Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling V3!, Viva la gunpla!

kingkong81
post Nov 12 2006, 05:06 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(ahhann @ Nov 12 2006, 04:51 PM)
who is that fellow !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
give me his name  cry.gif
Wah...u really desperate to get the MG Freedom ar... too bad, i juz started to assemble mine a week ago, if not can sell to u....

Anyway, y dun u go down to Sg Wang, Times Square to hunt for it? I'm sure Graffiti Toys n Time Machine or even Fantasy Toys (Low Yat Plaza) will have it

kingkong81
post Nov 21 2006, 08:32 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Nov 21 2006, 12:34 AM)
Can't wait to get my hand on this kit drool.gif
kingkong81
post Nov 24 2006, 10:59 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Nov 24 2006, 08:51 PM)
Anyway, just got the Oct Taiwan Dengeki.... Not as nice as the Sept issue with the F91 special. This time around it was Layzner special, and IMO the Layzner designs are quite nice too, although not as nice as gundams tongue.gif Oh yeah, they even included a lineart book of the main mechas in the Layzner series... Nice stuff, hopefully one day we can have gundam lineart series together with Dengeki thumbup.gif
Taiwan Dengeki mag for Oct oredi out? Izzit d cheap 1? RM8 for 1?
kingkong81
post Nov 25 2006, 09:11 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Nov 25 2006, 07:29 PM)
The Dalong.net guy doesnt give seed kits much attention. Look at his Seed section, newer seed kits just have straight builds and then nothing.. Furthermore, he's giving a lot of attention to his new Kotobukiya section. maybe thats why he didnt bother to buy a stargazer kit?  icon_idea.gif or maybe he's waiting for the Kerberos BuCue and build them both? who knows..

About the shiny thingies on the stargazer, its confirmed stickers, this guy maybe bought 2 kits and built one for each config. see this:

too bad ya..? sweat.gif
Eeewwww...ugly stickers sad.gif
kingkong81
post Nov 28 2006, 09:55 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Nov 27 2006, 06:59 PM)
Just got the Oct Taiwan DHM wit the free data book on SPT Layzner Series.. is this the latest Taiwan ver. DHM?
Hey man...where did u get ur Oct Taiwan DHM? Tried to find it at MPH n Popular at 1-Utama last sunday, but dun hv sad.gif
kingkong81
post Nov 28 2006, 09:20 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Nov 28 2006, 10:43 AM)
Usually u can found it at those Indian book store or those chinese comic store.
u won't find it in MPH one la..
I've been getting the Taiwan DHM from Popular n MPH (1-Utama & The Curve) since the March issue.

QUOTE(Fasap @ Nov 28 2006, 03:11 PM)
Got mine at alamanda, at an indian magstore... like the others said, better look in indian bookstores, at chinese magazine section. The shop in Sg. Wang is a good start. U can oso checkout the magstore at LG floor at LYPlaza, beside shokudo, last month i bought one there...

cheers.gif
Mayb Popular n MPH r a bit slow...nvm, will drop by sg wang this weekend. thx
kingkong81
post Nov 29 2006, 08:42 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Nov 29 2006, 08:22 AM)
Hm... Funny, coz I always get mine either in MPH or Popular... even Indian comic stalls sells them here in JB. Couple of months ago it was virtually impossible to find them anywhere in JB, but now almost all bookstores have them laugh.gif

Yet there is no gunpla shop around in JB.... sigh.... only Jusco and The Store (and also a few anime/comic shops) which sell at sky high prices.
U can always get if from fellow LYN forumers thumbup.gif Or enlist the help of fellow modellers here to get for u laugh.gif
kingkong81
post Nov 29 2006, 02:25 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(edison92133 @ Nov 29 2006, 11:09 AM)
i heard yesterday was very boring.......

just go on saturday to see the winner can liao

anyone going ?

rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
I'm going this weekend.. drool.gif

Heard they got sales on gundam kit as well...but dun think will b too cheap rolleyes.gif
kingkong81
post Nov 29 2006, 08:26 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(edison92133 @ Nov 29 2006, 02:28 PM)
hohoho...can go together.... i scare sienz, haha

biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Sorry edison...i'm going wif my gf...coz Isetan got member sales + year end sales!! So, i oso dunno wat time i'll b there...mayb after Isetan close? cry.gif cry.gif

Anyway, hopefully can c u there as well. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(whoami123 @ Nov 29 2006, 02:48 PM)
edison92133:
I've forgot which day the result is out
maybe you can ask sunnyboy or stormv
they're into this competition

kingkong81:
Only HGUC kits are worth to buy
all (except Hazel II) sell below yen's price
I only know the judging day will b on saturday.
HGUC huh....hmmm...more cheaper than edison or not laugh.gif laugh.gif
Well...worth taking a look laugh.gif
kingkong81
post Nov 30 2006, 08:03 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(sharingan devil @ Nov 30 2006, 06:54 AM)
mine...

RX-78-2

pilot: Amuro Ray

ver.ONE-YEAR-WAR (PS2 game)

GUNDAM, daichi ni tatsu! (GUNDAM standing on the earth[ep01 title])

Decades old Gundam shooting down modern hi-tech Destiny shocking.gif
Nice work there smile.gif
kingkong81
post Dec 22 2006, 03:48 PM

1,351 posts

MG SF, MG SF Full Burst, MG Hi-Nu, MG Cross Bone ...... drool.gif

wat they tell u...all r newly released kit

MG Freedom, MG S-Gundam, MG Wing 0, Mg Ex-S drool.gif

Wat they tell u...all long time gundam kit

Which is harder to get? Old 1 or new 1? How many ppl have been desperately looking for MG Freedom recently but answer they got is no stock?? I've been looking for S-Gundam for some time, either it is not available, or it is expensive.

So...those newly release stuff, u do not need to rush to buy, they will be there for quite some time. So, u can buy it even after 1 year of release...not like those PVC figure, most r one-time release only. shocking.gif

So, take your time to decides which kit u think worth buying and try to accumulate ur wealth. See wat others ppl comment after buying the kit. Not as if u can finish assemble all the kits u bought, especially if u 1 2 do nicely n details plus hv 2 work some more. rolleyes.gif

I used to buy a lot kits at first, whenever new release i feel like buying, but after a while, it seems like no matter how early i bought the kit, it can still be purchase after that. Mayb not the case for those special edition (+stand like HG IJ, DVD like Strike Noir).

The point is...no need to rush... wink.gif

Just my 2 cents
kingkong81
post Dec 22 2006, 04:39 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Dec 22 2006, 04:24 PM)
OMFG!  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

i havent finished assembling my GP02 and now bandai is throwing in a better 'rendition' of the GP02??!! darn.. its even got a Multi Launch Rocket System for the backpack???? oh damn.. im gonna climax rite here  drool.gif  drool.gif

mad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif bandai should warn their customers before dishing out a kit.. warn them that the kit has other versions in plan!!! look what happened with the X-bone too!!

and when the hell is the TR-5 gonna be out here in malaysia..?? darn! im so angry rite now im gonna kill a rabbit!!!  mad.gif  vmad.gif
That is BANDAI tactics to squeeze all d money fr v all...

It seems like a habit ady...they always release a upgraded version after an initial 1.

So wait for a while n c wat is their future release
kingkong81
post Dec 26 2006, 12:30 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Dec 25 2006, 05:44 PM)
I want to ask, where i can brought those base plate as shown as below picture. I tot of making one to attach with my C-1. or maybe DIY also can, is those wire as shown is those use in cloth hanger ?

also, what is the best way to smooth those small tube that connect in Zaku waist & leg perfectly ? cause no matter which method i use, still left those little edge behind..
Wat u can do is, use ur hobby knife to scrape along the seam line then smoothen it using high grade sandpaper by wet sanding technique.

Another easier way is to cut some leftover sprue, then put those 'tubes' on it, put the thing into a drill (preferably a hand drill). Turn it on, and u hv a continuously rotating like a drill, put the sandpaper over it with some water. This is juz like the way ppl do round marble sanding... laugh.gif

Hope this helps smile.gif
kingkong81
post Dec 28 2006, 09:07 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Dec 28 2006, 01:56 PM)
Sorry, but what's a wet sanding technique? which code of sand paper is consider as high grade, usually i brought those code:1000 one.

Also i want to ask, kinda newbie in this field, if i going to paint my model kit using those "mr.color" or "hobby", how to use it, i mean izzit like those water coloring ?
QUOTE(Foxngn @ Dec 28 2006, 03:44 PM)
Huh ? shocking.gif
u mean spraying water on the model kit, then start sanding? won't doing that will makes ur model kit to become dirty ?

about ur hand paint, does it need water to paint it ?
no money to buy air brush la
As previously answered by other forum members, wet sanding is where u add some water before u sand the plastics. U can either dip the sandpaper or dab some water onto the surface of the plastic before u sand. Wet sanding will help to reduce sanding marks that r left after sanding.

For sandpaper grade, there r a lot (400, 600, 800, 1000, 1200...). Usually u start sanding wif lower grade sandpaper and gradually increase the grade to get a smoother effects. (i.e. 600 > 800> 1200).

For painting, i'm not so expert oso..so i'll try to answer to my best knowledge.
The picture of Mr. Hobby paint that u posted r thinner-base acryllics (or alcohol-base?? rclxub.gif ), so u need to add thinner to dilute the paint to make it easier to paint. There are also aqueous/water-base acryllics which can be diluted using water alone.

If u r using handbrush, it is advisable to add some Mr. Retarder Mild @ Mr. Levelling Thinner (Mr. Retarder + Mr. Thinner). The retarder helps to slow down the drying process of the paint making it easier to paint.

Painting technique....errr...u should start painting at one direction...wait until it is fully dry, then apply the 2nd coating in another direction. Eg. 1st coat u start from left --> right, 2nd coat Up --> Down

Hope this helps wink.gif

Happy Modelling
kingkong81
post Dec 30 2006, 09:42 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Dec 30 2006, 07:17 PM)
Yum Yum... thumbup.gif Doggie doesn't look as menacing as its Stargazer counterpart... 3 headed freak with beams all over.... scary...

more Tulang... Not sure about you guys, but I prefer the design of X1... He man sword and crossbow gun looks too cartoonish for me.
BY THE POWER OF GREYSKULL... I...AM...THE...POWAH!!!
hehe... Zanbine's X2 is nicer... black is SLEEK !!
Full cross...hmm like the 'wing', crossbow...the sword looks kind of menacing as well rclxms.gif
kingkong81
post Jan 6 2007, 05:48 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Jan 6 2007, 08:33 AM)
harr....u sure ? how much was it ?

Can somebody give me the tel. number for Time Machine & Aunty Lenny shop ?
Does they even got any website ?
here the phone # : 03-2148 0085

hopefully not those uncle & auntie that pickup ur phone tongue.gif
kingkong81
post Jan 7 2007, 05:07 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Jan 7 2007, 10:23 AM)
btw, what time is Time Machine open ? I want to makes phone call on 2moro morning.
If not mistaken, they open at 12pm to 9pm during Mon ~ Saturday...sunday not sure

Went there to get Top Coat n they r selling at rm30 doh.gif Siao cry.gif
kingkong81
post Jan 11 2007, 10:58 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jan 11 2007, 10:44 AM)
Haven't bought yet, but the issues available here are all bundled with the figurine.

One thing I noticed though, Taiwan versions with gifts often sell for RM 18, but there's one stall selling the HongKong version for RM 15. After a month or two, older issues where nobody buys would probably drop their price to RM 12...

So I think I might wait for it to drop, coz I really don't think that the half-naked figurine is worth RM 10 extra, just like the puny MSiA Hazel rifle doh.gif Maybe won't get this issue either.... Really pok kai adi after buying router and burner doh.gif
Yeah... 5K yen Zeta 2 should be RM 165.... RM 132 sure kena sapu within hours.

Latest issue of Taiwan Dengeki is the one with the naked skating Figurine... Hazel Rifle is the one which showcases F91.
Mind telling where is the location of the stalls selling Hong Kong ver fo Dengeki Hobby? Thx nod.gif

Hv been looking for the Nov issue (Taiwan ver), but still did not c it at any bookstores or news stand...anyone got the Nov issue ady?

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Jan 11 2007, 11:01 PM
kingkong81
post Jan 12 2007, 11:28 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jan 12 2007, 09:56 PM)
Yeah..i oso wan..but how much izzit?
My instinct told me this kit will surely cost around 5000 - 7000 yen sweat.gif
kingkong81
post Jan 12 2007, 11:44 PM

1,351 posts