Proton PrevĂ© V22, Venturing into 3rd anniversary!

carbon14
post Jan 9 2015, 05:29 PM

284 posts

Hi guys, after much debate I chose Preve over Insapla. Since I'm buying 2nd hand, may I know if I go SC on appointment I ask them change

1) EO + Filter
2) CVT oil + CVT Filter (Needed? Car almost 60k mileage)

Will they entertain if I only want the service that I specify. Since it is not under warranty anymore. Or should I just go any workshop?

Just to confirm: EO = xW20/30 Semi Syn, CVT = Use back plotong

carbon14
post Jan 10 2015, 10:15 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 10 2015, 06:30 PM)
My 2 cents.

If my memory is still OK, I read that the warranty can be extended to another owner within the warranty period. There is a form at the back of the car manual for this.

Cheerio.
Thanks for headsup, i will ask the SC ppl.

Guys i neex help. The preve 2012 im buying has the following problem. Need advise on what might be causing it.

1. Brake pedal emit metal grinding sound like a metal cable going through friction without lubricant.
2. From dead stop, pressing the pedal normally, car accelerates but after theres like a slight jerk at 1.5k to 2k rpm, like in AT transmission jerk. But thereafter changes smoothly past 30kmh
3. From dead stop, changing the selector from P to D while pressing brake needs quite an effort, like hard to shift
4. Acceleration from stationary will cause audible rattling and vibrations from dashboard area

Any help is appreciated! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by carbon14: Jan 10 2015, 11:20 PM
carbon14
post Jan 10 2015, 11:21 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(cts0418 @ Jan 10 2015, 10:54 PM)
Yours is 2012 or 2013 preve?
Hi bro, it is 2012 (one of the first batch)? blink.gif
carbon14
post Jan 11 2015, 01:05 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(MetallicSilver @ Jan 11 2015, 12:48 PM)
Hello friend, I bought mine 2nd hand too, 2012 first batch exactly 1 year old when i bought it. Warranty still valid for 2nd owner provided 1st owner carried out the services accordingly. Have been using and servicing the car for more than a year now.

No1 - I had this before. Tell the SC. They will clean the break pads and discs. Mine was ok after.

No.2 - I had this also. You probably need to remap your ecu. You need to specifically ask them to do it, otherwise they wont. Also just check to see if the SAT button at your gear console is pressed.

No.3 - Never had this issue. Its tighter that the other shifts but shouldn't be too tight. I am sure you know what is natural and not

No.4 -  Thats just typically Proton smile.gif Sometimes over revving by flooring the pedal does get the CVT gearbox screaming and vibrating like its going to explode which gets transferred to the dash. Don't think there is much that can be done. But if you feel its not normal then can always check with the SC.

**Please check your service schedule booklet to see if all was done properly.

Btw yours is Exec or CFE?

Cheers!
Hi Silver, thanks alot for your reply! Mine is a CFE version. I think I'll save down these tips for future owners. When I bought the car the service booklet wasn't given to me. I guess I will have to hound the previous owner to get it. I hope Proton keeps a digital/computerised record on customer servicing. It'll be shitty if they dont. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
carbon14
post Jan 11 2015, 01:49 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(metaled @ Jan 11 2015, 01:26 PM)
I am driving a 2012 CFE/

1. Check your break pad, if it is still a-plenty, ask the SC give it a good blow with air gun. Still cant fix a new brake pad

2. This is normal. In very layman simple explanation CVT is going to "2nd gear", observe the RPM, it will drop like it is engaging to 2nd gear. You can replicate this using the paddle shifter masuk gear 1 accelerate then masuk gear 2. Accelerate from complete by selecting Gear 2 from your gear selector may eliminate this for a while before u need to shift to gear 3.

3. Normal. The mechanical rubber stuff inside the selector is still very new. It is even tighter if you are getting a new car.

4. Normal. Unless you REALLY know what you are doing, this one i advise you to leave it as it is. DIY may or may not solve this, it is a hit and miss thing. Dismantling the whole dashboard, when you install it back there will be a chance it will never be the same and even worst rattling. I let SC do my and it got worst. I refuse to try it anymore.

EXTRA* The following only applies if the car is serviced at SC all its life and the items below had still not being claimed.

TCU/ECU update which i believe must have been done(Recall item)

check the engine mounting, you deserve a new one from Proton  if it is a 2012 model and are still using the old type. (Recall item)

The front driver and passenger seat can be claim.( if the seat fabric is furry from friction of your butt/tight getting in and out of car, the seat cushion is squashed out of the original shape, please claim a new one as you please )

Gear knob and handbrake lever (Recall item).

The cable harness of the radiator fan or some sort. (Recall item)
Bro! Thanks a lot! Those were helpful tips. Right now I have a problem on claiming that damn warranty cause the previous owner did not hand over his service booklet. And he go pandai pandai change into 215/45/R7 rims plus even better. ALL TIRES WERE DIFFERENT BRAND. Goodness rclxub.gif Well the dealer said the previous owner was a uncle. doh.gif

Anyone have experience finding original Preve rims? How much they cost. I wonder if I can trade in mine. icon_question.gif

carbon14
post Jan 11 2015, 02:23 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(hong3831 @ Jan 11 2015, 02:17 PM)
Upgrade rim won't cause those issue.
anyway stock rim can find anyway, like mudah. Just rim itself should around 400 to 500 maybe.
RM400 for whole set or just 1 rim? shocking.gif
carbon14
post Jan 11 2015, 06:14 PM

284 posts

Guys, what rim is this. 8 hole. Can fit back stock ah.

Measurement wise ita 215/45/R17

carbon14
post Jan 11 2015, 10:41 PM

284 posts

Yeah, if not previous owner change i wouldn't sell it. Now i plan to change it back to stock to claim warranty. Anybody know if previous owner lost booklet, can replace? They got computer records?
carbon14
post Jan 13 2015, 02:16 PM

284 posts

Anyone know got any manual for Preve? Like softcopy PDF on how to use the multi info system?
carbon14
post Jan 15 2015, 06:27 PM

284 posts

Walao ayam so sad. Anyone got problem with applying hire purchase loan? Im actually buying 2nd hand and the dealer only applied for one bank: Hong Leong. On Monday the bank got call me for info but until now no info..

No commitment, prompt CC repayment, monthly installment 20% of net pay... haiz
carbon14
post Jan 16 2015, 10:32 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Jan 15 2015, 07:16 PM)
I also apply apply with hong leong. The result is rejected. Even i dont have any loan, still got rejected. So i go for cimb that already approved.

Do you sign the consent letter that send by HLB?
How long till you know that the result is rejected? I haven't signed anything from HLB. If so I will apply for other banks myself ady. Can't rely on my dealer like this.
carbon14
post Jan 19 2015, 10:16 PM

284 posts

Hi guys, finally got my 2012 Premium White CFE. Straight out of the box, the car showed it's rebellious nature by turning on me:

1. I have two key fobs, one can open car, but can't start the car. Vice versa for the other. After on Acc, brake pedal damn stiff can't depress.

2. Auto fold side mirror folds until it hits itself on the passenger window.

Any ideas. Thank you very much!
carbon14
post Jan 20 2015, 02:29 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jan 20 2015, 08:44 AM)
1. One of the immobilizer chip must have got damaged either by dropping or submerged in water. Every car does have stiff brake pedal when engine is turned off, especially yours doesn't have EVP to help
2. Proton SC can help
Hi guys, thanks for the replies. Appreciate it.

1. Problem solved at SC, they took out a bosch diagnostic reader to set my fob keys again. Cost was rm60. Car under warranty vmad.gif i believe other owners who get difficulty in starting the car can try this.

2. Still not fixed yet. I'll fucuk them to fix at next service.

I think i'll compile useful info for owners that were in the v1 till v22 threads (i'll try my best)
carbon14
post Jan 24 2015, 11:12 PM

284 posts

Just clicked join on the PREVOC group.

Lubricated my power windows with al cheapo power window lube from Jusco. Doesn't work quite well. Need to use silicone spray I guess.

carbon14
post Feb 23 2015, 12:00 AM

284 posts

Hi guys anyone experienced engine sound (not CVT whining) became rough after EO change? Mine has a more pronounced whhhoooooo after 2k km run in. I suspect my EO sucks (Bardahl).

And anyone managed to hear their turbo blow off sound? I actually can hear the spooling and blow off sound, sound I be worried? Lol
carbon14
post Feb 23 2015, 03:54 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Feb 23 2015, 02:54 AM)
What Bardahl with only 2000KM mileage? Aren't you supposed to use SC provided lubricant?

Re-circulation valve sound is audible with sharp ears. Nothing to be worried.
Eh sry i shud be more specific, mine is a 2012 cfe. Changed oil outside of SC, Bardahl Semi syn 10-40. The rough engine noise is 2000km after eo change. notworthy.gif
carbon14
post Feb 28 2015, 07:41 PM

284 posts

Eh guys, anyone experienced whistling wind sound at the driver seat? I already seal the side window panel but seems not working. It's not like normal wind leaking sound, its whistling. Any idea? Thanks ya
carbon14
post Apr 9 2015, 10:22 AM

284 posts

Anyone had the problem of:

After few days not driving your car, the brake pedal is very hard to depress. Making it very hard to start the car. I always start up the proper way, 2 touch to on until accessory, brake then 3rd press to start car.

Preve CFE Year 2012. Thanks guys
carbon14
post Apr 27 2015, 05:04 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(hong3831 @ Apr 27 2015, 04:01 PM)
Hi, just wonder anyone did experience SC ask you take air cond service package? normally do u guys take it or reject it?
I was in Prevoc and member there usually said reject it.
Just ask for an idea, thanks~
Bro, I think they reject because the price is absurd. I think most of the items in the SC is really effin absurd. I think if you service outside it is a lot cheaper? Personally I reject items that I think is non essential. Add too much to my service cost for the car
carbon14
post Jul 7 2015, 12:46 PM

284 posts

Hi anyone knows any good service center in Ipoh that will check and honor warranty issues. I quite reluctant to keep servicing in my current SC as they always tak apa attitude. Any help is much appreciated. Thank you

0.0237sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:53 AM