Motorola Moto 360 Smartwatch Official Thread v2, "A watch for our times"

Someonesim
post Jun 30 2015, 07:58 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jun 30 2015, 07:48 PM)
Hi, I am using the WatchMaker app, I paid for it. Its totally worth it. Then join the Watchmaker community on Google+, everyday you can crazy amounts of superbly done watchfaces.

Also can search on facerepo.com for watchfaces. All requires WatchMaker app to work.

About this particular watchface in my sig, I posted before, either this thread or v1...need to find back.  sweat.gif
bro, did you happen to have all your downloaded watch face put together in cloud ( Drive, dropbox etc ) ?
Someonesim
post Jul 1 2015, 07:06 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Jun 30 2015, 11:04 PM)
I have it all on my phone and it is quite small lah the faces
QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jun 30 2015, 11:37 PM)
I have it all on my phone. Didn't upload them to Drive. But I can do that if needed. smile.gif

Btw, LuffyPSP I found the file for the watchface at my sig.

Its the NOMOS watchface.

I have both Watchmaker and Facer file.

WatchMaker: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5nbR02mr...Z01vRjB6eGZEalU

Facer: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5nbR02mr...ZHY2T012UzRXSWs

Just download and import it via the app.
Mind sharing ? I think it will be useful if we could collect all watchfaces in centralized places.

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Jun 30 2015, 11:41 PM)
Thank you very much. Appreciate your effort bro! biggrin.gif now i have to buy WM app. hahahaha
I bought Facer long time ago, most likely will buy watchmaker again, seems like most watchface are now compatible with WM.
Someonesim
post Jul 1 2015, 09:53 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Jul 1 2015, 09:35 AM)
Just got the update to 5.1.1 last nite, but after updating, it completely broke my watchmaker premium. Now my favorite watchfaces cannot be loaded becoz they will appear as off center when i use it. Any of you guys haviblng the same issue as well? This is quite frustrating since i use watchmaker 100% of the time. The wifi feature is neat, but i still dont see the benefit of having it yet. Watch still registers as dc when away too far from the phone, and i am not getting notifications when it is dc but wifi connected.
Not sure how to use wifi connect exactly, but I think need to register to wifi from watch itself ?

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jul 1 2015, 09:42 AM)
Hmm, no such problem for me. But I did factory reset the watch and re-sync everything before using it as 5.1.1.

I don't use the wifi or wrist gesture as well. But I do enjoy the faster performance and better battery life, oh and the draw emoji feature is neat.
Wrist gesture are completely awesome, so much lesser touch require now. Only time I swipe are to dismiss notification, hopes Google could design a way to dismiss without touch, then completely hands free rclxms.gif
Someonesim
post Jul 1 2015, 10:20 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Jul 1 2015, 10:04 AM)
U need to install the latest version of WM and let it sync to the watch ... according to the WM thread
Yes seems like that but i havent tried it yet
Reply and scroll down a bit and ull see the emoji option

i used this a lot hahaha
I rarely reply from watch itself, could I reply via voice and speak 'Okay, smiley face L O L' and it send reply as 'OK smile.gif LOL' ?
Someonesim
post Jul 2 2015, 06:56 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(jacksonywl @ Jul 1 2015, 11:27 PM)
Mine is at the same age as yours, and I have exactly the same thought as you yesterday, partly due to the battery life and gotten used to wearing steel watch band which is easy to put on and take off; I decided to give it a try for one more day and now I'm slowly getting used to it. Then again I have to say, there's nothing much for me to play with it except the watchface... Any idea how to make wearing a smart-watch more fun?
IMO, dont exact get why smartwatch has to be fun ? Smart-device must able to play game ? It's extension to your smartphone, so it's for quick reply to messages ( IM, SMS etc ), read notification, check weather, turn-by-turn GPS navigation, open shopping list etc, so many features I dont use yet laugh.gif
I think it all depend on each, some buy smartphone just to online and scroll FB, some flash custom ROM mod this mod that.
Someonesim
post Jul 2 2015, 07:32 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Jul 2 2015, 07:03 AM)
because if you use the features, no battery for you.
It wasnt that bad, unless you kept play with it for hours then die soon. Normal read/dismiss notification, rarely reply etc still reach home with ~50%. I dont turn on Ambient Display in office as laptop have clock ma whistling.gif
Someonesim
post Jul 2 2015, 08:05 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Jul 2 2015, 07:43 AM)
i mean the shopping lists, ,maps, etc. i only use mine for notifications and reply sometimes only. others are just gimmicks imo. its not comfortable at all doing other stuff.
Oh, shopping list are useful, instead of pulling out and hold your phone, some apps in AmbientDisplay always on mode are useful. One I use the most and why I purchase smartwatch ( from Pebble to Steel to Moto 360 ) was music control. So really depend on person, whether they need 'extension' to their smartphone or not.
Someonesim
post Jul 2 2015, 11:50 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jul 2 2015, 08:05 AM)
For me, its all about notifications. I have the need to know about the notifications on my phone. And incoming calls is important for me as well, so I won't miss a call.
Plus, having the weather info on my wrist is a plus for me, as well as making calls while driving, replying message etc.
QUOTE(wintzen @ Jul 2 2015, 11:08 AM)
Yup for me it's also about notifications, especially when driving. With the latest update, voice dictation has been improved.
Although I thought it's good that you can play with it, but it's mainly secondary of having the watch. Plus it's a good that you can wear it for formal events.
What Moto 360 lack are better battery life, that could last casual use for 2 days, or heavy usage with AmbientDisplay on for one whole day. Let's hope Google and Motorola could pull some more magic to improve battery life.
Someonesim
post Jul 2 2015, 02:14 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 2 2015, 02:03 PM)
Hmm, battery is draining with latest update. I did tried reset the watch. Not sure if it's wrist gestures that caused that.
Didnt cause any difference on mine with or without wrist gesture.
5.1.1 battery life seems to be hit or miss ? Some ( including myself ) reported same or slightly better battery life while some reported worse rclxub.gif
Someonesim
post Jul 4 2015, 10:47 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(jacksonywl @ Jul 4 2015, 10:43 AM)
Been a week... this happens almost daily...
I'm not sure, but seems like syncing with phone while charge will lead to slower charging and battery not able to reach 100%. Happen to me once or twice when I forgot to unsync during charging.
Someonesim
post Jul 8 2015, 10:33 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(TheStig123 @ Jul 8 2015, 09:30 AM)
I saw on google play that moto 360 drop to $149.. will the Malaysia set(ap or ori) drop price? I also noticed when they drop the $165, the price Malaysia set also didn't drop..
Malaysia usually follow up very very late, most likely after they clear their current stock first.
Someonesim
post Jul 9 2015, 12:41 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(andyting @ Jul 9 2015, 12:11 PM)
it comes with a brightstar card so is original brightstar warranty~ looks like i need to invest in a steelconnect then~ anyone has extra unit to let go here?  biggrin.gif  i have a friend who is willing to let go his set at RM600, use for 2 days only, considering a good deal? as I know new model is coming soon.. but main concern is the old processor (scared cant update next version of android wear soon..)
Should be no problem with update for maybe another year. So far no news at all for new model, so presumed it's still far away.
Someonesim
post Jul 9 2015, 12:45 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(andyting @ Jul 9 2015, 12:41 PM)
i see.. still trying to persuade myself to get it as I feel like that price can get a decent traditional watch? of course without those "smart" functions  smile.gif btw, anybody using a car charger/portable charger to charge this watch? cause I travel quite a lot, so a car charger/powerbank will be better. any advice on this?
For the price, can get a normal brand swatch, so smartwatch is very competitive around that price.
Moto 360 use Qi wireless charging, so if you can get a car charger with Qi wireless charging then 'should' be no problem. It still depend on shape of wireless charger and all ( could slide away in car )
I have no problem charging my Moto 360 via wireless charger, powered by powerbank tongue.gif
Someonesim
post Jul 10 2015, 05:45 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(andyting @ Jul 10 2015, 04:33 PM)
thanks for the opinion guys, decided to buy from my friend, going to get it next week  smile.gif currently looking to buy the steelconnect adapter~ just wondering anybody using silver adapter with black watch? will it look weird? but i think silver adapter is easier to match with other bands~

i realized the black adapter is coating, so it will wear off with time (confirmed by customer service)~ anybody experience this problem before?
Black is PVD coating. Been knocking mine everywhere so far still good if you dont observe very near.
Someonesim
post Jul 12 2015, 11:51 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 12 2015, 07:30 AM)
Newbie here, just got mine.. Is this to be expected for the battery life? 6 hours only?
Hahaha, when did these estimation ever accurate ? Furthermore, it was estimation while watch display turned on, your smartwatch display are off most of the time.
Someonesim
post Jul 13 2015, 05:45 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(andyting @ Jul 13 2015, 05:39 PM)
Finally got my watch, this thing is such a beauty in real life~ rclxms.gif but I notice that when I see the screen especially when the background is bright, the outer surrounding of the glass of the screen will have like "rainbow effect" like that? Is that normal? Or it is just me haven't get used to it?
Totally normal, moto 360's glass isnt exactly 2.5D, it's clear cut like prism, and prism able to generate rainbow ( correct me if i'm wrong, left school for 10 years d )
Someonesim
post Jul 14 2015, 10:05 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jul 14 2015, 08:53 AM)

What will I miss? Call notifications. The smartwatch has made me a very reliable person when people call me, which is a good thing, especially if you are in sales/business, and your client calls, its quite frustrating if they call you, but you didn't notice it and missed the call.
QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jul 14 2015, 09:49 AM)
Yes, this is the best feature which make you can't miss a call.
Hahaha, especially when smartphone vibration and sound weak. Back in the day Nokia rules, phone came in, whole earth vibrate and neighbors from across street heard it laugh.gif I still got shock when occasionally some uncle's Nokia phone rings sweat.gif
Someonesim
post Jul 14 2015, 02:39 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jul 14 2015, 02:11 PM)
Motorola phone also...vibration damn crazy. Actually now still like that. When I first switch to Moto X 2014, I damn stun during the vibration/haptic feedback...so much more ganas as compared to Samsung.  sweat.gif
I think it's true, the motorola made Nexus 6 has stronger vibration than Nexus 5 and super weak Nexus 4. Normally I put phone on desk in office, and for Nexus 6 I had to put thick notebook ( paper in case someone confuse ) under it to absorb vibration biggrin.gif I could even felt it vibrate when alarm ring in morning ! shocking.gif
Someonesim
post Jul 16 2015, 06:37 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jul 16 2015, 05:51 PM)
Hi all, happy Raya eve!

I have 2 watch faces to share! As below:

[attachmentid=4603633]

Right: R12 Flare Concept Watch by Lloydbm4 of Google+
http://facerepo.com/app/faces/details/r12-...tch-14e95d6a863

Left: Glashutte Original by Artur r of Google+
https://www.dropbox.com/s/tga7actmd3dplhe/g...inal.watch?dl=0

Requires Watchmaker to work. Enjoy! smile.gif
That yellow one looks sexy sick ! drool.gif Really wish it could sell as physical one biggrin.gif
Someonesim
post Jul 22 2015, 02:34 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 22 2015, 01:59 AM)
3. more application support from developer.. for example, i want my Poweramp to have functions like the Play Music app on the watch, and this require Poweramp developer to work on the app..
3. PowerAmp should work accordingly, which functions you saw on Play Music that wasnt on PowerAmp ?

16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0696sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:19 AM