Teeth braces, for the perfect smile

Double_Ace
post Dec 19 2011, 07:03 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Michelle Chan @ Dec 18 2011, 06:01 PM)
Let me share with you a story about this type of transfer case. The "victim" is my cousin.

The 1st ortho extracted 4 of her teeth and needs roughly 2 years time to remove the braces. But after one year wearing braces, the ortho stopped the biz and migrate to New Zealand.
The 2nd ortho took over the case and said that 2 teeth need to be extracted somemore from his point of view. And he advised my cousin to wear braces for another 2 years. My cousin was like @$#%##%!
But still, she accepted her fate in the end. She only left with 26 teeth now thumbup.gif Save toothpaste and save time brushing her teeth rclxm9.gif

Sometimes, I think our bracing thingy is more like a piece of artwork to ortho, very subjective to determine good or bad. As long as it lets you gain more self confidence after removing braces, for me it's good enough!

Anyway, no need to worry too much about this! It's just a story......
Hi thanks for sharing the story, do you happen to know is by changing ortho half way like that will the price also be double or about tthe same??
Double_Ace
post Dec 24 2011, 02:07 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Michelle Chan @ Dec 19 2011, 07:16 PM)
For my cousin case, she transferred herself to another ortho within the same town, and normally the market price within the same town is compatible, she only tops up around RM 500 ++ for that, package basis with monthly instalment. But the 2nd ortho do requested her to go for new X-ray.

If change from Penang to KL, no comment on it.

Let say if you only need another 6 months to remove braces, why not just bear with the travelling distance a bit? Take AirAsia  icon_rolleyes.gif
Ah ic thanks for the info. But i tough i heard the first visit will be the most expensive one where you must pay a few thousand for his service. Then only everymonth you pay a few hundred upon visit? What i wanted to know is if you change ortho half way, will you have to pay the new ortho a few thousand for service or you just continue paying the new ortho a few hundred upon visit? Sry hope you can understant. Bcs i'm not very rich and braces are so expensive cry.gif
Double_Ace
post May 25 2012, 11:08 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(annes116 @ May 22 2012, 09:32 PM)
I'm 27 and currently using the Damon system.
I used to wear braces, about 3 years ago which were the traditional stainless steel one. I had this done in the UK.
Had it in for 2 years and then had a fixed metal retainer for my lower set of teeth and a plastic removable retainer for the upper set.
I lost my first retainer and it took about 2 to 3 weeks for me to get a replacement that by that time the teeth had moved. Then I became lazy and didn't use my upper retainer most of the time. A couple of months ago my metal wire retainer for the lower set broke and then when the orthodontist (Msian - Subang Orthodontist Specialist) had a look, basically the teeth had moved and she wasn't satisfied with the overall result from my previous braces so I decided to wear the braces again. From her explanation about the different types of braces etc, I thought it would be wise to invest in the Damon braces. She reckoned that I would probably need to wear for 1 year, at most.

Comparing the two types on several aspects:

1. Price - Damon system is definitely more expensive. My total cost is about 10K(including retainers). I'm paying RM2500+RM2500 then the rest by RM700 installments. I also initially inquired about the traditional braces, which were going to cost about RM2500 less, so if you opt for the stainless steel it's RM7500, more or less.

2. Appearance - Honestly, I think they look about the same, but with the Damon system, there is no rubber band fitted around the brackets so I guess you don't need to worry about the discolouration of the band or the wire coming out etc.

3. Pain/discomfort - Much the same. I normally eat soft food for the first 2 to 3 days. Pureed food, soups, porridge and after those first few days your teeth will function like normal and you can eat your usual meals. Always avoid nuts, chewing gum, biting into a whole apple or other fruits. Same rule applies to both, in fact maybe to all types of braces.

4. Overall effect/wearing time - This I cannot comment yet because I have only started wearing the Damon braces and I would think that even if I was wearing the same type of braces, there would still be the proficiency of the orthodontist to take into consideration hence it might vary with a different 'operator'. However, according to my orthodontist and what I've read, it could effectively reduce your wearing time by 6 months compared to traditional braces.

Sorry this was a bit lengthy but just sharing my experiences and thoughts. Hope it's useful!

BTW, I kinda like wearing braces. Anyone feels the same? hmm.gif
wow by installments also rm700, so expensive? How many month did you have to pay that rm700?
Double_Ace
post Jun 8 2012, 06:50 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(annes116 @ Jun 8 2012, 05:52 PM)
I paid 2.5K on the day the braces were fitted, then another 2.5K on the next appointment and then the RM700 is for the 7 to 8 consequent appointments. The appointments are 6 weeks apart instead of monthly so it adds up to 10K for everything
shocking.gif Very expensive.. I thought by installment will be cheaper but i was wrong.
Double_Ace
post Jun 25 2012, 10:21 PM

517 posts

Hey guys those who fix braces already, WTA will doing this interfere with ur work? Like me i only have 1 off day a week. Is 1 day enough for the orthodontist to do what he needs to do??? Or will i have to take a lot of mc???
Double_Ace
post Oct 3 2012, 11:39 PM

517 posts

Help!!! Someone give me advice. Now I don't know which one should I go for, normal ceramic or Damon braces both the same price. Is Damon very much better then normal braces?
Double_Ace
post Nov 16 2012, 06:05 AM

517 posts

Hey guy in ur first appointment when they take x ray of ur teeth. From this X-ray can they see if ur teeth in good condition? Like does it need filling or something? Bcs I putting braces next month went for first appointment already, took x ray & everything. Now one of my back teeth hurt whenever I brush it, need to go to another dentist for check up & x ray?
Double_Ace
post Dec 27 2012, 09:25 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(abercomfitch @ Dec 19 2012, 10:48 PM)
Ha ha now i can look back at those people starting to wear braces... I ate everything with my braces on - even KFC with bones... Normally its the back braces that break (the last one at the back of the mouth). Dr Reuben from White Smile BTS (Berjaya Times Square) did my braces and now i am on my clear retainers. I still go back there for check up, already lost retainer once :-(. I visited 3 orthodontic before White Smile and I think that Dr Reuben still the best...
Hey do you know can eat durian or not with braces?
Double_Ace
post Jan 7 2013, 03:43 AM

517 posts

Hey guys i read if ur braces brackets or wire or anything break the doctor will change but you be charge for it true??? How much does one brackets cost? And any sifu here can explain to me why braces are so expensive, i did mine for 7k. and i see it was not difficult job for the doctor at all mostly his nurse did everything. Plus now if i brake it i must pay some more??
Double_Ace
post Feb 3 2013, 01:50 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(W.Vern @ Feb 3 2013, 01:22 PM)
Yes kena charge. my place one bracket they charge a few hundred as penalty
you can tahan then extract 4... otherwise recommend you to extract 2 by 2 otherwise you cannot eat 1 week. eat porridge also you will cry. use tongue and swallow only

side note: still got place doing rm2.7k and its private no need queue  icon_rolleyes.gif
How much per bracket? I got these damon braces which cost nearly 7k, i thought this would include everything thats why the price???

0.0208sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:01 PM