Nokia New Nokia N95 - official, again

unknowndevices
post Mar 7 2007, 07:22 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(love_hina @ Mar 7 2007, 01:35 PM)
Just went to Seremban Terminal one Nokia's shop. They said N95 is not available yet. Even it's available, they will not dare to buy the phone from the factory because it's could be very expensive and no one will buy for it. .. sad news for me then ...
guess...you need to come down to KL,either Sg.Wang or Lowyat... tongue.gif
but don't drive down everyweek...send spy to check it's availability... laugh.gif

waaaaaaaaaaaa....when exactly Nokia is selling this product in the market... sad.gif
................... yawn.gif

minde
post Mar 7 2007, 10:11 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

heard from outside this sub-forum got ppl sell N95 AP for 2.8k . Check it out at the main forum.
Saigo
post Mar 8 2007, 01:18 AM

Traveller
635 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 7 2007, 11:30 AM)
That- versus turning on the built-in GPS and trying to get a signal in for so long and eating up battery power as well? Good luck! wink.gif

I can have crappy built-in GPS, but if it doesnt do what it is SUPPOSED to do, what is the point including it in the package? BT GPS , if you have used it in real life, does not gobble up battery power like mad, it only detect satellite ephemeris every 30 second or so to update your relative position. I have tried it , and the effect , also exists, is negligible. Having it built-in does not mean it's power-saving, ESPECIALLY on chipsets that are less sensitive and requires longer periods of time to obtain satellite fix.

Of course, you need a good BT GPS to make use of power-saving features it has. My Garmin Mobile 10X BT GPS is clever enough to know when it is not getting ANY satellite fix and turns itself off, effective saving power to the BT pairing.

So, which do you prefer:-

A - An external BT GPS devices paired to your phone, that is super-sensitive and obtain satellite lock in less than a minute, and as quoted by you, "eats battery power"

OR

B - A built-in GPS chipset that is less sensitive, requires turning it on longer to get satellite position lock, and still eats battery power

Solutions like Holux GPSlim units and Garmin Mobile 10X even allows you to pair it with other devices like PDAs and mobile laptops , not just phones. My Garmin even comes with a clip-on that i can clip on my shirt, and still look unobtrusive.
You've got some good points.

I don't know how large external GPS devices are, but I just don't like the idea of having to carry an external thing all around everytime. What if I want to use GPS but conveniently forgot to bring it along? Which is why an all-in-one device would work perfectly for forgetful people like yours truly, although after hearing you saying that the GPS chip that comes with N95 is weak, I'm having 2nd thoughts.

FYI, I'm using P990i which is using Symbian UIQ3, and I don't think there are any maps (or programs using maps for that matter) released for UIQ3 yet, no?
stringfellow
post Mar 8 2007, 01:49 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The Garmin Mobile 10X and the Holux GPSlim are both small enough , they are clip-ons, instead of taking up space as big as a deck of cards. The Garmin even comes with clips for you to clip it onto your shirt, so it is small enough to do that. If you are that forgetful then feel free to subscribe to a more inferior solution than a better one. Personally, i see this as a habitual issue rather than technical, and habits can be shaped and trained.

What guarantees are there that if you are as forgetful as you are that you would forget to even bring your N95 with you? If you can train your mind to be habitual about remembering to bring around your cellphone with you, the same thought process can be applied to carrying not only a BT GPS, but any other things for that matter. To me, this issue is trivial at best, more like laziness than physical weakness.

Would you forget to bring your house keys? Or your car keys? Or your ID card? How did you train your mind to carry out these routine habits? The same thing can be applied to your BT GPS. Heck, have the P990i remind you every single time you plan to go hiking or using GPS with you, to bring it along for the trip? How much more difficult can that be? Personally, i see people using the "forgetful" line of thought as an escape clause as just not willing to consider other alternatives and wanting to be comfortable with their comfort zones.

Hell, why do i even bother? Im already migrating to a standalone GPS unit, two actually, the Garmin Nuvi 360 and the Garmin GPSMap 60CSx. Both are the Cadillacs of their kinds, although the Nuvi 360 has been slightly overtaken by its widescreen cousin, the Nuvi 610/660. Google them if you need to know what these are.

And oh, i must ask you what are your plans with the GPS in the N95? Most use them for autorouting, a feature used for navigating roads while driving around in your car. Consider this, if your built-in GPS is inferior and weak in taking in satellite reception, and prone to losing satellite fix due to its inferior chipset, what use is GPS in your phone other than a useless lump of silicone attached to a bunch of maps? GPS only find its usefulness when it is WORKING, and for inferior chipsets, even being in the shadow of tall high-rise buildings will render it unservicable. Same case applies for those using it to wander around in strange unfamiliar places, what use does it have if it keeps on losing satellite fix and you end up scratching your head wondering where the hell you are? wink.gif
chtan
post Mar 8 2007, 08:10 AM

2,353 posts

If you plan to use the N95 GPS with auto-route in your car please do make sure that your car wind shield is not tinted with metalized film or you can have a very hard time of getting a satelite signal. Plus you won't want to put your N95 on the dashboard under our super lovely sunny weather or you might ended up with RM3K turkey.
kInOzAwA
post Mar 8 2007, 08:18 AM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
wait for the priced drop.... it took age for that.... cry.gif
iRonTech
post Mar 8 2007, 08:26 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(kInOzAwA @ Mar 8 2007, 08:18 AM)
drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
wait for the priced drop.... it took age for that....  cry.gif
N95 available on 1st April?
kInOzAwA
post Mar 8 2007, 08:28 AM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

if available then, the price is surely high.. i will wait it drop till RM2000++ before get it in my hand... lol
Saigo
post Mar 8 2007, 07:22 PM

Traveller
635 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 8 2007, 01:49 AM)
The Garmin Mobile 10X and the Holux GPSlim are both small enough , they are clip-ons, instead of taking up space as big as a deck of cards. The Garmin even comes with clips for you to clip it onto your shirt, so it is small enough to do that. If you are that forgetful then feel free to subscribe to a more inferior solution than a better one. Personally, i see this as a habitual issue rather than technical, and habits can be shaped and trained.

What guarantees are there that if you are as forgetful as you are that you would forget to even bring your N95 with you? If you can train your mind to be habitual about remembering to bring around your cellphone with you, the same thought process can be applied to carrying not only a BT GPS, but any other things for that matter. To me, this issue is trivial at best, more like laziness than physical weakness.

Would you forget to bring your house keys? Or your car keys? Or your ID card? How did you train your mind to carry out these routine habits? The same thing can be applied to your BT GPS. Heck, have the P990i remind you every single time you plan to go hiking or using GPS with you, to bring it along for the trip? How much more difficult can that be? Personally, i see people using the "forgetful" line of thought as an escape clause as just not willing to consider other alternatives and wanting to be comfortable with their comfort zones.

Hell, why do i even bother? Im already migrating to a standalone GPS unit, two actually, the Garmin Nuvi 360 and the Garmin GPSMap 60CSx. Both are the Cadillacs of their kinds, although the Nuvi 360 has been slightly overtaken by its widescreen cousin, the Nuvi 610/660. Google them if you need to know what these are.

And oh, i must ask you what are your plans with the GPS in the N95? Most use them for autorouting, a feature used for navigating roads while driving around in your car. Consider this, if your built-in GPS is inferior and weak in taking in satellite reception, and prone to losing satellite fix due to its inferior chipset, what use is GPS in your phone other than a useless lump of silicone attached to a bunch of maps? GPS only find its usefulness when it is WORKING, and for inferior chipsets, even being in the shadow of tall high-rise buildings will render it unservicable. Same case applies for those using it to wander around in strange unfamiliar places, what use does it have if it keeps on losing satellite fix and you end up scratching your head wondering where the hell you are? wink.gif
Like I've mentioned before, I'll wait for detailed reviews before deciding if I need this.

There are few things I always bring along wherever I go - and one of them is definitely my handphone. Ask anyone around you and you'll find almost nobody leaves their house without their phone no matter how forgetful they are - wait, I think I'm not gonna bother arguing.

You mentioned that people use "forgetfulness" as an escape clause and not wanting to consider other alternatives - the thing is, I am considering other alternatives, or have you not noticed that?

Different people have different needs and wants, and I sure as hell don't think I'm the type that wants to buy an external GPS device that probably wouldn't work on a UIQ3-based phone (no good mapping programs), which you seemed to have neglected to notice. I want an all-in-one device, and if N95's GPS is as inferior as you say, then I'll just look around or wait for better devices - or seriously consider an external one.

I plan to use GPS (whether external or N95 or other phones) for autorouting - that's for sure. Plus how certain are you anyway that N95's GPS chipset would be 'inferior' when the actual phone isn't even out here yet?

This post has been edited by Saigo: Mar 8 2007, 07:29 PM
unknowndevices
post Mar 8 2007, 07:39 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Mar 8 2007, 08:26 AM)
N95 available on 1st April?
says who?...where you got the information from? hmm.gif
but beware of that date...scared Nokia gonna trick us... tongue.gif
Intrigue
post Mar 8 2007, 08:36 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

arghh.. already lose interest in it. Might as well get a N73ME
Shinichi
post Mar 8 2007, 09:08 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Mar 8 2007, 08:36 PM)
arghh.. already lose interest in it. Might as well get a N73ME
maybe after cebit 2007 more ppl will lose interest on n95 tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Mar 9 2007, 02:52 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Mar 8 2007, 08:10 AM)
If you plan to use the N95 GPS with auto-route in your car please do make sure that your car wind shield is not tinted with metalized film or you can have a very hard time of getting a satelite signal. Plus you won't want to put your N95 on the dashboard under our super lovely sunny weather or you might ended up with RM3K turkey.
Dont forget to add MINIMUM USD27 to enable autorouting. The phone is basically a dud without it. The pricing are as below, ASSUMING you want the MAlaysia/Singapore area:-

7-days license = USD27
30-days license = USD36
1-year license = USD271.83
3-years license = USD317.14

Autorouting is not cheap, the maps may be free, but to enable TTS(text to speech) for turn-by-turn car navigation, you gotta purchase these licenses.

QUOTE(Saigo @ Mar 8 2007, 07:22 PM)
Like I've mentioned before, I'll wait for detailed reviews before deciding if I need this.

There are few things I always bring along wherever I go - and one of them is definitely my handphone. Ask anyone around you and you'll find almost nobody leaves their house without their phone no matter how forgetful they are - wait, I think I'm not gonna bother arguing.

You mentioned that people use "forgetfulness" as an escape clause and not wanting to consider other alternatives - the thing is, I am considering other alternatives, or have you not noticed that?

Different people have different needs and wants, and I sure as hell don't think I'm the type that wants to buy an external GPS device that probably wouldn't work on a UIQ3-based phone (no good mapping programs), which you seemed to have neglected to notice. I want an all-in-one device, and if N95's GPS is as inferior as you say, then I'll just look around or wait for better devices - or seriously consider an external one.

I plan to use GPS (whether external or N95 or other phones) for autorouting - that's for sure. Plus how certain are you anyway that N95's GPS chipset would be 'inferior' when the actual phone isn't even out here yet?
Read my response to Chtan above. Ready to by your 1 year license? Have fun!;) Since, i quote " you are planning to use GPS for autorouting" and all....

I hope i hadnt dampened anyone's enthusiasm for the laready lukewarm N95. Dont get me wrong, im in constant lookout for the phone whenever i go out, but with my recent purchase of a standalone GPS unit like the Nuvi, GPS on a phone makes it look like it's a clunky option. Your call i guess.....have your USD272 ready! biggrin.gif
awyongcarl
post Mar 9 2007, 04:02 AM

1,870 posts

Not sure if you guys have seen this...
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-03DStd5130632.htm

What do you think?
youngkies
post Mar 9 2007, 06:54 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Mar 9 2007, 04:02 AM)
Not sure if you guys have seen this...
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-03DStd5130632.htm

What do you think?
highest bid now at rm3600 for a water set? not worth it all.
panasonic88
post Mar 9 2007, 02:56 PM

37,028 posts

haha dun say 3,600

this one lagi make me jawdrop nia!

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/424117

N95 AP set quoted at RM 4,100!!! shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
iRonTech
post Mar 9 2007, 02:59 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 9 2007, 02:56 PM)
haha dun say 3,600

this one lagi make me jawdrop nia!

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/424117

N95 AP set quoted at RM 4,100!!!  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
ohmy.gif Rm4.1k ?? sweat.gif
panasonic88
post Mar 9 2007, 03:04 PM

37,028 posts

with this price, better get a lappy, laugh.gif

official retail price is not available yet
thus the AP company who got their stock from oversea could "play" around with the price tag

i wonder got ppl really buy at tat price?
smashpOp
post Mar 9 2007, 03:23 PM

smashing pOpstar
2,116 posts

Nokia representative told me SG selling n95 for SGD2900
panasonic88
post Mar 9 2007, 03:32 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Mar 9 2007, 03:23 PM)
Nokia representative told me SG selling n95 for SGD2900
*jaw lagi drop*

SGD2900 x 2.3 exchange rate = RM 6,670???

is my calculation wrong??

94 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:17 AM