20 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Wisdom Tooth Extraction

mareno77
post Sep 8 2011, 01:47 AM

260 posts

4 of my wisdom tooth came out out already. 3 of them takes their own sweet time.. where once in a while I would feel the pain until head ache then its gone.

But the one at the lower left jaw was extracted in 2003. Crazy painful until I got migraine and fever (probably due to the infection). The tooth was growing at 90 degree as it was blocked by the jaw bone from above. Had it removed via surgery at the Ipoh government dentist. RM55 or something like that. But the process is cumbersome. First I had to go to a local government dental clinic. Then get referral for x ray.. go to another building. I had to press the x-ray tube to my cheek so hard on my own. Then take the x ray film to the surgeon in the Hospital.

From the x-ray can see the tooth was growing awkwardly that it was depressing the nerve in the lower jaw. Due to severity of my condition, the surgeon scheduled the surgery the very next day. During surgery, after extracting the tooth, the surgeons called in the students to look at my cut open gum. From what I heard, they could see the nerve that has depressed marked on it, almost like a hole but no cuts or puncture yet. The surgeons even took pictures of it. I tried to asked for a copy, but was politely denied. He said I was lucky that the nerve wasn't punctured yet. If so, I would not be able to feel anything anymore on my lower jaw. Then the gum was then sewn closed. After a week went to see the surgeon again for removal of the thread.

The thing is, after a few years, there is another tooth coming out at the same place again, but very small and causing food to get stuck. I thought once the wisdom tooth is extracted, that's it. How come I still got tooth there? Luckily it is not causing any pain. So i just let it be.
SUSedge85
post Sep 8 2011, 02:14 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(mareno77 @ Sep 8 2011, 01:47 AM)
4 of my wisdom tooth came out out already. 3 of them takes their own sweet time.. where once in a while I would feel the pain until head ache then its gone. 

But the one at the lower left jaw was extracted in 2003.  Crazy painful until I got migraine and fever (probably due to the infection).  The tooth was growing at 90 degree as it was blocked by the jaw bone from above.  Had it removed via surgery at the Ipoh government dentist.  RM55 or something like that.  But the process is cumbersome. First I had to go to a local government dental clinic. Then get referral for x ray..  go to another building. I had to press the x-ray tube to my cheek so hard on my own. Then take the x ray film to the surgeon in the Hospital.

From the x-ray can see the tooth was growing awkwardly that it was depressing the nerve in the lower jaw.  Due to severity of my condition, the surgeon scheduled the surgery the very next day. During surgery, after extracting the tooth, the surgeons called in the students to look at my cut open gum. From what I heard, they could see the nerve that has depressed marked on it, almost like a hole but no cuts or puncture yet.  The surgeons even took pictures of it.  I tried to asked for a copy, but was politely denied.  He said I was lucky that the nerve wasn't punctured yet. If so, I would not be able to feel anything anymore on my lower jaw.  Then the gum was then sewn closed.  After a week went to see the surgeon again for removal of the thread. 

The thing is, after a few years, there is another tooth coming out at the same place again, but very small and causing food to get stuck.  I thought once the wisdom tooth is extracted, that's it.  How come I still got tooth there?  Luckily it is not causing any pain. So i just let it be.
perhaps it's a paramolar
DrBarbarian
post Sep 8 2011, 10:08 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

QUOTE(limks123 @ Sep 7 2011, 04:49 PM)
Dr barbarian

Some question to ask, will wisdom tooth cause constant headache? coz right now i having such problem, i check with dentist he said ya... now  schedule for surgery to extract out the tooth.

Another question, x ray ady for both lower part of wisdom tooth, one side impacted grew out part of it and very near the nerve,; then another side is inside the gum + on the nerve so need 3D X-ray. How you think of both situation? will it be dangerous since there will be chances of damaging the nerve.

Hope can provide valuable opinion even though my doc ady explain but still worry abt it.

yes.... dental pain can radiate and cause headache...... dun worry about nerve injury..... the risk is very slim unless the roots of the wisdom tooth is hook around it..... I dun even bother to take xrays as it's very misleading.... 3D scan would be great but that's over kill for low risk procedure......

Added on September 8, 2011, 10:12 am
QUOTE(mareno77 @ Sep 8 2011, 01:47 AM)

But the one at the lower left jaw was extracted in 2003.  Crazy painful until I got migraine and fever (probably due to the infection).  The tooth was growing at 90 degree as it was blocked by the jaw bone from above.  Had it removed via surgery at the Ipoh government dentist.  RM55 or something like that.  But the process is cumbersome. First I had to go to a local government dental clinic. Then get referral for x ray..  go to another building. I had to press the x-ray tube to my cheek so hard on my own. Then take the x ray film to the surgeon in the Hospital.

From the x-ray can see the tooth was growing awkwardly that it was depressing the nerve in the lower jaw.  Due to severity of my condition, the surgeon scheduled the surgery the very next day. During surgery, after extracting the tooth, the surgeons called in the students to look at my cut open gum. From what I heard, they could see the nerve that has depressed marked on it, almost like a hole but no cuts or puncture yet.  The surgeons even took pictures of it.  I tried to asked for a copy, but was politely denied.  He said I was lucky that the nerve wasn't punctured yet. If so, I would not be able to feel anything anymore on my lower jaw.  Then the gum was then sewn closed.  After a week went to see the surgeon again for removal of the thread. 

The thing is, after a few years, there is another tooth coming out at the same place again, but very small and causing food to get stuck.  I thought once the wisdom tooth is extracted, that's it.  How come I still got tooth there?  Luckily it is not causing any pain. So i just let it be.
probably a broken piece of your wisdom tooth was accidentally left behind.... there is a possibility of a 4th molar..... very rare case but I have personally seen a a few cases.... your previous xray should have detected it though......

This post has been edited by DrBarbarian: Sep 8 2011, 10:12 AM
limks123
post Sep 8 2011, 03:03 PM

93 posts

Dr Barbarian

Thank alots for your reply.

Another question,
But my head like keep on paining, will this consider serious b'cause my appointment only on next Monday (12/09/11).

jae0hee
post Sep 8 2011, 09:57 PM

there are 4 wisdom tooth?
i thought there're only 2!
if i not mistaken my friend said her 2 wisdom tooth came out.so i thought there's only two of them
nowadays i started to feel the pain...it seriously hurts
from my reading in this topic it's better to pull it out early right?
icycokes
post Sep 8 2011, 11:15 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

Thanks all for the information. very useful and i have read up all 7 pages!

just curious, if there is 1 wisdom tooth develop in my mouth, will i get another 3 as well? do they do grow at the same time?

a few days ago i thought i got an ulcer (experienced pain) at my upper molar but it turns out to be a small wisdom tooth i guess. cos i can now feel it is like a small tooth. not sure whether it is a new tooth or it has been there for long (sorry i just not sure).

should i go to the dentist now? or i should wait for a few more days and see if the pain subdues?
temptation1314
post Sep 9 2011, 02:26 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

I got one removed not long ago, and I had to remove one more tooth because of the 45 degree wisdom tooth.

4 shots of painkiller, and they managed to get my wisdom tooth out, by sawing it. doh.gif Cost me RM1k++ to do so.
DrBarbarian
post Sep 10 2011, 10:08 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

most ppl will have 4 wisdom teeth... upper left, upper right, lower left, lower right..... but not all may be visible as it may be stuck hidden under the gum/bone..... some ppl may have one or more missing wisdom teeth... it's not 'hidden', it's missing... not formed at all.....

some... very rarely... have more than the complete 4 wisdom teeth! for example..... another wisdom tooth behind the lower left wisdom tooth....... wisdom teeth are known as 3rd molars... the additional wisdom teeth is known as the 4th molar.....

99% of the upper wisdom teeth can be removed by normal extraction.... 20% of the lower wisdom teeth needs surgery removal......
Aurora Boreali
post Sep 10 2011, 10:12 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Sep 10 2011, 10:08 AM)
most ppl will have 4 wisdom teeth... upper left, upper right, lower left, lower right..... but not all may be visible as it may be stuck hidden under the gum/bone..... some ppl may have one or more missing wisdom teeth... it's not 'hidden', it's missing... not formed at all.....

some... very rarely... have more than the complete 4 wisdom teeth! for example..... another wisdom tooth behind the lower left wisdom tooth....... wisdom teeth are known as 3rd molars... the additional wisdom teeth is known as the 4th molar.....

99% of the upper wisdom teeth can be removed by normal extraction.... 20% of the lower wisdom teeth needs surgery removal......
I've heard from my friend's dentist that sometimes wisdom tooth extraction would cause damage to the nerve and you won't feel your tongue and loose some sense of taste. Is it true that the risk of damage is there? And if yes, what can be done to the wisdom tooth?
DrBarbarian
post Sep 10 2011, 11:48 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

there are 2 nerves that run pretty close to the lower wisdom teeth.... one is the lingual nerve that goes to your tongue and the other is the inferior dental nerve that goes to your lower lip....

if either one of this nerve is cut/damage, you will have numbness of the affected area.....

the risk of damaging the lingual nerve is practically close to 0%...... almost impossible to damage it.... the inferior dental nerve has a risk of 1% chance being damage......

pokeat
post Oct 15 2011, 12:19 AM

438 posts

I really need explanation. Goddamn, my upper ones are done 100%. Now, what I'm facing is my left one, like halfway thru, but two days ago it started pain again until now... I think the lower teeth started grow last year/last 2, but isn't wisdom teeth will only grow in a certain period not like mine stop for a period ( 8-10 months ) then start again.

My right one is still ok, about 70% completion. My gf told me ( she's a medical student ) it should be related to food I ate two days ago. The triggered factor is papadam ( she asked whether I had any keropok or etc ) and papadam instantly popped up in my mind ! Now I'm in HELL, it's so freaking pain ! I take painkiller now, my mom gave me. What I worrying now is the left one may infected....

I will consult dentist next month, cos ( this also bad thing ) I just started work this month I'm kinda like fresh grad...
kitco
post Oct 20 2011, 11:47 AM

34 posts

took out my bottom tooth with Dr leong of melaka.

very good specialist. if you need his contacts pls PM me.

You can read my experience here:

http://boredomblogs99.blogspot.com/2011/10...sdom-tooth.html
DrBarbarian
post Oct 20 2011, 12:48 PM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

saw your blog.... from the pix of your tooth, yours is not a 'true' wisdom tooth surgery....

kitco
post Oct 20 2011, 01:04 PM

34 posts

thanks for your comment Dr Barbarian.

The dentist did made an incision on my gums and after that he just yanked it out or something. But he did not break the tooth into pieces, which I am glad...

anyway, in his report it was classified as surgery.

~Curious~
post Oct 20 2011, 08:55 PM

1,744 posts

What is a "true' wisdom tooth removal?
SUSedge85
post Oct 21 2011, 03:21 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Oct 20 2011, 12:48 PM)
saw your blog.... from the pix of your tooth, yours is not a 'true' wisdom tooth surgery....
why, only sectioning of the tooth tissue is considered true ah?
DrBarbarian
post Oct 22 2011, 10:49 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

this case is just a little slit to create an opening for the wisdom tooth to be removed.... no impaction involve... so you did not go through what most ppl deem as surgical removal where normal gp are not well trained for....
reen2603
post Oct 22 2011, 05:25 PM

1) I have 2 horizontal impacted third molar tooth on the lower left and right. Left third molar coming out a bit from the gums. Right third molar is still hidden under the gums.
2) I just extracted 4 tooth for my braces.
3) My problem is, should I extract the both third molar at one time or one by one? Extract it before my braces or after my braces? My doctor say, just don't do anything until it gives u pain.
kitco
post Oct 24 2011, 01:50 PM

34 posts

Reen, it's better to extract those teeth while you don't have any problems with them.
During this time, extraction should be painless and recovery is faster.
It would also save you from worrying about those teeth because eventually you need to pull them out also because of problems due to their impactation.

And why do u need to extract 4 teeth for braces??!
reen2603
post Oct 24 2011, 05:06 PM

QUOTE(kitco @ Oct 24 2011, 01:50 PM)
Reen, it's better to extract those teeth while you don't have any problems with them.
During this time, extraction should be painless and recovery is faster.
It would also save you from worrying about those teeth because eventually you need to pull them out also because of problems due to their impactation.

And why do u need to extract 4 teeth for braces??!
Thanks kitco for the info. I have to extract 4 teeth for braces because the doctor say the were no enough space as I have overbite problem. smile.gif

20 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0693sec    1.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:45 AM