Household House next to TNB power sub station, worth it?

TSbuffalowings
post Jan 3 2015, 12:47 AM, updated 11y ago

225 posts

Dear all shifu/pros,

Wanna ask if its alright to buy a house next to a tnb sub station?

sad.gif
thefryingfox
post Jan 3 2015, 01:21 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

you will die faster becoz of stress seeing how Malaysia is going down the drain very soon.

don't worry bout tnb station etc...so as long its cheap and you are happy
SUSInF.anime
post Jan 3 2015, 04:17 AM

2,695 posts

Later son become noob how?
TSbuffalowings
post Jan 3 2015, 07:07 AM

225 posts

thanks smile.gif

spydermind
post Jan 3 2015, 07:32 AM

1,166 posts

If you have a choice then better not and that is also depends what do you mean by substation and how far from the house. There are many type and scale of the so called substation. If like the one at kelana Jaya. ..better consider twice.

Take note of the other impact as well. The view, the scene and the risk of accident.

Lastly , do not expect exponential growth in value . Thus, if you are really buying make sure it is at least you get a good deal.
TSbuffalowings
post Jan 3 2015, 07:46 AM

225 posts

like this. garden is just next to fence of the tnb sub station....house probably about 20 feet away

This post has been edited by buffalowings: Jan 3 2015, 07:48 AM
linkor
post Jan 3 2015, 09:54 AM

821 posts

Technically -- No problem.

re sale later -- Much smaller buyer pool

Price -- Lower than surrounding because smaller buyer pool.
SUStikaram
post Jan 3 2015, 09:58 AM

10,722 posts

own stay i don't know

But for investment. The price is usually lower 10 to 20% compare sorrounding.

TSbuffalowings
post Jan 3 2015, 12:02 PM

225 posts

thanks! now am wondering if the sub station will attract lightning?
VireCwx
post Jan 3 2015, 12:54 PM

163 posts

No, it will not. Chances to hit a tall tree or you in the middle of a football field are much higher.
For home staying it's not much deal since you paid lower premium. Same goes for it when you are selling it in the future.
Capital appreciate expected lower compared same row of houses.
VireCwx
post Jan 3 2015, 12:55 PM

163 posts

No, it will not. Chances to hit a tall tree or you in the middle of a football field are much higher.
For home staying it's not much deal since you paid lower premium. Same goes for it when you are selling it in the future.
VireCwx
post Jan 3 2015, 12:55 PM

163 posts

Fazab
post Jan 3 2015, 04:27 PM

519 posts

Sometimes the old transformers in the substation will start 'humming'. Can get quite loud.
highcourt
post Jan 3 2015, 05:01 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(buffalowings @ Jan 3 2015, 07:46 AM)
like this. garden is just next to fence of the tnb sub station....house probably about 20 feet away

Is the fence of the TNB substation next to the wall of the house? If it is next to it, is there at least 5 ft or 10 ft of space before the house structure? If there is a small road separating, even better because future buyer might not mind so much.
spydermind
post Jan 3 2015, 05:49 PM

1,166 posts

This type is consider okay lah and 20ft is reasonable but of course the recommended distance is 10-15m. away.

Anyway, this shouldnt cause too much of an issue. On the view perspective, can grow some plant there .
starex80
post Jan 3 2015, 08:00 PM

623 posts

the tnb station will have some zhi zhi sound not?
Cabinda
post Jan 3 2015, 08:39 PM

Property Noobie
2,040 posts

i think this is small matter... substation is nothing... u js look at puncak jalil there... the house surrounding full of high tension cable and pylon, and yet the houses there still selling like hot cakes.. ppl doesnt really care if the house are some distance away, and its not inside your house.. so what the matter?

in my point of view, the high tension cable and pylon create more harm.. but expert said so far they didnt discover any harm with the electromagnetic field.. so i guess sub station are far more safer...

wondering those who stay nearby high tension cable.. are their house metal become magnetize or not ah? and those who stay nearby are they always getting static shock? like static shock when u open the car door, or watever static shock?
rachel_xxx
post Jan 3 2015, 09:36 PM

2,294 posts

the direct long term effect is unknown, the indirect effect by worrying the long term effect will make you lose sleep which eventually effect your health.

risk of fire due to short circuit perhaps? or unknown neighbour (heard before some unfortunate ppl have to stay in the substation area).
Cabinda
post Jan 3 2015, 10:01 PM

Property Noobie
2,040 posts

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ Jan 3 2015, 09:36 PM)
the direct long term effect is unknown, the indirect effect by worrying the long term effect will make you lose sleep which eventually effect your health.

risk of fire due to short circuit perhaps? or unknown neighbour (heard before some unfortunate ppl have to stay in the substation area).
invalid point...

CK15
post Jan 3 2015, 10:15 PM

1,467 posts

Not an issue at all.
Meantime, as suggested by banana, take the opportunity to negotiate the price 10-20% lower either for own stay or investment. ;-)
TSbuffalowings
post Jan 4 2015, 01:45 AM

225 posts

thanks !
spydermind
post Jan 4 2015, 07:58 AM

1,166 posts

I like your comment very much. Very true
SUStmdsad
post Jan 4 2015, 08:04 AM

1,176 posts

Too general ......and this could happen in any place....any situation.....like house at hill site....lake...etc.

This post has been edited by tmdsad: Jan 4 2015, 08:06 AM
Clueless07
post Jan 5 2015, 11:17 AM

1,372 posts

technically there isn't much risk. We carry our phone with us, sleep also put near the bed to charge. That have more EM wave than the substation.

Though, psychologically it may not be so present. It is like opposite neighbour have a few sharp roof thrust pointing towards ur main door like dragon claw. You will feel some threat every time you walk in and out of the house.

you might over come this for nwo... but then later when things dont goes well (life always have up and down, of course,) we will then try to related to the substation bring negative energy and will always have that little torn in our eye and heart. Take note we can;t move the the substations, so you want to move house then?

planting tree will reduce the effect, but if you aware it is there... subconciously you will still free it.

i am not a hard beliver of feng shui... just appreciate ergonomic and pscyological effect - especially in a large investment.

TSbuffalowings
post Jan 6 2015, 12:55 PM

225 posts

thanks all for the reply. Here the pic of the tnb from the house. Will it still affect resale value with trees planted to hide the tnb?

farkingdom
post Oct 21 2015, 01:14 PM

594 posts

I was born into a house with a substation right next to me. Still alive and well till today.
raw7118
post Oct 21 2015, 11:16 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Jan 3 2015, 04:17 AM)
Later son become noob how?
LOL!!! Your comment made my day.

nexona88
post Oct 21 2015, 11:23 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,552 posts

QUOTE(farkingdom @ Oct 21 2015, 01:14 PM)
I was born into a house with a substation right next to me. Still alive and well till today.
winrar rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
farkingdom
post Oct 21 2015, 11:49 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 21 2015, 11:23 PM)
winrar rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Who knows the substation grants me superpower icon_idea.gif imutant
post Oct 22 2015, 02:24 AM

1,602 posts

how about if the house next or under high tension cable ?.....
Brandon323
post Oct 22 2015, 07:53 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(3536837 @ Oct 22 2015, 02:24 AM)
My personal view.....under high tension cable I cannot accept.....tnb substation I can because i think there is no EMG as with high tension cables...high tension cables have large magnetic fields
SUSstinky
post Oct 22 2015, 07:57 AM

1,436 posts

If there is a choice, dont.
Chinese believe sub station attracts ghost.
corleone74
post Oct 22 2015, 09:54 AM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(3536837 @ Oct 22 2015, 02:24 AM)
next to tnb, near HTC, if possible don't buy. if ever you need to sell (you never know, right?) you may find very few takers for your house. this is common sense. it is (comparatively) cheap for a reason. it is better to hunt for a cheap house which is in a bad shape INSIDE the house and spend money to fix up the house. remember that external negative factor cannot be solved with money, but interior factors can by reno.

This post has been edited by corleone74: Oct 22 2015, 09:57 AM
Human Nature
post Sep 24 2022, 02:44 PM

- student of human nature -
26,532 posts

QUOTE(buffalowings @ Jan 3 2015, 12:47 AM)
Dear all shifu/pros,

Wanna ask if its alright to buy a house next to a tnb sub station?

sad.gif
Hi, wondering if you eventually purchase this house? Did you managed to nego for any discount? smile.gif

0.0261sec    1.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:08 AM