM)
i can say now. the slider is loose. totally dissapointed. 3k phone.. cant even make slider like e65...
SO fast.....
that is a big dissapointment.....
StratOS
post Apr 5 2007, 12:14 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

the slider not as loose as nokia 6280 i used to use it b4.. but still okla.. for a 2 way slide phone..
kelvin9986
post Apr 5 2007, 12:17 PM

r3t|R3d p|ggy(R)
3,572 posts

2 way ? meaning can slide up and down ? unsure.gif
iRonTech
post Apr 5 2007, 12:24 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

How is N95 battery life lasting? w 3G vs w/o 3G???
smashpOp
post Apr 5 2007, 12:29 PM

smashing pOpstar
2,116 posts

QUOTE(kelvin9986 @ Apr 5 2007, 12:17 PM)
2 way ? meaning can slide up and down ? unsure.gif
omg... after we talk about n95 for so many motnhs... u dono any dual slide?

okok

let me educate you..

slide down

slide up

faham?
aruja_69
post Apr 5 2007, 12:33 PM

3,786 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Apr 5 2007, 12:29 PM)
omg... after we talk about n95 for so many motnhs... u dono any dual slide?

okok

let me educate you..

slide down

slide up

faham?
Am I in the right forum??? Got classes also...keep up the good work.
Eddx
post Apr 5 2007, 12:35 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

^ ur in the right forum laugh.gif
any1 tried 3.5G wif it yet?
Kerry1136
post Apr 5 2007, 12:37 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Man u guys really can spend 3k on a phone....props to u guys....I wish I had 3k....I work my butt off also cannot get 3k....
sunauto
post Apr 5 2007, 12:59 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

RM3K might be pricey but then, it doesn't mean that it's not within your reach, some hp shops give installment plans up to 24 months or more. Of course, if you don't really use all the functions offered by N95 then I would suggest that you should get other models which are more practical. N95 might be a perfect phone if it has a touchscreen because surfing the net would be more convenient this way and if there's a bluetooth keyboard, that will be even better. Of course, this might bump the price beyond the RM4K mark. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Apr 5 2007, 12:37 PM)
Man u guys really can spend 3k on a phone....props to u guys....I wish I had 3k....I work my butt off also cannot get 3k....
stringfellow
post Apr 5 2007, 01:01 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Got mine yesterday.

For those with problems with 3G, i have encountered it as well. Mine is Celcom 3G. Went to the Celcom's Menara Naluri in Jalan Ampang, and they were baffled as well initially (besides admiring the new N95 tongue.gif) Upon checking their KB, they notice a new email just received today (what stroke of luck, same day as the N95 release day) that for those with N95, it cannot support 3G 256k sim card, and have to change back to 128k. I've encountered numerous errors described above, and after changing to the 128k sim card, it works flawlessly. Now only waiting for Celcom to release their 3GX/HSDPA service to general public.

Impressions on the phone? Yes, the slider is loose, but no more looser than any PDA phone with slideout keyboards that i've tried. Not sure if anyone else's units are much worse. Pictures taken with the camera exhibits the dreaded "watercolor" effect/symptoms, which is poor compared to the N93i's "excellent but 3.2MPx only" results.

Like i have suspected before, the GPS takes a loooooooooooooooooooooooong time before acquiring a 3D fix (meaning an exact lat/long locator fix) compared to a simpler N93i + Garmin BT GPS solution i used before. Simple fix to this is to pair the Garmin BT GPS to the N95, and it acquaires GPS fix waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay faster. 2 GPS mapping applications are installed, Navfone and Nokia Maps. Both are comparable to each other, but i'll be using more Nokia Maps while im working and nightstopping overseas and Navfone while im back home in KL. These two solutions are casual entry-level compared to a dedicated GPS devices (which costs cheaper when paired with a decent cellphone only device).

Cant comment much yet on the camera, since i used it sparingly. Surfing is as fast as on my N93i. I could tranfer all the apps i bought from Handango with ease to the N95, no worries here, as well as all the necessary contacts, SMSes and other important files. I dont listen to music much on my phone so the media button slider wont be used much as well.

Several new additions like Hot Sites (update that and you will see more sites popping up like BBC News, CNet Asia, Discovery Channel, Financial Times, MSN Malaysia, Universal Music, Yahoo! MY to complement the usual Nokia NSeries and Nokia Malaysia), Video Center for you to upload and download your recorded and stored movies, Podcasting, IM (although i have yet to be able to configure it to log onto my Yahoo! ID, i'll be skipping this in favour of Yahoo! Go Gamma once it is available for N95), and Amazon Anywhere (this is an excellent addition to me, since i order lots of items such as Blurays and HDDVDs from Amazon). Gizmo VOIP is also available for that Internel VOIP calls, so you save on your phone bills, but not on your battery life. tongue.gif Wireless Bluetooth Keyboard support is directly built-in , unlike the N93i which you had to install. There is also a Search feature that immedialy links you to a Yahoo! search engine built into the phone, as well as a pretty detailed map viewer embedded into this feature (once you have selected country/region) that displays the immediate area you selected. My house street is displayed so im happy. tongue.gif

The rest are all the same as per what is included in the phones from N91 up till now.

The OS feels very snappy, no waiting for the next page to show up here. I've installed my usual suite of apps that i need, and still works as fast as when i received it.

I'll be discovering more with this phone, so i'll pop back in here once in a while to post what i have found. Oh and another thing, i managed to installed Yahoo! Go on my N93i, but i cant install it on N95. Last time i did it for N93i, it wasnt supported either but i cannot recall how i did it, either through the mobile web browser on the phone or through a Java jar/jad file or Sisx installation file. Anyone has any ideas on getting Yahoo! Go on the N95? unsure.gif

Added on April 5, 2007, 1:16 pmAnd oh, the reason i see a lot of cases where batteries run flat quicker than advertised is that the user probably left the GPS app running in the background. The GPS apps would then be constantly searching for a fix even while that user is indoors, which results in looping of satellite searches which in turn eats up battery life. Always make it a habit to close apps you dont use.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 5 2007, 01:16 PM
limyusiong
post Apr 5 2007, 02:10 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Apr 5 2007, 12:59 PM)
RM3K might be pricey but then, it doesn't mean that it's not within your reach, some hp shops give installment plans up to 24 months or more. Of course, if you don't really use all the functions offered by N95 then I would suggest that you should get other models which are more practical. N95 might be a perfect phone if it has a touchscreen because surfing the net would be more convenient this way and if there's a bluetooth keyboard, that will be even better.  Of course, this might bump the price beyond the RM4K mark.  sweat.gif
yes, agree wif u..after experience wifi on previous n80, i decided switch it bak to PPC wif wifi, touch screen is much more convenient when surfing....my own experience n comment...tq

Added on April 5, 2007, 2:11 pmstringfellow, ru mean tat 5.0MP pic quality by n95 is onli comparable with n93i 3.2 MP/ k800 3.2 MP???

This post has been edited by limyusiong: Apr 5 2007, 02:11 PM

94 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:34 AM