The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V6, Bigger than bigger

666devil
post Dec 25 2014, 10:46 PM

1,624 posts

Seriously guys. Comparing min sluggishness that u might only notice if actively hunting for it, vs 1.8x battery life and full hd real estate? The first can be minimized by closing background apps when not using, while bigger eye friendly full had screen and longer battery cannot be resolved without help of external hardware.
If u have not used Samsung b with all its bloat ware b4, u dunno what sluggish really means. I know coz I upgraded from s4.

Go figure...
666devil
post Dec 26 2014, 08:42 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Pyjamas999 @ Dec 25 2014, 11:23 PM)
Wooo fellow ex-S4 userrr here too hahaha!!! How are u feeling coming from it? Any regrets bro? biggrin.gif
Izzit? Don't recall seeing u in the s4 forum...
Everything works perfect especially the seamless synching with my iPad and iPhone.
However, missed the direct "share to whatsapp group chat" feature very much. And the built-in data usage 1 month cycle chart where u can set the date ur telco renew the data quota.

iOS can only share to messages , unless u JB... And every month have to go reset data usage ourselves.
The rest of the features , moved on with no regrets.
666devil
post Dec 26 2014, 08:44 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 25 2014, 10:53 PM)
I think it's fine because everyone has different priorities and likings. Some people might not mind the sluggishness, some would smile.gif The thread is about sharing experiences so I think it's alright to discuss what people are concerned about. On the other hand, Samsung vs Apple is another comparison altogether so let's not getting mixed up with 6 and 6+ comparison.
If taking 6 due to size factor and ease of 1 hand use, then surely acceptable la...
But now comparing minimal lag....
Don't getme wrong, u r definitely right. Freedom of speech. Just voicing my humble opinion. Sorry if offended anyone ya
666devil
post Dec 26 2014, 03:16 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 26 2014, 03:04 PM)
I've been using iPhone since 3GS and historically, all latest iPhones are very fluid and smooth with the latest iOS. There wasn't one generation that has any form of "sluggish" except the 6+ now. One of the key reason why I prefer iPhone is because of it's "smoothness" and responses are spot on, snappy. Of course I would love that the 6+ have these characteristics as well smile.gif Maybe Apple should have used A8X on the 6 plus instead? That little lag is surely a turn off in my opinion.
Ahhh! Sure it's coming. That is reserved for 6s+ rclxms.gif
666devil
post Dec 29 2014, 09:46 PM

1,624 posts

Just got back my replacement 'new unit' from machines. Model number shows its hong kong/Macau set.
Using sndeepinfo page shows its valid Apple set with active warranty up to nov 2015.

Does that mean this is new or refurbished unit?
666devil
post Dec 30 2014, 12:13 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Townshend @ Dec 30 2014, 10:57 AM)
I think SNDeepInfo should show Infant if it is new, but could be from old stock too. Is the warranty activated ?
Yup warranty activated and will expire nov 2015. So I guess Apple singapore lie when they told me they never replace with refurbished units tongue.gif
666devil
post Dec 30 2014, 01:03 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 30 2014, 12:40 PM)
Apple states all RMA'ed units are seed units. Seed units are defined as which is what is actually used by Apple everywhere for warranty replacements.  They are indistinguishable from factory new units as all mechanical parts and everything you touch is new.  They are subjected to more quality control evaluations than factory new.
Thanks for sharing. Good to know that. rclxms.gif
666devil
post Dec 30 2014, 01:40 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 30 2014, 01:37 PM)
Just ask them to send the damn phone if they dont want to cancel it.

Btw, you can get yours from Mac City or Machines here. Some of the resellers have ready stocks already.
Won't buy from machines after sucky sc experience.
666devil
post Dec 30 2014, 01:42 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 30 2014, 12:40 PM)
Apple states all RMA'ed units are seed units. Seed units are defined as which is what is actually used by Apple everywhere for warranty replacements.  They are indistinguishable from factory new units as all mechanical parts and everything you touch is new.  They are subjected to more quality control evaluations than factory new.
I guess seed units can be sets from any country?
666devil
post Dec 31 2014, 10:00 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Dec 31 2014, 08:20 PM)
My sister bought this unit frm trader
Seems like telco set. Online unit don't have warranty service card.
666devil
post Jan 2 2015, 06:09 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 2 2015, 03:45 PM)
Will buy tickets for my Japan trip this month end. A very impromptu trip and this makes my dream of owning an iPhone 6 Plus almost gone. doh.gif laugh.gif

Anyway, I Googled and Japan iPhone is unlocked as well right? Only certain models are locked. With the Yen keeps depreciating, it is much cheaper to buy in Japan. laugh.gif

But anyway, I'm still holding for the last hope to own one before I leave for Japan, still the amount I will be spending on iPhone 6 Plus can make up a better trip for me in Japan. laugh.gif

The dilemma. Sorry, I know this is a useless post. doh.gif
I heard Japan phones cannot mute the camera sound as too many perverts there taking 'secret' photos. Check if it's true b4 buying.
666devil
post Jan 3 2015, 12:58 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(mannquin @ Jan 2 2015, 07:37 PM)
Yea bud. It's just one of those stories no one would believe
Yeap. RM1.2k to get it fixed at Mac City. I dare you to use a magnifying glass to scrutinize the corner of the affected area or even the whole screen. I bet you won't find a single scratch / dent / scuff or whatsoever
Yes indeed. I googled and found out that a few users are experiencing this (very rare case). Some tried their luck at their local apple store and succeed to get it replaced for free and some failed. Their mileage varies
Aw snap. Hopefully the scratch didn't penetrate thru to the screen. Fingers crossed. Please let us the netizens know what the outcome is
I'm not that bimbo  hmm.gif

Update:

1) Went to Mac City in Aeon Bandaraya Melaka; they need to send to Apple Singapore to inspect it and wait for its outcome. There's a high chance that it's not covered and I'll have to bear the cost of repair

2) Contacted Apple Singapore, explained everything and was asked whether I want a refund or replacement. Picked replacement

3) Was redirected to Apple South East Region HQ in Australia, further investigated by its CSR, and was asked to ship it back to Singapore and pay for the screen replacement. I debated about it and the issue got escalated to Apple Senior Service something2 I can't remember

4) Greeted by a lady (that Senior stuff) and was requested to send photos of the iPhone thru email

5) Later on in the evening, the lady gave me a phone call and delivered a very disappointing news saying that since it's just a cosmetic damage and its functionality is not affected, I'll have to pay to get it replaced

6) Went on to discuss with this lady and cited similar cases happened worldwide. She said she will talk to the investigation team and will come back in 10 mins

7) 10 mins later, received a good news from the lady! She said that the screen will be replaced FOC and has put some remarks on my case number so that the service center is aware of the case and the outcome

8) Went to Mac City Service Centre at 1 Utama and provided the case number to the staff. Was requested to leave my phone there and they will send back to Singapore for further inspection (same case as my my item no. 1 up there) even after I showed them my email conversation with the lady

9) Went on to email the Apple Senior Stuff from Aussie and she replied that she will directly call the staff at Mac City to clarify the issue

10) Got a call from her and was requested to go back to Mac City 1 Utama after she has got things sorted out

11) Went to the Service Centre again today, iPhone was re-examined and a report was produced.  New replacement phone will arrive in 5 - 7 working days and I get to keep my phone while waiting for it

Phew I'm glad my case will work out well (hopefully) eventho it took quite a lot of effort and time. I have forked out a whopping RM3150 to buy the phone outright and the fact that I have to spend another RM1.2k for a defect screen just doesn't make any sense.

2007 and still counting. I'll keep on being a loyal user if such a great after sales service is sustained
Wah so similar case as me. At least Mac city , unlike machines, never accuse u of anything and reject ur claim.
Ya show how unhappy u r with Apple, and they will just replace for u. Customer satisfaction is their higher priority.
Imagine u bought from reseller, they say no claims means u r in dead end.

666devil
post Jan 5 2015, 11:35 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jan 5 2015, 11:14 AM)
Lel at you all complaining about battery life. I was previously on an S4 Mini, and I can tell you that battery life on the 6 is a godsend in comparison. Left the house at 35%, played Clumsy Ninja until it dropped to 13%, then took an hour long trip to KL and it was only at 11% by the time I reached despite having data and location enabled. Even the charging time is a lot faster compared to my old phone!
Yeah it's a godsend from s4 to 6+. No more background data and battery leaks. Use to have to go to android application and data management to disable all background data usage and junkware apps that prevent phone from deep sleep.
Now no longer need to. Phew!!!
666devil
post Jan 6 2015, 11:50 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Jan 6 2015, 08:13 AM)
I left (user since iPhone 4) iPhone 5 for android and nowI m back to iPhone 6
Don't think I will go back to android..the keyboard itself is wayyyy better than android .. Less typing error and feels way better ..

One of the main reason I left iPhone due to the battery life and now that it has improved.. I m back!!

And I don't have to clear memory all the time:)G
Only downside about iPhone is.. Everything needs to go thru iTunes.. Apart fr that it's perfect!
Err what u say la. I use iCloud and never connect to my pc iTunes to sync b4. iTunes sych is so old school...
666devil
post Jan 7 2015, 08:49 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Townshend @ Jan 6 2015, 11:30 PM)
My iPhone 6 battery. Finally I can reach 10 hours.

That is because u listen to music. That consume very little power and shoot up ur usage time...
666devil
post Jan 7 2015, 08:52 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(fcchung @ Jan 6 2015, 10:03 PM)
so what can i do right now?
Ouch! Similar case with me. Kena rejected claim bcoz found double sided tape inside. Complain to Apple kao Kao. Ask to escalate to senior technician. They will replace with refurbished unit but with more restrict quality control.
Then file official feedback to Apple.com with ur report number.
Seems like Apple qc really getting sucky due to high demand. Don't bother quarrel with local service provider. They are useless. Apple has final say.
That is why I prefer buy direct Apple online. Seeing more and more of such case where local reseller reject claim.
666devil
post Jan 13 2015, 09:20 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jan 13 2015, 09:08 AM)
Morning guys. I have some questions/rants as a new user who migrated from Android. Please do share if you have a solution for the following gripes:

1. Why is it so hard to share pictures from Safari/Chrome to WhatsApp? On Android, I could long-press the picture and a menu would pop up allowing me to share directly to WhatsApp. On iOS I can't seem to find an equivalent action.  I tried using the share button on the toolbar, and even then there's no extention for WhatsApp (yet Viber has one). I've now resorted to saving the picture then sharing it from inside WhatsApp. doh.gif

2. SwiftKey for iOS sucks! The Android version was freaking awesome, and most of the nice stuff hasn't been carried over. There's no support for Malay, and even the "tap spacebar to insert prediction" feature has been replaced with the iOS standard "double tap to insert period". To make things worse, 3rd-party keyboards are automatically disabled in password fields, causing it to switch back to the default keyboard whenever a password is required. shakehead.gif

3. I find double-click for task switching and double-tap for Reachability a bit annoying. It would be nice if I could double-tap to open the task switcher, at least then I wouldn't feel so guilty about wrecking the home button in record time. A friend of mine who's using a 4S told me that the home button tends to get damaged easily, and recommended that I use the little floating box that's part of assisted touch. I'm doing that now, but I often find myself unconsciously double-clicking the home screen as it's the more natural action. sweat.gif
Same as me. A switcher smile.gif
1. Yup this is 1 feature I missed from android. Anything else, no. More what's app issue coz they did not update thier system to allow this. Other apps who support it, can share direct.
2. Swype still new in iOS, hence suck. I moved to iOS keyboard and got used to it. Better for me as swype no Chinese character support. Miss the swipe left to delete feature though sad.gif
3. Yea same here. Home button is the weakness of Apple product. The first to KO regardless iPhone or iPad. Using assistive touch too. I Don't use reachabity as its a gimmick. Coming from android phones, use to the big screen anyway.
666devil
post Jan 15 2015, 07:45 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(celdric @ Jan 14 2015, 07:30 PM)
Seriously how come you guys d battery was so great. Here is mine for the third day full charge cycle. Please rate bad or average or good. Thanks. Sorry mine was 6 plus.
U have leak in AppStore? Why % so high? Pls turn off all the auto updates in AppStore settings.
666devil
post Jan 17 2015, 01:16 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jan 17 2015, 11:41 AM)
Apple Refurbished sets are of very high quality usually. Just think about it for a second - brand new iPhones roll off the production line in huge numbers each day, so it's not like the QC staff will be able to inspect every aspect of every single phone. Refurbished models, on the other hand, are usually hand inspected and tested before shipment.
Yes they are refurbished units. Even I bought from Apple store and claim warranty within 3 weeks, also refurbished.
Good news as g17 suggested, refurbished units have way better qc. All the exterior casing is new. They only replace faulty internal components, hence refurbished.
Ironically, I will have higher confidence using refurbished than those qc direct from factory. Imagine my 'brand new' unit b4 warranty claim battery is just held by a double sided tape inside the casing. Really wtf.
666devil
post Jan 19 2015, 07:43 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(kertaznet @ Jan 18 2015, 12:27 PM)
If u turn of background data for whatsapp how to receive messages  doh.gif
Have been using this trick for a while. Turn off background app for whatsapp. But turn on notification. New messages will still come in as notification. But full msg will only load once u go inside the app. Otherwise it's double whammy for the battery.

0.0619sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:40 PM