4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Fully BF but low birth weight, can formula milk help?

SUSsupersound
post Jan 7 2015, 11:14 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(powdersnow @ Jan 7 2015, 11:02 AM)
Formula milks similarly contain 80% water. But both milks have high caloric content even with high amounts of water. Need to stress here again breast is still best.

Babies that give up sucking is due to bad latch as you can never fully empty a breast. Firstly a breast can never be empty as when the breast is empty more milk will be produced immediately. Even with good latch by baby and breast compressions, the breast can at max empty 75-80%, and in this case the breast speeds up production to keep up with demand.
Emmm, depending on how many scoops used and how much water per session. Mine are always put extra 5ml of water.
I never said before that breast milk are not good, infact it is the best in this world. Sadly, my wife refuse to breast feed our baby.
Your theory may work for mothers on last generation, not current generation. Some mothers really can't produce enough milk(or can I say they are lazy?)

vandoren
post Jan 7 2015, 11:33 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 6 2015, 07:27 PM)
For sure using pump won't be accurate. But that can serve as guide how much milk you can produce. That's why certain pump having variable speed. You can use minimum and see how much and maximum how much.
Babies can keep on sucking until they give up sucking, this is very bad. Have to know that, breast milk contains 88% of water.
The breast pump doesn't have variable speed, it is the level of suction power. The higher number means the stronger suction power it sucks the breast. Besides, using low suction power doesn't mean pump lesser milk, sames goes to high suction power doesn't mean pump more milk.
The milk amount is depends on the numbers of let down we have during the pumping session.

Baby direct latch on will usually stimulate to have more let down, thus baby who latch correctly will usually sucks more milk than any breast pump.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 7 2015, 11:36 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(vandoren @ Jan 7 2015, 11:33 AM)
The breast pump doesn't have variable speed, it is the level of suction power. The higher number means the stronger suction power it sucks the breast. Besides, using low suction power doesn't mean pump lesser milk, sames goes to high suction power doesn't mean pump more milk.
The milk amount is depends on the numbers of let down we have during the pumping session.

Baby direct latch on will usually stimulate to have more let down, thus baby who latch correctly will usually sucks more milk than any breast pump.
So, how to increase a pump's suction power?
Only 2 ways to control, either by the valve opening(speed fixed) or variable speed(valve opening fixed).
vandoren
post Jan 7 2015, 11:50 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 7 2015, 11:36 AM)
So, how to increase a pump's suction power?
Only 2 ways to control, either by the valve opening(speed fixed) or variable speed(valve opening fixed).
hi, I don't think here is a right forum and thread to argue on this.
I'm using layman term which is commonly used among breast pump users.
For what we feel it's the suction power, not the speed. When you talk about speed, usually we will think that the frequency of pumping increased, in fact no, this may confuse some new mummies who wish to learn about breast pump.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 7 2015, 11:56 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(vandoren @ Jan 7 2015, 11:50 AM)
hi, I don't think here is a right forum and thread to argue on this.
I'm using layman term which is commonly used among breast pump users.
For what we feel it's the suction power, not the speed. When you talk about speed, usually we will think that the frequency of pumping increased, in fact no, this may confuse some new mummies who wish to learn about breast pump.
That's why if were to choose breast pump, do choose brands with variable speed(or variable suction power).
Indeed it is too technical for mums to learn on this sweat.gif
But if we don't learn, we may end up buying wrong equipment and wasting money. Like we wasted money on getting Avent products, now we are using cheapo brands(still BPA free) and our baby are happy with it.
I agree that using pump and using mouth are totally different tongue.gif
powdersnow
post Jan 7 2015, 09:37 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 7 2015, 11:14 AM)
Emmm, depending on how many scoops used and how much water per session. Mine are always put extra 5ml of water.
I never said before that breast milk are not good, infact it is the best in this world. Sadly, my wife refuse to breast feed our baby.
Your theory may work for mothers on last generation, not current generation. Some mothers really can't produce enough milk(or can I say they are lazy?)
5ml does not seem much, but for unaware mothers here, formula feedings are very specific. Not following the exact measurements specified by the formula manufacturer will affect baby. Additional powder leads to constipation while overdilution leads to to lower caloric weight and nourishment per feed, hence affecting baby's health.

No, it is not a theory neither is it mine. It is a fact that even with a good latch and breast compressions, u will never fully empty a breast. Ie. There is such thing as mothers not producing enough milk, however it is EXTREMELY RARE.

The more common case is that the nursing mother is being told by their mothers, MIL, doctors, nurses, pediatricians, husbands etc that their baby did not put on enough weight, and that they do not have enough milk. Rather than being confident abt her breastfeeding, the mother is so afraid of failure of breastfeeding, she will always think and be told she does not have enough milk.

Look at your former classmates, did everyone grow and gain weight at the same pace? Then y would u expect ur child to grow at the same rate?

Mothers are not lazy either, all mothers love and would do their best for their baby.

Get books, seek info online. One book I recommend: Carlos gonzalez breastfeeding made easy.

My bb is fully bf w no pumping, but my MIL n FIL hav told me to go to warehouse sale and purchase formula milk in bulk for bb.

Bf requires confidence w urself as a mother. To believe that evolution preserved the ability for women to develop breasts to nourish ur bb, if it were such a failed mechanism, then obviously it would be evolved out as no bb would hav survived. We were after all, not like men whose breasts they were born w but did not develop. Our breasts developed and have worked to feed so many generations since the birth of mankind.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 8 2015, 12:27 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(powdersnow @ Jan 7 2015, 09:37 PM)
5ml does not seem much, but for unaware mothers here, formula feedings are very specific. Not following the exact measurements specified by the formula manufacturer will affect baby. Additional powder leads to constipation while overdilution leads to to lower caloric weight and nourishment per feed, hence affecting baby's health.

No, it is not a theory neither is it mine. It is a fact that even with a good latch and breast compressions, u will never fully empty a breast. Ie. There is such thing as mothers not producing enough milk, however it is EXTREMELY RARE.

The more common case is that the nursing mother is being told by their mothers, MIL, doctors, nurses, pediatricians, husbands etc that their baby did not put on enough weight, and that they do not have enough milk. Rather than being confident abt her breastfeeding, the mother is so afraid of failure of breastfeeding, she will always think and be told she does not have enough milk.

Look at your former classmates, did everyone grow and gain weight at the same pace? Then y would u expect ur child to grow at the same rate?

Mothers are not lazy either, all mothers love and would do their best for their baby.

Get books, seek info online. One book I recommend: Carlos gonzalez breastfeeding made easy.

My bb is fully bf w no pumping, but my MIL n FIL hav told me to go to warehouse sale and purchase formula milk in bulk for bb.

Bf requires confidence w urself as a mother. To believe that evolution preserved the ability for women to develop breasts to nourish ur bb, if it were such a failed mechanism, then obviously it would be evolved out as no bb would hav survived. We were after all, not like men whose breasts they were born w but did not develop. Our breasts developed and have worked to feed so many generations since the birth of mankind.
Must know that baby's bladder are very small, so 5ml of water matters smile.gif
Nope, don't buy chemical milk in bulk, you must try few brands before decide which is good for your baby.
Key points to look at : low metal, low DHA.So far Morinaga is in my list other than Snow.
hanishoney
post Jan 9 2015, 03:07 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 6 2015, 07:27 PM)
For sure using pump won't be accurate. But that can serve as guide how much milk you can produce. That's why certain pump having variable speed. You can use minimum and see how much and maximum how much.
Babies can keep on sucking until they give up sucking, this is very bad. Have to know that, breast milk contains 88% of water.
Nope, it does NOT serve as a guide. The pump works great for normal milk, but the pump is lousy at pumping out colustrum. Pump manufacturers don't bother making the pump good at pumping out colostrum because most mamas only have colustrum for maximum 5 days, so they'd always have to find newborn mamas, who are very busy, to try and test their pumps. Not cost-effective. So they focus on making pumps that can pump the normal milk, that comes out after 3-5 days.

Many mamas try to pump in their first 3-5 days, and when they see very little or nothing, they think ohhh I have no milk and start supplementing when it's not necessary, because their baby is pee-ing and pooping very well! (I just encountered this very issue this week, with a new mama who gave birth four days ago.) Checking your baby's diaper is the better guide. Why choose a lousy guide, like pumping, when you can use an easier, more accurate guide, like checking your baby's diaper? You have to change your baby's diaper often anyway, so why not just check the diaper? No additional work, like pumping, washing, sterilizing. Breastfeeding takes so much time in the beginning. Please don't add more work.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 9 2015, 03:24 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Jan 9 2015, 03:07 PM)
Nope, it does NOT serve as a guide. The pump works great for normal milk, but the pump is lousy at pumping out colustrum. Pump manufacturers don't bother making the pump good at pumping out colostrum because most mamas only have colustrum for maximum 5 days, so they'd always have to find newborn mamas, who are very busy, to try and test their pumps. Not cost-effective. So they focus on making pumps that can pump the normal milk, that comes out after 3-5 days.

Many mamas try to pump in their first 3-5 days, and when they see very little or nothing, they think ohhh I have no milk and start supplementing when it's not necessary, because their baby is pee-ing and pooping very well! (I just encountered this very issue this week, with a new mama who gave birth four days ago.) Checking your baby's diaper is the better guide. Why choose a lousy guide, like pumping, when you can use an easier, more accurate guide, like checking your baby's diaper? You have to change your baby's diaper often anyway, so why not just check the diaper? No additional work, like pumping, washing, sterilizing. Breastfeeding takes so much time in the beginning. Please don't add more work.
Using diapers as a guide are wrong, as different brand have different water absorption. Like using the cheapest Petpet only can last 1-2 pees while the expensive Mamypoko last 3-4 pees.
And the so-called 1-2 or 3-4 pees also too general, as we won't know the actual volume of it.
If you says that using the pump is a lousy guide, I would say using diapers as guide are worst.
hanishoney
post Jan 9 2015, 03:31 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 9 2015, 03:24 PM)
Using diapers as a guide are wrong, as different brand have different water absorption. Like using the cheapest Petpet only can last 1-2 pees while the expensive Mamypoko last 3-4 pees.
And the so-called 1-2 or 3-4 pees also too general, as we won't know the actual volume of it.
If you says that using the pump is a lousy guide, I would say using diapers as guide are worst.
If you really need to be super precise, you can weigh a dry diaper, then weigh the wet diaper, and compare the weight difference. Then you'll get a very accurate weight.

But if you need to be THAT accurate, then you should stick to checking the diaper, because checking pump result is far more inaccurate.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 9 2015, 04:49 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Jan 9 2015, 03:31 PM)
If you really need to be super precise, you can weigh a dry diaper, then weigh the wet diaper, and compare the weight difference. Then you'll get a very accurate weight.

But if you need to be THAT accurate, then you should stick to checking the diaper, because checking pump result is far more inaccurate.
You say checking diapers are accurate as most of the websites says using diapers are accurate.
But nope, it is too general and very misleading.
If you don't know the volume of breast milk and under feed baby, the pee will be lesser.
So, which method is more accurate?
powdersnow
post Jan 10 2015, 06:22 PM

39 posts

Using a breastpump too is misleading. None are accurate. Only bb is. Counting diapers is a helpful guide enough. If u r so obsessed w how much a bb takes, get the bb weighing scale, weigh each time before he feeds, after feeds, poo.. pee..

But ask urself this: Do u know how much spoonfuls of food u take everytime u eat? How much do u know u need? Do u take 100g o 150g vege? What vege type? Type of meat? Do u eat the same amt for breakfast, lunch, dinner, supper, tea, buffet? No, u only eat till ur tummy is full. N if ur bb falls asleep all the time after u bottle feed him might b bcos he was having Christmas dinner n is now sleeping it off!

Similar to bb. Breastmilk is impossible to measure bcos the calories (amt of fat) in breastmilk change according to bb's feeding pattern. Ie: He gets to choose: Frequency of feeds (every half hr, one hr, two..), length of feeds (2mins, 45mins) and one or both breasts. The amt of fat (hence caloric weight) in breastmilk increases w the amt of breastmilk consumed. The last breast he emptied will also have higher amts of fat. Which is more filling? 150g fruit o 150g meat? U will need to consume more fruits to feel full. So, bb gets to choose: More skim milk (foremilk) or lesser amts of the more filling full cream (hindmilk).

What is the best measure? Ur bb. Is he happy? Did he lose weight? Did he gain weight? 200g only? But he did didn't he? So if u ate just enough to survive, would u gain weight? If u r concerned, ask the doctor to do blood tests: If he is normal, happy, hitting dev milestones then obviously even with 200g weight gain ur bb is healthy. The growth chart shows weights of HEALTHY CHILDREN. It is interpreted as so n so percent of bb at tis weight r healthy. So even at 5th percentile, it is interpreted as 5% of TOTAL babies (so many, whole malaysia ald how many bb) r healthy at tis weight. It is only used as a heads up guide for Dr. Is there anything wrong? Well it's the Dr's job to find out isn't it? N y would u force him to eat more than he wants? U will b teaching him to eat more than he needs. That's y babies who breastfeed hav lower risk of obesity.

If bb healthy, ie latches on well, pees n poos well, happy, u hear swallowing sounds, but later cries, fusses, goes on n off on breast:
-most often: Overtired. Why r u trying to feed me? I am tired n want to sleep not feed! Some bb still sleep 14-16hrs, plus half hr nursing every 2hrs would be abt abt 12-14x nursing is total abt 7hrs nursing + 16hrs sleep = 23hrs.... no wonder all he wants to do all day is just nurse and sleep!
-if he wants more milk he simply latches on more frequently to order the breast for more milk. The breast is his slave.
-he fusses at one breast offer him the other (he wants full cream dun wan skim milk now)
-he is full (why is mommy trying to force me to eat more?! Argh!)
-he is alrd so good at getting a lot of milk in short time (2mins n sleeps for 2hrs) why does mommy keep forcing me to take more?

Older babies after 3mths r smarter at rejecting bottles (why doesnt it smell like mommy?) while younger ones will take anything u throw at them.
powdersnow
post Jan 10 2015, 07:35 PM

39 posts

Btw if bb milk spits, vomits. It might be reflux, or u might need to consider u r overfeeding him.

Pumping occasionally leads to oversupply, baby consumes too much watery foremilk bcos he tries hard to get the amt of calories he needs (eg trying to get full on fruits) but bb stomach is only such a size so vomits as a result. But this comes w other signs as well.
abcde90
post Jan 11 2015, 10:48 AM

183 posts

So ts hows your baby now?

vandoren
post Jan 13 2015, 09:10 AM

488 posts

The guideline of checking quantity of baby's wet diaper not only comes from various website. It did comes from a mouth of kid specialist. Several doctors give similar advice to breastfeeding mummies.

Nowadays mummies not only refer to online website to obtain knowledge, they also refer to actual doctor or nurse for advice.

For example, many website said it's ok for fully breastfeed baby not pass motion for several days or up to 20 days+++. I didn't worry when my son no poo for 10days, but I'm still have to seek advice from doctor to comfort our parents and in law because they used to take care formula fed baby.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 13 2015, 02:57 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(vandoren @ Jan 13 2015, 09:10 AM)
The guideline of checking quantity of baby's wet diaper not only comes from various website. It did comes from a mouth of kid specialist. Several doctors give similar advice to breastfeeding mummies.

Nowadays mummies not only refer to online website to obtain knowledge, they also refer to actual doctor or nurse for advice.

For example, many website said it's ok for fully breastfeed baby not pass motion for several days or up to 20 days+++. I didn't worry when my son no poo for 10days, but I'm still have to seek advice from doctor to comfort our parents and in law because they used to take care formula fed baby.
Specialist main job are ensuring they can go luxury vacation every year. So don't trust fully on what they says.
Got something go in, sure must have something comes out.
vandoren
post Jan 13 2015, 03:39 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 13 2015, 02:57 PM)
Specialist main job are ensuring they can go luxury vacation every year. So don't trust fully on what they says.
Got something go in, sure must have something comes out.
you may not trust one doctor and seek 2nd advice from another doctor.
if several specialist doctors telling the same fact that i have research,so, i believe them

This post has been edited by vandoren: Jan 13 2015, 03:43 PM
powdersnow
post Jan 13 2015, 04:14 PM

39 posts

Accusing specialists like that are just stereotyping. Dismissing specialist opinion without proper argument may backfire on you instead, bcos contrary to what u think, the specialist was right to say that it is normal for bf babies not to poo for up to 20days.

If you have constipation for 20days do u think u can sit quietly and go on normally?

For a breastfed bb who is happy n healthy except for not pooing for 20days, on day 20th, his poo is just the same as before. Yellow, mustardy poo. Breastmilk is a natural laxative after all.

What goes in must come out does apply, but not so accurately, bcos as baby still wets 6-8diapers (sometimes less bcos older bb bcome good at holding it in but diapers r heavy) he can stop pooing for a no of days and still have soft poo at the end. If he has constipated, he will have hard poo and even so will show signs of discomfort quickly.

We poo bcos we have waste products, substances that cannot be digested or used by the body. Breastmilk is special such that it is able to be completely digested by baby. So as bb's digestion system matures, he digests n takes in everything in the breastmilk completely, causing no waste (no poo) to be left/created. He poos probably bcos he consumed more milk than his body needed (body just took the what they needed from the excess milk) and therefore waste created.

Formula fed bb still produce waste bcos formula was made w cow's milk. Formula is created by treating cow's milk w enzymes to break down the protein in cow's milk bcos these proteins are dangerous to kidney's of bb under 1yr old. Also with the addition of vitamins and minerals added to formula milk tat r not absorbed by bb hence poop.

Interesting to note here it was bcos formula fed bb in the past used to suffer scurvy, rickets and other diseases that caused Dr to recommend solids to be introduced early at 6 mth. This blanket guideline was and is still incorrectly used for breastfed bb. As breastmilk is a COMPLETE FOOD (bb cereal, formula milk is not complete food still lacking nutrients) this should not apply so strictly as the only need is a possible lack of iron post 6mths, tis is only minimum as plenty of bb can have iron stores up to 1yr n more. Indication of lack of iron is poor appetite, but then bb would b losing weight even without intro of solids. If worried, take a blood test to check iron. If all is well, bb does not need to intro solids at 6mths, sometimes up to a yr or more.
powdersnow
post Jan 13 2015, 05:07 PM

39 posts

This means, for fully bf bb, beginning 6mths, let him bf, THEN intro complementary foods, if bb fusses n rejects, u dun hav to force, try another time. Breastmilk shud still b his main meal n do not withhold in order to force him solids. If he shows interest in ur food, giv him a lil. If he wants more he will show it. Breastmilk by itself is already high calories. Formula fed bb def needs iron rich foods more as iron in formula x as ez absorb as in bm.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 13 2015, 06:06 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(powdersnow @ Jan 13 2015, 05:07 PM)
This means, for fully bf bb, beginning 6mths, let him bf, THEN intro complementary foods, if bb fusses n rejects, u dun hav to force, try another time. Breastmilk shud still b his main meal n do not withhold in order to force him solids. If he shows interest in ur food, giv him a lil. If he wants more he will show it. Breastmilk by itself is already high calories. Formula fed bb def needs iron rich foods more as iron in formula x as ez absorb as in bm.
Baby can only start "eating" after 1 year old.
Until then, they have to keep on drinking.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0254sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:29 AM